DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Summary
Applicant’s arguments and claim amendments filed on December 22, 2025 have been entered into the file. Currently claims 1 and 5 are amended and claims 2 and 4 are cancelled, resulting in claims 1, 3, and 5-15 pending for examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 3, and 5-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Maud (US 2015/0201683)1 in view of Man (US 2014/0250575)1.
With respect to claim 1, Maud teaches a heat insulation structure 200 which may be used in garments (paragraph [0086]). The heat insulation structure 200 comprises a first insulation element 210 and a second insulation element 220 (paragraph [0086]). The second insulation element 220 comprises a different initial shape than the first insulation element 210, and the first insulation element 210 is connected to the second insulation element 220 (paragraph [0086]). When a garment with the heat insulation structure 200 is worn, the second insulation element 220 is deformed by a pressure on an inside of the heat insulation structure 200 such that a contact area 250, in which the first insulation element 210 contacts the second insulation element 220, is increased (paragraph [0086]).
The insulation elements 210, 220 may, for example, be formed from layers 212, 214 joined at seams 230 forming cavities 215, 225 therebetween (paragraph [0089]). The increased contact areas 250, created by the pressure on the inside of the heat insulation structure 200 when wearing the garment, may be proximate to the seams 230 such that the second insulation elements 220 substantially overlap or cover the seams 230, as shown in Fig. 2b, when the garment is worn (paragraph [0092]). This reduces the heat loss from the seams (at least partially seal any seams or intermediate spaces) (paragraph [0099]). As can be seen in Figs. 2a-b, this is due to the flattening of the second insulation elements 220. In further embodiments, the heat insulation structure 200 may comprise at least one cover layer which may be arranged on the inside or the outside of the heat insulation structure 200 (paragraph [0119]).
Maud is silent as to the cover layer being a third insulation element with a third insulation layer.
Man teaches a quilting method of stitching applied for making a variety of garments or covers, which can be used for preserving body heat in the environment of low temperature, indoors or outdoors (paragraph [0026]). The quilting method may include forming four layers parallel to each other: shell layer 102, outer interlining 103, inner interlining 104, and lining 105 (paragraph [0027]). The shell layer 102 maybe positioned to be the outer layer, and it may be adjacent to the outer interlining 103 (paragraph [0027]). The outer interlining 103 may be quilt-stitched to the shell layer 102 and the space between these two layers may be occupied with insulation material 106 (paragraph [0027]). The inner interlining 104 and the lining 105 have a similar construction with an insulation material 106 (paragraph [0028]). The outer layer set 110, which includes the shell layer 102 and the outer interlining 103, and the inner layer set 111, which includes the inner interlining 104 and the lining 105, may be offset relative to each other to block potential paths of cold air penetrating through stitches (Fig. 1a-c; paragraphs [0029]-[0033]).
Since both Maud and Man teach layered insulation structures for garments, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the cover of Maud to include the layered insulation structure of Man, which includes an insulation layer, and to have modified the stitches of the modified cover to be offset from the connections described in the heat insulation structure of Maud (the third insulation element at least partially covers any seam between the first insulation element and the second insulation element) in order to block potential paths of penetrating cold air and thus increase overall insulation capacity of the insulating structure.
Maud further teaches the first insulation elements 210 and the second insulation elements 220 may be arranged substantially horizontal when the garment is worn (the first insulation element and the second insulation element are arranged one below the other when the garment is worn) (paragraph [0117]). As discussed in the rejection of claim 1 above, the modified cover of Maud in view of Man (third insulation element) would overlay or underlay the heat insulation structure 200 of Man (the third insulation element is arranged next to the first and the second insulation element when the garment is worn) to block potential paths of cold air.
Maud further teaches that the insulation elements 210 (first insulation element), 220 (second insulation element) may be formed from layers 212 (first/second outer fabric layer), 214 (first/second inner fabric layer) joined at seams 230 forming cavities 215, 225 therebetween (paragraph [0089]). The layers 212, 214 (first/second inner/outer layers) may be constructed from a single material or from multiple fabric materials (paragraph [0090]). Maud further teaches the first insulation elements 210 and/or the second insulation elements 220 may comprise an insulating material arranged in the chambers 215 and 225 (paragraph [0110]).
