DETAILED ACTION
This action is responsive to the Remark filed on 8/11/26.
Claim(s) 1-4, 6-10, 12-18 is/are presented for examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-2, 6, 8-9, 12, 14-15 & 17-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xue, U.S. Pub/Patent No. 2023/0055739 A1 in view of Rezagah, US 2022/0295338 A1.
As to claim 1, Xue teaches a communication method, wherein the method comprises:
receiving from a third network element, M groups of quality of service (QoS) profiles corresponding to a first QoS flow (Xue, page 6, paragraph 50 & 53; i.e., [0050] The QoS profile for the QoS flow based on changes in the network condition to select another QoS profile from the plurality of QoS profiles; [0053] the network element in FIG. 1 may be implemented as one or more of the core network. Core network is equating to third network element; edge node is equating to second network element. User equipment is equating to first network element; [NOTE: according to the Detail Description, paragraph 7, and the third network element may be a core network device; network element is a node, network device/equipment, router or gateway]);
sending to the N groups of QoS profiles corresponding to the first QoS flow (Xue, page 6, paragraph 49; page 6, paragraph 54; i.e., [0049] Transmission profile such as QoS profile. Data flows based on QoS profiles may be referred to as QoS flows; [0054] perform radio bearer allocation for the QoS flow based on the selected QoS profile or QoS parameter);
receiving first indication information from the second network element wherein the first indication information indicates a group of QoS profiles selected by the second network element for the first QoS flow (Xue, page 6, paragraph 54; page 7, paragraph 56; i.e., [0054] The RAN 220, after receiving the plurality of candidate QoS profiles from the first network element, may perform a selection from the plurality of the candidate QoS profiles or determine at least one QoS parameter value compatible with the plurality of candidate QoS profiles. The group of QoS profiles selected for the first QoS flow is one of the N groups of QoS profiles; [0056] the second network element may be the edge node 262 of FIG. 2 or FIG. 3. The edge node 262, after receiving the plurality of candidate QoS profiles from the network element (the core network 230), to select one QoS profile from the plurality of the candidate QoS profiles or to determine at least one QoS parameter value compatible to the plurality of the candidate QoS profiles; Core network is equating to third network element; edge node is equating to second network element. User equipment is equating to first network element; [NOTE: according to the Detail Description, paragraph 7, and the third network element may be a core network device; network element is a node, network device/equipment, router or gateway]); and
sending second indication information to the third network element, wherein the second indication information indicates the group of QoS profiles selected for the first QoS flow (Xue, page 6, paragraph 50 & 54; i.e., [0050] for a particularly data flow such as a QoS flow, a network element in the communication network 200 or 300 may determine a plurality of set of QoS profiles and communicate these candidate QoS profiles to a second network element in the communication network 200 or 300. The second network element may select one QoS profile from the plurality of QoS profiles. [0054] The communication network may then configure the transmission of the QoS flow according to the selected QoS profile or QoS parameter values. For example, the RAN 220 may then configure the QoS flow based on the selected QoS profile or QoS parameter values. In particular, RAN 220 may perform radio bearer allocation for the QoS flow based on the selected QoS profile or QoS parameter such that the QoS flow may be transmitted according to the quality of service requirements implicated in the selected QoS profile or QoS parameter values. Core network is equating to third network element; edge node is equating to second network element. User equipment is equating to first network element; [NOTE: according to the Detail Description, paragraph 7, and the third network element may be a core network device; network element is a node, network device/equipment, router or gateway]);
wherein the first network element, the second network element, and the third network element are different from each other (Xue, page 3, paragraph 27-28; page 6, paragraph 53; page 7, paragraph 56; i.e., [0027] user equipment (UEs) 210, 212, and 214, a carrier network 202, various service applications 240, 242 and 244, and other data networks 250. The UEs 210, 212, and 214 may be implemented as network nodes comprising either mobile or fixed network devices, including but not limited to cellular phones, tablets, personal digital assistants, mobile computers, desktop computers; [0056] the second network element may be the edge node 262 of FIG. 2 or FIG. 3; [0053] the first network element in FIG. 1 may be implemented as one or more of the core network. Core network is equating to third network element; edge node is equating to second network element. User equipment is equating to first network element. [NOTE: according to the Detail Description, paragraph 7, and the third network element may be a core network device; network element is a node, network device/equipment, router or gateway]).
But Xue failed to teach the claim limitation wherein determining N groups of QoS profiles based on the M groups of QoS profiles, wherein N is an integer greater than or equal to 1 and wherein M is an integer greater than or equal to N.
