DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
Claim amendments filed 15 April 2026 are acknowledged. Claims 1-20 are pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 15 April 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Regarding the arguments against the rejection of claim 1 (pages 9-11 of the applicant’s response), the applicant argues that the combination of Golkowski and Mole does not teach an arrangement of a fan within or within proximity to the outlet of the interior cavity. However, Figure 1 of Mole shows a configuration with a fan “30” proximate to an outlet “54” leading to a separate distinct chamber “50” to force air from the interior cavity “12” to the separate chamber “50”. Therefore, the combination of Golkowski and Mole would continue to render the current invention obvious.
Regarding the arguments against the rejection of claim 3 (pages 11-12 of the applicant’s response), the applicant argues that because in one embodiment of Golkowski a mist catcher is employed downstream of the nebulizer, it would not be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to arrange the nebulizer within the interior cavity as taught by Murayama. The applicant is reminded that the test for obviousness is not whether the features of a secondary reference may be bodily incorporated into the structure of the primary reference; nor is it that the claimed invention must be expressly suggested in any one or all of the references. Rather, the test is what the combined teachings of the references would have suggested to those of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981). While the mist catcher taught by Golkowski, is not a required feature, it would still be able to be implemented on the atomizing sprayer taught by Murayama while still qualifying as a nebulizing device in the internal cavity as required by the language of claim 3.
Regarding the arguments against claims 8 and 9 (pages 12-13 of the applicant’s response), the applicant argues that Golkowski does not teach a controller capable of terminating the operation of the cold plasma generator after the termination of the nebulizer. However, as cited in the Final Rejection mailed 15 December 2025, Golkowski teaches both that a disinfection cycle is performed at for a pre-set time period (paragraph [0556]) and that the plasma generator is cycled on and off after the nebulizer has been shut off (Figure 18C). This would indicate that the instructions of the controller executing a disinfection cycle of a pre-set time period will turn the plasma generator off at a pre-set time after turning off the nebulizer.
Regarding the arguments against claims 7 and 15 (pages 14-16 of the applicant’s response), the applicant argues that it would not have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art modify the combination of Golkowski and Mole with the teachings of Murayama to produce droplet sizes of 10 µm or greater because Golkowski teaches to reduce condensation sterilization chamber. However, the in the motivation statement made in the Final Rejection mailed 15 December 2025, Golkowski recognizes the effectiveness of said microdroplets to kill pathogens even if the surface is wet (paragraph [0432]).
It should also be noted that after further examination, the specification of the current application does not actually support the use of droplets of 10 µm or larger in diameter. Moreover, the specification of the current application teaches away from the use of droplets of 10 µm or larger by teaching that such droplets would short dielectric barrier electrodes (page 14 lines 12-14) and teaching how to prevent droplets of 10 µm or larger in diameter (page 14 lines 20-25).
Following the above logic, the rejections of claims 1-2 and 8 under 35 U.S.C. 103 with respect to Golkowski in view of Mole are maintained. Additionally, the rejections of claims 3, 5, and 7 under 35 U.S.C. 103 with respect to Golkowski and Mole in view of Murayama, the rejections of claims 4 and 6 under 35 U.S.C. 103 with respect to Golkowski, Mole, and Murayama in view of Shane, and the rejection of claim 19 under 35 U.S.C. 103 with respect to Golkowski and Mole in view of Shane are maintained. The removal of the submicron droplet size requirement in claim 9 removes the need for the additional reference of Mole and thus claims 9-10 and 12-13 will be rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) and claims 11 and 14 will be rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 with respect to Golkowski. Similarly, the amendments to claim 15 removes the need for the additional reference of Mole but necessitates the addition of Murayama. Therefore, claims 15-18 and 20 will not be rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 with respect to Golkowski in view of Murayama. Finally, new 35 U.S.C. 112(a) rejections will be applied to claims 7, 15, and 19 failing to comply with written description and enablement requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 7 and 15-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claims contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. Claims 7 and 15 require the use of droplets that are 10 µm or greater in diameter. No embodiment of the current invention teaches the use of such a droplet size. The application specification only teaches away from the use of droplets in this size range (page 14 lines 12-14 and lines 20-25). Furthermore, claim 7 requires a droplet with a diameter of 10 µm or greater while independent claim 1 requires submicron droplets. Conversely, Claim 19 requires a droplet with a diameter of 5 µm or less while independent claim 15 requires droplets with a diameter of 10 µm or greater. In both cases, the limitations of the dependent claim cannot be satisfied by the invention of their independent claim, and there is no teaching in the current specification which would lead one of ordinary skill in the art to construct a device that produces droplets in these two opposing size ranges.
