DETAILED ACTION
This office action is a response to an amendment filed 09/30/2025.
Claims 1-12 are pending.
Claims 1, 2, and 5 are amended.
Terminal Disclaimer
The terminal disclaimer filed on 09/30/2025 disclaiming the terminal portion of any patent granted on this application which would extend beyond the expiration date of the full statutory term of prior Patent No. 11,545,021, has been reviewed and is NOT accepted. Pease refer to the USPTO review decision dated 10/07/2025 for the reason as to why said terminal disclaimer was disapproved, and for guidance provided for any resubmission..
Double Patenting
Claim 1 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim the claim 5 including the base claim (as outlined below) of U.S. Patent No. 11,545,021, in view of U.S. Patent No. 10,739,733 to Saxena et al., (hereinafter Saxena).
Although certain limitations of the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the language of U.S. Patent No. 11,545,021 anticipates the claims of the instant application, since It is clear that all the elements of the application claim limitations are to be found in the patent claim limitations. The difference between the application claim limitations and U.S. Patent No. 11,545,021 claim limitations, lies in the fact that the patent claims limitations include many more elements and are thus much more specific. Thus, the inventions of claim limitations of the patent are in effect a “species” of the “generic” inventions of the application claim limitations. It has been held that the generic invention is “anticipated” by the “species”. See In re Goodman, 29 USPQ2d 2010 (Fed. Cir. 1993). Since application claim limitations are anticipated by U.S. Patent No. 11,545,021 claim limitations, it is not patentably distinct from claim limitations of the patent.
INSTANT APPLICATION
US Patent No. 11,545,021
1. A PanOptic computer-based fabrication system comprising:
a. video management hardware packaging;
b. video management software components;
c. analytic processing appliances;
and
d. network components, where a resulting fabrication system
supports image capture,
image analytics, image data extraction, extracted image sourced data, image associated data and metadata, sensor subsystem data as well as system communications.
1. An image acquisition system comprising:
…image acquisition system (i.e. imaging sensor capturing sensors required)… a. at least one imager for combining detection and raw image production;…(i.e. a hardware “package” that manages the capture of an image video surveillance)
a. at least one imager for combining detection and raw image production; b. a controller capable of uncompressed or compressed formats; …supporting live data extractions for human readable images used in live surveillance as well as archival search and event documentation as well as machine vision, computer vision, and process such as content analytics and artificial intelligence…
c. a network incorporating ethernet with cables having at least 100 meters; and
d. a wireless two-way communication means between components a, b, and c,
image acquisition system (i.e. imaging sensor capturing sensors required)… a. at least one imager for combining detection and raw image production;..where a resulting image is obtained having an optimal scene creation for supporting live data extractions for human readable images used in live surveillance as well as archival search and event documentation as well as machine vision, computer vision, and process such as content analytics and artificial intelligence. … a wireless two-way communication means between components a, b, and c,
5. The image acquisition system of claim 1 where the controller adds event classification metadata for upstream applications.
The Patent claim does not explicitly teach deep learning.
However, Saxena from the same or similar field of monitoring with camera devices, teaches deep learning (Deep leaning used to manage analysis of video, such as for detection and recognition of features in a video, see C5 L52 to C6 L8; C12 L66 to C13 L17, Saxena).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to modify the video-based system as described by the Patent Claim and incorporating deep learning, as taught by Saxena.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do this modification in order to better provide video analysis able to discern difficult state determinations within a video by using a technique that can learn correlations through training (see C9L21-36; C5 L52 to C6 L8; C12 L66 to C13 L17, Saxena).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed 09/30/2025, have been fully considered but are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Rejections based on a newly cited reference(s) follow.
Examiner Notes
Examiner cites particular columns and line numbers in the references as applied to the claims below for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teachings in the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. It is respectfully requested that, in preparing responses, the applicant fully consider the references in entirety as potentially teaching all or part of the claimed invention, as well as the context of the passage as taught by the prior art or disclosed by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 4, 5, 8, and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Patent Publication No. 2011/0050947 to Marman et al., (hereinafter Marman), in view of US Patent No. 10,739,733 to Saxena et al., hereinafter (Saxena).
