Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Seefeldt (US 9307340 B2, hereinafter “Seefeldt”) in view of Ohta (US 20090232318 A1, hereinafter “Ohta”) (Ohta is included as an additional reference in this rejection due to the applicant’s challenge to the official notice).
Regarding claim 1, Seefeldt teaches A method for optimizing audio equalization settings based on a specific make and model of loudspeaker being used in an audio distribution system, comprising: (see col. 2 line 24-31: applying corrective filtering, e.g., equalization filtering directly in a portable media device at least to correct for, e.g., equalize for the overall system comprising the portable media device and the playback system to which it is attached.)
generating a loudspeaker test signal; (see col. 2 line 58 - col. 3 line 9: calibration signals being played back on the particular playback system)
transmitting the loudspeaker test signal to a loudspeaker unit under test (LUUT); (see col. 2 line 58 - col. 3 line 9, col. 5 line 56 - col. 6 line 4: calibration signals being played back on the particular playback system which includes a loudspeaker)
receiving an acoustic signal from the LUUT by a microphone located at a test location, the microphone generating an electrical loudspeaker test signal response converting the loudspeaker test signal response to a digitized loudspeaker test signal response; (see col. 3 line 17-49, col. 6 line 35-57: configured to record a sound field resulting from one or more pre-defined calibration signals being played back on the particular playback system, the recording using the microphone and convert to digital audio signals)
generating a spectral plot of the digitized loudspeaker test signal response for the LUUT; (see col. 15 line 16-30: alter the playback system's loudspeaker's frequency response)
comparing the spectral plot of the LUUT to spectral plots of known loudspeakers, wherein spectral plots of known loudspeakers are precomputed and stored for comparison, and matching the spectral plot of the LUUT to a spectral plot of a first make and model of a known loudspeaker; (see col. 15 line 16-51: the playback system's loudspeaker's frequency response is matched to the target frequency response, which is a known plot that is precomputed/measured. Comparing the spectral plots is not explicitly mentioned, but matching the plots cannot be achieved without a prior step of comparison, therefore it is inherent that the frequency responses are first compared.)
And obtaining a set of equalizer settings for the first make and model of the known loudspeaker, wherein the step of comparing comprises:(a) selecting a first set of predetermined frequencies; (see col. 13 line 38-45: portable media device 121 implements a variable set of gain controls according to respective gain parameters for a pre-defined number of frequency bands. A set of gain settings is stored as a corrective filter profile 258 of corrective filter profiles collection 257 and is usable to implement a particular set of one or more corrective filters for a particular playback system.)
(b) obtaining a first set of amplitude values at each frequency in the first set of predetermined frequencies for the received loudspeaker test signal response; (see col. 17 line 36-57: In one embodiment the calibration signal is made up of a sum of distinct frequency tones of known amplitudes at a pre-defined number of distinct frequencies.)
(c) obtaining a first set of known amplitude values at each of the frequencies in the first set of predetermined frequencies for a first known loudspeaker: (see col. 17 line 36-57: distinct frequency tones of known amplitudes)
(d) obtaining an absolute value of a difference in amplitude values at each of the frequencies in the first set of predetermined frequencies between the received loudspeaker test signal and the first known loudspeaker, and then summing together all of the obtained absolute values of differences in amplitude values; (see col. 17 line 36-57: In one embodiment the calibration signal is made up of a sum of distinct frequency tones of known amplitudes at a pre-defined number of distinct frequencies.) Obtaining the absolute value is not explicitly mentioned, but it in order to calculate the sum of differences in amplitude values, you must take the absolute value, therefore it is inherent in calculating the sum, the absolute value is obtained prior. (like a Fourier Transform)
(e) performing steps (c) and (d) for a plurality of other known loudspeakers; and (see col. 17 line 36-57: corrective filter profile stored for or in the portable media device 121 for the particular playback system and listening environment.)
(f) the obtained set of equalizer settings for the matching loudspeaker are used for the loudspeaker unit under test. (see col. 18 line 1-13: from the transform, the recorded sound field to match the target reference spectrum for the particular playback system.)
Seefeldt is silent to determining a lowest value of the summed values of the differences in amplitude values, and wherein the known loudspeaker with the lowest summed difference in amplitude values is identified as a matching loudspeaker to the loudspeaker unit under test.
Ohta teaches determining a lowest value of the summed values of the differences in amplitude values, and wherein the known loudspeaker with the lowest summed difference in amplitude values is identified as a matching loudspeaker to the loudspeaker unit under test. (see [0041]: determining the square sum of the amplitude at its minimum in order to match and correct the speaker output.)
Seefeldt and Ohta are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the field of loudspeaker equalization profile for improved audio output. It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art to have chosen to apply the broad teachings of Ohta to Seefeldt in order to correct and improve speaker output.
