Information Disclosure Statement
2. The information disclosure statements (IDSs) submitted on 3/14/2023 and 3/20/2025 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
4. Claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Noh et al. (US. Pub. No. 2025/0267704 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Noh discloses a method of operating a communications device (See Noh; Fig. 14; UE 100), the method comprising:
transmitting physical sidelink shared channel signals (See Par. [188], [198] and Fig. 26; 1604 of Noh for a reference to the transmitting UE transmits at least one physical sidelink shared channel (PSSCH) signal to the receiving UE);
monitoring for HARQ responses to one or more of the transmitted physical sidelink shared channel signals (See Par. [91], [281], [282], [292] and Fig. 28; 1804 of Noh for a reference to the transmitting UE [transmitting the one or more PSSCH] detects/monitors the physical sidelink feedback channel (PSFCH) and may receive HARQ-ACK feedback information);
determining if a HARQ response corresponding to one or more of the physical sidelink shared channel signals was received in a reference duration time period (See Par. [288], [295], [302] and Figs. 29 & 30; 1604 of Noh for a reference to the transmitting UE determines if HARQ-ACK feedback corresponding to at least one transmitted PSSCH in a reference duration is detected [Received]); and
determining a contention window size to use in a channel sensing operation based on whether it is determined that a HARQ response corresponding to one or more of the physical sidelink shared channel signals was received in said reference duration time period or it is determined that no HARQ response corresponding to one or more of the physical sidelink shared channel signals was received in said reference duration time period (See Par. [21], [123], [135], [305]-[306] and Fig. 31 of Noh for a reference to adjusting the contention window size (CWS) used for channel sensing based on determining HARQ-ACK feedback for at least one PSSCH in a reference duration is received or not. In the case the HARQ-ACK is received in the reference duration, the CWS is adjusted and set to a minimum value, While in the case the HARQ-ACK is not received in the reference duration, the CWS is increased to a higher value).
Regarding claim 2, Noh discloses wherein determining a contention window size to use in a channel sensing operation includes:
setting the determined contention window size to the current contention window size in response to determining that no HARQ response corresponding to one or more of the physical sidelink shared channel signals was received in said reference duration time period (See Par. [288] of Noh for a reference to that when no HARQ-ACK feedback is received, in the reference duration, from UEs receiving the PSSCH signal, the transmitting UE resets the current CWS to a minimum/initial value).
Regarding claim 3, Noh discloses wherein determining a contention window size to use in a channel sensing operation includes:
determining the contention window size based on a type of HARQ response received during said reference duration time period, said received HARQ response corresponding to one or more of the physical sidelink shared channel signals (See Par. [21], [286], [305]-[306] of Noh for a reference to that when the HARQ-ACK feedback for the at least one PSSCH transmission in the reference duration includes at least a negative acknowledgement (NACK), the CWS may be increased to a higher value than a current CWS among allowed CWS values, and when the HARQ-ACK feedback for the at least one PSSCH transmission in the reference duration is regarded as all ACKs, the CWS may be adjusted to a minimum value).
Regarding claim 4, Noh discloses wherein determining the contention window size based on a type of HARQ response received during said reference duration time period includes: determining if at least one HARQ ACK was received during the reference duration time period (See Par. [288], [295], [302] and Figs. 29 & 30; 1604 of Noh for a reference to the transmitting UE determines if HARQ-ACK feedback corresponding to at least one transmitted PSSCH in a reference duration is detected [Received]).
Regarding claim 5, Noh discloses the method of claim 4, further comprising: setting the determined contention window size to a minimum contention window size in response to determining that at least one HARQ ACK was received during the reference duration time period (See Par. [21], [123], [305] of Noh for a reference to that when a HARQ-ACK feedback for at least one PSSCH transmission, in the reference duration, including at least an ACK, is received, the CWS is adjusted to a minimum value).
