DETAILED CORRESPONDENCE
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Objections
Claim 9 is objected to because of the following informalities:
The word “roope” (line 20) appears to be a grammatical error. Did Applicant mean -rope-?
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 7 and 11-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vasstrand (US Publication 2009/0261052 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Vasstrand discloses a method and apparatus for deep water deployment operations (see figures 1-8) comprising:
A hoisting system (see figures 1-8) for hoisting a load, the hoisting system comprising:
a main winch system (considered the winch of wire 16, and 16, see figures 2-6) including a main winch (considered the winch of wire 16) and main rope (16), an end connector (11) at a terminal end (see figure 1) mounted to an end of the main rope (see figure 1), wherein the main winch system is configured to both spool the main rope in and spool the main rope out;
an auxiliary winch system (13, 4a, and 4b, see figures 2-6) including an auxiliary winch (13) and an auxiliary rope (4a and/or 4b), a load connector (3a, see figure 2) disposed at a terminal end (see figure 2),
the auxiliary winch system includes at least one rope connector (3b, 3c, 5, 6, and/or 7) comprising a splitable rope connector (3, 3b, 3c, 5, 6, and/or 7), wherein the auxiliary rope comprises a first section (4b) extending from a first end at the auxiliary winch to a second end connected to the rope connector (see figures 1-6), and a second section (4a) extending from a first end connected to the rope connector to a second end defining the terminal end of the auxiliary rope and connected to the load connector of the auxiliary rope, wherein the load is configured to be hung from the load connector at the second end of the second section of auxiliary rope and the terminal end of the auxiliary rope connected to the first section with the splitable rope connector, wherein the second section of the auxiliary rope is configured to be spooled out from the auxiliary winch before the first section when the auxiliary rope is spooled out from the auxiliary winch (see figures 2-6);
wherein the splitable rope connector comprises a first connector part (lower 5, see figure 1) disposed at the second end of the first section of the auxiliary rope and a second connector part (3, 7, 6, and upper right 5, see figure 1) disposed at the first end of the second section of the auxiliary rope, wherein the first connector part and the second connector part are releasably coupled to each other (as personal re-rig the roundel 3 for each new lowering step, see last sentence on paragraph 0037) for allowing disconnection and reconnection between the second end of the second section of the auxiliary rope and the first end of the first section of the auxiliary rope, wherein the second connector part of the splitable rope connector is configured to releasably couple to the end connector of the main rope (as personal re-rig the roundel 3 for each new lowering step, see last sentence on paragraph 0037);
wherein the auxiliary winch system is configured to spool the first section and second section of the auxiliary rope out while (i) the load is hung from being suspended from the end load connector of the auxiliary repeat the second end of the second section of the auxiliary rope and (ii) the first section of the auxiliary rope, the second section of the auxiliary rope, and the auxiliary winch support the weight of the load to lower the load, respectively, with the auxiliary rope;
and a hang-off point (2, see figures 1-3) positioned and configured to temporarily hold one of the at least one rope connector of the auxiliary rope to transfer the weight of the load from the auxiliary winch to the hang-off point (see figures 1-3).
Vasstrand does not explicitly disclose spooling in the auxiliary rope while (i) the load is hung from being suspended from the end load connector of the auxiliary repeat the second end of the second section of the auxiliary rope and (ii) the first section of the auxiliary rope, the second section of the auxiliary rope, and the auxiliary winch support the weight of the load to lift and lower the load, respectively, with the auxiliary rope.
Vasstrand teaches that the object located on the sea bed is retrieved onto the vessel by lifting the object by the crane onto the vessel by reversing the sequence of operations (see claim 2).
Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the device of Vasstrand by having the reel (13, i.e. auxiliary winch) support the load and weight of the object while the auxiliary support rope is being spooled in, to retrieve an object (on the sea bed) onto the vessel by lifting the object by the crane by reversing the sequence of operations as taught by Vasstrand.