Regarding claim 1, Marman teaches a PanOptic computer-based fabrication system comprising:
a. video management hardware packaging (A system of that manages video capture, vide processing and analysis, video transmission/communication, storage, etc., and is composed of hardware used in the managing of video, such as housed cameras, network infrastructure, storage, etc., is being interpreted as a video management hardware package see Abs., P25, P44, P23, p46, p37, Marman);
b. video management software components (Software and programming used in managing video, such a as managing video analysis, other video processing, communications of video data, video storage, video capture, etc., see P25, P41, P23, p46, Marman);
c. analytic processing appliances (Analyses performed, thus there are analytic processing appliances, see P25-26, P28-29, Marman); and
d. network components (Network and components embodying the network of devices, see Fig. 1, P21-22, Marman), where a resulting fabrication system supports image capture (Cameras in a system capture video, as is their purpose. a “resulting fabrication system” is being broadly interpreted as any system, since there is no specific recitation of any fabrication or how or results. In other words, no particular patentable weight is being given to the terms, since it amounts to an intended use/field of use limitation, and so long a prior art system meets the claimed limitation and structure it reads on the limitations, see P21-22, Marman), image analytics (Analytics on video images, see P25, P44, P23, p46, Marman), image data extraction (Any generation/processing of video images, processed video images, clipping of video, etc., performed on captured video is being interpreted as image extraction, such as low quality video image generation, compressed video image generation, clips generation, etc., that are obtained from captured video, see P25, P30, 32, Marman), extracted image sourced data (The actual video images (i.e., data) obtained from processing a captured video, such as low quality video images, compressed video, video clips, etc., is being interpreted as extracted image sourced data, see P25, P30, 32, Marman), image associated data and metadata (Any data associated with videos and metadata, such as time stamp data, analysis data, recognition data, detection data, etc. is being interpreted as image associated data and metadata, see P26-30, P39, p45, 50-53, Marman), sensor subsystem data (At least image capturing subsystem data (i.e image sensing), see P21-P23, Marman) as well as system communications (Network is a communications system, thus includes system communications, see P21-23, 26, p44, 49-55, Marman).
Marman does not explicitly teach deep learning.
However, Saxena from the same or similar field of monitoring with camera devices, teaches deep learning (Deep leaning used to manage analysis of video, such as for detection and recognition of features in a video, see C5 L52 to C6 L8; C12 L66 to C13 L17, Saxena).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to modify the video-based system as described by Marman and incorporating deep learning, as taught by Saxena.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do this modification in order to better provide video analysis able to discern difficult state determinations within a video by using a technique that can learn correlations through training (see C9L21-36; C5 L52 to C6 L8; C12 L66 to C13 L17, Saxena).
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Marman and Saxena teaches all the limitations of the base claim as outlined above, and are analyzed as previously discussed with regard to that claim.
Marman further teaches where the video management hardware packaging comprises: a. cameras connected to a network (Network cameras, see P21, Marman); b. switches (Switches, P21, Marman); c. analytic devices (Analytic processing devices, see P25-26, P28-29, p44, p46, p23, Marman); and d. computers (Computers/processors, see Fig. 1, P44, p55, 25, 23, Marman), wherein a, b, and c are packaged to support competitive market pricing in systems (System provides savings, thus has competitive market pricing, see P37, Marman) used for live renderings, archival storage, snapshot, as well as video clip searches and retrievals (Live, archival, clips snaphots, search, retrieval, see P41, P46, P28, P60, 62, P49, Abs., 49-55, Merman. Note that these system types are considered intended use and are not being given patentable weight, since a type of system limitation does not result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art, which is required in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim.).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Marman and Saxena teaches all the limitations of the base claim as outlined above, and are analyzed as previously discussed with regard to that claim.
