Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims.
The plurality of temperature sensing elements recited in claim 14 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim. Examiner notes that the sensor of Fig. 11 is a further example, i.e. an alternative arrangement, as discussed in [0050], not an example of a second sensor element.
No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 7, 11 – 14, and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Pub. No. 2022/0131300 (“Liu”) in view of U.S. Pat. No. 11,648,842 (“Fuehrer”).
Regarding claim 1, Liu discloses an electrical power connector, comprising:
a connector housing (31) having a receptacle (space within 31, see Fig. 1) receiving an elongated DC power distribution busbar (10);
a first spring contact element (spring finger elements of 310) arranged at a first side of the receptacle and pressed with a contact area (311) to a first surface (see Fig. 1) of the elongated DC power distribution busbar;
a second spring contact element (spring finger elements of opposite 310) pressed to a second surface of the elongated DC power distribution busbar opposite the first surface (see Fig. 1), the second spring contact element is arranged at a second side of the receptacle opposite to the first side (see Fig. 1);
a secondary spring element (320) in force transmitting contact with the first spring contact element or the second spring contact element; and
a retaining bracket (330) pressing the first spring contact element or the second spring contact element towards the elongated DC power distribution busbar (See Fig. 4 and [0028]), the secondary spring element is positioned between the retaining bracket and the first spring contact element or between the retaining bracket and the second spring contact element (see Fig. 6).
Liu does not disclose a temperature sensing device arranged inside the connector housing and monitoring a temperature at the first spring contact element or the second spring contact element.
However, Fuehrer teaches an electrical connector (5) with a spring contact element (spring finger elements of 52), with a temperature a temperature sensing device (53) arranged inside the connector housing and monitoring a temperature at the spring contact (53 is placed at the spring finger, see Fig. 9 and col. 3, lns. 51 – 62). It would have been obvious to arrange a temperature sensor on a spring finger element of Liu, as taught by Fuehrer, because this allows a precise temperature to be taken at the exact point of contact of the connector without delay.
Regarding claim 3, Fuehrer further teaches the temperature sensing device having a temperature sensing element formed by a positive temperature coefficient thermistor (see col. 5, lns. 3 – 7, the sensor is positive or negative coefficient resistor, a.k.a. positive/negative temperature coefficient thermistor). It would have been obvious to utilize a PTC thermistor as taught by Fuehrer because these devices are small and sensitive to temperature changes and serve well as temperature sensors.
Regarding claim 7, Fuehrer further teaches wherein the temperature sensing device (53) includes a separately housed sensor unit arranged in direct mechanical contact with the first spring contact element and/or the second spring contact element (the unit includes housing 535 contacting the spring element). It would have been obvious to provide the separate housing as taught by Fuehrer because this helps protect the sensor structures.
Regarding claim 11, Liu discloses wherein the first spring contact element and/or the second spring contact element is a free spring arm (See Fig. 6) with a contact region (311a/b, 321a) contacting the elongated DC power distribution busbar (10).
Regarding claim 12, Liu discloses wherein the spring arm has a connecting region at a fixed end that is connectable to a component provided with DC power and/or a component operable to output DC power (the arms fixed end merges into a bus bar connecting section, see Fig. 6).
Regarding claim 13, Liu discloses wherein the first spring contact element is one of a plurality of first spring contact elements arranged equidistantly along a longitudinal axis and the second spring contact element is one of a plurality of second spring contact elements arranged equidistantly along the longitudinal axis (see Fig. 6).
Regarding claim 14, Liu as modified by Fuehrer does not disclose or result in wherein the temperature sensing device includes a plurality of temperature sensing elements. However, it would have been obvious include a plurality of sensor devices 53 and thus a plurality of sensing elements by placing the device at more than one contact finger, allowing a user to monitor the temperature at more than one of the distinct spring elements, since it has been held that mere duplication of the essential working parts of a device involves only routine skill in the art. St. Regis Paper Co. v. Bemis Co., 193 USPQ 8 (CA7 1977).
Regarding claim 21, Liu discloses wherein the secondary spring element is separate from the first spring contact element, the second spring contact element, and the retaining bracket, and the retaining bracket is separate from the first spring contact element and the second spring contact element (see Fig. 6).
Claim 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu as modified by Fuehrer, as applied to claim 3 above, and further in view of U.S. Pub. No. 2019/0204163 (Ta-Hsin Lin”).
Regarding claim 4, Liu as modified above does not disclose wherein the temperature sensing device is an integrated component having an analog-digital-converter for generating a digital output signal. However, Ta-Hsin Lin teaches a temperature sensing thermistor device which an integrated component having an analog-digital-converter for generating a digital output signal (see the abstract, [0006], and ADC 720). It would have been obvious to make the device an integrated component as taught by Ta-Hsin Lin because this allows the device to transmit a direct temperature value rather than a resistance value which has to be separately evaluated by a user.
