Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed on 4/10/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claims 1-30 under 102 and 103 rejection have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Talarico et al. in view of Um et al..
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
3. Claims 1-5, 7-8 and 11-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Talarico et al. (US 2021/0298075 A1) in view of Um et al. (US. Pub. No. 2018/0175975 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Talarico discloses a method of operating a communications device (See Talarico; Fig. 2; Communication Device 200 that may be a UE), the method comprising:
transmitting physical sidelink shared channel signals (See Par. [34]-[37] of Talarico for a reference to the UE transmitting a reference burst containing a shared-channel transport block in unlicensed spectrum);
monitoring for HARQ responses to one or more of the transmitted physical sidelink shared channel signals (See Par. [60]-[61], [68] of Talarico for a reference to the UE transmitting a reference burst containing a shared-channel transport block in unlicensed spectrum and monitoring for HARQ-ACK/NACK feedback corresponding to that burst before adjusting a listen-before-talk contention window);
determining if a HARQ response corresponding to one or more of the physical sidelink shared channel signals was received in a reference duration time period (See Par. [60]-[68] of Talarico for a reference to determining, from the NDI bit / HARQ-ACK feedback associated with that reference burst ["reference burst"/reference time window], whether a HARQ response was or was not received within the window); and
Talarico does not explicitly disclose determining a contention window size to use in a channel sensing operation based on whether it is determined that a HARQ response corresponding to one or more of the physical sidelink shared channel signals was received in said reference duration time period or it is determined that no HARQ response corresponding to one or more of the physical sidelink shared channel signals was received in said reference duration time period .
However, Um discloses determining a contention window size to use in a channel sensing operation based on whether it is determined that a HARQ response corresponding to one or more of the physical sidelink shared channel signals was received in said reference duration time period or it is determined that no HARQ response corresponding to one or more of the physical sidelink shared channel signals was received in said reference duration time period (See Par. [166]-[179] of Um for a reference to performing a channel access (LBT/sensing) procedure and adjusting the contention window size (CWS) based on whether HARQ-ACK information corresponding to a transmitted burst was received, including distinguishing a DTX (no-response) outcome from a received ACK/NACK outcome [changing CWS based on HARQ; if feedback is not identified, reuse prior CWS] ).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Um to Talarico. The motivation for combination would be to improve network’s performance, by minimizing the transmission latency of the HARQ response, since the HARQ response to the first subframe or the HARQ responses to the first subframe and a plurality of subframes contiguous to the first subframe among a plurality of subframes included in an unlicensed band burst are used. (Um; Par. [28])
Regarding claim 2, the combination of Talarico and Um, specifically Talarico discloses wherein determining a contention window size to use in a channel sensing operation includes:
setting the determined contention window size to the current contention window size in response to determining that no HARQ response corresponding to one or more of the physical sidelink shared channel signals was received in said reference duration time period (See Par. [77] of Talarico for a reference to that when the UE is unscheduled (i.e., receives no HARQ feedback / no grant referencing the reference burst) the CWS is increased/maintained rather than reset, i.e., the no-response case is handled distinctly, with the window carried forward from its current value).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Talarico and Um, specifically Talarico discloses wherein determining a contention window size to use in a channel sensing operation includes:
determining the contention window size based on a type of HARQ response received during said reference duration time period, said received HARQ response corresponding to one or more of the physical sidelink shared channel signals (See Par. [68], [74], [82] of Talarico for a reference to determining the CWS adjustment based on whether the received HARQ feedback indicates an ACK (NDI toggled / CBG ACK'd) or a NACK, i.e., adjustment keyed to the type of HARQ response received).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Talarico and Um, specifically Talarico discloses wherein determining the contention window size based on a type of HARQ response received during said reference duration time period includes: determining if at least one HARQ ACK was received during the reference duration time period (See Par. [68], [74] of Talarico for a reference to checking whether the NDI bit for at least one active HARQ process associated with the reference burst is toggled (i.e., at least one ACK received) as the triggering determination for the CWS adjustment branch).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Talarico and Um, specifically Talarico discloses the method of claim 4, further comprising: setting the determined contention window size to a minimum contention window size in response to determining that at least one HARQ ACK was received during the reference duration time period (See Par. [68], [74], [82] of Talarico for a reference to resetting the contention window size for all priority classes to the minimum value when at least one active HARQ process associated with the reference burst is ACK'd (NDI toggled)).