However, Rezagah teaches the limitation wherein determining N groups of QoS profiles based on the M groups of QoS profiles, wherein N is an integer greater than or equal to 1 and wherein M is an integer greater than or equal to N (Rezagah, page 5 , paragraph 63-64, 78 & 97-99; i.e., [0064] a QoS profile includes one or more QoS parameters or metrics, the one or more QoS parameters or metrics; [0078] the first QoS profile is a most preferred QoS profile for the session, and the one or more second QoS profiles are less preferred QoS profiles for the session than the first QoS profile; [0097] one or more QoS profiles having a preference less than the current profile are obtained, e.g., in case of a downgrade situation; [0098] one or more QoS profiles having a preference higher than the current profile are obtained, like the top-n QoS profiles, e.g., in case of an upgrade situation; [0099] a latency lower or higher than a latency threshold or a data rate lower or higher than a data rate threshold or within a certain range).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the claimed invention to modify Xue to substitute non-terrestrial wireless communication networks (NTN) from Rezagah for enhancements regarding the handling of quality of service, QoS, profiles for communications over sessions having associated therewith multiple QoS profiles (Rezagah, page 1, paragraph 2).
As to claim 2, Xue-Rezagah teaches the method as recited in claim 1, wherein the first network element is a master network device, the second network element is a secondary network device, and the third network element is a core network device (Xue, page 3, paragraph 27-28; page 6, paragraph 53-54; page 7, paragraph 56; i.e., [0054] the first network element may be implemented as the core network 230 and the second network element may be the RAN 220 of FIG. 2 or FIG. 3. The RAN 220, after receiving the plurality of candidate QoS profiles from the first network element, may perform a selection from the plurality of the candidate QoS profiles or determine at least one QoS parameter value compatible with the plurality of candidate QoS profiles. The communication network may then configure the transmission of the QoS flow according to the selected QoS profile or QoS parameter values; [0027] user equipment (UEs) 210, 212, and 214, a carrier network 202, various service applications 240, 242 and 244, and other data networks 250. The UEs 210, 212, and 214 may be implemented as network nodes comprising either mobile or fixed network devices, including but not limited to cellular phones, tablets, personal digital assistants, mobile computers, desktop computers; [0056] the second network element may be the edge node 262 of FIG. 2 or FIG. 3; [0053] the first network element in FIG. 1 may be implemented as one or more of the core network. Core network is equating to third network element; edge node is equating to second network element. User equipment is equating to first network element. [NOTE: according to the Detail Description, paragraph 7, and the third network element may be a core network device; network element is a node, network device/equipment, router or gateway]).
As to claim 6, Xue-Rezagah teaches the method as recited in claim 1, wherein the method further comprises:
receiving, by the first network element, assistance information from the second network element, wherein the assistance information indicates QoS that can be satisfied by the second network element (Xue, page 3, paragraph 27-28; page 6, paragraph 53-54; page 7, paragraph 56; i.e., [0054] the first network element may be implemented as the core network 230 and the second network element may be the RAN 220 of FIG. 2 or FIG. 3. The RAN 220, after receiving the plurality of candidate QoS profiles from the first network element, may perform a selection from the plurality of the candidate QoS profiles or determine at least one QoS parameter value compatible with the plurality of candidate QoS profiles. The communication network may then configure the transmission of the QoS flow according to the selected QoS profile or QoS parameter values; [0027] user equipment (UEs) 210, 212, and 214, a carrier network 202, various service applications 240, 242 and 244, and other data networks 250. The UEs 210, 212, and 214 may be implemented as network nodes comprising either mobile or fixed network devices, including but not limited to cellular phones, tablets, personal digital assistants, mobile computers, desktop computers; [0056] the second network element may be the edge node 262 of FIG. 2 or FIG. 3; [0053] the first network element in FIG. 1 may be implemented as one or more of the core network. Core network is equating to third network element; edge node is equating to second network element. User equipment is equating to first network element. [NOTE: according to the Detail Description, paragraph 7, and the third network element may be a core network device; network element is a node, network device/equipment, router or gateway]); and
the determining, by the first network element, the N groups of QoS profiles based on the M groups of QoS profiles includes:
determining, by the first network element, the N groups of QoS profiles from the M groups of QoS profiles based on the assistance information (Xue, page 6, paragraph 50; i.e., [0050] for a particularly data flow such as a QoS flow, a first network element in the communication network 200 or 300 may determine a plurality of set of QoS profiles and communicate these candidate QoS profiles to a second network element in the communication network 200 or 300. The second network element may select one QoS profile from the plurality of QoS profiles based on network conditions detected or derived at the second network element for configuring the transmission of the QoS flow).
