DETAILED ACTION
This action is a response to an amendment filed on 10/9/25 in which claims 1, 2, 4, 6-9, 11, 13-16 and 19-23 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4, 6-8, 11, 13-15 and 19-23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over by Li et al. (EP 3 855 860 A1), herein Li and Li2 et al. (EP 2 634 061 A1), herein Li2
As to claim 1, Li teaches a communication method applied for a first communication device, wherein the first communication device is a user equipment or a chip of the user equipment, comprising:
determining, by a first communication device, a fourth resource (Li [0118] sidelink resource selection based on a sidelink resource);
determining a resource as a third candidate resource determining, by the first communication device, a third candidate resource from the fourth resource, wherein the third candidate resource meets the following condition:
there is an intersection intersects with a discontinuous reception (DRX) active time corresponding to a communication target in time domain, wherein the third candidate resource is used to determine a fifth resource used for sidelink transmission of the communication device, the fifth resource is a resource within the DRX active time in the time domain (Li [0118] the first device should select based on a sidelink active time of the second device the set of candidate slots are derived based on the sidelink active time of a second device and [0120] Preferably, the set of candidate slots may be included within joint or intersection slots of the time interval of selection window and the (assumed or expected) (sidelink) active or wake-up time of the second device)
Li does not teach
excluding a resource from the fourth resource;
However Li2 does teach
excluding a resource from the fourth resource (Li2 [0126] The generation of the valid resource set may be performed via excluding some candidate resources (e.g., one or more candidate resources) from the candidate resource set, for instance the step 2-1 and step 2-2 shown in FIG. 12. The generation of the valid resource set may be performed via selecting some valid candidate resources, for instance the step 3-1 shown in FIG. 12. And then, the UE select one or more valid resources from the valid resource set to perform transmission from the UE. The valid resource selection for transmission may be randomly selected from the valid resource set, for instance the step 3-2 shown in FIG. 12)
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Li and Li2, because Li2 teaches us Based on sensing within a sensing duration, the UE may generate a valid resource set, wherein the valid resource set is a subset of the candidate resource set ([0126])
As to claim 8, Li teaches a communication apparatus, comprising at least one
processor and a memory, wherein the at least one processor is coupled to the memory, and the memory stores programming instructions for execution by the at least one processor to (Li Fig. 3) :
determine, by a first communication device, a fourth resource (Li [0118] sidelink resource selection based on a sidelink resource);
determine a resource as a third candidate resource determining, by the first communication device, a third candidate resource from the fourth resource, wherein the third candidate resource meets the following condition:
there is an intersection intersects with a discontinuous reception (DRX) active time corresponding to a communication target in time domain, wherein the third candidate resource is used to determine a fifth resource used for sidelink transmission of the communication device, the fifth resource is a resource within the DRX active time in the time domain (Li [0118] the first device should select based on a sidelink active time of the second device the set of candidate slots are derived based on the sidelink active time of a second device and [0120] Preferably, the set of candidate slots may be included within joint or intersection slots of the time interval of selection window and the (assumed or expected) (sidelink) active or wake-up time of the second device)
Li does not teach
excluding by the communication apparatus a resource from the fourth resource;
However Li2 does teach
excluding by the communication apparatus a resource from the fourth resource; (Li2 [0126] The generation of the valid resource set may be performed via excluding some candidate resources (e.g., one or more candidate resources) from the candidate resource set, for instance the step 2-1 and step 2-2 shown in FIG. 12. The generation of the valid resource set may be performed via selecting some valid candidate resources, for instance the step 3-1 shown in FIG. 12. And then, the UE select one or more valid resources from the valid resource set to perform transmission from the UE. The valid resource selection for transmission may be randomly selected from the valid resource set, for instance the step 3-2 shown in FIG. 12)
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Li and Li2, for the same reasons stated in claim1.