Regarding claim 6, Noh discloses wherein determining the contention window size based on a type of HARQ response received during said reference duration time period includes: setting the determined contention window size to be the maximum allowable contention window size when current contention window size is the maximum allowable contention window size and at least one HARQ ACK was not received in the reference duration time period (See Par. [162], [305], [314] of Noh for a reference to when a HARQ-ACK feedback for at least one PSSCH transmission, in the reference duration, is not received, the CWS is increased to a higher value until it reaches the CWMax [Maximum contention window size]. If the current CWS equals the CWMax, the CWS will remain the same).
Regarding claim 7, Noh discloses wherein determining the contention window size based on a type of HARQ response received during said reference duration time period includes: setting the determined contention window size to a larger value than the current contention window size when the current contention window size is less than a maximum contention window size and when at least one HARQ ack was not received during the reference duration time period (See Par. [21], [286], [290], [306] of Noh for a reference to when a HARQ-ACK feedback for at least one PSSCH transmission including only NACK [No Ack] is received in a reference duration, the CWS maybe increased to a higher value than the current CWS value among the allowed CWS values [Within the maximum allowed values]).
Regarding claim 8, Noh discloses wherein setting the determined contention window size to a larger value than the current contention window size includes doubling the current contention window size to create the determined contention window size when double the current contention window size is less than or equal to the maximum contention window size (See Par. [123], [162], [306] of Noh for a reference to that when a HARQ-ACK is successfully transmitted [Received by the transmitting UE], the CWS is increased twice the current value [CWS is doubled] as long as the current CWS <= CWMax).
Regarding claim 9, Noh discloses wherein setting the determined contention window size to a larger value than the current contention window size includes setting the determined contention window size to the maximum contention window size when double the current contention window size exceeds the maximum permitted contention window size (See Par. [123], [162] of Noh for a reference to that if doubling the CWS exceeds the maximum allowed CWS (CWMax), the CWS is set is set to the largest value bounded the CWMin and CWMax, which is CWMax).
Regarding claim 10, Noh discloses wherein said physical sidelink shared channel signals are transmitted into unlicensed spectrum (See Par. [198], [378] of Noh for a reference to performing sidelink (SL) transmission on a PSSCH using an unlicensed spectrum).
Regarding claim 11, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth
in claim 1, including a communications device (See Noh; Fig. 14; UE 100) comprising: a wireless transmitter (See Noh; Fig. 14; Communication Module 120); a wireless receiver (See Noh; Fig. 14; Communication Module 120); and a processor (See Noh; Fig. 14; Processor 110).
Regarding claim 12, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth
in claim 2.
Regarding claim 13, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth
in claim 3.
Regarding claim 14, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth
in claim 4.
Regarding claim 15, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth
in claim 5.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
6. Claims 16-17, 21-26 and 30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Noh et al. in view of Ganesan et al. (US. Pub. No. 2024/0406982 A1).
Regarding claim 16, Noh discloses a method of operating a communications device (See Noh; Fig. 14; UE 100), the method comprising:
measuring sidelink-reference signal received power (SL-RSRP) during a sensing duration (See Par. [184], [223], [226]-[228] of Noh for a reference to the UE determines HAEQ feedback transmission power based on measuring a reference signal SL RSRP value and/or RSRQ value within a sensing window).
Noh does not explicitly disclose examining measured SL-RSRP to determine if the measured SL-RSRP during the sensing duration was above a predetermined threshold for more than a predetermined portion of the sensing duration; and performing a contention window size update operation including: i) setting a current contention window size being used to a minimum contention window size in response to determining that the measured SL- RSRP was not above a predetermined threshold for more than a predetermined portion of the sensing duration; and ii) increasing or maintaining the current contention window size in response to determining that the measured SL-RSRP was above the predetermined threshold for more than a predetermined portion of the sensing duration.
