DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Status
Claims 1, 3-6, and 18-20 are under examination.
Claims 7-10 and 16 are cancelled.
Claims 11-15 and 17 are withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-5, and 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim et al. (U.S. PGPub US 2023/0411649 A1 with Foreign Application Priority Date of December 21st, 2020), hereinafter Kim, in view of Lee et al. (U.S. 2025/0023068 A1 with Foreign Application Priority Date of October 15th, 2021), hereinafter Lee, in view of Visser et al. (U.S. PGPub US 2016/0151744 A1), hereinafter Visser.
Regarding claim 1, Kim discloses a membrane humidifier for a fuel cell, comprising:
a hollow fiber membrane cartridge (i.e., at least cartridge ref. 21, Figs. 2-12, [0033]-[0037], [0040]) comprising a cartridge housing (i.e., at least inner case ref. 212, [0035]-[0036], Figs. 3-6) which is formed as a hollow having openings facing opposite sides of the cartridge housing in a longitudinal direction thereof (i.e., at least formed as a hollow having openings facing opposite sides of the inner case ref. 212 as shown in Annotated Fig. 3, also see Fig. 4, whereby as discussed in [0036] the inner case ref. 212 has openings formed in ends thereof, etc., such that said X-direction as depicted in at least Figs. 3-4 is at least a longitudinal direction, lacking any further distinction thereof)
Kim further discloses said cartridge housing has a side wall having a plurality of vent holes (i.e., at least gas outlet ref. 216 may include a plurality of outflow windows ref. 216a formed through different parts of the inner case ref. 212 as disclosed in [0049] and shown in at least Fig. 6, Also see Annotated Fig. 8, [0047]).
Kim further discloses a hollow fiber membrane inserted into an interior of the cartridge housing (i.e., at least inner case ref. 212 has openings formed in ends thereof, and the plurality of hollow fiber membranes ref. 211 is received in the inner case, such that the hollow fiber membranes ref. 211 may be disposed in the inner case ref. 212 so as to be modularized, etc., as discussed in [0036] and shown in at least Figs. 3-4, also see [0034], [0038]-[0039], [0050]),
and a resin layer filling an inner space of opposite sides of the cartridge housing in the longitudinal direction thereof (i.e., at least fixing layers refs. 213-214 formed by hardening liquid resin, etc., as disclosed in [0038], See Annotated Fig. 3 also see [0013], [0037]-[0039]).
Kim further discloses in [0038] ends of the plurality of hollow fiber membranes ref. 211 are potted in the fixing layers ref. 213 and 214, which close the openings of the inner case ref. 212, etc., which at least provides the resin layer (i.e., at least fixing layers) is provided to cover opposite ends of the cartridge housing in the longitudinal direction thereof and an outer surface of opposite sides of the cartridge housing in the longitudinal direction (also See Annotated Figs. 3 and 8, also see Fig. 6 and Fig. 2), lacking any further structural distinction thereof as to said opposite ends and/or outer surface of opposite sides.
Kim further discloses a membrane humidifier housing in which the hollow fiber membrane cartridge is formed (i.e., at least cartridge ref. 21 is disposed in the mid-case ref. 22, etc., as discussed [0040], as well as a first cap ref. 3 coupled to one end of the humidifying module ref. 2, etc., as disclosed in [0044], as well as a second cap ref. 4 coupled to the other end of the humidifying module ref. 2, etc., as disclosed in [0045], and as shown in Figs. 1-4, lacking any further distinction thereof as to said membrane humidifier housing, also see [0033]-[0034], [0041], [0050]-[0051]).
Kim further discloses in [0043] packing members refs. 23 and 23’ hermetically seal between the cartridge ref. 21 and the mid-case ref. 22, etc., and further discloses in [0044]-[0045] a space between the first/second cap (refs. 3-4) and the cartridge ref. 21 may be isolated from a space between the cartridge ref. 21 and the mid-case ref. 22 in a hermetically sealed state by the packing member(s) ref. 23 and ref. 23’, etc., which at least provides a bulkhead (i.e., at least packing member(s)) formed in an interior of the membrane humidifier housing so as to hermetically seal, and lacking any further distinction thereof as to said bulkhead (also see Figs. 3-4, [0042]-[0045]).
