DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
This Non-final Rejection is in response to the Amendment dated January 16, 2026 filed in response to the Final Rejection dated October 16, 2025.
Cancelation of claim 8 is acknowledged.
The claim objection in the Final Rejection is withdrawn in view of claim amendments obviating the rejection.
The 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) rejection of claims 1-2, 4, 7 and 9-21 is maintained as explained below.
The 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) rejection of claims 5 and 6 is withdrawn in view of amendments made to claim 5 distinguishing the claims from the rejection. However, those claims are unpatentable over the prior art under 35 U.S.C. 103 as explained below.
Response to Arguments
Applicant first argues, starting in the bottom half of page 10, Applicant argues Feng (Chinese Patent Publication Document No. CN 202079071 U) does not disclose or suggest “wherein the housing of the food waste disposer defines an orifice and a retaining lip positioned on the exterior of the housing proximate the orifice” such that "when the air switch assembly is fully installed relative to the food waste disposer, a first edge portion of the base plate slides into the retaining lip and the electrical contacts respectively are positioned within the electrical sockets, respectively, so as to complete an electrical connection between the power control module and the motor." Examiner respectfully disagrees. As explained in the rejection below, Feng discloses the bottom of lower shell 6 has a recessed orifice which opens to the exterior of the housing that receives bottom cover 7.
At the top of page 12, Applicant argues the rejection of claim 16 should be withdrawn for the same reasons as argued in relation to claim 1. Examiner respectfully disagrees for the same reason given above.
In the second full paragraph of page 12, Applicant argues claim 19 has been amended to recite the base plate is planar and Feng’s interpreted base plate bottom cover 7 is cylindrical, not planar. However, claim 19 does not claim the base plate is entirely “planar”, such that the base plate must only have a flat shape. As pointed out in the rejection of claim 19 below, the bottom wall of Feng’s bottom cover is “planar” in that it is shown as being flat. Therefore, Examiner does not find the argument persuasive. The rejection is maintained.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2, 4, 7 and 9-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Chinese Patent Publication Document No. CN 202079071 U by Feng et al., hereinafter “Feng”. Citation to Feng is made to the European Patent Office (EPO) translation previously provided.
Regarding claim 1, Feng discloses a Feng discloses a food waste disposer system (disposer system shown in Fig. 1; ¶[0039]) comprising:
a housing including a bottom housing portion (bottom housing portion lower shell 6 in Fig. 1; ¶[0039]) and a top housing portion (top housing portion upper shell 5 in Fig. 1; ¶[0039]);
a power control module supported at least partly within the housing (a power control module is supported within lower shell 6 as shown in Fig. 1. See “Power Control Module” annotation to Fig. 1 of Feng reproduced below.), the power control module including a base plate (base plate bottom cover 7 in Fig. 1; ¶[0039]), a switching mechanism (see “Switching Mechanism” annotation below) and a terminal assembly (see “Terminal Assembly” annotation below), the base plate having a first side (the inner side of the sidewall of bottom cover 7 in Fig. 1) and an opposing second side (the outer side of the sidewall of bottom cover 7 in Fig. 1), wherein the base plate defines one or more ports therethrough from the first side to the second side (the sidewall of bottom cover 7 in Fig. 1 is shown with port opening receiving the Switching Mechanism and air pressure switch 8), and the switching mechanism and the terminal assembly are each mounted to the first side of the base plate (the Switching Mechanism and the Terminal Assembly are mounted to the inner side of the sidewall of bottom cover 7);
a motor supported within the housing and coupled electrically, at least indirectly, to the power control module (motor 10 in Fig. 1 within shell portions 5 and 6 is coupled to the control circuit as shown in Fig. 3; ¶[0039]);
an actuator positioned externally of the housing (actuator button 14 in Fig. 2 is shown positioned externally of shell portions 5 and 6 and bottom housing cover 7; ¶[0051]);
an air conduction tube connecting the actuator at least indirectly with the power control module (air pipe conduction tube 15 in Fig. 2 is connected to button 14 and air pressure switch 8 shown in Fig. 1 which is connected to the electric switch of the power control module circuit of Fig. 3; ¶[0050] through [0053]); and
a power link extending outward from the power control module and the housing, so that the power control module can be coupled electrically, at least indirectly, to a power source (power cord link 9 in Fig. 1 is coupled in the control circuit shown in Fig. 3 and extends outward from the housing as shown in Fig. 1 such that it can be connect to a power source; ¶[0039] and [0054]),