Claim 5 – 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu as modified by Fuehrer, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of U.S. Pub. No. 2014/0269840 (“Hsiao”).
Regarding claims 5 and 6, Liu as modified above does not disclose or result in the temperature sensing device having a current sensing unit monitoring a current value at the first spring contact element and/or the second spring contact element, and the temperature sensing device having an evaluation unit operable to calculate a temperature from the current value.
However, Hsiao teaches a temperature sensing device which has a current sensing unit (150) monitoring a current value at a resistive element (see Fig. 10), and wherein the temperature sensing device has an evaluation unit (100) operable to calculate a temperature from the current value (see at least the abstract). It would have been obvious to utilize the current sensing unit as taught by Hsiao, because this is nothing more than a substitution of one known temperature sensor for another, with the predictable result of determining the temperature sensed by the sensor device as required by a user.
Claim 8 – 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu as modified by Fuehrer, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of U.S. Pat. No. 11,588,280 (“Yamanashi”).
Regarding claims 8 – 9, Liu as modified by Fuehrer discloses the connector is an interconnect device (see Liu, Fig. 1) and the temperature sensing device is mounted at the connector housing (see portion 533 entering the housing, Fuehrer, Fig. 4), but does not disclose or result in the connector housing at least partly formed as a molded interconnect device having a plurality of conductive leads, and wherein the temperature sensing device is connected to the conductive leads.
However, Yamanashi teaches a connector 100 with terminals 22 having spring elements 272, and a temperature sensor 8, where the connector housing is at least partly formed as a molded interconnect device (col. 7, lns. 6 – 9) having a plurality of conductive leads (83A, 83B) connected to the sensor (see Fig. 6). It would have been obvious to make the device by molding and have leads connected to the sensing device as taught by Yamanashi, because this allows the connector housing to be formed so as to accommodate the terminals and leads mounted to and traveling through the housing, and furthermore the leads allow the sensor to be powered and to communicate with exterior devices as required by a user.
Claims 15, 16, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu in view of U.S. Pat. No. 10,581,196 (“Liu ‘196”) and Fuehrer and U.S. Pat. No. 10,938,164 (“Li ‘164”) and CN 209626594 U (“Delta Electronics”)
Regarding claims 15, 16, and 18, Liu discloses a method of creating a connection between an electrical component and an elongated DC power distribution busbar using an electrical power connector, comprising:
connecting the electrical power connector (30) to the elongated DC power distribution busbar (10) with a first spring contact element (finger of 310) of the electrical power connector contacting a first side of the elongated DC power distribution busbar and a second spring contact element (finger of opposite 310) of the electrical power connector contacting a second side of the elongated DC power distribution busbar,
a secondary spring element (320) is in force transmitting contact with the first spring contact element or the second spring contact element, and a retaining bracket (330) presses the first spring contact element or the second spring contact element towards the elongated DC power distribution busbar (see Fig. 4 and [0028]), the secondary spring element is positioned between the retaining bracket and the first spring contact element or between the retaining bracket and the second spring contact element (see Fig. 6).
Liu does not disclose the first and second spring contact elements as contacting first and second poles of the busbar. However, Liu ‘196 teaches an electrical power connector with spring elements on two sides of a busbar, where the connector and busbar includes first and second poles (see at least the abstract and Fig. 2).
It would have been obvious to modify the connecting method so that the busbar had two poles and the spring contact elements connected to the two poles through first and second spring contact elements as taught by Liu ‘196, because this is helps ensure that the connector has a stable positive and negative connection, ensuring that the electrical circuit formed through the connector is complete and stable.
Liu does not disclose connecting a temperature sensing device to a control unit that reads an output signal of the temperature sensing device; and generating a warning signal if the output signal indicates an abnormal operational state, and wherein the output signal is compared to a predefined temperature threshold value and the warning signal is generated if the output signal exceeds the threshold value, and wherein the control unit is arranged inside the electrical power connector, the warning signal is a shutdown signal that disconnects the electrical component from the elongated DC power distribution busbar.
However, Fuehrer teaches monitoring a connection between a component and a distribution busbar using an electrical connector (5) with a spring contact element (spring finger elements of 52), with a temperature a temperature sensing device (53) monitoring a temperature at the spring contact (53 is placed at the spring finger, see Fig. 9 and col. 3, lns. 51 – 62) and connecting a temperature sensing device to a control unit that reads an output signal of the temperature sensing device (col. 8, lns. 12 – 25). It would have been obvious to arrange a temperature sensor on a spring finger element of Liu for connecting to a control unit that reads an output signal of the sensor device, as taught by Fuehrer, because this allows a precise temperature to be taken at the exact point of contact of the connector without delay and allows a device to be aware of the sensed temperature.