As discussed above, the modified cover of Maud in view of Man comprises either a shell layer 102 positioned to be the outer layer adjacent to the outer interlining 103 and filled with an insulation material 106 (Man; paragraph [0027]) or an inner interlining 104 and lining 105 filled with an insulation material 106 (Man; paragraph [0028]). Man does not explicitly teach the shell layer, outer layer, interlining, and lining are fabric layers, however it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used the fabric materials disclosed in paragraph [0090] of Maud as suitable for the layers surrounding the insulation in order to provide a uniform garment with visual and tactile appeal (see e.g., Man at paragraph [0036]).
With respect to claim 3, Maud in view of Man teaches all the limitations of claim 2 above. Maud further teaches the first and second insulation elements 210, 220 are connected to each other by a respective seam 230 (paragraph [0092]). As discussed in the rejection of claim 1 above, the modified cover of Maud in view of Man (third insulation element) would overlay or underlay the heat insulation structure 200 of Man such that the seams of each insulation element layer is offset relative to each other to block potential paths of cold air.
With respect to claim 5, Maud in view of Man teaches all the limitations of claim 1 above. Maud further teaches the cover layer (third insulation element) may be arranged on the inside or the outside of the heat insulation structure 200 (paragraph [0119]). It may be an inner lining to increase wearer comfort and heat insulation, or it may be an outer layer to repel water, dirt, wind, etc. (paragraph [0119]). Man similarly teaches the inner lining used primarily for containing the insulation material and not for its visual or tactile appeal, and the inclusion of additional layers enhances the aesthetic options of the garment (paragraph [0036]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to try the different arrangements of the modified cover layer (third insulation element) of Maud in view of Man with respect to the heat insulation structure 200 described by Man above in order to determine which provides the desired comfort, heat insulation, and environmental protection. See MPEP 2143.
With respect to claim 6, Maud in view of Man teaches all the limitations of claim 1 above. Man further teaches an air space potion 109 may separate outer layer set 110, including the shell layer 102 and the outer interlining 103, from the inner layer set 111, including the inner interlining 104 and the lining 105 (paragraph [0029]). Considering that air is inherently a poor heat conductor, the air space portion 109 between the two layer sets may trap air for additional insulation (paragraph [0029]).
As discussed in the rejection of claim 1 above, the heat insulation structure 200 of Maud is overlayed or underlayed by a modified cover (third insulation element) based on the teachings of Man as described above. It would have further been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include an air space portion between the heat insulation structure 200, which includes the first and second insulation elements, and the modified cover (third insulation element) in order to provide additional insulation.
With respect to claims 7-8, Maud in view of Man teaches all the limitations of claim 1 above. Maud further teaches the insulation materials may include down or synthetic materials include microfibers and macrofibers (paragraphs [0055], [0110]). Man further teaches the thermal insulation material [of the modified cover material (third insulation layer)] may be down, poly-fill (non-woven material), and fiber ball (non-woven material) (paragraph [0016]).
With respect to claim 9, Maud in view of Man teaches all the limitations of claim 1 above. Maud further teaches the outer layer cover may repel water and be treated with a durable water repellent (paragraph [0119]).
With respect to claim 10, Maud in view of Man teaches all the limitations of claim 1 above. As discussed above, the modified cover of Maud in view of Man is quilted (arranged in chambers) (see e.g, Figs. 1A-C). The shell layer 102 and the inner interlining 104 (third outer fabric layer) are quilt-stitched to the outer interlining 103 and lining 105 (third inner fabric layer) for form spaces occupied by insulation materials (paragraphs [0027]-[0028]).
With respect to claim 11, Maud in view of Man teaches all the limitations of claim 10 above. Man further teaches the stitches of different layer sets may be offset in both the vertical and horizontal direction to eliminate all of the potential cold spots of a garment (paragraph [0032]). It is noted that the orientation of the stitches would necessarily correspond to the orientation of the chambers formed by the stitches.
It is noted that Maud teaches the first insulation element 210 and the second insulation element 220 are arranged substantially horizontal when the garment is worn (paragraph [0117]). It therefore would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the modified cover layer of Maud in view of Man to be oriented vertically when the garment is worn in order to eliminate all of the potential cold spots in the garment.
