DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, claims 1-12, in the reply filed on 7/16/25 is acknowledged.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3 and 7-12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KR 101820445B1 (cited in IDS filed 4/19/23) in view of Duan (EP 3886218 A1).
Regarding claim 1, KR 101820445B1 teaches an anode for a lithium secondary battery (paragraph [0001]), comprising:
an anode current collector (paragraph [0012], negative electrode current collector);
a primer layer formed on a surface of the anode current collector (paragraph [0015], first coating layer having an effect similar to that of a primer coating because of its contact with the anode current collector and improving adhesive force between anode mixture layer and the current collector); and
an anode active material layer (paragraph [0021], silicon-based material is divided between the second coating layer and the third coating layer) comprising a first anode active material layer (paragraph [0021], second coating layer) and a second anode active material layer (paragraph [0021], third coating layer) sequentially disposed on the primer layer (first coating, second coating, third coating), each of the first anode active material layer and the second anode active material layer including a silicon-based active material (paragraph [0021-0022], silicon-based material as the anode active material).
KR101820445B1 teaches a content of the silicon-based active material in the third coating relative to a total amount of said third coating is in the range of between 5 wt% to 20 wt% (paragraph [0022]), and a content of the silicon-based active material in the second coating relative to a total amount of said second coating is in the range of between 0.1% to 1% (paragraph [0019]), but is quiet to a ratio of a content of the silicon-based active material in the second anode active material layer relative to a content of the silicon-based active material in the first anode active material layer among a total content of the silicon-based active material included in the anode active material layer is greater than 1.25 and less than 5.
However, KR 101820445B1 teaches that the content of the silicon-based active material present in each of the second coating and the third coating layer is an optimal value set in accordance with experiments in consideration of stress due to expansion during charging and discharging, as an advantage of an increase of energy density and desired capacity improvement is offset by the negative effects of volume expansion (paragraph [0020, 0023]).
In view of the teachings of KR 101820445B1, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, through routine experimentation, to optimize the ratio of the content of the silicon-based active material of the third coating to the second coating layer among a total content in the active material layer of KR 101820445B1, to be within the claimed range of greater than 1.25 and less than 5, as KR 101820445B1 teaches that the content of silicon-based material in each of the layers is optimized through routine experimentation (paragraph [0023]), and is a result-effective variable, where an increase of the silicon-based material would increase energy density and desired capacity (paragraph [0023]), but would similarly increase volume expansion (paragraph [0023]) which has a negative effect (paragraph [0020]).
"[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). MPEP 2144.05(II)(A).
KR 101820445B1 teaches the first anode active material and the second anode active material layer (second and third coatings) each include at least one binder (paragraph [0029], SBR/CMC), but is quiet to the binder selected from the group consisting of polyacrylic acid, polyvinyl alcohol, polyacrylonitrile, polyacrylamide, polyvinyl acetate and a copolymer thereof.
Duan teaches a negative electrode plate including a current collector, a first active material layer including first silicon-based material particles and a second active material layer including silicon-based material particles, where a weight percentage of silicon based on a weight of the first active material layer is less than a weight percentage of the silicon element based on a weight of the second active material layer (abstract). Duan teaches the first and second active material layer include a binder (paragraph [0029]), which may include at least one of a polyvinylidene fluoride, a vinylidene fluoride-hexafluoropropylene copolymer, a polyamide, a polyacrylonitrile, a polyacrylic ester, a polyacrylic acid, a sodium polyacrylate, a sodium carboxymethyl cellulose, a polyvinylpyrrolidone, a polyvinyl ether, a poly methyl methacrylate, a polytetrafluoroethylene, a polyhexafluoropropylene, or styrene butadiene rubber (paragraph [0029]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to substitute the SBR binder of the second and third coatings of KR 101820445B1 with a polyacrylic acid binder of Duan, as a polyacrylic acid binders is a functional equivalent to styrene butadiene rubber binder in the silicon-based active material layers of Duan (paragraph [0029]). The rationale to support a conclusion that the claim would have been obvious is that the substitution of one known element for another yields predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art. MPEP 2143(I)(B).
Regarding claim 2, the combination is quiet to wherein the ratio of the content of the silicon-based active material in the second anode active material layer relative to the content of the silicon-based active material in the first anode active material layer among the total content of the silicon-based active material included in the anode active material layer is 2 or more, and less than 5.
However, as discussed above, KR 101820445B1 teaches that the content of the silicon-based active material present in each of the second coating and the third coating layer is an optimal value set in accordance with experiments in consideration of stress due to expansion during charging and discharging, as an advantage of an increase of energy density and desired capacity improvement is offset by the negative effects of volume expansion (paragraph [0020, 0023]).
In view of the teachings of KR 101820445B1, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, through routine experimentation, to optimize the ratio of the content of the silicon-based active material of the third coating to the second coating layer among a total content in the active material layer of KR 101820445B1, to be within the claimed range of 2 or more and less than 5, as KR 101820445B1 teaches that the content of silicon-based material in each of the layers is optimized through routine experimentation (paragraph [0023]), and is a result-effective variable, where an increase of the silicon-based material would increase energy density and desired capacity (paragraph [0023]), but would similarly increase volume expansion (paragraph [0023]) which has a negative effect (paragraph [0020]).