Kim further discloses in [0043] the cartridge ref. 21 may be inserted through first through-holes ref. 23a and ref. 23a’ formed respectively in the packing members ref. 23 and ref. 23’ etc., which at least provides the bulkhead (i.e., packing members ref. 23 and 23’ as discussed above) has mounting holes (i.e., at least through-holes) into which ends of the cartridge housing in the longitudinal direction thereof are inserted (also see Figs. 3-4).
However, Kim is silent as to the cartridge housing comprises: a locking protrusion provided at the opposite ends of the cartridge housing in the longitudinal direction, the locking protrusion protruding on the opposite sides of the cartridge housing in the longitudinal direction and the locking protrusion is completely embedded in the resin layer. Furthermore, Kim is silent as to a flange spaced apart from the locking protrusion, and wherein a plurality of through-holes filled with the resin layer are formed between the locking protrusion and the flange, and the plurality of through-holes are arranged along portions of the side wall of the cartridge housing surrounded by the resin layer.
Lee teaches a hollow fiber membrane cartridge assembly (Title). Lee further teaches cartridge housing comprises: a locking protrusion provided at the opposite ends of the cartridge housing in the longitudinal direction, the locking protrusion protruding on the opposite sides of the cartridge housing in the longitudinal direction; and a flange spaced apart from the locking protrusion (See Annotated Fig. 4), lacking any further structural distinction thereof (also see [0021], [0028], [0033], [0035], [0037]).
Lee further teaches in [0033] the first adapter ref. 130 and the second adapter ref. 140 function as a fixing layer (potting layer) that secures the hollow fiber membrane cartridge inside the main housing of a convention membrane humidifier for fuel cells, etc.
Lee further teaches [0047] the hollow fiber membrane cartridge according to an embodiment assembly has excellent airtightness and assemblability while even being provided with multiple hollow fiber membrane cartridges, whereby specifically, the hollow fiber membrane cartridge assembly according to the embodiment is a structure secured simply by two adapters that perform the function (function of improving airtightness) of the fixing layer (potting layer), etc.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified Kim with the teachings of Lee, whereby the membrane humidifier for a fuel cell including the hollow fiber membrane cartridge comprising a cartridge housing, etc., as disclosed by Kim further includes a cartridge housing comprises: a locking protrusion provided at the opposite ends of the cartridge housing in the longitudinal direction, the locking protrusion protruding on the opposite sides of the cartridge housing in the longitudinal direction; and a flange spaced apart from the locking protrusion as taught by Lee so as to provide excellent airtightness and assemblability while even being provided with multiple hollow fiber membrane cartridges, whereby specifically, the hollow fiber membrane cartridge assembly is a structure secured simply by two adapters that perform the function (function of improving airtightness) of the fixing layer (potting layer), etc.
Furthermore, although the combined teachings of Kim and Lee are silent as to the locking protrusion is completely embedded in the resin layer, since Kim further discloses in [0038] ends of the plurality of hollow fiber membranes ref. 211 are potted in the fixing layers ref. 213 and 214, which close the openings of the inner case ref. 212, etc., (also See Annotated Figs. 3 and 8, also see Fig. 6 and Fig. 2), the skilled artisan before the effective filing date would appreciate the combined teachings of Kim and Lee, such that since Kim broadly provides the fixing layers on ends of the hollow fiber membranes, cartridge ref. 21, etc., that this at least includes ends of cartridge(s), etc., such as ends including the locking protrusion(s), etc., of Lee so as not to block the hollows of the plurality of hollow fiber membranes ref. 211 as disclosed in [0039] of Kim (also see [0037], [0039]).
Visser teaches a membrane cartridge system (Title). Visser further teaches in [0098] good results are achieved if at least 4 holes of a diameter of at least 4 mm are arranged around the circumference of the cartridge tube under one end cap, etc. (also see Example 1, [0167]-[0172], whereby as taught in [0172] Fig. 3 shows a schematic drawing of the final cartridge after being cut, and the striped area (6) shows the tube sheet, whereby the cartridge tube is filled with resin just beneath the inlet/outlet opening (1), such that the resin filling height was symmetrical and both ends had the same filling height, and the holes in the cartridge tube (5) under the end caps allowed the epoxy resin to flow into the space between the cap and tube, and in this way, the tube was covered on both sides with epoxy resin and was securely integrated to the tube sheet and the end cap in regions where it builds a multilayer system of cap, epoxy, tube and again epoxy, etc., and the holes (5) in the tube ensure that the outside and inside of the tube gets properly interconnected, etc., which at least provides a plurality of through-holes filled with the resin layer are formed.