Regarding claim 7, the combination of Talarico and Um, specifically Talarico discloses wherein determining the contention window size based on a type of HARQ response received during said reference duration time period includes: setting the determined contention window size to a larger value than the current contention window size when the current contention window size is less than a maximum contention window size and when at least one HARQ ack was not received during the reference duration time period (See Par. [77] of Talarico for a reference to increasing the CWS of all priority classes to the next higher value when a UL grant is received but the NDI bit(s) are not toggled, or no active HARQ process is scheduled for the reference burst — i.e., no ACK is received).
Regarding claim 8, the combination of Talarico and Um, specifically Talarico discloses wherein setting the determined contention window size to a larger value than the current contention window size includes doubling the current contention window size to create the determined contention window size when double the current contention window size is less than or equal to the maximum contention window size (See Par. [82] of Talarico for a reference to that to update the CWS, if the feedback does not indicate an ACK the CWS is doubled (otherwise reset)).
Regarding claim 11, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth
in claim 1, including a communications device (See Talarico; Fig. 2; Communication Device 200 that may be a UE) comprising: a wireless transmitter (See Talarico; Fig. 2; Network Interface Device 220); a wireless receiver (See Talarico; Fig. 2; Network Interface Device 220); and a processor (See Talarico; Fig. 2; Processor 202).
Regarding claim 12, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth
in claim 2.
Regarding claim 13, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth
in claim 3.
Regarding claim 14, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth
in claim 4.
Regarding claim 15, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth
in claim 5.
4. Claims 6, 9 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Talarico et al. in view of Um et al. and further in view of Xue et al. (US 2022/0070935 A1).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Talarico and Um does not explicitly disclose wherein determining the contention window size based on a type of HARQ response received during said reference duration time period includes: setting the determined contention window size to be the maximum allowable contention window size when current contention window size is the maximum allowable contention window size and at least one HARQ ACK was not received in the reference duration time period.
However, Xue discloses wherein determining the contention window size based on a type of HARQ response received during said reference duration time period includes: setting the determined contention window size to be the maximum allowable contention window size when current contention window size is the maximum allowable contention window size and at least one HARQ ACK was not received in the reference duration time period (See Par. [78], [86]-[87] of Xue for a reference to Failure includes no PSSCH ACK; update is min(maximum, 2×preceding), and the maximum may be held for iterations. A CWS adjustment that increases the CWS when the NDI bit is not toggled or the relevant HARQ process is not scheduled (no ACK), including handling of the case where the CWS is already at its maximum permitted value).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Xue to the combination of Talarico and Um. The motivation for combination would be to improve network’s performance, by increasing channel access reliability in sidelink over unlicensed bands, increasing efficiency of sidelink communications over unlicensed bands, and reducing collisions of sidelink communications over unlicensed bands. (Xue; Par. [73])
Regarding claim 9, the combination of Talarico and Um does not explicitly disclose wherein setting the determined contention window size to a larger value than the current contention window size includes setting the determined contention window size to the maximum contention window size when double the current contention window size exceeds the maximum permitted contention window size.