However, Ganesan examining measured SL-RSRP to determine if the measured SL-RSRP during the sensing duration was above a predetermined threshold for more than a predetermined portion of the sensing duration (See Par. [163]-[165] of Ganesan for a reference to determining whether the measured RSRP is above a predefined threshold for more than of X% of the PSFCH reception occasions); and
performing a contention window size update operation including:
setting a current contention window size being used to a minimum contention window size in response to determining that the measured SL- RSRP was not above a predetermined threshold for more than a predetermined portion of the sensing duration (See Par. [163]-[165] of Ganesan for a reference to that when the measured RSRP of the received PSFCH [carrying the HARQ feedback] is below the predefined threshold, then the CWS is set to the minimum CWS (CWMin) for every priority class); and
ii) increasing or maintaining the current contention window size in response to determining that the measured SL-RSRP was above the predetermined threshold for more than a predetermined portion of the sensing duration (See Par. [163]-[165] of Ganesan for a reference to that when the measured RSRP of the received PSFCH [carrying the HARQ feedback] is above the predefined threshold, then increase the CWS to the next higher allowed value).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Ganesan to Noh. The motivation for combination would be to improve network’s performance, by providing an effective technique for adjusting the contention window size to support groupcast HARQ feedback. (Ganesan; Par. [35])
Regarding claim 17, the combination of Noh and Ganesan, specifically Noh discloses wherein the method includes said step of increasing or maintaining the current contention window size, said step of increasing or maintaining the current contention window size including:
setting the current contention window size to a maximum allowable contention window size when double current the contention window size is not less than or equal to the maximum allowable contention window size (See Par. [162], [305], [314] of Noh for a reference to when a HARQ-ACK feedback for at least one PSSCH transmission, in the reference duration, is not received, the CWS is increased to a higher value until it reaches the CWMax [Maximum contention window size]. If the current CWS equals the CWMax, the CWS will remain the same); and
setting the current contention window size to double the current contention window size when double the current contention window size is less than or equal to the maximum allowable contention window size (See Par. [123], [162], [306] of Noh for a reference to that when a HARQ-ACK is successfully transmitted [Received by the transmitting UE], the CWS is increased twice the current value [CWS is doubled] as long as the current CWS <= CWMax).
Regarding claim 21, the combination of Noh and Ganesan, specifically Noh discloses method of claim 16, further comprising:
determining a mode of communications device operation, said mode being one of i) a unicast mode of operation, ii) a groupcast mode of operation or iii) a broadcast mode of operation (See Par. [186] and Fig. 20 of Noh for a reference to NR sidelink supports three types [Modes] of cast; unicast, groupcast and broadcast); and
when the mode of operation is to be determined to be a unicast mode or groupcast mode of operation, implementing a first contention window update process (See Par. [273]-[275], [286] of Noh for a reference to that if the UE’s operation mode is unicast or groupcast, the UE performs Type 1 cannel access procedure (CAP) based on random backoff having a variable CW); and
when the mode of operation is to be determined to be a broadcast mode of operation, implementing a second contention window update process (See Par. [259]-[265] and Fig. 25 of Noh for a reference to that if the UE’s operation mode is broadcast, the UE performs Type 2 cannel access procedure (CAP) based on random backoff having a variable CW).
Regarding claim 22, Noh discloses performing a contention window size update operation are performed as part of operating in the broadcast mode of operation and are part of the first contention window update process (See Par. [259]-[265] and Fig. 25 of Noh for a reference to that if the UE’s operation mode is broadcast, the UE performs Type 2 cannel access procedure (CAP) based on random backoff having a variable CW).
Noh does not explicitly disclose wherein said steps of : measuring SL-RSRP during a sensing duration; examining measured SL-RSRP to determine if the measured SL- RSRP during the sensing duration was above a predetermined threshold for more than a predetermined portion of the sensing duration.