wherein each of the power link and the air conduction tube approach the power control module at the second side of the base plate (Power cord link 9 and air conduction tube 15 approach the Power Control Module at the outer side of the sidewall of bottom cover 7 in Fig. 1. See “Air Conduction Tube” annotation below.), such that the power link passes from the second side to the switching mechanism via the one or more ports defined through the base plate (power cord link 9 passes from the outer side of the sidewall of bottom cover 7 to the Switching Mechanism via the port shown holding the Switching Mechanism in Fig. 1),
wherein the food waste disposer system includes a food waste disposer (the food waste disposer shown in Fig. 1) and an air switch assembly (air pressure switch 8 in Fig. 1),
wherein the housing of the food waste disposer defines an orifice and a retaining lip positioned on the exterior of the housing proximate the orifice (The bottom of lower shell 6 shown in Fig. 1 has a recessed orifice, see the dashed-line cylinder annotated below, which opens to the exterior of the housing that is sealed by bottom cover 7 when bottom cover 7 is assembled up into the recessed orifice and attached via a retaining lip which defines the recessed orifice; ¶[0039]. See “Retaining Lip” annotations below.),
wherein at least one internal component of the food waste disposer includes a plurality of electrical contacts positioned proximate the orifice and coupled at least indirectly to the motor (internal component motor 10 in Fig. 1 includes a plurality of electrical contacts coupled thereto (Fig. 3) positioned proximate the recessed orifice. See “Electrical Contacts” annotation below),
wherein the terminal assembly includes a plurality of electrical sockets (the Terminal Assembly annotated below has a plurality of electrical sockets shown in cross-section receiving the Electrical Contacts of motor 10),
wherein the power control module is configured so that, when the air switch assembly is fully installed relative to the food waste disposer, a first edge portion of the base plate is received into the retaining lip and the electrical contacts respectively are positioned within the electrical sockets, respectively, so as to complete an electrical connection between the power control module and the motor (Fig. 1, as annotated below, shows the Power Control Module is configured so that a first edge portion of base plate bottom cover 7 is received into the Retaining Lip and the Electrical Contacts are positioned within the electrical sockets to complete the electrical connection between the Power Control Module and motor 10 when air switch assembly 8 is fully installed into the recessed orifice of lower shell 6),
wherein a tube adapter is provided along the second side of the base plate to receive the air conduction tube to secure the air conduction tube to the base plate (Fig. 1 shows a tube adapter provided along the outer side of the sidewall of bottom cover 7. See “Tube Adapter” annotation below.),
wherein the power control module is configured to switch between having a first operational status and having a second operational status in response to a pressure change communicated through the air conduction tube as a result of an actuation of the actuator (¶[0052] discloses button 14 may be pressed to generate air pressure transmitted through air pipe conduction tube 15 which opens and closes air pressure switch 8. Air pressure switch 8 opens and closes the electric switch shown in the power control module circuit of Fig. 3 which changes the operational status of the circuit between a first operational “on” state when the switch is closed and a second operational “off” state when the switch is open.), and
wherein electric power received at the power link from the power source is communicated to the motor from the power link at least indirectly via the power control module when the power control module has the first operational status, but is not communicated to the motor when the power control module has the second operational status (When the electric switch of the power control module circuit shown in Fig. 3 is placed in the first operational “on” state, electric power received from power cord link 9 is communicated to motor 10. When the electric switch is placed in the second operational “off” state, electric power is removed from motor 10.).
Regarding claim 2, Feng anticipates the food waste disposer system of claim 1 as explained above. Feng further discloses:
wherein the food waste disposer includes the housing and the motor (the disposer shown in Fig. 1 includes housing portions 5 and 6 and motor 10),
wherein the air switch assembly includes the power link and an air switch mechanism (Fig. 1 shows the air switch assembly includes power cord link 9 by way of common mounting on the sidewall of bottom cover 7), and
wherein the air switch mechanism includes the power control module, the air conduction tube, and the actuator (the air switch mechanism shown in Fig. 3 includes the Power Control Module by electrical connection, the Air Conduction Tube as shown in Fig. 1 and 15 in Fig. 2, and actuator button 14 in Fig. 2).
