DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to Applicant’s Arguments /Remarks and RCE filed on 01/07/2026.
As per instant Amendment, claims 1, 9 and 15 are independent and amended claims; claims 3, 5-8, 11, 13-14, 17, and 19-20 have been cancelled. Claims 1-2, 4, 9-10, 12, 15-16 and 18 have been examined and are pending. This Action is made non-FINAL.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-2, 4, 9-10, 12, 15-16 and 18 have been considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection, that recites , in part "generating locally at each of the plurality of key holders n ephemeral shares based on the share of the first secret data and the share of the second secret data stored at each of the plurality of key holders n... reconstructing the first secret data and the second secret data employing the ephemeral shares from at least t s n of the plurality of key holders n... computing the signature using the reconstructed first data secret and the reconstructed second data secret employing the ephemeral shares as inputs to the SMC protocol in place of the signing key." as in amended claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4, 9-10, 12, 15-16 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Osheter, Pub. No.: US 2017/0272251 in view of Clark et al. (hereinafter Clark), Pub. No.: US 2016/0335440.
Referring to claim 1, Osheter a computer-implemented method for message authentication, comprising:
computing a first secret data and a second secret data using a signing key associated with a first communication message (para. 0024 and fig. 1, the first party 110 calculates the hash function on the message M and the value V.sub.1, and sends the result of the hash function to the second party 120. Then, the second party 120 applies a second hash function on the result received from the second party 120 and on the value V.sub.2.);
splitting the first secret data and the second secret data into shares, and distributing the shares such that each of a plurality of key holders n receives and stores a share of the first secret data and a share of the second secret data (para. 0015, The secret key is divided at the third-party client by different compression functions and provided to the different servers.; para. 0004);
receiving a reconstruction request to compute a hash-based message authentication code (HMAC) signature for the first communication message, and reconstructing the first secret data and the second secret data employing the ephemeral shares from at least t s n of the plurality of key holders n to compute the signature with a Secure Multi-party Computation (SMC) protocol (para. 0004, HMAC performed in multi-party computation (i.e., SMC) requires representing the HMAC function as a Boolean circuit and securely computing many Boolean gates, which requires transferring a relatively large amount of data between the parties. Para. 0015); and
computing the signature using the reconstructed first data secret and the reconstructed second data secret employing the ephemeral shares as inputs to the SMC protocol in place of the signing key (paras. 0003-0004, 0015; MPC and MPC Protocol).
Osheter does not explicitly disclose generating locally at each of the plurality of key holders n ephemeral shares based on the share of the first secret data and the share of the second secret data stored at each of the plurality of key holders n.
However, in an analogous art, Clark teaches a generating locally at each of the plurality of key holders n ephemeral shares based on the share of the first secret data and the share of the second secret data stored at each of the plurality of key holders n (Clark: abstract, paras. 0050-0052, 0053-0056, 0059-0067 an fig. 4; secure sharing).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention (AIA ) to combine the teachings of Osheter with the method and system of Clark, wherein generating locally at each of the plurality of key holders n ephemeral shares based on the share of the first secret data and the share of the second secret data stored at each of the plurality of key holders n to provide users with a means for performing secure multiparty computations (Clark: para. 0003).
Referring to claim 2, Osheter and Clark teach a computer-implemented method for message authentication. Osheter further teaches wherein computing the first secret data and the second secret data is independent from the first communication message being signed (Osheter: paras. 0023-0024, the first party 110 calculates the hash function on the message M (i.e., first communication message)).
Referring to claim 4, Osheter and Clark teach a computer-implemented method for message authentication. Osheter further teaches including upon determining that each of the plurality of key holders n received the shares, deleting the signing key (Osheter: para. 0005, The client then deletes the secret key…).
Referring to claim 9, This claim is similar in scope to claim 1, and is therefore rejected under similar rationale.
Referring to claim 10, This claim is similar in scope to claim 2, and is therefore rejected under similar rationale.
Referring to claim 12, This claim is similar in scope to claim 4, and is therefore rejected under similar rationale.
Referring to claim 15, This claim is similar in scope to claim 1, and is therefore rejected under similar rationale.
Referring to claim 16, This claim is similar in scope to claim 2, and is therefore rejected under similar rationale.
Referring to claim 18, This claim is similar in scope to claim 4, and is therefore rejected under similar rationale.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Please see the attached PTO-892.
/YONAS A BAYOU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2499 02/10/2026