DETAILED ACTION
This is in response to applicant's communication filed on 04/28/2026, wherein:
Claim 1-4, 6-11, 13-17, and 19-23 are pending.
Claim 1-3, 9, and 14-16 are amended.
Claim 5, 12, and 18 are cancelled.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1-2, 7, 9, 13-15, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Kumar et al. (US 20220191824 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Kumar discloses an information indication method performed by a terminal (Fig. 14 – Multi SIM UE 100), comprising:
in response to receiving paging from a first network (Fig. 14 step 2 and ¶0189 disclose receiving paging message from second SIM network 2000), sending first information to a network device of the first network (Fig. 14 step 4 and ¶0190 disclose sending paging reject – i.e. first information – in response to receiving paging from Fig. 14 step 2 and ¶0189);
wherein the first information is used for at least one of the following:
indicating that the terminal cannot receive all data from the first network;
indicating that the terminal cannot receive downlink data and/or paging from the first network (Fig. 14 step 4 and ¶0190 disclose paging reject indicate UE cannot receive further paging from network based on type of service; ¶0120 – “reject the downlink data, in response to determining that the paging procedure is not allowed for the downlink data based on the list of services for which the multi SIM UE (100) is not allowed to receive the data from the first SIM network (1000)”);
indicating that the terminal cannot respond to subsequent paging of the first network (Fig. 14 step 4-5-6-7-8 and ¶0190 disclose the paging reject indicating the list of service that the terminal would not response to paging); or
the network device to stop all paging for the terminal.
Regarding claim 2, Kumar discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein the sending first information to a network device of the first network comprises:
sending the first information to the network device of the first network in a case that it is determined that a first condition is met (Fig. 2C step 236-238 and ¶0140-0141 disclose sending paging reject in response to determining that a higher priority service is on-going on the other SIM network);
wherein that the first condition is met comprises at least one of the following:
the terminal enters an unreachable state for the first network;
the terminal cannot respond to the paging of the first network, or the terminal cannot respond to the paging of the first network during active leaving of the terminal from the first network;
the terminal cannot receive the paging of the first network (Fig. 2C step 236-238, ¶0140-0141; Fig. 14 step 4-5-6-7-8 and ¶0189-0190) , or the terminal cannot receive the paging of the first network during active leaving of the terminal from the first network (Fig. 2C step 236-238, ¶0140-0141; Fig. 14 step 4-5-6-7-8 and ¶0189-0190);
a service of the terminal in the first network conflicts with a service in a second network, resulting in that the terminal is unreachable for the first network, cannot receive the paging of the first network, and/or cannot respond to the paging of the first network; the terminal switches to the second network (Fig. 2C step 236-238 and ¶0140-0141 disclose sending paging reject in response to determining that a higher priority service is on-going on the other SIM network), ¶0140-0141; Fig. 14 step 4-5-6-7-8 and ¶0189-0190); or
the terminal is a multi-card terminal.
Regarding claim 7, Kumar discloses the method according to claim 1, wherein in a case that it is determined that a second condition is met (Fig. 10 step 3 and ¶0178 – “At step 3, the UE (100) wants to suspend the first SIM in response to the paging message received from the second SIM network (2000) or for the MO transaction on the second SIM”), the method further comprises:
executing a third operation (Fig. 10 step 5 and ¶0178); wherein the third operation comprises at least one of the following:
switching to the first network, sending second information to the network device of the first network (Fig. 10 step 5 and ¶0178 – “Further, at step 5, the UE (100) sends the service request to the second SIM network (2000) and gets into connected mode with the second SIM network (2000) leading to the activation of data session at step 6”), or
sending a connection establishment request or a connection resume request to the network device of the first network (Fig. 10 step 5 and ¶0178 – “Further, at step 5, the UE (100) sends the service request to the second SIM network (2000) and gets into connected mode with the second SIM network (2000) leading to the activation of data session at step 6”);
wherein the second information is used for at least one of the following:
indicating that the first information is invalid;
indicating that the terminal exits from an unreachable state, or
indicating that the terminal restores a reachable state;
indicating that the terminal can receive the paging of the first network;
indicating that the terminal can respond to the paging of the first network (Fig. 10 step 5 and ¶0178 – “Further, at step 5, the UE (100) sends the service request to the second SIM network (2000) and gets into connected mode with the second SIM network (2000) leading to the activation of data session at step 6”);
indicating that the terminal requests to receive or can receive all data from the first network (Fig. 10 step 5 and ¶0178 – “Further, at step 5, the UE (100) sends the service request to the second SIM network (2000) and gets into connected mode with the second SIM network (2000) leading to the activation of data session at step 6”);
indicating that the terminal requests to receive or can receive downlink data and/or paging from the first network (Fig. 10 step 5 and ¶0178 – “Further, at step 5, the UE (100) sends the service request to the second SIM network (2000) and gets into connected mode with the second SIM network (2000) leading to the activation of data session at step 6”);
indicating that the terminal can initiate location update; or
requesting to receive data about the terminal;
wherein that the second condition is met comprises at least one of the following:
the terminal exists from the unreachable state or restores the reachable state with the first network;
the terminal can receive the paging of the first network;
the terminal can respond to the paging of the first network;
the conflict between the service of the terminal in the first network and the service in the second network is canceled;
the terminal has sent the first information to the first network; the terminal switches to the first network; or
the terminal is a multi-card terminal.