Regarding claim 4, Feng anticipates the food waste disposer system of claim 2 as explained above. Feng further discloses,
wherein the base plate is positioned along an exterior surface of the housing so as to substantially cover over the orifice (base plate bottom cover 7 is positioned within and covers the recessed orifice within lower shell 6 as annotated above), and
wherein the switching mechanism and the terminal assembly are substantially positioned within the orifice or within an interior of the food waste disposer when the base plate is positioned along the exterior surface so that the air switch assembly is fully coupled in relation to the food waste disposer (Fig. 1 as annotated above shows the Switching Mechanism and the Terminal Assembly are positioned within the recessed orifice of lower shell 6 within the interior of the waste disposer when bottom cover 7 is coupled to lower shell 6 as shown).
Regarding claim 7, Feng anticipates the food waste disposer system of claim 4 as explained above. Feng further discloses wherein, when the air switch assembly is fully coupled in relation to the food waste disposer, the power control module is directly physically coupled to at least one internal component of the food waste disposer that is electrically coupled at least indirectly to the motor within the food waste disposer (Fig. 1, as annotated above, shows the air switch fully couple to the disposer with the Power Control Module directly physically coupled to motor 10 via the Terminal Assembly).
Regarding claim 9, Feng anticipates the food waste disposer system of claim 2 as explained above. Feng further discloses wherein the actuator is configured to be coupled to or mounted upon a sink (actuator button 14 in Fig. 2 is capable of being installed on a kitchen cabinet countertop containing a sink as disclosed in ¶[0052]).
Regarding claim 10, Feng anticipates the food waste disposer system of claim 1 as explained above. Feng further discloses wherein the actuator includes at least one of a pneumatic cylinder, a bladder, and a diaphragm structure (actuator button 14 has bladder air bag 22 in Fig. 2 as disclosed in ¶[0052]).
Regarding claim 11, Feng anticipates the food waste disposer system of claim 1 as explained above. Feng further discloses wherein the power link is a power cord that includes a plug suitable for being coupled to a wall outlet (Figs. 1 and 2 show power cord link 9 has a plug suitable for being coupled to a wall outlet).
Regarding claim 12, Feng anticipates the food waste disposer system of claim 11 as explained above. Feng further discloses, wherein the plug is a NEMA-type plug (the plug of power cord link 9 shown in Figs. 1 and 2 is a NEMA-type plug).
Regarding claim 13, Feng anticipates the food waste disposer system of claim 1 as explained above. Feng further discloses:
wherein the power control module further includes a diaphragm structure and the switching mechanism includes an electrical switch and a switch actuator by which the diaphragm structure and the electrical switch are at least indirectly in communication (the Power Control Module circuit shown in Fig. 3 is connected to air pressure switch 8 in Fig. 1 which includes an illustrated diaphragm structure that actuates the electric switching mechanism shown in the circuit of Fig. 3),
wherein the diaphragm structure is in fluid communication with the switch actuator by the air conduction tube and is configured to experience a movement in response to the pressure change (The diaphragm structure of air pressure switch 8 in Fig. 1 is in fluid communication with actuator button 14 by air pipe conduction tube 15 shown in Fig. 2. ¶[0052] discloses when a user presses actuator button 14 airbag 22 generates an air pressure change transmitted through air pipe 15 which moves the diaphragm structure of air pressure switch 8.), and
wherein the movement of the diaphragm structure can cause a switching of the electrical switch between first and second states corresponding respectively to the first and second operational statuses of the power control module (the diaphragm structure of air pressure switch 8 in Fig. 1 is connected to the electrical switch shown in the circuit of Fig. 3 such that the diaphragm structure opens and closes the electric switch which switches the circuit between a first “on” operational status, where the electric switch is closed, and a second “off” operational status, where the switch is open).
Regarding claim 14, Feng anticipates the food waste disposer system of claim 13 as explained above. Feng further discloses wherein the electrical switch includes a single-throw switch (the electrical switch shown in the circuit of Fig. 3 is a single-throw switch).
Regarding claim 15, Feng anticipates the food waste disposer system of claim 1 as explained above. Feng further discloses wherein the motor is selected from the group consisting of an inductive motor and a permanent magnet motor (¶[0054] discloses motor 10 in Fig. 1 is a DC permanent magnet motor).