Claims 16-18 and 20 are rejected based on their dependence on claim 15.
Claims 7 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 7 requires a droplet with a diameter of 10 µm or greater while independent claim 1 requires submicron droplets. Conversely, Claim 19 requires a droplet with a diameter of 5 µm or less while independent claim 15 requires droplets with a diameter of 10 µm or greater. In both cases, the limitations of the dependent claim cannot be satisfied by the invention of their independent claim. Because it is impossible to satisfy the limitations of claims 7 and 19 at the same time as the limitations of their respective independent claims, it is unclear what the required elements of the current invention are rendering the claims indefinite.
Claims 7 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. Claim 7 requires a droplet with a diameter of 10 µm or greater while independent claim 1 requires submicron droplets. Conversely, Claim 19 requires a droplet with a diameter of 5 µm or less while independent claim 15 requires droplets with a diameter of 10 µm or greater. In both cases, the limitations of the dependent claim cannot be satisfied by the invention of their independent claim. Applicant may cancel the claims, amend the claims to place the claims in proper dependent form, rewrite the claims in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claims complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 9-10 and 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Golkowski (US 20210023250 A1).
Regarding claim 9, Golkowski teaches a disinfection device (disinfection system, abstract), comprising: an enclosure comprising an interior cavity (Figure 1A disinfection chamber “10”); a closable loading port for providing access to the interior cavity (front loading hinged door, paragraph [0488]); a cold plasma generator (Figure 2A plasma generator “30” disposed in effluent generator “46”, and plasma generator can be cold plasma generator, paragraph [0018]), wherein the disinfection device is configured such that plasma species generated by the cold plasma generator are discharged in the interior cavity (Figure 2A plasma generator “30” delivers effluent to chamber “10” via conduit “34”, and cold plasma generator is used, paragraph [0185]); a nebulizer, wherein the disinfection device is configured such that droplets generated by the nebulizer are discharged in the interior cavity (Figure 2A vaporizer“32” delivering droplets to chamber “10” via conduit “34”, and vaporizer unit is a nebulizer, paragraph [0075]); a fan arranged in the disinfection device to move air, the plasma species and the droplets in the disinfection device (Figure 2A blower “14” in effluent generator to distribute flow from plasma generator “30” and vaporizer “32” to the chamber “10”); an electronic control system comprising a processor (methods implemented by computing device including a processor, paragraph [0562]) and a storage medium comprising program instructions executable by the processor (memory for storing instructions to be executed by the processor, paragraph [0565]) for: activating the fan (controller signals blower to adjust flow, paragraph [0193]); activating the cold plasma generator (controller unit regulates the operation of the plasma generator, paragraph [0198]); activating the nebulizer (controller regulates the operation of the evaporator, paragraph [0198]); terminating operation of the nebulizer (nebulizer turned off, paragraph [0555]); and terminating operation of the cold plasma generator after a predetermined amount of time subsequent to terminating operation of the nebulizer (disinfection cycle maintained for a pre-set time period, paragraph [0556], and Figure 18C plasma generator is turned on “630” and turned off “635” after H2O2 valve has closed between steps “610” and “620”), but does not teach wherein submicron diameter droplets are generated.
Regarding claim 10, Golkowski teaches wherein the set time period is between approximately 5 minutes and approximately 15 minutes (disinfecting sub-cycle lasts for between about 10-15 minutes, paragraph [0556]).