Although the combined teachings of Kim and Lee and Visser are silent as to a plurality of through-holes filled with the resin layer are formed between the locking protrusion and the flange, and the plurality of through-holes are arranged along portions of the side wall of the cartridge housing surrounded by the resin layer, since Kim discloses the membrane humidifier for a fuel cell comprising a hollow fiber membrane cartridge comprising a cartridge housing, etc., and Lee discloses the cartridge housing comprises: a locking protrusion provided at the opposite ends of the cartridge housing in the longitudinal direction, the locking protrusion protruding on the opposite sides of the cartridge housing in the longitudinal direction; and a flange spaced apart from the locking protrusion (as discussed above) so that the first/second adapter(s) function as a fixing layer(s) (potting layer(s)) that secures the hollow fiber membrane cartridge inside the main housing of a convention membrane humidifier for fuel cells, etc., one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date would appreciate modifying the combined teachings of Kim and Lee with the teachings of Visser so as to provide holes in the cartridge tube under the end caps (e.g., between the locking protrusion and the flange of Lee which is at least commensurate in scope with the securing said fixing/potting layer(s)), thereby allowing the epoxy resin to flow into the space between the cap and tube, so that in this way, the tube is covered on both sides with epoxy resin and securely integrated to the tube sheet and the end cap in regions (i.e., at least a plurality of through-holes are arranged along portions of the side wall of the cartridge housing and filled with the resin layer so as to be formed and surrounded by said resin layer such as 4 holes of a diameter of at least 4 mm are arranged around the circumference of the cartridge tube under one end cap so that the epoxy resin flows into the space between the cap and tube, and in this way, the tube is covered on both sides with epoxy resin, etc., as discussed above), thereby ensuring that the outside and inside of the tube are properly interconnected.
Annotated Figure 3 (Kim)
Annotated Figure 8 (Kim)
Annotated Figure 4 (Lee)
Regarding claim 3, Kim discloses the membrane humidifier as discussed above in claim 1. Kim further discloses the cartridge housing further comprises a protruding rib surrounding a middle portion of the cartridge housing in the longitudinal direction thereof (i.e., at least adjustment cover ref. 217 surrounds a middle portion of the inner case ref. 212 as shown in Annotated Fig. 8 above in claim 1, also see [0052]-[0070], and lacking any further distinction thereof as to said protruding rib and/or middle portion).
Kim further discloses the plurality of vent holes are formed in a side wall of the cartridge housing in the longitudinal direction thereof (See Annotated Fig. 8 above in claim 1, also see [0049]) and in another side thereof opposite to the side wall with respect to the protruding rib (See Annotated Fig. 8 above in claim 1).
Regarding claim 4, Kim discloses the membrane humidifier as discussed above in claim 1. Kim further discloses the membrane humidifier housing comprises a partition wall having an insertion hole into which the cartridge housing is inserted (See Annotated Fig. 3 above in claim 1), such that said housing at least comprises a partition wall having an insertion hole so that the cartridge ref. 21 is disposed in the mid-case ref. 22, and includes a plurality of hollow fiber membranes ref. 211, etc., as disclosed in [0034], lacking any further distinction thereof as to said partition wall and/or insertion hole.
Regarding claim 5, Kim discloses the membrane humidifier as discussed above in claim 1. Kim further discloses the bulkhead (i.e., at least packing member(s) as discussed above in claim 1) has a protrusion protruding on an outer end of at least one of the mounting hole (i.e., at least through-holes as discussed above in claim 1) (also See Annotated Fig. 3 above in claim 1),
and the resin layer (i.e., at least fixing layers as discussed above in claim 1) is in contact with the protrusion (See Annotated Fig. 4 below), lacking any further distinction thereof as to said protrusion (also see Fig. 2).