Regarding claim 2, Vasstrand further shows wherein the hang-off point (2) is mounted at a fixed-point external to the winches (see figures 3-5).
Regarding claim 3, Vasstrand further shows wherein the hang-off point is embodied in the end connector of the main rope (see figure 1).
Regarding claim 4, Vasstrand further shows wherein the hang-off point is configured to move between a first position for engagement (the roundel 3 is located in the hang-off point, when the sea is calm) with the at least one rope connector and a second position (when the passive heave compensator, see paragraph 0037, moves the roundel out of the hang-off point to compensate for high tides) not engaging with the at least one rope connector.
Regarding claim 5, Vasstrand further shows wherein the hang-off point includes at least two modes including an engagement mode (see figure 1) with the at least one rope connector blocked from passing through the hang-off point and a releasing mode (the mode when the cable is lifted, moved to a side of the hang-off point, and the roundel 3 exits the hang-off point) with the at least one rope connector allowed to pass through the hang-off point (as the rope connector would partly pass through the slot of the hang-off point shown in figure 1).
Regarding claim 6, Vasstrand discloses a method and apparatus for deep water deployment operations (see figures 1-8) comprising:
A hoisting system (see figures 1-8) for hoisting a load, the hoisting system comprising:
a main winch system (considered the winch of wire 16, and 16, see figures 2-6) including a main winch (considered the winch of wire 16) and main rope (16), an end connector (11) at a terminal end (see figure 1) mounted to an end of the main rope (see figure 1), wherein the main winch system is configured to both spool the main rope in and spool the main rope out;
an auxiliary winch system (13, 4a, and 4b, see figures 2-6) including an auxiliary winch (13) and an auxiliary rope (4a and/or 4b), a load connector (3a, see figure 2) disposed at a terminal end (see figure 2),
the auxiliary winch system includes at least one rope connector (3b, 3c, 5, 6, and/or 7) comprising a splitable rope connector (3, 3c, 5, 6, and/or 7), wherein the auxiliary rope comprises a first section (4b) extending from a first end at the auxiliary winch to a second end connected to the rope connector (see figures 1-6), and a second section (4a) extending from a first end connected to the rope connector to a second end defining the terminal end of the auxiliary rope and connected to the load connector of the auxiliary rope, wherein the load is configured to be hung from the load connector at the second end of the second section of auxiliary rope and the terminal end of the auxiliary rope connected to the first section with the splitable rope connector, wherein the second section of the auxiliary rope is configured to be spooled out from the auxiliary winch before the first section when the auxiliary rope is spooled out from the auxiliary winch (see figures 2-6);
wherein the splitable rope connector comprises a first connector part (lower 5, see figure 1) disposed at the second end of the first section of the auxiliary rope and a second connector part (3, 7, 6, and upper right 5, see figure 1) disposed at the first end of the second section of the auxiliary rope, wherein the first connector part and the second connector part are releasably coupled to each other (as personal re-rig the roundel 3 for each new lowering step, see last sentence on paragraph 0037) for allowing disconnection and reconnection between the second end of the second section of the auxiliary rope and the first end of the first section of the auxiliary rope, wherein the second connector part of the splitable rope connector is configured to releasably couple to the end connector of the main rope (as personal re-rig the roundel 3 for each new lowering step, see last sentence on paragraph 0037);
wherein the auxiliary winch system is configured to spool the first section and second section of the auxiliary rope out while (i) the load is hung from being suspended from the end load connector of the auxiliary repeat the second end of the second section of the auxiliary rope and (ii) the first section of the auxiliary rope, the second section of the auxiliary rope, and the auxiliary winch support the weight of the load to lower the load, respectively, with the auxiliary rope;
and a hang-off point (2, see figures 1-3) positioned and configured to temporarily hold one of the at least one rope connector of the auxiliary rope to transfer the weight of the load from the auxiliary winch to the hang-off point (see figures 1-3);
wherein the second section (4a) of the auxiliary rope comprises at least one auxiliary connector (3b, see figure 6) configured to connect to the hang-off point (see figure 3) while the connector parts of the splitable rope connector (such as 3c and 5) are disconnected or reconnected (during re-rig, see last sentence of paragraph 0037),
Vasstrand does not explicitly disclose spooling in the auxiliary rope while (i) the load is hung from being suspended from the end load connector of the auxiliary repeat the second end of the second section of the auxiliary rope and (ii) the first section of the auxiliary rope, the second section of the auxiliary rope, and the auxiliary winch support the weight of the load to lift and lower the load, respectively, with the auxiliary rope.