However, Xue discloses wherein setting the determined contention window size to a larger value than the current contention window size includes setting the determined contention window size to the maximum contention window size when double the current contention window size exceeds the maximum permitted contention window size (See Par. [86]-[87] of Xue for a reference to The same min(maximum, 2×preceding) formula expressly caps the result at maximum. The CWS is bounded by a CWmax value for the user priority, i.e., when doubling would exceed CWmax the window is capped at CWmax rather than allowed to exceed it).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Xue to the combination of Talarico and Um. The motivation for combination would be to improve network’s performance, by increasing channel access reliability in sidelink over unlicensed bands, increasing efficiency of sidelink communications over unlicensed bands, and reducing collisions of sidelink communications over unlicensed bands. (Xue; Par. [73])
Regarding claim 10, the combination of Talarico and Um does not explicitly disclose wherein said physical sidelink shared channel signals are transmitted into unlicensed spectrum.
However, Xue discloses wherein said physical sidelink shared channel signals are transmitted into unlicensed spectrum (See Par. [72]-[76], [78] of Xue for a reference to NR sidelink operates over unlicensed band; the access failure is tied expressly to ACK-based PSSCH).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Xue to the combination of Talarico and Um. The motivation for combination would be to improve network’s performance, by increasing channel access reliability in sidelink over unlicensed bands, increasing efficiency of sidelink communications over unlicensed bands, and reducing collisions of sidelink communications over unlicensed bands. (Xue; Par. [73])
5. Claims 16-17, 24-26 and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xue et al. in view of Um et al. and further in view of Talarico et al..
Regarding claim 16, Xue discloses a method of operating a communications device (See Xue; Fig. 2; UE 120), the method comprising:
measuring sidelink-reference signal received power (SL-RSRP) during a sensing duration (See Par. [53], [77] of Xue for a reference to UE measures PSSCH-RSRP on sidelink channels; candidate resources are determined by a physical-layer sensing operation).
Xue does not explicitly disclose examining measured SL-RSRP to determine if the measured SL-RSRP during the sensing duration was above a predetermined threshold for more than a predetermined portion of the sensing duration; and performing a contention window size update operation including: i) setting a current contention window size being used to a minimum contention window size in response to determining that the measured SL- RSRP was not above a predetermined threshold for more than a predetermined portion of the sensing duration; and ii) increasing or maintaining the current contention window size in response to determining that the measured SL-RSRP was above the predetermined threshold for more than a predetermined portion of the sensing duration.
However, Um examining measured SL-RSRP to determine if the measured SL-RSRP during the sensing duration was above a predetermined threshold for more than a predetermined portion of the sensing duration (See Par. [137]-[142] of Um for a reference to that Occupancy is time that received signal exceeds a threshold divided by a predetermined measurement time).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Um to Talarico. The motivation for combination would be to improve network’s performance, by minimizing the transmission latency of the HARQ response, since the HARQ response to the first subframe or the HARQ responses to the first subframe and a plurality of subframes contiguous to the first subframe among a plurality of subframes included in an unlicensed band burst are used. (Um; Par. [28])
The combination of Xue and Um does not explicitly disclose performing a contention window size update operation including:
setting a current contention window size being used to a minimum contention window size in response to determining that the measured SL- RSRP was not above a predetermined threshold for more than a predetermined portion of the sensing; and
ii) increasing or maintaining the current contention window size in response to determining that the measured SL-RSRP was above the predetermined threshold for more than a predetermined portion of the sensing duration.
