DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 4, 7, 8, 11, 13, 14 and 19-23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Li et al. (EP 3 855 860 A1), herein Li.
As to claim 1, Li teaches A communication method applied for a communication device, wherein the communication device is a user equipment or a chip of the user equipment, comprising:
determining a fourth resource (Li [0118] sidelink resource selection based on a sidelink resource);
and
determining a resource as a third candidate resource from the fourth resource,
wherein a portion of the third candidate resource is within a time range of a discontinuous reception (DRX) active time corresponding to a communication target in a time domain, wherein the third candidate resource is used to determine a fifth resource used for sidelink transmission of the communication device, the fifth resource is a resource within the DRX active time in the time domain
(Li [0118] the first device should select based on a sidelink active time of the second device the set of candidate slots are derived based on the sidelink active time of a second device and [0120] Preferably, the set of candidate slots may be included within joint or intersection slots of the time interval of selection window and the (assumed or expected) (sidelink) active or wake-up time of the second device)
As to claim 8, Li teaches a communication apparatus, comprising at least one
processor and a memory, wherein the at least one processor is coupled to the memory, and the memory stores programming instructions for execution by the at least one processor to (Li Fig. 3) :
determine, by a first communication device, a fourth resource (Li [0118] sidelink resource selection based on a sidelink resource);
and determine, by the communication apparatus, a third candidate resource from the fourth resource, wherein a portion of the third candidate resource is within a time range of a discontinuous reception (DRX) active time corresponding to a communication target in a time domain, wherein the third candidate resource is used to determine a fifth resource used for sidelink transmission of the communication device apparatus, the fifth resource is a resource within the DRX active time in the time domain. (Li [0118] the first device should select based on a sidelink active time of the second device the set of candidate slots are derived based on the sidelink active time of a second device and [0120] Preferably, the set of candidate slots may be included within joint or intersection slots of the time interval of selection window and the (assumed or expected) (sidelink) active or wake-up time of the second device)
As to claim 15, Li teaches a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium, wherein the storage medium storing a computer program or instructions which, when executed by a communication apparatus, cause the communication apparatus to perform operations comprising: (Li Fig. 3):
determining, by a first communication device, a fourth resource (Li [0118] sidelink resource selection based on a sidelink resource);
determining a resource as a third candidate resource from the fourth resource, wherein a portion of the third candidate resource is within a time range of a discontinuous reception (DRX) active time corresponding to a communication target in time domain, wherein the third candidate resource is used to determine a fifth resource used for sidelink transmission of the communication device apparatus, the fifth resource is a resource within the DRX active time in the time domain. (Li [0118] the first device should select based on a sidelink active time of the second device the set of candidate slots are derived based on the sidelink active time of a second device and [0120] Preferably, the set of candidate slots may be included within joint or intersection slots of the time interval of selection window and the (assumed or expected) (sidelink) active or wake-up time of the second device)
As to claim 4, Li teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein the communication targe comprises a destination identifier (Li [0044] destination ID and [0220] the destination ID of the sidelink transmission may be set to the identity of the second device)
Claims 11 are rejected for the same reasons stated in claim 4.
As to claim 7, Li teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein the method further comprises: determining, a fifth resource from a fourth candidate resource, and the fourth candidate resource is a resource that is in the third candidate resource and within the DRX active time in the time domain. (Li [0120] Preferably, the set of candidate slots may be included within joint or intersection slots of the time interval of selection window and the (assumed or expected) (sidelink) active or wake-up time of the second device)
Claims 14 and 20 are rejected for the same reasons stated in claim 7.
As to claim 13, Li teaches the method according to claim 1, the communication apparatus according to claim 8, wherein the fourth resource comprises a resource of a selection window (Li [0120] Preferably, the set of candidate slots may be included within joint or intersection slots of the time interval of selection window and the (assumed or expected) (sidelink) active or wake-up time of the second device)
Claims 19 is rejected for the same reasons stated in claim 13.
As to claim 21, Li teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein the [[first]] communication device is a transmit terminal device (TX UE) or is a chip of the TX UE, and the communication target is a receive terminal device (RXUE) or is a chip of the RX UE. (Li2 [0134] a transmitting device and a receiving device)
Claims 22 and 23 are rejected for the same reasons stated in claim 21.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2, 9 and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li and Zhao et al. (Pub. No.: 2022/0394522 A1), herein Zhao.