As to claim 15, Li teaches a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium, wherein the storage medium stores a computer program or instructions which, when the computer program or the instructions is/arc executed by a communication apparatus, cause the communication apparatus to perform operations comprising (Li Fig. 3):
determining, by a first communication device, a fourth resource (Li [0118] sidelink resource selection based on a sidelink resource);
determining a resource as a third candidate resource determining, by the first communication device, a third candidate resource from the fourth resource, wherein the third candidate resource meets the following condition:
there is an intersection intersects with a discontinuous reception (DRX) active time corresponding to a communication target in time domain, wherein the third candidate resource is used to determine a fifth resource used for sidelink transmission of the communication device, the fifth resource is a resource within the DRX active time in the time domain (Li [0118] the first device should select based on a sidelink active time of the second device the set of candidate slots are derived based on the sidelink active time of a second device and [0120] Preferably, the set of candidate slots may be included within joint or intersection slots of the time interval of selection window and the (assumed or expected) (sidelink) active or wake-up time of the second device)
Li does not teach
excluding a resource from the fourth resource;
However Li2 does teach
excluding a resource from the fourth resource (Li2 [0126] The generation of the valid resource set may be performed via excluding some candidate resources (e.g., one or more candidate resources) from the candidate resource set, for instance the step 2-1 and step 2-2 shown in FIG. 12. The generation of the valid resource set may be performed via selecting some valid candidate resources, for instance the step 3-1 shown in FIG. 12. And then, the UE select one or more valid resources from the valid resource set to perform transmission from the UE. The valid resource selection for transmission may be randomly selected from the valid resource set, for instance the step 3-2 shown in FIG. 12)
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Li and Li2, for the same reasons stated in claim 1.
As to claim 4, the combination of Li and Li2 teach the method according to claim 1, wherein the communication targe comprises a destination identifier (Li [0044] destination ID and [0220] the destination ID of the sidelink transmission may be set to the identity of the second device)
Claims 11 are rejected for the same reasons stated in claim 4.
As to claim 6, the combination of Li and Li2 teach the method according to claim 1, wherein the condition comprises: all or some of the third candidate resource are within a time range of the DRX active time in the time domain (Li 0120] Preferably, the set of candidate slots may be included within joint or intersection slots of the time interval of selection window and the (assumed or expected) (sidelink) active or wake-up time of the second device
As to claim 7, the combination of Li and Li2 teach the method according to claim 1, wherein the method further comprises: determining, a fifth resource from a fourth candidate resource, and the fourth candidate resource is a resource that is in the third candidate resource and within the DRX active time in the time domain. (Li [0120] Preferably, the set of candidate slots may be included within joint or intersection slots of the time interval of selection window and the (assumed or expected) (sidelink) active or wake-up time of the second device)
Claims 14 and 20 are rejected for the same reasons stated in claim 7.
As to claim 13, the combination of Li and Li2 teach the communication apparatus according to claim 8, wherein the fourth resource comprises a resource of a selection window (Li [0120] Preferably, the set of candidate slots may be included within joint or intersection slots of the time interval of selection window and the (assumed or expected) (sidelink) active or wake-up time of the second device)
Claims 19 is rejected for the same reasons stated in claim 13.
As to claim 21, the combination of Li and Li2 teach the method according to claim 1, wherein the first communication device is a transmit terminal device (TX UE), and the communication target is a receive terminal device (RX UE) (Li2 [0134] a transmitting device and a receiving device)
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Li and Li2, for the same reasons stated in claim 1.
Claims 22 and 23 are rejected for the same reasons stated in claim 21.
Claim(s) 2, 9 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li, Li2 and Zhao et al. (Pub. No.: 2022/0394522 A1), herein Zhao.
As to claim 2, Li and Li2 teach the method according to claim 1,
Li nor Li2 teach
wherein the method further comprises: indicating, by a media access control (MAC) layer of the first communication device to a physical layer of the first communication device, the DRX active time corresponding to the communication target.
However Zhao does teach
wherein the method further comprises: indicating, by a media access control (MAC) layer of the first communication device to a physical layer of the first communication device, the first active time corresponding to the first service (Zhao [0093] Further, the information obtained by the physical layer from MAC is an indication indicating whether each period is the active time)
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Li and Li2 with Zhao, because Zhao teaches us [0093] According to the present application, a starting point and an ending point of a period can be determined in the physical layer, and at least one measured CSI-RS and/or CSI-IM is at the active time and the period.
Claims 9 and 16 are rejected for the same reasons stated in claim 2.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 10/9/25 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. The applicant states the excluded resources does not suggest or it intersects with the a DRX active time, however Li [0118] the first device should select based on a sidelink active time of the second device the set of candidate slots are derived based on the sidelink active time of a second device. This in combination with Li2 provides motivation for selecting resources within the active time of the second device. Li2 is used an additional reference for excluding to determine a valid resource and Li teaches us the reference should be in the active time.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
AYANAH S. GEORGE
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2467
/AYANAH S GEORGE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2467