However, Talarico discloses performing a contention window size update operation including:
setting a current contention window size being used to a minimum contention window size in response to determining that the measured SL- RSRP was not above a predetermined threshold for more than a predetermined portion of the sensing duration (See Par. [34]-[41] of Talarico for a reference to resetting the CWS to the minimum value when a measured condition (percentage of NACK feedback) is below a set threshold [threshold-triggered reset-to-minimum logic recited for the SL-RSRP-based. However, the sensed quantity is different (RSRP vs. HARQ feedback ratio)); and
ii) increasing or maintaining the current contention window size in response to determining that the measured SL-RSRP was above the predetermined threshold for more than a predetermined portion of the sensing duration (See Par. [41], [71] of Talarico for a reference to increasing the CWS to the next higher value when the measured/reported condition is at or above a percentage threshold (e.g., ≥80% NACK), the complementary branch of the same threshold-based increase/reset scheme).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Talarico to the combination of Xue and Um. The motivation for combination would be to improve network’s performance, by improving spectral efficiency, even though the HARQ feedback overhead may be increased. (Talarico; Par. [32])
Regarding claim 17, the combination of Xue, Um and Talarico, specifically Xue discloses wherein the method includes said step of increasing or maintaining the current contention window size, said step of increasing or maintaining the current contention window size including:
setting the current contention window size to a maximum allowable contention window size when double current the contention window size is not less than or equal to the maximum allowable contention window size (See Par. [86]-[87] of Xue for a reference to the binary exponential back-off (BEB) sets the value to min(maximum, 2×preceding). CWS is doubled up to CWmax, and is capped at CWmax once doubling would exceed it); and
setting the current contention window size to double the current contention window size when double the current contention window size is less than or equal to the maximum allowable contention window size (See Par. [86]-[87] of Xue for a reference to the binary exponential back-off (BEB) sets the value to min(maximum, 2×preceding). CWS is doubled up to CWmax, and is capped at CWmax once doubling would exceed it).
Regarding claim 24, the combination of Xue, Um and Talarico, specifically Xue discloses wherein measuring sidelink - reference signal received power (SL-RSRP) during a sensing duration corresponds to measuring SL-RSRP across a band of unlicensed spectrum (See Par. [53], [72]-[77] of Xue for a reference to PSSCH-RSRP measurements support sensing/resource selection for NR sidelink operating in the unlicensed band).
Regarding claim 25, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth
in claim 16, including a communications device (See Xue; Fig. 2; UE 120) comprising: a wireless receiver (See Xue; Fig. 2; Receiver 234a); a wireless transmitter (See Xue; Fig. 2; Transmitter 234b); and a processor (See Xue; Fig. 2; Controller/Processor 290).
Regarding claim 26, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth
in claim 17.
Regarding claim 30, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth
in claim 21.
6. Claims 18-20 and 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xue et al. in view of Um et al. in view of Talarico et al. and further in view of Chisci et al. (US. Pub. No. 2022/0272750 A1).
Regarding claim 18, the combination of Xue, Um and Talarico does not explicitly disclose the method of claim 16, further comprising: prior to measuring SL-RSRP during a sensing duration, transmitting sidelink signals after completing the sensing countdown.
However, Chisci discloses prior to measuring SL-RSRP during a sensing duration, transmitting sidelink signals after completing the sensing countdown (See Par. [43], [73], [80]-[81], [161] of Chisci for a reference to after completing the first countdown of the first clear channel assessment (CCA) [Channel Sensing], the communication device transmits a sidelink signal, and then measures the energy [RSRP] of the received HARQ feedback).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Chisci to Xue, Um and Talarico. The motivation for combination would be to improve network’s performance, by improving medium utilization fairness for devices operating in a synchronous channel access mode. (Chisci; Par. [42])
Regarding claim 19, the combination of Xue, Um and Talarico does not explicitly disclose the method of claim 18, further comprising: randomly or pseudo randomly selecting a sensing countdown start number from a range of numbers from 0 up to the countdown window; and starting a sensing countdown which uses the countdown start number as a starting value.
However, Chisci discloses randomly or pseudo randomly selecting a sensing countdown start number from a range of numbers from 0 up to the countdown window (See Par. [78]-[79] of Chisci for a reference to the wireless communication device may draw a random number (K) based on the contention window. The random number K may be represented by a uniform distribution function between a value of 0 and the value of the contention window size); and
starting a sensing countdown which uses the countdown start number as a starting value (See Par. [78]-[79], [100] and Fig. 3 of Chisci for a reference to the wireless communication device draw a random number (K) [e. g. 5 in Fig. 3] and thus may countdown for 5 countdown slots 305).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Chisci to the combination of Xue, Um and Talarico. The motivation for combination would be to improve network’s performance, by improving medium utilization fairness for devices operating in a synchronous channel access mode. (Chisci; Par. [42])
Regarding claim 20, the combination of Xue, Um and Talarico does not explicitly disclose the method of claim 19, further comprising: determining that the sensing countdown has completed; and transmitting sidelink signals after completing the sensing countdown.