"[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). MPEP 2144.05(II)(A).
Regarding claim 3, KR 101820445B1 teaches wherein the primer layer comprises a styrene-butadiene rubber (paragraph [0018], binder of the first coating layer is not limited, examples include SBR (styrene butadiene rubber)).
Regarding claim 7, the combination teaches wherein the silicon-based active material includes at least one selected from the group consisting of silicon (Si), a silicon alloy, a silicon oxide, a silicon-carbon (Si-C) composite and a silicon alloy-based carbon composite (KR 101820445B1, paragraph [0034-0035], silicon, silicon alloy, SiC, silicon oxide, etc).
Regarding claims 8-9, the combination is quiet to wherein a content of the silicon-based active material based on a total weight of the anode active material layer is in a range from 1 wt% to 20 wt% (claim 8) or in a range from 4 wt% to 15 wt% (claim 9).
However, as discussed above, KR 101820445B1 teaches that the content of the silicon-based active material present in each of the second coating and the third coating layer is an optimal value set in accordance with experiments in consideration of stress due to expansion during charging and discharging, as an advantage of an increase of energy density and desired capacity improvement is offset by the negative effects of volume expansion (paragraph [0020, 0023]).
As the amount of silicon per each layer is optimized, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, through routine experimentation, to optimize the total amount of silicon-based active material based on a total weight of the anode active material layer, to be within the claimed range of 4 wt% to 15 wt%, as KR 101820445B1 teaches that the content of silicon-based material in each of the layers is optimized through routine experimentation (paragraph [0023]), and is a result-effective variable, where an increase of the silicon-based material would increase energy density and desired capacity (paragraph [0023]), but would similarly increase volume expansion (paragraph [0023]) which has a negative effect (paragraph [0020]).
"[W]here the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation." In re Aller, 220 F.2d 454, 456, 105 USPQ 233, 235 (CCPA 1955). MPEP 2144.05(II)(A).
Regarding claim 10, the combination teaches wherein each of the first anode active material layer and the second anode active material layer further includes a carbon-based active material (KR 101820445B1, paragraph [0022],[0024],[0026], second coating has relatively high content of carbon-based material).
Regarding claim 11, the combination teaches wherein a content of the carbon-based active material in a total weight of the first anode active material layer is greater than a content of the carbon-based active material in a total weight of the second anode active material layer (KR 101820445B1, paragraph [0026], the second coating has a relatively high content ratio of carbon, whereas the third coating has a relatively low content ratio of carbon, paragraph [0024]).
Regarding claim 12, the combination teaches a lithium secondary battery (KR 101820445B1, paragraph [0001], secondary battery), comprising: the anode for a lithium secondary battery of claim 1 (see above, KR 101820445 B1, paragraph [0001], negative electrode); and a cathode facing the anode (KR 101820445 B1, further including a positive electrode).
Claim(s) 4-6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over KR 101820445B1 as modified by Duan as applied to claims 1 and 3 above, and further in view of Wang (EP 2212949 B1).
Regarding claims 4-5, the combination of KR 101820445B1 as modified by Duan teaches a primer layer, but is quiet to wherein an average loading weight of the primer layer is in a range from (claim 4) 0.1% to 20% or (claim 5) 0.5% to 10% of a total electrode loading weight.
However, KR 101820445B1 teaches the average thickness of the primer layer may be relatively thin (paragraph [0028]).
Wang teaches primers for electrodes of electrochemical cells (paragraph [0001]) function as adhesion layers, and that the invention is to provide good adhesion and electrical contact (paragraph [0003]). Wang teaches that primer layers are preferably thin, to reduce overall battery weight (paragraph [0013]), and should be stable and not interfere with the structural integrity of the electrodes (paragraph [0013]).
As KR 101820445B1 teaches of a thin primer layer, and that Wang suggests that thin primer layers are for reducing overall weight, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, through routine experimentation, to optimize the average loading weight of the primer layer to be within the claimed range, as both KR 101820445B1 and Wang teach the desirability for a low thickness (and thus a low weight), while requiring stability and without interference with structural integrity (Wang, paragraph [0013]).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of KR 101820445B1 as modified by Duan fails to teach that the primer layer does not include a conductive material.
However, Wang teaches that the use of conductive filler is optional, as Wang describes that conductive filler is used in some cases to increase electrically conductive properties (paragraph [0047]). Note that Wang describes that amount of filler to be at 10-90% if present (paragraph [0047]), further suggesting that the fillers are not required. Wang teaches that determining suitable compositions and configurations of the primers can be carried out without undue experimentation (paragraph [0044]), including selecting the primer layers based on its electrically conductive properties and ability to adhere (paragraph [0044]) and that Wang teaches experiments to determine the influence of optional components, such as fillers, on the adhesion (paragraph [0045]).
In view of the teachings of Wang, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to modify the primer layer of the combination so as to not include a conductive filler, as Wang teaches that conductive fillers are not necessary (paragraph [0047]) and that the primers can be selected based on its conductive properties and ability to adhere (paragraph [0044]), where experiments have been performed to test the effect fillers have on adhesion (paragraph [0045]).
Conclusion
/JACKY YUEN/
Examiner
Art Unit 1735
/KEITH WALKER/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1735