With respect to claim 12, Maud in view of Man teaches all the limitations of claim 1 above. Man further teaches the quilting and stitching of outer layer sets and inner layer sets (paragraph [0039]).
With respect to claim 13, Maud in view of Man teaches all the limitations of claim 1 above. Maud further teaches the garment includes an outdoor jacket, vest, and insulated pants (paragraph [0078]).
With respect to claim 14, Maud in view of Man teaches all the limitations of claim 6 above. Man further teaches an air space potion 109 may separate outer layer set 110, including the shell layer 102 and the outer interlining 103, from the inner layer set 111, including the inner interlining 104 and the lining 105 (paragraph [0029]). Considering that air is inherently a poor heat conductor, the air space portion 109 between the two layer sets may trap air for additional insulation (paragraph [0029]). Man further teaches the quilting and stitching (connecting elements) of outer layer sets and inner layer sets (paragraph [0039]).
As discussed in the rejection of claim 1 above, the heat insulation structure 200 of Maud is overlayed or underlayer by a modified cover (third insulation element) based on the teachings of Man as described above. It would have further been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to include an air space portion between the heat insulation structure 200, which includes the first and second insulation elements, and the modified cover (third insulation element) in order to provide additional insulation.
With respect to claim 15, Maud in view of Man teaches all the limitations of claim 14 above. Maud further teaches the garment includes an outdoor jacket, vest, and insulated pants (paragraph [0078]). As can be seen in Fig. 3 of Man the seams 314 and 315 are on the shoulder part and hip part (paragraph [0039]).
Response to Arguments
Response – Claim Rejections 35 USC §103
Applicant’s arguments filed on December 22, 2025 have been fully considered and are not persuasive.
On page 8 of the response Applicant submits that Maud does not teach the cover layer being a third insulation element with a third insulation layer and Man does not cure this deficiency because it does not teach or suggest three distinct insulation elements, each with its own inner fabric layer and outer fabric layer.
The Examiner respectfully disagrees. In response to applicant's arguments against the references individually, one cannot show nonobviousness by attacking references individually where the rejections are based on combinations of references. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981); In re Merck & Co., 800 F.2d 1091, 231 USPQ 375 (Fed. Cir. 1986).
Neither Maud nor Man are alleged as individually teaching three insulation elements, rather it is the combination of Maud in view of Man which teaches the three insulation elements with insulation layers. As described in the rejection above, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified the cover of Maud to include the layered insulation structure of Man, which includes an insulation layer, and to have modified the stitches of the modified cover to be offset from the connections described in the heat insulation structure of Maud (the third insulation element at least partially covers any seam between the first insulation element and the second insulation element) in order to block potential paths of penetrating cold air and thus increase overall insulation capacity of the insulating structure.
The cover of Maud may be arranged on the inside or the outside of the heat insulation structure 200 (paragraph [0119]). Therefore Maud teaches the first and second insulation elements in the heat insulation structure (as described in the rejection above) and Maud in view of Man teaches a cover layer which includes an insulation layer, thus forming the third insulation element.
On page 9 of the response Applicant submits that neither Maud nor Man teach or suggest orienting the first, second, and third insulation elements where the third element is arranged next to the first and second insulation elements when the garment is worn because neither reference teaches a third insulation element as claimed.
These arguments are not persuasive. As discussed above, the combination of Maud in view of Man teach first, second, and third insulation elements each with a respective insulation layer. Additionally, Maud further teaches the first insulation elements 210 and the second insulation elements 220 may be arranged substantially horizontal when the garment is worn (the first insulation element and the second insulation element are arranged one below the other when the garment is worn) (paragraph [0117]). As discussed in the rejection of claim 1 above, the modified cover of Maud in view of Man (third insulation element) would overlay or underlay the heat insulation structure 200 of Man (the third insulation element is arranged next to the first and the second insulation element when the garment is worn) to block potential paths of cold air.
Conclusion
LARISSA ROWE EMRICH
Examiner
Art Unit 1789
/LARISSA ROWE EMRICH/Examiner, Art Unit 1789
1 Previously presented