As to claim 8, Xue-Rezagah teaches the method as recited in claim 1, wherein each of the N groups of QoS profiles includes a value of one or more of the following QoS parameters: an uplink maximum flow bit rate (MFBR), a downlink MFBR, an uplink guaranteed flow bit rate (GFBR), a downlink GFBR, an uplink maximum packet loss rate (MPLR), a downlink MPLR, a packet delay budget (PDB), a packet error rate (PER), a 5th generation QoS identifier (5QI), a maximum data burst volume (MDBV), or a QoS flow priority (Xue, page 8, paragraph 51; i.e., [0051The QoS parameters, for example, may include but are not limited to one or more of allocation and retention priority (ARP) parameters, and various bit rates such as a guaranteed flow bit rate (GFBR), a maximum flow bit rate (MFBR), an aggregate maximum bit rate (AMBR), and maximum packet loss rate (MPLR), resource type, priority level, packet delay budget (PDB), packet error rate (PER), average window, maximum data burst volume (MDBV), and the like).
Claim(s) 9 & 15 is/are directed to apparatus claims and they do not teach or further define over the limitations recited in claim(s) 1. Therefore, claim(s) 9 & 15 is/are also rejected for similar reasons set forth in claim(s) 1.
Claim(s) 12 & 14 is/are directed to apparatus claims and they do not teach or further define over the limitations recited in claim(s) 6 & 8. Therefore, claim(s) 12 & 14 is/are also rejected for similar reasons set forth in claim(s) 6 & 8.
Claim(s) 17 & 18 is/are directed to apparatus claims and they do not teach or further define over the limitations recited in claim(s) 6 & 8. Therefore, claim(s) 17 & 18 is/are also rejected for similar reasons set forth in claim(s) 6 & 8.
Claim(s) 3-4, 10 & 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xue, U.S. Pub/Patent No. 2023/0055739 A1 in view of Rezagah, US 2022/0295338 A1, and further in view of Huang, U.S. Patent/Pub. No. 2020/0015116 A1.
As to claim 3, Xue-Rezagah teaches the method as recited in claim 1. But Xue-Rezagah failed to teach the claim limitation wherein the first network element is a central unit (CU) of a secondary network device, the second network element is a distributed unit (DU) of the secondary network device, and the third network element is a master network device.
However, Huang teaches the limitation wherein the first network element is a central unit (CU) of a secondary network device, the second network element is a distributed unit (DU) of the secondary network device, and the third network element is a master network device (Huang, page 1, paragraph 5; i.e., [0005] Central Unit (CU) and a Distributed Unit (DU). One base station may include one CU and multiple DUs ).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the claimed invention to modify Xue-Rezagah to substitute session information from Huang for communication session from Xue-Rezagah to provide a new and better QoS mechanism (Huang, page 1, paragraph 4).
As to claim 4, Xue-Rezagah teaches the method as recited in claim 1. But Xue-Rezagah failed to teach the claim limitation wherein the first network element is a CU of a network device, the second network element is a DU of the network device, and the third network element is a core network device.
However, Huang teaches the limitation wherein the first network element is a CU of a network device, the second network element is a DU of the network device, and the third network element is a core network device (Huang, page 1, paragraph 5; i.e., [0005] Central Unit (CU) and a Distributed Unit (DU). One base station may include one CU and multiple DUs ).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the claimed invention to modify Xue-Rezagah to substitute session information from Huang for communication session from Xue-Rezagah to provide a new and better QoS mechanism (Huang, page 1, paragraph 4).
Claim(s) 10 & 16 is/are directed to apparatus claims and they do not teach or further define over the limitations recited in claim(s) 3. Therefore, claim(s) 10 & 16 is/are also rejected for similar reasons set forth in claim(s) 3.
Claim(s) 7 & 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xue, U.S. Pub/Patent No. 2023/0055739 A1 in view of Rezagah, US 2022/0295338 A1, and further in view of Loon, U.S. Patent/Pub. No. 2012/0106391 A1.
As to claim 7, Xue-Rezagah teaches the method as recited in claim 1. But Xue-Rezagah failed to teach the claim limitation wherein modifying, by the first network element, a value of one or more QoS parameters in one or more of the N groups of QoS profiles.
However, Loon teaches the limitation wherein modifying, by the first network element, a value of one or more QoS parameters in one or more of the N groups of QoS profiles (Loon, page 2, paragraph 19; i.e., [0005] adjusting the individual maximum
bit rates for the individual terminals, including the modifying of QoS attributes of one or more of the terminals).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective date of the claimed invention to modify Xue-Rezagah to substitute M2M service from Loon for service data flow from Xue-Rezagah to efficiently transmits information messages for communications (Loon, page 1, paragraph 5).