As to claim 2, Li teaches the method according to claim 1,
Li does not teach
the method according to claim 1, wherein the method further comprises: indicating, by a media access control (MAC) layer of the communication device to a physical layer of the communication device, the DRX active time corresponding to the communication target. However Zhao does teach
the method according to claim 1, wherein the method further comprises: indicating, by a media access control (MAC) layer of the communication device to a physical layer of the communication device, the DRX active time corresponding to the communication target. (Zhao [0093] Further, the information obtained by the physical layer from MAC is an indication indicating whether each period is the active time)
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Li with Zhao, because Zhao teaches us [0093] According to the present application, a starting point and an ending point of a period can be determined in the physical layer, and at least one measured CSI-RS and/or CSI-IM is at the active time and the period.
Claims 9 and 16 are rejected for the same reasons stated in claim 2.
Claim(s) 24 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Li and Li2 et al. (EP 2 634 061 A1), herein Li2
As to claim 24, Li teaches the method according to claim 1, wherein the method further comprises:
Li does not teach
excluding a resource from the fourth resource;
However Li2 does teach
excluding a resource from the fourth resource (Li2 [0126] The generation of the valid resource set may be performed via excluding some candidate resources (e.g., one or more candidate resources) from the candidate resource set, for instance the step 2-1 and step 2-2 shown in FIG. 12. The generation of the valid resource set may be performed via selecting some valid candidate resources, for instance the step 3-1 shown in FIG. 12. And then, the UE select one or more valid resources from the valid resource set to perform transmission from the UE. The valid resource selection for transmission may be randomly selected from the valid resource set, for instance the step 3-2 shown in FIG. 12)
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Li and Li2, because Li2 teaches us Based on sensing within a sensing duration, the UE may generate a valid resource set, wherein the valid resource set is a subset of the candidate resource set ([0126])
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 5/19/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. With respect to claim 1, the applicant states the purported combination of Li and Li2- does not disclose, suggest, or otherwise render obvious the highlighted amended portion of claim 1 (applicant remarks page 6 and 7).
Below is an excerpt from pages 6 and 7 of applicant’s remarks.
Claim 1 recites, among other things (with emphasis added):
determining a resource as a third candidate resource from the fourth resource, wherein a portion of the third candidate resource is within a time range of a discontinuous reception (DRX) active time corresponding to a communication target in a time domain, wherein the third candidate resource is used to determine a fifth resource used for sidelink transmission of the communication device, the fifth resource is a resource within the
Li generally discloses that "the first device should select based on a sidelink active time of the second device the set of candidate slots are derived based on the sidelink active time of a second device" (see para. [0118]), "the set of candidate slots may be included within joint or intersection slots of the time interval of selection window and the (assumed or expected) (sidelink) active or wake-up time of the second device." (see para. [0120]).
In other words, Li (see para. [0120]) discloses that, it is the slots of the time interval of selection window intersects with the active time of the second device, and "[i]t may mean that the
first device assumes or expects that the set of candidate slots is comprised within the (sidelink) active or wake-up time of the second device." (see par. [0118], emphasis added)
Therefore, Li teaches that candidate slots are wholly contained within a pre-computed intersection between the selection window and the second device's wake-up time. In contrast, claim 1, as amended, recites "a portion of the third candidate resource is within a time range of a discontinuous reception (DRX) active time corresponding to a communication target in a time domain" - i.e., the third candidate resource partially overlaps with the DRX active time. (applicant remarks page 7)
The examiner respectfully disagrees. If the applicant wishes to claim that the candidate resource partially overlaps with the DRX active time, then the claim should be written to explicitly define the set. At the moment claim 1, states that a portion is within a time range of a DRX active time and assuming Li is teaching that the candidates slots are wholly contained then a portion are within an active time. A portion can be defined from 0-100. This is in fact a common way to map parts of a whole. The examiner suggests using a different term other than “portion” for example a real number between 0 and 1.
Conclusion
AYANAH S. GEORGE
Primary Examiner
Art Unit 2467
/AYANAH S GEORGE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2467