Regarding claim 12, Golkowski teaches wherein the storage medium further comprises program instructions executable by the processor for: terminating operation of the cold plasma generator prior to or at the same time as the step of terminating operation of the nebulizer (during free radical neutralization step ozone generator and nebulizer can be turned off, paragraph [0466]); reactivating the cold plasma generator, wherein the step of terminating operation of the cold plasma generator after a predetermined amount of time subsequent to terminating operation of the nebulizer comprises terminating operation of the reactivated cold plasma generator (ozone generator can be cycled on and off during sterilization phase, paragraph [0555], and plasma generator is turn off for a predetermined period of time, paragraph [0446]); and maintaining operation of the fan between the steps of terminating operation and reactivating the cold plasma generator (Figure 3A blowers turn on “81” and remain on until full cycle is over “92” even when plasma generator turns off “87”).
Regarding claim 13, Golkowski teaches a heating element arranged in the disinfection device to heat the interior cavity (Figure 2A heater “64” connected to chamber “10”), wherein the storage medium further comprises program instructions executable by the processor for activating the heating element at the time or subsequent to the step of terminating operation of the cold plasma generator (Figure 3A turn on heater step “88” occurs after turning off the plasma generator “87”).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 11 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Golkowski.
Regarding claim 11, while Golkowski does not explicitly teach wherein the program instructions for terminating the operation of the nebulizer comprises terminating the operation of the nebulizer while maintaining operation of the fan and the cold plasma generator, Golkowski teaches the controller unit regulates the operation of the plasma generator, the evaporator, and the fans (paragraph [0198]), the nebulizer may be cycled on and off during the sterilization cycle to maintain the humidity (paragraph [0555]), and that the free radical generator and fan are run through the sterilization cycle (Figure 3A phase II “71”). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art that the controller taught by Golkowski would have been inherently capable of operating the nebulizer by terminating the operation of the nebulizer while maintaining the operation of the fan and cold plasma generator. Additionally, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to program instructions to turn off the nebulizer while the fan and plasma generator are run during the sterilization cycle because it advantageously maintains the relative humidity below the condensation point of the disinfection device (paragraph [0555]).
Regarding claim 14, while Golkowski does not explicitly teach activating the fan may comprise program instructions for activating the fan to operate at a flow rate of at least 0.3 m3 per minute, Golkowski does teach operating the blower to circulate the air at range of chamber exchanges per minute including about 25 to 30 chamber exchanges per minute (paragraph [0177]). Additionally, Golkowski teaches a range of volumes that chamber can be including 10 L (paragraph [0173]). From this information, it can be extrapolated that the fan in Golkowski is able to operate at a range of 250 to 300 L/min or 0.25 to 0.3 m3/min. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to optimize the fan speed to a flow rate of 0.3m3/min to achieve the desired sterilization speed (See MEPE 2144.05 I-II).
Claims 1-2, 5, and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Golkowski (US 20210023250 A1) in view of Mole (US 20170056543 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Golkowski teaches a disinfection device (disinfection system, abstract), comprising: an enclosure comprising an interior cavity (Figure 1A disinfection chamber “10”) and a chamber (Figure 2A effluent generator “46”); a closable loading port for providing access to the interior cavity (front loading hinged door, paragraph [0488]); the chamber distinct from the interior cavity (Figure 1A effluent generator “46” separate from the disinfection chamber “10”) and having an air inlet and air outlet respectively coupled to an outlet and an inlet of the interior cavity for providing airflow between the chamber and the interior cavity (Figure 1A air flow is provided between effluent generator “46” and disinfection chamber “10” via conduits “34” and “36”); a cold plasma generator disposed in the chamber (Figure 2A plasma generator “30” disposed in effluent generator “46”, and plasma generator can be cold plasma generator, paragraph [0018]); a fan arranged such that air from the interior cavity is forced through the air inlet of the chamber and routed to the cold plasma generator (Figure 2A blower “14” in effluent generator to distribute flow to plasma generator “30”); and a nebulizer (vaporizer unit is a nebulizer, paragraph [0075]), wherein the cold plasma generator, the fan, and the nebulizer are arranged in the disinfection device such that: plasma species generated by the cold plasma generator are routed to an area to which droplets formed by the nebulizer are discharged (sterilant vapor and plasma are mixed before entering the chamber, paragraph [0330]), and wherein a portion of droplets are routed through the cold plasma generator (recirculated effluent passes through the plasma generator, paragraph [0300], and effluent of reactive species and vaporized hydrogen peroxide, paragraph [0065]); and the interior cavity is exposed to a mixture of the droplets and the plasma species (providing mixture to chamber, abstract), but does not teach wherein the fan is arranged within or in proximity to the outlet of the interior cavity and wherein submicron diameter droplets are generated. However, Mole teaches wherein the fan is arranged within or in proximity to the outlet of the interior cavity (Figure 1 fan “30” arranged in interior cavity “12” in proximity to outlet “54” leading to additional chamber “50”) and wherein submicron diameter droplets are generated (produce micro-droplets typically less than 0.5 microns, paragraph [0105]).