Annotated Figure 4 (Kim)
Regarding claim 18, Kim discloses the membrane humidifier as discussed above in claim 1. Kim further discloses the membrane humidifier housing comprises: a first housing having a hollow tube shape into which the hollow fiber membrane cartridge is inserted (i.e., at least mid-case ref. 22 as disclosed in [0043] and shown in at least Fig. 2, lacking any further distinction thereof, also see [0042]);
a second housing covering a first longitudinal end of the first housing (i.e., at least second cap ref. 4 coupled to the other end of the humidifying module ref. 2 as disclosed in [0045] and shown in at least Fig. 2, lacking any further distinction thereof);
and a third housing covering a second longitudinal end of the first housing, the second longitudinal end being opposite to the first longitudinal end (i.e., at least first cap ref. 3 coupled to one end of the humidifying module ref. 2 as disclosed in [0044] and shown in at least Fig. 2, lacking any further distinction thereof).
Regarding claim 19, Kim discloses the membrane humidifier as discussed above in claim 18. Kim discloses the third housing as discussed above in claim 18. Kim further discloses the third housing comprises: a wet airflow path configured to communicate a space between the cartridge housing and the membrane humidifier housing with a wet air inlet (i.e., at least first cap ref. 3 may transmit wet gas to the humidifying module ref. 2 as disclosed in [0032], such that a wet airflow path is at least configured to communicate a space between the cartridge housing and the membrane humidifier housing with a wet air inlet as shown in Annotated Fig. 4 above in claim 5 so as to transmit wet gas to the humidifying module, and lacking any further distinction thereof);
and a dry airflow path configured to communicate a longitudinal end of the hollow fiber membrane cartridge with a dry air outlet (i.e., at least as disclosed in [0041] an inlet ref. 222 and an outlet ref. 223 may be formed at one side of the mid-case ref. 22, whereby the inlet ref. 222 may allow dry gas, etc., to be introduced into the mid-case ref. 22 therethrough, etc., and the outlet ref. 223 may allow dry gas, etc., to be discharged from the mid-case ref. 22 therethrough, etc., such that a dry airflow path is at least configured to communicate a longitudinal end of the hollow fiber membrane cartridge with a dry air outlet as shown in Annotated Fig. 4 above in claim 5 so that the outlet ref. 223 may allow dry gas to be discharged from the mid-case ref. 22, and lacking any further distinction thereof),
wherein the wet airflow path and the dry airflow path are separated by a flow path dividing plate (i.e., at least packing members refs. 23 and 23’ hermetically seal between the cartridge ref. 21 and the mid-case ref. 22 in order to prevent direct mixing between dry gas and wet gas as disclosed in [0043], such that the skilled artisan would appreciate that said packing members are at least a dividing plate as shown in Annotated Fig. 4 above in claim 5 so as to prevent direct mixing between dry gas and wet gas, and lacking any further distinction thereof).
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim and Lee and Visser as applied to claim 5 above, and further in view of Ahn et al. (U.S. PGPub US 2023/0420706 A1 with Foreign Application Priority Date of December 23rd, 2020), hereinafter Ahn.
Regarding claim 6, Kim discloses the membrane humidifier including the protrusion and resin layer as discussed above in claim 5. However, Kim appears silent as to an O-ring sealing a gap between the protrusion and the resin layer.