However, Chisci discloses determining that the sensing countdown has completed; and transmitting sidelink signals after completing the sensing countdown (See Par. [43], [73], [80]-[81], [161] of Chisci for a reference to after completing the first countdown of the first clear channel assessment (CCA) [Channel Sensing], the communication device transmits a sidelink signal, and then measures the energy [RSRP] of the received HARQ feedback).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Chisci to the combination of Xue, Um and Talarico. The motivation for combination would be to improve network’s performance, by improving medium utilization fairness for devices operating in a synchronous channel access mode. (Chisci; Par. [42])
Regarding claim 27, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth
in claim 18.
7. Claims 21-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xue et al. in view of Um et al. in view of Talarico et al. and further in view of Panteleev et al. (US. Pub. No. 2022/0109546 A1).
Regarding claim 21, the combination of Xue, Um and Talarico does not explicitly disclose the method of claim 16, further comprising:
determining a mode of communications device operation, said mode being one of i) a unicast mode of operation, ii) a groupcast mode of operation or iii) a broadcast mode of operation; and
when the mode of operation is to be determined to be a unicast mode or groupcast mode of operation, implementing a first contention window update process; and
when the mode of operation is to be determined to be a broadcast mode of operation, implementing a second contention window update process.
However, Panteleev discloses determining a mode of communications device operation, said mode being one of i) a unicast mode of operation, ii) a groupcast mode of operation or iii) a broadcast mode of operation (See Par. [4]-[6] of Panteleev for a reference to that HARQ feedback (and associated channel-access handling) is used for unicast/groupcast sidelink communications); and
when the mode of operation is to be determined to be a unicast mode or groupcast mode of operation, implementing a first contention window update process; and
when the mode of operation is to be determined to be a broadcast mode of operation, implementing a second contention window update process (See Par. [4]-[6], [30] of Panteleev for a reference to that HARQ feedback (and associated channel-access handling) is used for unicast/groupcast sidelink communications, while broadcast communication does not require any feedback to be sent, requiring the UE to distinguish transmission type and apply different procedures depending on whether the mode is unicast/groupcast (with HARQ feedback) or broadcast (without it)).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Panteleev to the combination of Xue, Um and Talarico . The motivation for combination would be to improve network’s performance, by achieving an efficient service delivery through the reduced end-to-end latency and load on the transport network. (Panteleev; Par. [149])
Regarding claim 22, the combination of Xue, Um and Talarico does not explicitly disclose performing a contention window size update operation are performed as part of operating in the broadcast mode of operation and are part of the first contention window update process, wherein said steps of : measuring SL-RSRP during a sensing duration; examining measured SL-RSRP to determine if the measured SL- RSRP during the sensing duration was above a predetermined threshold for more than a predetermined portion of the sensing duration.