Golkowski and Mole are considered analogous to the current invention because all are in the field of plasma sterilizing devices. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the sterilizing device taught by Golkowski with the fan placement and the submicron droplet diameter taught by Mole because Mole teaches the fan position assists in driving the air through the delivery device (paragraph [0095]) and the hydrocarbon micro-droplets enhances the hydroxyl radical output and increases the solubility of ozone (paragraphs [0106]-[0107]).
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Golkowski and Mole teaches wherein the nebulizer is arranged in the chamber downstream from the cold plasma generator (Figure 39 nebulizer is located downstream of the ozone generator, Golkowski).
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Golkowski and Mole teaches an electronic control system comprising a processor (methods implemented by computing device including a processor, paragraph [0562], Golkowski) and a storage medium comprising program instructions executable by the processor (memory for storing instructions to be executed by the processor, paragraph [0565], Golkowski) for: activating the fan (controller signals blower to adjust flow, paragraph [0193], Golkowski); activating the cold plasma generator (controller unit regulates the operation of the plasma generator, paragraph [0198], Golkowski); activating the nebulizer (controller regulates the operation of the evaporator, paragraph [0198], Golkowski); terminating operation of the nebulizer (nebulizer turned off, paragraph [0555], Golkowski); terminating operation of the cold plasma generator after a predetermined amount of time subsequent to terminating operation of the nebulizer (disinfection cycle maintained for a pre-set time period, paragraph [0556], and Figure 18C plasma generator is turned on “630” and turned off “635” after H2O2 valve has closed between steps “610” and “620”, Golkowski).
Claims 15-18 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Golkowski in view of Murayama (US 20150273097 A1).
Regarding claim 15, Golkowski teaches a disinfection device (disinfection system, abstract), comprising: an enclosure comprising an interior cavity (Figure 1A disinfection chamber “10”) and a chamber (Figure 2A effluent generator “46”); a closable loading port for providing access to the interior cavity (front loading hinged door, paragraph [0488]); the chamber distinct from the interior cavity (Figure 1A effluent generator “46” separate from the disinfection chamber “10”) and having an air inlet and air outlet respectively coupled to an outlet and an inlet of the interior cavity for providing airflow between the chamber and the interior cavity (Figure 1A air flow is provided between effluent generator “46” and disinfection chamber “10” via conduits “34” and “36”); a cold plasma generator disposed in the chamber (Figure 2A plasma generator “30” disposed in effluent generator “46”, and plasma generator can be cold plasma generator, paragraph [0018]); a fan arranged within the disinfection device such that air from the interior cavity is forced through the air inlet of the chamber and routed to the cold plasma generator (Figure 2A blower “14” in effluent generator to distribute flow to plasma generator “30”); and a nebulizer (vaporizer unit is a nebulizer, paragraph [0075]), wherein the cold plasma generator, the fan, and the nebulizer are arranged in the disinfection device such that: plasma species generated by the cold plasma generator are routed to an area to which droplets formed by the nebulizer are discharged in the interior cavity (sterilant vapor and plasma are mixed before entering the chamber, paragraph [0330]) and wherein a portion of droplets are routed through the cold plasma generator (recirculated effluent passes through the plasma generator, paragraph [0300], and effluent of reactive species and vaporized hydrogen peroxide, paragraph [0065]); and a heating element to heat the interior cavity (Figure 2A heater “64” connected to chamber “10” ), but does not teach wherein at least some of the droplets discharged in the interior cavity have a diameter of 10 microns or greater. However, Murayama wherein at least some of the droplets discharged in the interior cavity have a diameter of 10 microns or greater (atomized into a small size of about several tens of microns, paragraph [0075]).