However, Ganesan discloses measuring SL-RSRP during a sensing duration; examining measured SL-RSRP to determine if the measured SL- RSRP during the sensing duration was above a predetermined threshold for more than a predetermined portion of the sensing duration (See Par. [163]-[165] of Ganesan for a reference to that when the measured RSRP of the received PSFCH [carrying the HARQ feedback] is above the predefined threshold, then increase the CWS to the next higher allowed value).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Ganesan to Noh. The motivation for combination would be to improve network’s performance, by providing an effective technique for adjusting the contention window size to support groupcast HARQ feedback. (Ganesan; Par. [35])
Regarding claim 23, the combination of Noh and Ganesan, specifically Noh discloses wherein the second contention window update process includes: determining if a HARQ response corresponding to one or more of the physical sidelink shared channel signals was received in a reference duration time period (See Par. [288], [295], [302] and Figs. 29 & 30; 1604 of Noh for a reference to the transmitting UE determines if HARQ-ACK feedback corresponding to at least one transmitted PSSCH in a reference duration is detected [Received]); and
determining a contention window size to use in a channel sensing operation based on whether it is determined that a HARQ response corresponding to one or more of the physical sidelink shared channel signals was received in said reference duration time period or it is determined that no HARQ response corresponding to one or more of the physical sidelink shared channel signals was received in said reference duration time period (See Par. [21], [123], [135], [305]-[306] and Fig. 31 of Noh for a reference to adjusting the contention window size (CWS) used for channel sensing based on determining HARQ-ACK feedback for at least one PSSCH in a reference duration is received or not. In the case the HARQ-ACK is received in the reference duration, the CWS is adjusted and set to a minimum value, While in the case the HARQ-ACK is not received in the reference duration, the CWS is increased to a higher value).
Regarding claim 24, the combination of Noh and Ganesan, specifically Noh discloses wherein measuring sidelink - reference signal received power (SL-RSRP) during a sensing duration corresponds to measuring SL-RSRP across a band of unlicensed spectrum (See Par. [184], [223], [226]-[228], [378] of Noh for a reference to the UE determines HAEQ feedback transmission power based on measuring a reference signal SL RSRP value and/or RSRQ value within a sensing window using an unlicensed spectrum).
Regarding claim 25, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth
in claim 16, including a communications device (See Noh; Fig. 14; UE 100) comprising: a wireless receiver (See Noh; Fig. 14; Communication Module 120); a wireless transmitter (See Noh; Fig. 14; Communication Module 120); and a processor (See Noh; Fig. 14; Processor 110).
Regarding claim 26, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth
in claim 17.
Regarding claim 30, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth
in claim 21.
7. Claims 18-20 and 27 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Noh et al. in view of Ganesan et al. and further in view of Chisci et al. (US. Pub. No. 2022/0272750 A1).
Regarding claim 18, the combination of Noh and Ganesan does not explicitly disclose the method of claim 16, further comprising: prior to measuring SL-RSRP during a sensing duration, transmitting sidelink signals after completing the sensing countdown.
However, Chisci discloses prior to measuring SL-RSRP during a sensing duration, transmitting sidelink signals after completing the sensing countdown (See Par. [43], [73], [80]-[81], [161] of Chisci for a reference to after completing the first countdown of the first clear channel assessment (CCA) [Channel Sensing], the communication device transmits a sidelink signal, and then measures the energy [RSRP] of the received HARQ feedback).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Chisci to the combination of Noh and Ganesan. The motivation for combination would be to improve network’s performance, by improving medium utilization fairness for devices operating in a synchronous channel access mode. (Chisci; Par. [42])
Regarding claim 19, the combination of Noh and Ganesan does not explicitly disclose the method of claim 18, further comprising: randomly or pseudo randomly selecting a sensing countdown start number from a range of numbers from 0 up to the countdown window; and starting a sensing countdown which uses the countdown start number as a starting value.