Regarding claim 16, Feng discloses a method comprising:
providing a waste disposer system (waste disposer system of Fig. 1) including
a housing including a bottom housing portion and a top housing portion (bottom housing portion lower shell 6 and top housing portion upper shell 5 in Fig. 1),
a power control module supported at least partly within the housing (see “Power Control Module” annotation to Fig. 1 of Feng reproduced above), the power control module including a base plate (base plate bottom cover 7 in Fig. 1), a switching mechanism (see “Switching Mechanism” annotation above) and a terminal assembly (see “Terminal Assembly” annotation above), the base plate having a first side (the inner side of the sidewall of bottom cover 7 in Fig. 1) and an opposing second side (the outer side of the sidewall of bottom cover 7 in Fig. 1), the switching mechanism including an electrical switch (the Switching Mechanism includes the electrical circuit shown in Fig. 3 that includes an electrical switch), wherein the base plate defines one or more ports therethrough from the first side to the second side (The sidewall of bottom cover 7 in Fig. 1 is shown with port opening receiving the Switching Mechanism and air pressure switch 8. See “Port Openings” annotation to Fig. 1 of Feng reproduced below.), and the switching mechanism and the terminal assembly are each mounted to the first side of the base plate (the Switching Mechanism and the Terminal Assembly are mounted to the inner side of the sidewall of bottom cover 7),
a motor supported within the housing and coupled electrically, at least indirectly, to the power control module (motor 10 in Fig. 1 within shell portions 5 and 6 is coupled to the control circuit as shown in Fig. 3 of the Power Control Module),
an actuator positioned externally of the housing (actuator button 14 in Fig. 2 is shown positioned externally of shell portions 5 and 6 and bottom housing cover 7),
an air conduction tube connecting the actuator at least indirectly with the power control module (air pipe conduction tube 15 in Fig. 2 is connected to button 14 and air pressure switch 8 shown in Fig. 1 which is connected to the electric switch of the Power Control Module),
a power link extending outward from the power control module and the housing, so that the power control module can be coupled electrically, at least indirectly, to a power source (power cord link 9 in Fig. 1 extends outward from the Power Control Module and the housing as shown in Fig. 1 such that it can be connect to a power source), and
a tube adapter provided along the second side of the base plate to receive the air conduction tube to secure the air conduction tube to the base plate (Fig. 1 shows a tube adapter provided along the outer side of the sidewall of bottom cover 7 receiving the air conduction tube. See annotations to Fig. 1 above.), and
a diaphragm structure positioned within the tube adapter (Fig. 1, as annotated above, shows a diaphragm structure positioned within the Tube Adapter), such that the switching mechanism and the diaphragm structure are positioned on opposite sides of the base plate (Fig. 1, as annotated above, shows the Switching Mechanism partially positioned on the outer side of the sidewall of bottom cover 7 while the diaphragm structure is shown positioned wholly on the inner side of the sidewall of bottom cover 7), and are in communication with one another by way of the one or more ports such that the diaphragm structure is at least indirectly in communication with the electric switch (the Switching Mechanism and the diaphragm structure are each associated with the Port Opening through the sidewall of bottom cover 7 as annotated below such that they are connected to the electric circuit shown in Fig. 3);
wherein each of the power link and the air conduction tube approach the power control module at the second side of the base plate, such that the power link passes from the second side to the switching mechanism via the one or more ports defined through the base plate (power link cord 9 and the Air Conduction Tube approach the Power Control Module at the second outer side of base plate bottom cover 7 as annotated above such that cord 9 passes through the Port Openings of bottom cover 7 as annotated below),
wherein the waste disposer system includes a food waste disposer (the food waste disposer shown in Fig. 1) and an air switch assembly (air pressure switch 8 in Fig. 1),
wherein the housing of the food waste disposer defines an orifice and a retaining lip positioned on the exterior of the housing proximate the orifice (The bottom of lower shell 6 shown in Fig. 1 has a recessed orifice, see the dashed-line cylinder annotated above, which opens to the exterior of the housing that is sealed by bottom cover 7 when bottom cover 7 is assembled up into the recessed orifice and attached via a retaining lip which defines the recessed orifice; ¶[0039]. See “Retaining Lip” annotations above.),
wherein at least one internal component of the food waste disposer includes a plurality of electrical contacts positioned proximate the orifice and coupled at least indirectly to the motor (internal component motor 10 in Fig. 1 includes a plurality of electrical contacts coupled thereto (Fig. 3) positioned proximate the recessed orifice. See “Electrical Contacts” annotation above),