Marman further teaches where the video management software components comprises: a. real time, live manned surveillance software to support real time management and loss prevention interventions (Surveillance and security, object removal, etc.,, see P22, 29, P10, P44, 51, P41, p7, Marman. Note that the intended use of using a system for security, loss prevention, investigations, documentary evidence, etc., are considered intended use and are not being given patentable weight, since a type of system limitation does not result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art, which is required in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim. The prior art by Marman includes video surveillance, storage, search, retrieval, alerts etc., which would be serve and have the capability to serve in the intended uses listed in the instant claim a. b. c.); b. investigation and search archival storage software of site-specific operations, activities and events (archival, search, retrieval, see P41, P46, P28-29, 26, P60, 62, P49, Abs., 49-55, p9, Merman); and c. objective documentary evidence archival storage software for civil and criminal legal cases (archival access and events that provide evidence of events, see P41, P46, P28, 26, P60, 62, P49, Abs., 49-55, p9, Merman).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Marman and Saxena teaches all the limitations of the base claim as outlined above, and are analyzed as previously discussed with regard to that claim.
Marman further teaches recorded data indexed image and video captured from toll collection systems data, access control and alarm system data, POS transaction data, and measurement sensor displays (Timestamp video images (i.e. recorded index data) and video captured, for alarms and events, see P45, p53, 38-39, 49-53, 29, Marman. Note that the intended use/field of use of where locations and systems, etc., are considered intended use and are not being given patentable weight, since a type of system limitation does not result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art, which is required in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim. The prior art by Marman includes video recorded vdeo data index and video captures, which would be used and have the capability to serve in the intended uses listed in the instant claim).
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Marman and Saxena teaches all the limitations of the base claim as outlined above, and are analyzed as previously discussed with regard to that claim.
Marman further teaches where the analytic processing appliances perform processing selected from a group consisting of facial signatures, body signatures, object signatures, age signatures, sex signatures, and ethnicity signatures (Recognition of features (i.e. signatures) including humans faces, see p29, Marman).
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Marman and Saxena teaches all the limitations of the base claim as outlined above, and are analyzed as previously discussed with regard to that claim.
Marman further teaches where the analytic processing appliances is a counter for sensing the presence of people or vehicles (Recognition of including human people and vehicles, thus sensing by image capture sensor of these, see p29, Marman).
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Marman, in view of Saxena, and in further view of Korean Patent Publication No. KR2011103690A to Myung (hereinafter Myung. English DERWENT summary of KR2011103690A is included and also cited in this office action).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Marman and Saxena teaches all the limitations of the base claim as outlined above, and are analyzed as previously discussed with regard to that claim.
Marman does not explicitly teach where cameras are CCTV cameras packaged with electronic and optical components in specific configurations to limit the range of alternatives for mounting, aiming and focus of reach specific scenes based on location, mounting, lensing, and installation requirements for wiring constraint.
However, Myung from the same or similar field of monitoring with camera devices, teaches where cameras are CCTV cameras packaged with electronic and optical components in specific configurations to limit the range of alternatives for mounting, aiming and focus of reach specific scenes based on location, mounting, lensing, and installation requirements for wiring constraint (A cctv system can be composed of camera optical and electronic components packed in a specific configuration, such as integrated into a light fixture, which would limit the mounting, location, and installation to a light fixture and aimed at focused from a light fixture location, and wiring constrained as required by fixture as designed, see Fig. 2 and Derwent summary, Mayung).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to modify the video-based system as described by the combination that includes Marman and incorporating cctv cameras packaged in a specific configuration, as taught by Mayung.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do this modification in order to better provide camera device that can be discreet for an intended purpose and facilitate convenient installation by its configuration (see Derwent summary, Mayung).
Claims 6 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Marman, in view of Saxena, and in further view of US Patent Publication No. 2014/0009473 to Korkishko (hereinafter Korkishko).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Marman and Saxena teaches all the limitations of the base claim as outlined above, and are analyzed as previously discussed with regard to that claim.
Marman does not explicitly teach where a sensor display is a humidity or temperature reader.
However, Korkishko from the same or similar field of monitoring with camera devices, teaches where a sensor display is a humidity or temperature reader (Camera capturing measurement display, where measurements can include temperature, see P40, P71, P65, 97, Korkishko).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to modify the video-based system as described by the combination that includes Marman and incorporating a measurement display with measurement readings, as taught by Korkishko.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do this modification in order to better provide a means of obtain and displaying readings that can be more conveniently captured by camera or video system for transmitting to a remote location that can monitor a desired situation (see P8-9, P40, 71, Korishko).
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Marman and Saxena teaches all the limitations of the base claim as outlined above, and are analyzed as previously discussed with regard to that claim.