However, Panteleev discloses performing a contention window size update operation are performed as part of operating in the broadcast mode of operation and are part of the first contention window update process, wherein said steps of : measuring SL-RSRP during a sensing duration; examining measured SL-RSRP to determine if the measured SL- RSRP during the sensing duration was above a predetermined threshold for more than a predetermined portion of the sensing duration (See Par. [27]-[29], [62], [91] of Panteleev for a reference to RSRP-threshold-based sensing used for sidelink resource/channel evaluation independent of any HARQ feedback loop — consistent with application of the RSRP-based CWS process to broadcast-type sidelink transmissions); and
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Panteleev to the combination of Xue, Um and Talarico. The motivation for combination would be to improve network’s performance, by achieving an efficient service delivery through the reduced end-to-end latency and load on the transport network. (Panteleev; Par. [149])
Regarding claim 23, Xue discloses wherein the second contention window update process includes: determining if a HARQ response corresponding to one or more of the physical sidelink shared channel signals was received in a reference duration time period (See Par. [78] of Xue for a reference to that No PSSCH ACK is a failure; missing HARQ can retain the prior window; PSFCH supplies sidelink HARQ); and
Xue does not explicitly disclose determining a contention window size to use in a channel sensing operation based on whether it is determined that a HARQ response corresponding to one or more of the physical sidelink shared channel signals was received in said reference duration time period or it is determined that no HARQ response corresponding to one or more of the physical sidelink shared channel signals was received in said reference duration time period
However, Um discloses determining a contention window size to use in a channel sensing operation based on whether it is determined that a HARQ response corresponding to one or more of the physical sidelink shared channel signals was received in said reference duration time period or it is determined that no HARQ response corresponding to one or more of the physical sidelink shared channel signals was received in said reference duration time period (See Par. [166]-[179] of Um for a reference to performing a channel access (LBT/sensing) procedure and adjusting the contention window size (CWS) based on whether HARQ-ACK information corresponding to a transmitted burst was received, including distinguishing a DTX (no-response) outcome from a received ACK/NACK outcome [changing CWS based on HARQ; if feedback is not identified, reuse prior CWS] ).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Um to Talarico. The motivation for combination would be to improve network’s performance, by minimizing the transmission latency of the HARQ response, since the HARQ response to the first subframe or the HARQ responses to the first subframe and a plurality of subframes contiguous to the first subframe among a plurality of subframes included in an unlicensed band burst are used. (Um; Par. [28])
8. Claims 28-29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Talarico et al. in view of Um et al. and further in view of Chisci et al..
Regarding claim 28, the combination of Xue and Um does not explicitly disclose wherein said processor is further configured to: randomly or pseudo randomly select a sensing countdown start number from a range of numbers from 0 up to the countdown window; and start a sensing countdown which uses the countdown start number as a starting value.
However, Chisci discloses randomly or pseudo randomly select a sensing countdown start number from a range of numbers from 0 up to the countdown window (See Par. [78]-[79] of Chisci for a reference to the wireless communication device may draw a random number (K) based on the contention window. The random number K may be represented by a uniform distribution function between a value of 0 and the value of the contention window size); and
start a sensing countdown which uses the countdown start number as a starting value (See Par. [78]-[79], [100] and Fig. 3 of Chisci for a reference to the wireless communication device draw a random number (K) [e. g. 5 in Fig. 3] and thus may countdown for 5 countdown slots 305).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Chisci to the combination of Xue and Um. The motivation for combination would be to improve network’s performance, by improving medium utilization fairness for devices operating in a synchronous channel access mode. (Chisci; Par. [42])
Regarding claim 29, the combination of Xue and Um does not explicitly disclose determine that the sensing countdown n has completed; and operate the wireless transmitter to transmit sidelink signals after completing the sensing countdown.
However, Chisci discloses determine that the sensing countdown n has completed; and operate the wireless transmitter to transmit sidelink signals after completing the sensing countdown (See Par. [43], [73], [80]-[81], [161] of Chisci for a reference to after completing the first countdown of the first clear channel assessment (CCA) [Channel Sensing], the communication device transmits a sidelink signal, and then measures the energy [RSRP] of the received HARQ feedback).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Chisci to the combination of Xue and Um. The motivation for combination would be to improve network’s performance, by improving medium utilization fairness for devices operating in a synchronous channel access mode. (Chisci; Par. [42])
Conclusion
9. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Niu et al. (US 2026/0052546 Al) teaches systems, methods, and circuitries for a UE performing sidelink (SL) communication in unlicensed spectrum to update contention window size (CWS).
Abreu et al. (U.S. 2025/0365742 Al) teaches communication systems that enable vehicle to everything (V2X) and device to device (D2D) communications.
Freda et al. (US 2024/0276549 A1) discloses methods and apparatuses for scheduling sidelink communications in unlicensed spectrum.
/R.K.F/Examiner, Art Unit 2413
/UN C CHO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2413