wherein the terminal assembly includes a plurality of electrical sockets (the Terminal Assembly annotated below has a plurality of electrical sockets shown in cross-section receiving the Electrical Contacts of motor 10),
wherein the power control module is configured so that, when the air switch assembly is fully installed relative to the food waste disposer, a first edge portion of the base plate is received into the retaining lip and the electrical contacts respectively are positioned within the electrical sockets, respectively, so as to complete an electrical connection between the power control module and the motor (Fig. 1, as annotated above, shows the Power Control Module is configured so that a first edge portion of base plate bottom cover 7 is received into the Retaining Lip and the Electrical Contacts are positioned within the electrical sockets to complete the electrical connection between the Power Control Module and motor 10 when air switch assembly 8 is fully installed into the recessed orifice of lower shell 6)
receiving electric power at the power control module at least indirectly via the power link (electric power is received by the power control module circuit shown in Fig. 3 at points L and N from power cord link 9 in Fig. 1 when it is plugged into a power source);
transmitting a pressure change through the air conduction tube to the power control module in response to an actuation of the actuator (¶[0052] discloses a user presses actuator button 14 in Fig. 2 to compress air bag 22 which transmits a discharge of air through air pipe conduction tube 15 to the diaphragm structure of air pressure switch 8 in Fig. 1 which opens and closes the electrical switch shown in the power control module circuit shown in Fig. 3), such that the diaphragm structure moves and the electric switch changes switch states in response to the movement of the diaphragm structure (¶[0052] discloses the diaphragm structure of air pressure switch 8 opens and closes the electric switch shown in the power control module circuit of Fig. 3 which changes the operational status of the circuit between a first operational “on” state when the switch is closed and a second operational “off” state when the switch is open.); and
switching from a first operational status of the power control module to a second operational status of the power control module in response to the pressure change (the air pressure switch 8 in Fig. 1 opens and closes the electrical switch shown in the power control module circuit shown in Fig. 3 which changes the operation status of the circuit between an “on” operational status and an “off” operational status),
communicating the electric power received via the power link to the motor from the power link at least indirectly via the power control module when the power control module has the first operational status (the electrical switch shown in the power control module circuit of Fig. 3 is closed when air pressure switch 8 in Fig. 1 is closed which allows electric power received via power cord link 9 to be communicated to motor 10 placing the circuit in an “on” operational status);
additionally switching from the second operational status to the first operational status in response to an additional pressure change (the electrical switch shown in the power control module circuit of Fig. 3 switches from an open “off” operational status when air pressure switch 8 in Fig. 1 is open to a closed “on” operational status when air pressure switch 8 is closed), such that the diaphragm structure again moves and the electric switch again changes switch states in response to the additional movement of the diaphragm structure (¶[0052] discloses the diaphragm structure of air pressure switch 8 opens and closes the electric switch shown in the power control module circuit of Fig. 3 which changes the operational status of the circuit between a first operational “on” state when the switch is closed and a second operational “off” state when the switch is open.); and
ceasing the communicating of the electric power to the motor when the power control module has the second operational status (electric power is removed from the circuit shown in Fig. 3 when the electrical switch is opened by air pressure switch 8 in Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 17, Feng anticipates the method of claim 16 as explained above. Feng further discloses wherein the food waste disposer includes the housing and the motor (the disposer shown in Fig. 1 includes housing portions 5 and 6 and motor 10),
wherein the air switch assembly includes the power link and an air switch mechanism (power link cord 9 and air pressure switch 8 in Fig. 1),
wherein the air switch mechanism includes the power control module, the air conduction tube, and the actuator (Air pressure switch 8 in Fig. 1 is connected to the Power Control Module circuit shown in Fig. 3 to open and close the electric switch of the circuit. Air pressure switch 8 is connected to air pipe conduction tube 15 as shown in Figs. 1 and 2 which is connected to actuator button 14.), and
wherein the providing of the waste disposer system includes installing the air switch assembly in relation to the food waste disposer so as to be integrated with the food waste disposer (Fig. 1 shows air pressure switch 8 and power cord link 9 provided for integrated installation with the waste disposer).
