DETAILED ACTION
2. This Office Action responds to the Amendment filed on 10/30/2025 and IDS filed 12/02/2025. Applicant’s remarks are addressed in the Response to Applicant’s Remarks section cited below.
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Double Patenting
3. A rejection based on double patenting of the “same invention” type finds its support in the language of 35 U.S.C. 101 which states that “whoever invents or discovers any new and useful process... may obtain a patent therefor...” (Emphasis added). Thus, the term “same invention,” in this context, means an invention drawn to identical subject matter. See Miller v. Eagle Mfg. Co., 151 U.S. 186 (1894); In re Vogel, 422 F.2d 438, 164 USPQ 619 (CCPA 1970); In re Ockert, 245 F.2d 467, 114 USPQ 330 (CCPA 1957).
A statutory type (35 U.S.C. 101) double patenting rejection can be overcome by canceling or amending the claims that are directed to the same invention so they are no longer coextensive in scope. The filing of a terminal disclaimer cannot overcome a double patenting rejection based upon 35 U.S.C. 101.
4. Claim 18 is provisionally rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 as claiming the same invention as that of claim 20 of copending Application No. 17/846,341 (reference application). This is a provisional statutory double patenting rejection since the claims directed to the same invention have not in fact been patented.
6. Claims 1, 4-10, and 12-17 provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 5, 6-11, 15, 16, 17, and 19 of copending Application No. 17/846,341 in view of Brandonisio (U.S. Pub. No. 2020/0328750 A1). The copending application discloses receiving a circuit representation comprising a node and a feedback representation associated with the node; simulating operation of a circuit in the circuit representation; and in response to the simulated circuit generating an output at the node associated with the feedback representation, providing simulated feedback to the simulated circuit at the node that correspond to the correspond to the limitations of the current application, however the copending application does not disclose that the feedback representation is a mixed signal. However, Brandonisio discloses a mixed signal feedback representation (See Figure 7 & Para [0050]-[0057], i.e. PLL model 720…emulate a first actual internal PLL … received from digital PLL…on a first estimated analog PLL). Therefore, it obvious to incorporate the teaching of Brandonisio into the copending application because it would optimize a device for better performance (See Para [0001]).
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
8. Claim(s) 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Brandonisio (U.S. Pub. No. 2020/0328750 A1).
As per claim 18, Brandonisio discloses:
An emulation model comprising:
a circuit representation comprising a node (See Figure 7 & Para [0050]-[0057], i.e. PLL model 720…emulate a first actual internal PLL … received from digital PLL…on a first estimated analog PLL –[prior art emulate PLL include digital and analog being the mixed signal, prior art emulate a PLL signal being the node as cited above]); and
a feedback representation associated with the node of the circuit representation (See Figure 7 & Para [0050]-[0057], i.e. PLL model 720…emulate a first actual internal PLL … received from digital PLL…on a first estimated analog PLL –[prior art emulate PLL include digital and analog being the mixed signal, prior art emulate a PLL signal being the node as cited above]),
wherein the feedback representation is configured to provide feedback to a circuit in the circuit representation (See Figure 7, i.e. prior art feedback from &7344 in 730 to block 720 & See Para [0050]-[0057], i.e. minimizer 734 is also configured to update the estimated analog PLL parameter) in response to the circuit generating a signal at the node (See Figure 7, i.e. output from DCO 722 & See Para [0050]-[0057]).
As per claim 19, Brandonisio discloses all of the features of claim 18 as discloses above wherein Brandonisio also discloses equivalence constraints for one or more components of the circuit representation and the feedback representation (See Figure 7 & Para [0050]-[0057], i.e. PLL model 720…emulate a first actual internal PLL … received from digital PLL…on a first estimated analog PLL –[prior art apply similar input (constraint) to both 720 and 730 – considered as equivalence constraints]).
As per claim 20, Brandonisio discloses all of the features of claim 19 as discloses above wherein Brandonisio also discloses wherein the equivalence constraints are manually configurable (See Figure 7 & Para [0050]-[0057], i.e. PLL model 720…emulate a first actual internal PLL … received from digital PLL…on a first estimated analog PLL, See Para [0017], i.e. configured to emulate one or more internal PLL signals).
Allowable Subject Matter
9. Claims 2, 3, and 11 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
10. Claims 1, 4-10, and 12-17 would be allowable if overcome the rejection(s) under Double Patenting, set forth in this Office action.
11. The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: Applicant’s remarks (Pages 6-10) with respect to claims 1-17 are persuasive.
Response to Applicant’s Remarks
12. With respect to Applicant’s remarks, the following are addressed:
Applicant’s arguments (Pages 6-10 of Remarks filed 10/30/2025), with respect to independent claims 1 and 10 have been considered and are persuasive. Claims 1 and 10 are now indicated as being allowable if to overcome the rejection(s) under Double Patenting, set forth in this Office action.
The rejection of claims 18-20 is maintained under prior art Brandonisio (U.S. Pub. No. 2020/0328750 A1), as the arguments that the prior art does not teach “receiving a circuit representation comprising a node and a mixed signal feedback representation associated with the node; simulating operation of a circuit in the circuit representation to generate a simulated circuit; and in response to the simulated circuit generating an output at the node associated with the mixed signal feedback representation, providing simulated mixed signal feedback to the simulated circuit at the node” does not apply to independent claim 18, as independent claim 18 is not directed to any simulation and/or having simulation circuit.
With respect to claim 18, prior art Brandonisio teach having a circuit representation comprising a node (See Figure 7, i.e. 722 is considered as the circuit presentation). Because Figure 7 illustrated a block diagram of a circuit, it is considered as the circuit representation of the claim.
Prior art Brandonisio also teach a feedback representation associated with the node of the circuit representation (See Figure 7, i.e. feedback 730).
Prior art Brandonisio also teach wherein the feedback representation is configured to provide feedback to a circuit in the circuit representation (See Figure 7, i.e. prior art feedback from &7344 in 730 to block 720 & See Para [0050]-[0057], i.e. minimizer 734 is also configured to update the estimated analog PLL parameter) in response to the circuit generating a signal at the node (See Figure 7, i.e. output from DCO 722 & See Para [0050]-[0057]).
Therefore, prior art Brandonisio have been shown to discloses the limitations of independent claim 18 – therefore the rejection of claims 18-20 is maintained under prior art Brandonisio as cited above.
Double Patenting rejection of claims 1, 4-10, and 12-18 are maintained as cited above, as Applicant’s did not file Terminal Disclaimer in the current application.
Conclusion
13. THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/NHA T NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2851