Furthermore, Li teaches a method of monitoring a connection between a component and a busbar using a power connector 500 with spring contacts (200) and a temperature sensing device (100), including connecting a temperature sensing device to a control unit (101) that reads an output signal of the temperature sensing device (col. 7, lns. 4 – 6); and generating a warning signal if the output signal indicates an abnormal operational state (col. 7, lns. 13 – 19), and wherein the output signal is compared to a predefined temperature threshold value and the warning signal is generated if the output signal exceeds the threshold value (temperature safety threshold, col. 7, lns. 13 – 14), and wherein the control unit is arranged inside the electrical power connector (101 is inside 500). It would have been obvious to provide a control unit monitoring the temperature device to compare the sensed temperature against a threshold and to issue an alarm, as taught by Li, because this enables a user to be notified of an adverse temperature condition which may damage the connector and take action.
Finally, Delta Electronics teaches monitoring a connection between a component and a busbar using a power connector (200) with a temperature sensor (32) and a control unit (31), wherein in response to an unwanted thermal condition alarm the control unit can issue a shutdown signal that disconnects the electrical component from the elongated DC power distribution busbar ([0085]). It would have been obvious to make the control unit able to issue a shutdown signal as taught by Delta Electronics, because this enables the connector to automatically and quickly be shut down in the face of an unwanted thermal event which can save damage to the connector and components around the connector.
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu ‘196 in view of Fuehrer.
Regarding claim 19, Liu discloses an electrical power connector, comprising:
a connector housing (100) having a receptacle (110) receiving an elongated DC power distribution busbar (10);
a first spring contact element (210) arranged at a first side of the receptacle and pressed with a contact area (211) to a first surface of the elongated DC power distribution busbar (see Fig. 2);
a second spring contact element (220) pressed to a second surface of the elongated DC power distribution busbar opposite the first surface (see Fig. 2), the second spring contact element is arranged at a second side of the receptacle opposite to the first side (see Fig. 2).
Liu does not disclose a temperature sensing device arranged inside the connector housing and monitoring a temperature at the first spring contact element or the second spring contact element, the temperature sensing device is a printed sensing element.
However, Fuehrer teaches an electrical connector (5) with a spring contact element (spring finger elements of 52), with a temperature a temperature sensing device (53) arranged inside a connector housing (50) and monitoring a temperature at the spring contact (53 is placed at the spring finger, see Fig. 9 and col. 3, Ins. 51 - 62), the temperature sensing device (53) is a printed sensing element (col. 7, lns. 56 – 60). It would have been obvious to arrange a temperature sensor on a spring finger element of Liu, as taught by Fuehrer, because this allows a precise temperature to be taken at the exact point of contact of the connector without delay.
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Liu in view of Fuehrer, as applied to claim 1, and further in view of Liu ‘196.
Regarding claim 20, Liu discloses wherein each of the first spring contact element and the second spring contact element are formed with a contact plate (see portion 313), but does not disclose each contact plate is connected to an output cable of opposing polarity.
However, Liu ‘196 teaches an electrical power connector with first and second spring elements on two sides of a busbar, where the connector and busbar includes first and second poles (see at least the abstract and Fig. 2), wherein each of the first spring contact element and the second spring contact element are formed with a contact plate (see near end portions 212, 222, Fig. 4) and each contact plate is connected to an output cable (31, 32, Fig. 7) of opposing polarity (see at least the abstract).
It would have been obvious to modify the connector so that the spring contacts had connecting plates for connecting to output cables of opposing polarity as taught by Liu ‘196, because this is helps ensure that the connector has a stable positive and negative connection, ensuring that the electrical circuit formed through the connector is complete and stable.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1 and 15 have been considered but are moot because of the new ground of rejection.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 10 and 22 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
The reasons for allowance for claim 10 can be found in the action mailed 07/08/2025.
Regarding Claim 22, the prior art does not disclose or suggest the claimed electrical power connector, wherein the temperature sensing device is printed into a plastic material of the connector housing and is integral with the connector housing, along with the remaining elements of the claim.
Neither Liu nor Yamanashi disclose a temperature sensing device printed into a plastic material of the connector housing and is integral with the connector housing, monitoring a temperature at the first or second spring contact element, as required by the claim. Fuehrer teaches a sensing element on a terminal. Delta Electronics teaches a sensor 32 on the housing, but the sensor is positioned to sense a temperature of an air gap, not the temperature at the spring contact element. Yamanashi discloses a connector with a sensor 8 on a housing and touching a terminal, but the sensor touches a portion of the terminal that is not at the spring contact element.
The prior art, when taken alone, or in combination, cannot be construed as reasonably teaching or suggesting all of the elements of the claimed invention as arranged, disposed, or provided in the manner as claimed by the Applicant.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new grounds of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/PAUL D BAILLARGEON/ Examiner, Art Unit 2833
/renee s luebke/ Supervisory Patent Examiner
Art Unit 2833