Golkowski and Murayama are considered analogous to the current invention are considered analogous to the current invention because all are in the field of plasma sterilizing devices. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the disinfection device of Golkowski with the microdroplet size taught by Murayama because Golkowski teaches that microdroplets allow the sterilant to interact with surfaces within the chamber and kill pathogens even if the surface is wet (paragraph [0432]).
Regarding claim 16, the combination of Golkowski and Murayama teaches wherein the heating element and the disinfection device are configured to raise and maintain a temperature in the interior cavity to be between approximately 40°C and approximately 60°C (interior of chamber heated to about 45°C to about 50°C, paragraph [0024], Golkowski) for a predetermined amount of time (Figure 3A drying occurs for a few minutes “89” before heater is turned off “90”, Golkowski).
Regarding claim 17, the combination of Golkowski and Murayama teaches an electronic control system comprising a processor (methods implemented by computing device including a processor, paragraph [0562], Golkowski) and a storage medium comprising program instructions executable by the processor (memory for storing instructions to be executed by the processor, paragraph [0565], Golkowski) for: activating the cold plasma generator (Figure 3A turn on plasma generator “85”, Golkowski); terminating operation of the cold plasma generator (Figure 3A turn off plasma generator “87”, Golkowski); activating the heating element at the same time or subsequent to the step of terminating operating of the cold plasma generator (Figure 3A heater is turned on “88” after turning off the plasma generator “87”, Golkowski).
Regarding claim 18, the combination of Golkowski and Murayama teaches wherein the storage medium further comprises program instructions executable by the processor for: activating the nebulizer (controller regulates the operation of the evaporator, paragraph [0198], Golkowski); and terminating operation of the nebulizer prior to the step of terminating the cold plasma generator (Figure 18C plasma generator is turned on “630” and turned off “635” after H2O2 valve has closed between steps “610” and “620”, Golkowski).
Regarding claim 20, the combination of Golkowski and Murayama teaches wherein the interior cavity comprises a volume between approximately 0.1 liters and approximately 100 liters (chamber may have a volume ranging from about 10L to about 50L, paragraph [0173], Golkowski).
Claims 3, 5, and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Golkowski and Mole in view of Murayama (US 20150273097 A1).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Golkowski and Mole teaches all aspects of the current invention expect wherein the nebulizer is arranged in the interior cavity. However, Murayama teaches wherein the nebulizer is arranged in the interior cavity (sprayer includes a spray nozzles which a liquid is atomized, paragraph [0075], and Figure 1 sprayer “120” is in the working chamber “200”).
Golkowski, Mole, and Murayama are considered analogous to the current invention because all are in the field of plasma sterilizing devices. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine disinfection device taught by Golkowski and Mole with the nebulizer placement taught by Murayama because Murayama teaches supplying the liquid is an atomized manner promotes gasification and reducing the purge time of sterilization process (paragraph [0036]).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Golkowski and Mole teaches all aspects of the current invention except an additional chamber distinct form the interior cavity, wherein the nebulizer is arranged in the additional chamber, and wherein the chamber comprises a fluid outlet for passing droplets formed by the nebulizer into the interior cavity. However, Murayama teaches and additional chamber (Figure 13A disinfection device “601” is separate from the working chamber “200”) wherein the nebulizer is arranged in the chamber (Figure 13A sterilizing component source “140” and sprayer “621” in disinfection device “601), and wherein the chamber comprises a fluid outlet for passing droplets formed by the nebulizer into the interior cavity (Figure 13B sterilizing component source “140” is separate from plasma generator “460” and working chamber “200” and fluid is supplied to working chamber through atomizing sprayer “621”).