Claim(s) 13 is/are directed to apparatus claims and they do not teach or further define over the limitations recited in claim(s) 7. Therefore, claim(s) 13 is/are also rejected for similar reasons set forth in claim(s) 7.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s argument(s) filed 8/11/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues in substance that: A) with respect to claims 1-4, 6-10, 12-18; The rejection identifies FIG. 1 of Xue and paragraph [0003] of Xue as the teachings relied upon for "wherein the first network element, the second network element, and the third network element are different from each other," and those portions of Xue do not contain the material quoted at page 4 of the Office Action. Second, the mapping the Office applied does not satisfy "wherein the first network element, the second network element, and the third network element are different from each other," as recited in claim 1, because that mapping identifies the first network element and the third network element as the same core network entity of Xue. (page 10-11); B) with respect to claims 1-4, 6-10, 12-18; According to paragraph [0054] of Xue, the SMF of the core network 230 communicates with the SM PCF 322 to obtain various policies related to the QoS flow, and on that basis the core network 230 itself determines the plurality of candidate QoS profiles. (see Xue, para. [0054]). Accordingly, in paragraph [0054] of Xue, the first network element does not receive M groups of QoS profiles from a separate third network element, and the first network element does not send a second indication of the selection to a third network element distinct from the first and second network elements. Sending second indication information to the third network element, wherein the second indication information indicates the group of QoS profiles selected for the first QoS flow
(page 12).
In response to A); Xu does teach the claimed limitation of “wherein the first network element, the second network element, and the third network element are different from each other (Xue, page 3, paragraph 27-28; page 6, paragraph 53; page 7, paragraph 56; i.e., [0027] user equipment (UEs) 210, 212, and 214, a carrier network 202, various service applications 240, 242 and 244, and other data networks 250. The UEs 210, 212, and 214 may be implemented as network nodes comprising either mobile or fixed network devices, including but not limited to cellular phones, tablets, personal digital assistants, mobile computers, desktop computers; [0056] the second network element may be the edge node 262 of FIG. 2 or FIG. 3; [0053] the first network element in FIG. 1 may be implemented as one or more of the core network. Core network is equating to third network element; edge node is equating to second network element. User equipment is equating to first network element. [NOTE: according to the Detail Description, paragraph 7, and the third network element may be a core network device; network element is a node, network device/equipment, router or gateway]). Moreover, since the claim limitation only stated “the three network elements” are different from each other. Therefore, the Examiner interpreted the core network as a “third network element”, edge node is as a “second network element” and the UE as a “first element”. Therefore, Xu meets the claim limitation.
In response to B); Xu does teach the claimed limitation of “receiving from a third network element, M groups of quality of service (QoS) profiles corresponding to a first QoS flow” (Xue, page 6, paragraph 50 & 53; i.e., [0050] The QoS profile for the QoS flow based on changes in the network condition to select another QoS profile from the plurality of QoS profiles; [0053] the first network element in FIG. 1 may be implemented as one or more of the core network. Core network is equating to “third network element”; [NOTE: according to the Detail Description, paragraph 7, and the third network element may be a core network device; network element is a node, network device/equipment, router or gateway]); “sending second indication information to the third network element, wherein the second indication information indicates the group of QoS profiles selected for the first QoS flow” (Xue, page 6, paragraph 50 & 54; i.e., [0050] for a particularly data flow such as a QoS flow, a first network element in the communication network 200 or 300 may determine a plurality of set of QoS profiles and communicate these candidate QoS profiles to a second network element in the communication network 200 or 300. The second network element may select one QoS profile from the plurality of QoS profiles. [0054] The communication network may then configure the transmission of the QoS flow according to the selected QoS profile or QoS parameter values. For example, the RAN 220 may then configure the QoS flow based on the selected QoS profile or QoS parameter values. In particular, RAN 220 may perform radio bearer allocation for the QoS flow based on the selected QoS profile or QoS parameter such that the QoS flow may be transmitted according to the quality of service requirements implicated in the selected QoS profile or QoS parameter values. [NOTE: according to the Detail Description, paragraph 7, and the third network element may be a core network device; network element is a node, network device/equipment, router or gateway]). Clearly, the transmission of the QoS selection is equating to “sending the second indication of the selected for the first QoS flow”. Therefore, Xu meets the claim limitation.
Listing of Relevant Arts
Belleschi, U.S. Patent/Pub. No. US 20240205727 A1 discloses DU, CU, core network and QoS requirements.
Laitila U.S. Patent/Pub. No. US 20210136620 A1 discloses multiple networks, core network, DU and QoS flow.
Contact Information
THUONG NGUYEN whose telephone number is (571)272-3864. The examiner can normally be reached on Monday-Friday 9:00-6:00.
/THUONG NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2416