The combined teachings of Kim and Lee and Visser disclose the membrane humidifier as discussed above in at least claim 5. Ahn teaches a humidifier system for fuel cell (Title). Ahn further teaches in [0055] the humidifying module ref. 2 may include a plurality of packing members ref. 25 and ref. 25’, whereby the packing members ref. 25 and ref. 25’ seal between the mid-case ref. 22 and the cartridges ref. 21, etc. Ahn further teaches in [0058] a sealing member such as an O-ring may be disposed between the supply cap ref. 3 and the wet body ref. 51, etc., such that as taught in [0060] the wet part ref. 5 includes a wet body ref. 51, a supply member ref. 52, and a discharge member ref. 53, etc. (also see [0059], and Figs. 3-4), thereby at least providing an O-ring sealing a gap, for example, between the protrusion (ref. 25, Figs. 3-4) and a resin layer (ref. 212, Figs. 3-4, also see [0050] as to first potting part ref. 212 formed by curing a liquid resin, etc.), such that a gap could be any gap between said protrusion and resin layer as shown in Annotated Fig. 4, and lacking any further structural distinction thereof. Ahn further teaches in [0028] it is possible to reduce construction and operating costs, while contributing to increasing an amount of power generation of a fuel cell system by increasing the flow rate of humidified air, etc.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified the combined teachings of Kim and Lee and Visser with the teachings of Ahn, whereby the membrane humidifier including the protrusion and resin layer as disclosed by the combined teachings of Kim and Lee and Visser further includes a sealing member such as an O-ring disposed between the supply cap and the wet body, etc., as taught by Ahn so as to seal and thereby reduce construction and operating costs, while contributing to increasing an amount of power generation of a fuel cell system by increasing the flow rate of humidified air, etc. Furthermore, the skilled artisan would appreciate that since Ahn broadly encompasses providing an O-ring between the supply cap and the wet body, etc., that this would at least encompass any portion/gap between the protrusion and the resin layer so as to be disposed between the supply cap and the wet body, and lacking any further structural distinction thereof as to said gap.
Annotated Figure 4 (Ahn)
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kim and Lee and Visser as applied to claim 19 above, and further in view of Ahn et al. (U.S. PGPub US 2022/0344684 A1 with Foreign Application Priority Date of November 29th, 2019), hereinafter Ahn ‘684.
Regarding claim 20, Kim discloses the membrane humidifier as discussed above in claim 19. However, Kim is silent as to an extension plate extending from a longitudinal end of the cartridge housing and covering the dry airflow path.
The combined teachings of Kim and Lee and Visser disclose the membrane humidifier as discussed above in claim 19. Ahn ‘684 teaches a cartridge of fuel cell humidifier and fuel cell humidifier (Title). Anh ‘684 further teaches an extension plate extending from a longitudinal end of the cartridge housing and covering the dry airflow path (i.e., at least as shown in Annotated Fig. 4, also see Figs. 10-12, [0053]), such that the skilled artisan would appreciate that ref. 214 at least covers the dry airflow path so that the interlocking member ref. 214 connects the inner case ref. 210 to the blocking member ref. 223, etc., as taught in [0054], such that the blocking member ref. 223 blocks passage of wet gas, etc., (also see [0056]-[0059], [0062]-[0064], Figs. 13-14), and lacking any further distinction thereof.
Ahn ‘684 further teaches in [0021] it is possible to reduce the flow rate of wet gas that is bypassed without contact with the outer surfaces of hollow fiber membranes, whereby it is possible to improve efficiency of a humidification process, and furthermore it is possible to supply dry gas that is sufficiently humidified to a fuel cell stack, whereby it is possible to contribute to improvement in power generation efficiency of a fuel cell.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have modified the combined teachings of Kim and Lee and Visser with the teachings of Ahn ‘684, whereby the membrane humidifier including the protrusion and resin layer as disclosed by the combined teachings of Kim and Lee and Visser further includes an extension plate extending from a longitudinal end of the cartridge housing and covering the dry airflow path, etc., as taught by Ahn so as to reduce the flow rate of wet gas that is bypassed without contact with the outer surfaces of hollow fiber membranes, whereby it is possible to improve efficiency of a humidification process, and furthermore it is possible to supply dry gas that is sufficiently humidified to a fuel cell stack, whereby it is possible to contribute to improvement in power generation efficiency of a fuel cell.
Annotated Figure 4 (Ahn ‘684)
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed August 20th, 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicants argue Page 9, “For example, Kim describes resin-based fixing layers 213, 214 at both ends of a cartridge 21, but does not disclose or suggest the “locking protrusion” and the “through-holes” as particularly claimed. See, e.g., Kim at Fig. 3, reproduced below with annotation.” Applicants further argue Page 9, “For example, nothing has been found in Lee to disclose or suggest a “resin layer” as claimed. See Lee at Fig. 4, reproduced below with annotation.” Applicants further argue Page 10, “At least for this reason, Applicant respectfully submits that Lee does not disclose or suggest a "locking protrusion [] completely embedded in the resin layer" and a "plurality of through-holes filled with the resin layer are formed between the locking protrusion and the flange, and the plurality of through-holes are arranged along portions of the side wall of the cartridge housing surrounded by the resin layer" as claimed.”