Golkowski, Mole, and Murayama are considered analogous to the current invention as discussed above. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the disinfection device taught by Golkowski and Mole with the additional chamber for the nebulizer taught by Murayama because Murayama teaches that if the fluids from the nebulizer and the plasma generator do not come in to contact before being sprayed the gasification effects will be further increased and the purge time will be decreased (paragraph [0206]).
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Golkowski and Mole teaches all aspects of the current invention except wherein the nebulizer is configured and arranged in the disinfection device such that the droplets having a diameter of 10 microns or greater are discharged into the interior cavity. However, Murayama teaches wherein the nebulizer is configured and arranged in the disinfection device such that the droplets having a diameter of 10 microns or greater are discharged into the interior cavity (atomized into a small size of about several tens of microns, paragraph [0075]).
Golkowski, Mole, and Murayama are considered analogous to the current invention as discussed above. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the disinfection device of Golkowski and Mole with the microdroplet size taught by Murayama because Golkowski teaches that microdroplets allow the sterilant to interact with surfaces within the chamber and kill pathogens even if the surface is wet (paragraph [0432]).
Claims 4 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Golkowski, Mole, and Murayama as applied to claims 3 and 5 above, and further in view of Shane (US 20190201565 A1).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Golkowski, Mole, and Murayama teaches all aspects of the current invention including wherein the nozzle of the nebulizer discharges droplets toward and area in the interior cavity adjacent the air outlet of the chamber (Figure 13B sprayer with nozzle “621” is adjacent to the outlet of the plasma generator “460” in the working chamber “200”, Murayama), but does not teach wherein the nebulizer is arranged within 12 inches of the air outlet of the chamber. However, it has been established that a rearrangement of parts is not sufficient to differentiate an invention over prior art (See MPEP 2144.04 VI (C)). Additionally, Shane teaches that spraying nozzles can produce a fan-shaped spray patter up to 12 inches wide (paragraph [0012]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the part to optimize the placement of the chamber outlet and the nozzle to be within 12 inches of each other to ensure the two fluids interact as Golkowski teaches that the mix of reactive species causes unique and diverse sterilization reactions to occur at low temperature (paragraph [0157]) (See MPEP 2144.05 II (A)).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Golkowski, Mole, and Murayama teaches all aspects of the current invention including wherein the air outlet of the chamber in which the cold plasma generator is arranged and the fluid outlet of the additional chamber are configured in the disinfection device to direct their discharge to a common area in the interior cavity (Figure 13B sprayer with nozzle “621” is adjacent to the outlet of the plasma generator “460” in the working chamber “200”, Murayama), but does not teach wherein the outlets are within approximately 12 inches of each other. However, it has been established that a rearrangement of parts is not sufficient to differentiate an invention over prior art (See MPEP 2144.04 VI (C)). Additionally, Shane teaches that spraying nozzles can produce a fan-shaped spray patter up to 12 inches wide (paragraph [0012]). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the part to optimize the placement of the chamber outlet and the nozzle to be within 12 inches of each other to ensure the two fluids interact as Golkowski teaches that the mix of reactive species causes unique and diverse sterilization reactions to occur at low temperature (paragraph [0157]) (See MPEP 2144.05 II (A)).
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Golkowski and Murayama in view of Shane.
Regarding claim 19, the combination of Golkowski and Murayama teaches all aspects of the current invention expect wherein the nebulizer is configured to generate microdroplets having a mean diameter of approximately 5 µm or less. However, Shane teaches wherein the nebulizer is configured to generate microdroplets having a mean diameter of approximately 5 µm or less (aerosol droplets are 5 µm , paragraph [0015]).
Golkowski, Murayama, and Shane are considered analogous to the current invention because all are in the field of plasma disinfection devices. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the disinfection device taught by Golkowski and Murayama with the droplet size taught by Shane because Golkowski teaches that microdroplets allow the sterilant to interact with surfaces within the chamber and kill pathogens even if the surface is wet (paragraph [0432]).
Conclusion
/K.R.S./Examiner, Art Unit 1799
/DONALD R SPAMER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1799