However, Chisci discloses randomly or pseudo randomly selecting a sensing countdown start number from a range of numbers from 0 up to the countdown window (See Par. [78]-[79] of Chisci for a reference to the wireless communication device may draw a random number (K) based on the contention window. The random number K may be represented by a uniform distribution function between a value of 0 and the value of the contention window size); and
starting a sensing countdown which uses the countdown start number as a starting value (See Par. [78]-[79], [100] and Fig. 3 of Chisci for a reference to the wireless communication device draw a random number (K) [e. g. 5 in Fig. 3] and thus may countdown for 5 countdown slots 305).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Chisci to the combination of Noh and Ganesan. The motivation for combination would be to improve network’s performance, by improving medium utilization fairness for devices operating in a synchronous channel access mode. (Chisci; Par. [42])
Regarding claim 20, the combination of Noh and Ganesan does not explicitly disclose the method of claim 19, further comprising: determining that the sensing countdown has completed; and transmitting sidelink signals after completing the sensing countdown.
However, Chisci discloses determining that the sensing countdown has completed; and transmitting sidelink signals after completing the sensing countdown (See Par. [43], [73], [80]-[81], [161] of Chisci for a reference to after completing the first countdown of the first clear channel assessment (CCA) [Channel Sensing], the communication device transmits a sidelink signal, and then measures the energy [RSRP] of the received HARQ feedback).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Chisci to the combination of Noh and Ganesan. The motivation for combination would be to improve network’s performance, by improving medium utilization fairness for devices operating in a synchronous channel access mode. (Chisci; Par. [42])
Regarding claim 27, the claim is interpreted and rejected for the same reason as set forth
in claim 18.
8. Claims 28-29 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Noh et al. in view of Chisci et al..
Regarding claim 28, Noh does not explicitly disclose wherein said processor is further configured to: randomly or pseudo randomly select a sensing countdown start number from a range of numbers from 0 up to the countdown window; and start a sensing countdown which uses the countdown start number as a starting value.
However, Chisci discloses randomly or pseudo randomly select a sensing countdown start number from a range of numbers from 0 up to the countdown window (See Par. [78]-[79] of Chisci for a reference to the wireless communication device may draw a random number (K) based on the contention window. The random number K may be represented by a uniform distribution function between a value of 0 and the value of the contention window size); and
start a sensing countdown which uses the countdown start number as a starting value (See Par. [78]-[79], [100] and Fig. 3 of Chisci for a reference to the wireless communication device draw a random number (K) [e. g. 5 in Fig. 3] and thus may countdown for 5 countdown slots 305).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Chisci to Noh. The motivation for combination would be to improve network’s performance, by improving medium utilization fairness for devices operating in a synchronous channel access mode. (Chisci; Par. [42])
Regarding claim 29, Noh does not explicitly disclose determine that the sensing countdown n has completed; and operate the wireless transmitter to transmit sidelink signals after completing the sensing countdown.
However, Chisci discloses determine that the sensing countdown n has completed; and operate the wireless transmitter to transmit sidelink signals after completing the sensing countdown (See Par. [43], [73], [80]-[81], [161] of Chisci for a reference to after completing the first countdown of the first clear channel assessment (CCA) [Channel Sensing], the communication device transmits a sidelink signal, and then measures the energy [RSRP] of the received HARQ feedback).
Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Chisci to the combination of Noh and Ganesan. The motivation for combination would be to improve network’s performance, by improving medium utilization fairness for devices operating in a synchronous channel access mode. (Chisci; Par. [42])
Conclusion
9. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Zhou et al. (US 2025/0261214 Al) teaches a method and an apparatus for determining resource based on Sidelink (SL) in the wireless communication system.
Huang et al. (U.S. 2023/0344563 Al) teaches a method and apparatus for transmitting sidelink feedback in a wireless communication system.
Talarico et al. (US 2021/0298075 A1) discloses systems and methods of adjusting contention window size (CWS) in a LBT procedure for both UL and DL unlicensed spectrum transmissions.
/R.K.F/Examiner, Art Unit 2413
/UN C CHO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2413