Marman does not explicitly teach where an analytic processing appliances is an alphanumeric character reader or an encoded data reader.
However, Korkishko from the same or similar field of monitoring with camera devices, teaches where an analytic processing appliances is an alphanumeric character reader or an encoded data reader (Camera capturing device can read encoded data to extract information, thus there is an analytic processing appliance that is a reader, see P40, P65, Korkishko).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to modify the video-based system as described by the combination that includes Marman and incorporating a reader, as taught by Korkishko.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do this modification in order to more conveniently decipher information that can be more compactly encoded as a markings so as to save on space and provide redundancy of information as in the case of certain known encoding indicia (see p40, p65, Korishko).
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Marman, in view of Saxena, and in further view of “JVSG: CCTV Design Software” accessed at: https://web.archive.org/web/20180131075812/https://www.jvsg.com/cctv-design-software/ captured on 01/31/2018, 4 pg. print out (hereinafter JVSG).
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Marman and Saxena teaches all the limitations of the base claim as outlined above, and are analyzed as previously discussed with regard to that claim.
Marman does not explicitly teach where a software is JFSG software to support importing building structure and floor plans in JPEG, PNG, PDF, TIFF or AutoCAD DWG drawings.
However, JVSG from the same or similar field of cameras, teaches where a software is JVSG software to support importing building structure and floor plans in JPEG, PNG, PDF, TIFF or AutoCAD DWG drawings (A JVSG software program with an import feature of site/floor plan in formats including jpeg, pdf, dwg, etc., see pgs. 3-4 feature matrix, JVSG).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to modify the video-based system as described by the combination that includes Marman and incorporating importation of floor plans in specified formats, as taught by JVSG.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do this modification in order to better design surveillance such as field of view by using and referring to a floor plan of interest serviced by a camera zone by importing floor plans in commonly known formats (see Pg. 2, Pg. 4, JVSG).
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Marman, in view of Saxena, and in further view of US Patent Publication No. 2017/0363262 to Chien, (hereinafter Chien).
Regarding claim 11, the combination of Marman and Saxena teaches all the limitations of the base claim as outlined above, and are analyzed as previously discussed with regard to that claim.
Marman further teaches where network components include live streaming means and archival storage means having wiring configurations to support live camera displays (Streaming, live, and archival with multiple displays, see P46, 49, 55, P35, Fig. 1, 39, 28, 41, Marman ).
Marman does not explicitly teach support more than two streams per camera with multi-camera arrays.
However, Chien from the same or similar field of installed devices including cameras, teaches support more than two streams per camera with multi-camera arrays (Device with multiple cameras (i.e. multi-camera arrays) providing multiple images (i.e. streams), see P37, Chien).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to modify the video-based system as described by the combination that includes Marman and incorporating more than two streams per camera with multi-camera arrays, as taught by Chien.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do this modification in order to better and more conveniently allow monitoring of multiple areas by devices with multiple cameras at locations (see P37, Chien).
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Marman, in view of Saxena, and in further view of WIPO Patent Publication No. WO2013083656A2 to Franco et al., (hereinafter Franco. English translation of WO2013083656A2 is included and cited in this office action).
Regarding claim 12, the combination of Marman and Saxena teaches all the limitations of the base claim as outlined above, and are analyzed as previously discussed with regard to that claim.
Marman does not explicitly teach further having wiring design documentation, installation instructions.
However, Franco from the same or similar field of installed devices including cameras, teaches further having wiring design documentation, installation instructions (Installation instructions and wiring diagram documentation can be provided for components, see Pg. 3 2nd Para. Of Summary of invention, Pg. 3 3rd para., Pg. 10 3rd para., Franco).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the filing date of the claimed invention to modify the video-based system as described by the combination that includes Marman and incorporating installation instructions and wiring documentation, as taught by Franco.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to do this modification in order to better guide a user on how to install a component and depict how wiring is connected (see Pg. 3, Franco).
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Olgiati et al., US Patent No. 11,126,854 teaches a video analysis service for efficient identification of objects using deep learning neural networks.
Oz et al., US Patent Publication No. 2020/0311433 teaches a system for automatically producing video that includes an analytic module for performing analytics that can include deep learning.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/EMILIO J SAAVEDRA/Primary Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2117