Regarding claim 18, Feng anticipates the method of claim 17 as explained above. Feng further discloses wherein the installing of the air switch assembly in relation to the food waste disposer includes each of
aligning the power control module of the air switch assembly relative to the orifice within the housing of the food waste disposer (the Power Control Module, as annotated in the rejection of claim 1 above, is aligned relative to the recessed orifice within lower shell 6);
causing the power control module to proceed toward and at least partly into the orifice so that a switching mechanism and a terminal assembly of the power control module are inserted through the orifice and at least partly into an interior of the food waste disposer and so that a base plate of the power control module comes into contact with the housing (the Power Control Module is inserted into the recessed orifice during assembly of the waste disposer so that the Switching Mechanism and the Terminal Assembly of the Power Control Module are inserted through the recessed orifice and at least partly into an interior of the waste disposer so that bottom cover 7 comes into contact with lower shell 6 as shown in Fig. 1);
sliding the base plate relative to the housing so that electrical sockets of the terminal assembly receive electrical contacts provided within the food waste disposer, the electrical contacts being electrically coupled to the motor (during assembly of the waste disposer shown in Fig. 1, bottom cover 7 is slid up into the recessed orifice of lower shell 6 so that electrical sockets of the Terminal Assembly receive electrical contacts provided within the waste disposer); and
attaching the base plate relative to the housing (Fig. 1 shows bottom cover 7 attached to lower shell 6).
Regarding claim 19, Feng discloses an air switch assembly for implementation in combination with a waste disposer in an integrated manner so as to provide air switch control of operation of the waste disposer (Fig. 1 shows an air switch assembly integrated with a food waste disposer), the assembly comprising:
a power control module including a planar base plate and also a switching mechanism and a terminal assembly that are each supported upon the base plate (the Power Control Module, as annotated in Fig. 1 above, includes base plate bottom cover 7 with planar bottom wall, the Switching Mechanism and the Terminal Assembly supported on bottom cover 7), the base plate having a first side (the inner side of the sidewall of bottom cover 7 in Fig. 1) and an opposing second side (the outer side of the sidewall of bottom cover 7 in Fig. 1), wherein the base plate defines one or more ports therethrough from the first side to the second side (the sidewall of bottom cover 7 in Fig. 1 is shown with port opening receiving the Switching Mechanism and air pressure switch 8), and the switching mechanism and the terminal assembly are each mounted to the first side of the base plate (the Switching Mechanism and the Terminal Assembly are mounted to the inner side of the sidewall of bottom cover 7),
wherein the base plate includes at least one feature that enables, at least in part, the base plate to be secured to the waste disposer (the upper end of bottom cover 7 in Fig. 1 enables it to be secured to the waste disposer shown);
a power link extending outward from the power control module, wherein the power link includes a plug at an end apart from the power control module that is configured for being coupled to a wall outlet (power cord link 9 is shown in Fig. 1 extending outwardly from the Power Control Module and including a plug at its distal end that is configured to be coupled to a wall outlet); and
an air switch mechanism including an actuator and an air conduction tube linking the actuator with the power control module (actuator button 14 in Fig. 2 is linked to the Power Control Module in Fig. 1 as annotated above through air pipe conduction tube 15 in Fig. 2 through air pressure switch 8 shown in Fig. 1),
wherein each of the power link and the air conduction tube approach the power control module at the second side of the base plate (Fig. 1, as annotated above, shows power cord link 9 and the Air Conduction Tube approaching the Power Control Module at the outer side of the sidewall of base cover 7), such that the power link passes from the second side to the switching mechanism via the one or more ports defined through the base plate (Fig. 1, as annotated above, shows power cord link 9 passing from the outer side of the sidewall of bottom cover 7 to the Switching Mechanism via the port opening defined through the sidewall of bottom cover 7),
wherein a tube adapter is provided along the second side of the base plate to receive the air conduction tube to secure the air conduction tube to the base plate (Fig. 1 shows a tube adapter provided along the outer side of the sidewall of bottom cover 7 receiving the air conduction tube. See annotations to Fig. 1 above.),
wherein the switching mechanism includes a diaphragm structure positioned within the tube adapter, such that the switching mechanism and the diaphragm structure are positioned on opposite sides of the base plate (Fig. 1, as annotated above, shows the Switching Mechanism partially positioned on the outer side of the sidewall of bottom cover 7 while the diaphragm structure is shown positioned wholly on the inner side of the sidewall of bottom cover 7), and are in communication with one another by way of the one or more ports such that the diaphragm structure is at least indirectly in communication with an electrical switch (the Switching Mechanism and the diaphragm structure are each associated with a port opening through the sidewall of bottom cover 7 as annotated in Fig. 1 above such that they are connected to the electric circuit shown in Fig. 3), wherein the diaphragm structure is configured to be moved in response to pressure changes communicated via the air conduction tube in response to actuations of the actuator (¶[0052] discloses when a user presses actuator button 14 in Fig. 2, air pressure is generated by air bag 22 that is communicated via air pipe conduction tube 15 to air pressure switch 8 such that the diaphragm structure shown in Fig. 1 moves in response to the air pressure change transmitted by pipe 15), and wherein the switching mechanism is configured so that the electrical switch changes switch states in response to movements of the diaphragm structure (the electrical switch shown in the circuit of Fig. 3 switches between “open” and “closed” states in response to movement of the diaphragm structure moving the electrical switch), and
wherein the terminal assembly includes a plurality of first electrical contacts that are configured to engage a plurality of second electrical contacts formed along an interior of the waste disposer, so as to allow for a direct physical connection and a direct electrical connection to be formed between the power control module and the plurality of second electrical contacts (the Terminal Assembly of the Power Control Module is shown as including a plurality of first electrical contacts (the circuit of Fig. 3 shows two electrical contacts connected to the motor) directly physically engaged with a plurality of second electrical contacts formed within the disposer).