Applicants further argue Page 10, “Additionally, Visser does not disclose or suggest a "locking protrusion [] completely embedded in the resin layer" and a "plurality of through-holes filled with the resin layer are formed between the locking protrusion and the flange, and the plurality of through-holes are arranged along portions of the side wall of the cartridge housing surrounded by the resin layer" as claimed.” Applicants further argue Page 11, “For example, the openings 5 in Visser do not correspond to a "plurality of through- holes [] arranged along portions of [a] side wall of [a] cartridge housing surrounded by [a] resin layer" as claimed.
The examiner respectfully disagrees, whereby as put forth in the current 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection of record, although the combined teachings of Kim and Lee are silent as to the locking protrusion is completely embedded in the resin layer, since Kim further discloses in [0038] ends of the plurality of hollow fiber membranes ref. 211 are potted in the fixing layers ref. 213 and 214, which close the openings of the inner case ref. 212, etc., (also See Annotated Figs. 3 and 8, also see Fig. 6 and Fig. 2), the skilled artisan before the effective filing date would appreciate the combined teachings of Kim and Lee, such that since Kim broadly provides the fixing layers on ends of the hollow fiber membranes, cartridge ref. 21, etc., that this at least includes ends of cartridge(s), etc., such as ends including the locking protrusion(s), etc., of Lee so as not to block the hollows of the plurality of hollow fiber membranes ref. 211 as disclosed in [0039] of Kim (also see [0037], [0039]).
Furthermore, although the combined teachings of Kim and Lee and Visser are silent as to a plurality of through-holes filled with the resin layer are formed between the locking protrusion and the flange, and the plurality of through-holes are arranged along portions of the side wall of the cartridge housing surrounded by the resin layer, since Kim discloses the membrane humidifier for a fuel cell comprising a hollow fiber membrane cartridge comprising a cartridge housing, etc., and Lee discloses the cartridge housing comprises: a locking protrusion provided at the opposite ends of the cartridge housing in the longitudinal direction, the locking protrusion protruding on the opposite sides of the cartridge housing in the longitudinal direction; and a flange spaced apart from the locking protrusion (as discussed above) so that the first/second adapter(s) function as a fixing layer(s) (potting layer(s)) that secures the hollow fiber membrane cartridge inside the main housing of a convention membrane humidifier for fuel cells, etc., one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date would appreciate modifying the combined teachings of Kim and Lee with the teachings of Visser so as to provide holes in the cartridge tube under the end caps (e.g., between the locking protrusion and the flange of Lee which is at least commensurate in scope with the securing said fixing/potting layer(s)), thereby allowing the epoxy resin to flow into the space between the cap and tube, so that in this way, the tube is covered on both sides with epoxy resin and securely integrated to the tube sheet and the end cap in regions (i.e., at least a plurality of through-holes are arranged along portions of the side wall of the cartridge housing and filled with the resin layer so as to be formed and surrounded by said resin layer such as 4 holes of a diameter of at least 4 mm are arranged around the circumference of the cartridge tube under one end cap so that the epoxy resin flows into the space between the cap and tube, and in this way, the tube is covered on both sides with epoxy resin, etc., as discussed above), thereby ensuring that the outside and inside of the tube are properly interconnected.
In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
Therefore, in light of the amendments to the claims, a new grounds of 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection is made in view of Kim and Lee and Visser for claims 1, 3-5, 18-19. See the current 35 U.S.C. 103 rejection of record for the claims that depend therefrom.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Kim et al. (U.S. Patent 9,570,767 B2) discloses a membrane humidifier for a fuel cell (Title), whereby a conventional method as shown in Figs. 5A to 5D are diagrams illustrating such a potting process, such that the potting process includes preparing a case as in Fig. 5A, putting a potting cap ref. 300 on as in Fig. 5B, inserting the hollow fiber membranes ref. 202 as in Fig. 5C, and injecting resin ref. 310 as in Fig. 5D, and as illustrated in Fig. 6, the potting material is injected into the case through a hole ref. 110.
/JOSHUA P MCCLURE/Examiner, Art Unit 1727
/BARBARA L GILLIAM/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1727