Regarding claim 2, Seefeldt teaches transmitting the obtained set of equalizer settings for the first make and model of the known loudspeaker to an equalizer, wherein the equalizer is part of the audio distribution system; and processing audio data received by the audio distribution system using the obtained set of equalizer settings. (see claim 1: equalize for playback from the portable media device via the first playback system in the first listening arrangement, the calculating being carried out on the portable media device or on a remote processing system coupled to the portable media device and carrying out the pre-storing of the filter data for the calculated first set of one or more corrective filters for the first listening arrangement that includes the first playback system.)
Regarding claim 3-4, the claimed limitations are a system claim directly corresponding to the method claims 1-2; therefore, is rejected for the significant similar reasons as claim 1-2 as discussed above.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed November 06, 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. On page 6-7 of applicant’s remarks, Applicant mainly argues that the Office has failed to establish a prima facie case of obviousness because the cited references do not explicitly disclose the claimed “obtaining the absolute value.” However, the rejection does not rely on an explicit teaching of the limitation, but rather on inherency. As pointed out in the rejection above, Seefeldt teaches (d) obtaining an absolute value of a difference in amplitude values at each of the frequencies in the first set of predetermined frequencies between the received loudspeaker test signal and the first known loudspeaker, and then summing together all of the obtained absolute values of differences in amplitude values; (see col. 17 line 36-57: In one embodiment the calibration signal is made up of a sum of distinct frequency tones of known amplitudes at a pre-defined number of distinct frequencies.) Obtaining the absolute value is not explicitly mentioned, but it in order to calculate the sum of differences in amplitude values, you must take the absolute value, therefore it is inherent in calculating the sum, the absolute value is obtained prior (like a Fourier Transform). As taught by Seefeldt, calculating the sum differences in amplitude values, it necessarily and inevitably results in obtaining an absolute value . Thus, the claimed limitation is inherent in the prior art combination and need not be expressly recognized by the references.
See MPEP § 2113; Where the claimed and prior art products are identical or substantially identical in structure or composition, or are produced by identical or substantially identical processes, a prima facie case of either anticipation or obviousness has been established. In re Best, 562 F.2d 1252, 1255, 195 USPQ 430, 433 (CCPA 1977).
On page 7-8 of applicant’s remarks, applicant further challenges the official notice statement which states the limitations of claim 1 of “determining a lowest value of the summed values of the differences in amplitude values, and wherein the known loudspeaker with the lowest summed difference in amplitude values is identified as a matching loudspeaker to the loudspeaker unit under test” is a well-known in the art, and therefore would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill to have included these limitations. Thus, the Examiner is providing such a prior art reference as set forth below in response to applicant’s request to show by evidential document:
Ohta (US 20090232318 A1) teaches determining a lowest value of the summed values of the differences in amplitude values, and wherein the known loudspeaker with the lowest summed difference in amplitude values is identified as a matching loudspeaker to the loudspeaker unit under test. (see [0041]: determining the square sum of the amplitude at its minimum in order to match and correct the speaker output.)
On page 9 of applicant’s remarks, applicant mainly argues that the art of record fails to disclose the obtained set of equalizer settings for the matching loudspeaker are used for the loudspeaker unit under test. The Examiner disagrees and maintains as pointed out in the rejection above, Seefeldt clearly teaches the obtained set of equalizer settings for the matching loudspeaker are used for the loudspeaker unit under test. (see col. 18 line 1-13: from the transform, the recorded sound field to match the target reference spectrum for the particular playback system.) The corrective filter necessarily includes spectral adjustment parameters, such as frequency gain/filter values, which correspond to equalizer settings because equalizer settings are used to adjust spectral content of an audio signal in the same manner, and thus Seefeldt clearly teaches this limitation.
On page 10 of applicant’s remarks, applicant mainly argues that the art of record fails to disclose the limitations of dependent claims 2 and 4 and independent claim 3. The Examiner disagrees and maintains as pointed out in the rejection above Seefeldt clearly teaches transmitting the obtained set of equalizer settings for the first make and model of the known loudspeaker to an equalizer, wherein the equalizer is part of the audio distribution system; and processing audio data received by the audio distribution system using the obtained set of equalizer settings. (see claim 1: equalize for playback from the portable media device via the first playback system in the first listening arrangement, the calculating being carried out on the portable media device or on a remote processing system coupled to the portable media device and carrying out the pre-storing of the filter data for the calculated first set of one or more corrective filters for the first listening arrangement that includes the first playback system.)
Regarding claim 3-4, the claimed limitations are a system claim directly corresponding to the method claims 1-2; therefore, is rejected for the significant similar reasons as claim 1-2 as discussed above.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ANNABELLE KANG/ Examiner, Art Unit 2695
/JASON R KURR/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2695