Regarding claim 20, Feng anticipates the air switch assembly of claim 19 as explained above. Feng further discloses, wherein the first electrical contacts are formed within electrical sockets of the terminal assembly that are configured to receive the second electrical contacts (Fig. 1 shows the Terminal Assembly annotated above with first electrical contacts formed within electrical sockets configured to receive the second electrical contacts. See the enlarged view of the Terminal Assembly reproduced below with “Electrical Sockets” and “Second Electrical Contacts” annotations), wherein the plug is a NEMA-type plug, and wherein the electrical switch is a single throw switch (the plug of power cord link 9 in Fig. 1 is a NEMA-type plug, and the electrical switch shown in Fig. 3 is a single throw switch), and
wherein the power control module is configured to have each of first and second operational statuses, wherein the first operational status occurs when the electrical switch has a closed state, and wherein the second operational status occurs when the electrical switch has an open state (the Power Control Module includes the circuit shown in Fig. 3 which is configured to have an “on” operational first state when the electrical switch is closed and an “off” operational second state when the electrical switch is open).
Regarding claim 21, Feng anticipates the food waste disposer system of claim 1 as explained above. Feng further discloses wherein a diaphragm structure is positioned within the tube adapter (Fig. 1, as annotated above, shows a diaphragm structure positioned within the Tube Adapter), such that the switching mechanism and the diaphragm structure are positioned on opposite sides of the base plate (Fig. 1, as annotated above, shows the Switching Mechanism partially positioned on the outer side of the sidewall of bottom cover 7 while the diaphragm structure is shown positioned wholly on the inner side of the sidewall of bottom cover 7), and are in communication with one another by way of the one or more ports such that the diaphragm structure is at least indirectly in communication with an electrical switch by way of the switching mechanism (the Switching Mechanism and the diaphragm structure are each associated with a port opening through the sidewall of bottom cover 7 as annotated in Fig. 1 above such that they are connected to the electric circuit shown in Fig. 3).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 5 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Feng in view of U.S. Patent Application Publication No. US 2022/0069513 A1 by Weaver et al., hereinafter “Weaver”.
Regarding claim 5, Feng anticipates the food waste disposer system of claim 1 as explained above. However, Feng is silent regarding how bottom cover 7 in Fig. 1 is retained to lower shell 6 when bottom cover 7 is inserted up into the recessed opening of lower shell 6 to seal it as disclosed in paragraph [0039].
In the same field of food waste disposers, Weaver teaches it was known before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a retaining screw (fastener 24 in Fig. 2) to retain the base plate (cover plate 102 in Fig. 2) of a power control module (electrical connector assembly 100 in Fig. 2) to the housing of the disposer (housing 14 in Fig. 2) by a retaining screw hole. See at least paragraphs [0025] and [0026].
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use a retaining screw to retain Feng’s bottom cover 7 to lower shell 6 in the same way Weaver teaches. A person of ordinary skill would have recognized applying the teaching of Weaver to the disclosure of Feng would provide a way to retain Feng’s bottom cover to Feng’s lower shell.
Regarding claim 6, the prior art reference combination of Feng in view of Weaver renders the food waste disposer system of claim 5 unpatentable as explained above. Feng further discloses wherein the base plate is secured along a bottom surface portion of the exterior surface of the housing (base plate bottom cover 7 in Fig. 1 is shown secured to the bottom of lower shell 6).
Conclusion
/P DEREK PRESSLEY/Examiner, Art Unit 3725