Vasstrand teaches that the object located on the sea bed is retrieved onto the vessel by lifting the object by the crane onto the vessel by reversing the sequence of operations (see claim 2).
Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the device of Vasstrand by having the reel (13, i.e. auxiliary winch) support the load and weight of the object while the auxiliary support rope is being spooled in, to retrieve an object (on the sea bed) onto the vessel by lifting the object by the crane by reversing the sequence of operations as taught by Vasstrand.
Regarding claim 7, Vasstrand further shows wherein the auxiliary winch system comprises a first compartment (considered the compartment of 13 for rope section 4b, see paragraph 0032) configured to receive the second section and a second compartment (considered the compartment of 13 for rope section 4a) configured to receive the at least one rope connector and the first section (see figures 1-8).
Regarding claim 8, Vasstrand further shows wherein the second section (4a) of the auxiliary rope comprises a plurality of rope connectors (at least 3b, 3c, 5, 6, and/or 7, see figure 6) along a length of the second section of the auxiliary rope (see figure 6).
Regarding claims 11-15, the method of operating the apparatus is well known and no new, non-obvious or improvement claims are described by the method claim since all elements of the Vasstrand apparatus are disclosed in detail above. As Vasstrand is obvious to the claimed structure of at least claim 1, the method steps of these claim are implied by Vasstrand.
Regarding claim 16, Vasstrand further shows wherein the second section (4a) of the auxiliary rope comprises at least one auxiliary connector (3b, 5, 6, and/or 7, see figure 6) configured to connect to the hang-off point while the first connector part and the second connector part of the splitable rope connector are disconnected or reconnected.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vasstrand (US Publication 2009/0261052 A1).
Regarding claim 9, Vasstrand does not disclose the limitations of these claims. Vasstrand teaches that the invention is to place a load on seabed more than 1000 meters deep (see paragraphs 0002-0003).
Before the effective filing date of the invention, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the device of Vasstrand by providing a second storage reel (13), rope of the storage reel, and associated connection structure to the apparatus of Vasstrand, to place a load on seabed more than 1000 meters deep as taught by Vasstrand, and/or to utilize the apparatus of Vasstrand for a deeper seabed.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed March 6, 2026 (see Remarks REM of 03/06/2026) have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues:
“Therefore, Applicant respectfully submits roundel 3 and thimbles 5 connecting rope sections 4 to roundel 3 fail to teach or disclose a splitable rope connector comprising a first connector part [at an end of a first section of the auxiliary rope] and a second connector part [at an end of the second section of the auxiliary rope], wherein the first connector part and the second connector part are releasably coupled to each other for allowing disconnection and reconnection between the ends of the second section of the auxiliary rope and the first section of the auxiliary rope, wherein the second connector part of the splitable rope connector is configured to releasably couple to the end connector of the main rope, as included in amended independent claim 1.” , see page 5 of the Remarks.
The Examiner respectfully does not agree because the last sentence of paragraph 0037 discloses re-rigging of the roundel 3.
Applicant argues that Vasstrand does not disclose a winch (see page 6 of the remarks).
The Examiner respectfully does not agree because claim 2 teaches that the reel (13) would support the load during reversing of operations.
Conclusion
/JJC/
/ROBERT W HODGE/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3654