Regarding claim 9, Kumar discloses an information indicating method performed by a network device of a first network, comprising:
obtaining first information, wherein the first information is sent by a terminal in response to receiving paging from the first network (Fig. 14 step 4 and ¶0190 disclose sending paging reject – i.e. first information – in response to receiving paging from Fig. 14 step 2 and ¶0189); and
executing a first operation according to the first information (Fig. 14 step 4-5-6-7-8 and ¶0190 disclose the paging reject indicating the list of service that the terminal would not response to paging);
wherein the first information is used for at least one of the following:
indicating that the terminal cannot receive all data from the first network;
indicating that the terminal cannot receive downlink data and/or paging from the first network (Fig. 14 step 4 and ¶0190 disclose paging reject indicate UE cannot receive further paging from network based on type of service; ¶0120 – “reject the downlink data, in response to determining that the paging procedure is not allowed for the downlink data based on the list of services for which the multi SIM UE (100) is not allowed to receive the data from the first SIM network (1000)”);
indicating that the terminal cannot respond to subsequent paging of the first network (Fig. 14 step 4-5-6-7-8 and ¶0190 disclose the paging reject indicating the list of service that the terminal would not response to paging); or
the network device to stop all paging for the terminal;
the performing a first operation (Fig. 14 step 5 and ¶0190) comprises at least one of the following: saving the first information (Fig. 14 step 5 and ¶0190 disclose network does not page again to UE based on the list provided by the UE – i.e. the first information was saved), stopping all paging for the terminal (Fig. 14 step 5 and ¶0190 disclose prevent further paging), or sending the first information to other network devices (Fig. 14 step 8 discloses sending rejection to other network components).
Regarding claim 13, Kumar discloses the method according to claim 9, wherein the method further comprises one of the following:
acquiring second information, and executing a second operation according to the second information (Fig. 10 step 5 and ¶0178 – “Further, at step 5, the UE (100) sends the service request to the second SIM network (2000) and gets into connected mode with the second SIM network (2000) leading to the activation of data session at step 6”);
executing the second operation in a case of determining that the terminal returns to the network , obtaining the connection establishment request of the terminal, obtaining the connection restoration establishment of the terminal, or determining that the terminal enters a connection state with the first network;
acquiring second information, and executing the second operation according to the second information in a case of determining that the terminal returns to the network, obtaining the connection establishment request of the terminal, obtaining the connection restoration establishment of the terminal, or determining that the terminal enters a connection state with the first network;
wherein the second operation comprises at least one of the following: deleting the first information, notifying other network devices that the first information is invalid, or restoring the data transmission to the terminal (Fig. 10 step 5 and ¶0178 – “Further, at step 5, the UE (100) sends the service request to the second SIM network (2000) and gets into connected mode with the second SIM network (2000) leading to the activation of data session at step 6” which indicated that data transmission to terminal is restored in step 6);
wherein the second information is used for at least one of the following:
indicating that the first information is invalid; indicating that the terminal exits from an unreachable state, or indicating that the terminal restores a reachable state;
indicating that the terminal can receive the paging of the first network (Fig. 10 step 3 and ¶0178 – “At step 3, the UE (100) wants to suspend the first SIM in response to the paging message received from the second SIM network (2000) or for the MO transaction on the second SIM”);
indicating that the terminal can respond to the paging of the first network;
indicating that the terminal requests to receive or can receive all data from the first network (Fig. 10 step 3 and ¶0178 – “At step 3, the UE (100) wants to suspend the first SIM in response to the paging message received from the second SIM network (2000) or for the MO transaction on the second SIM”);
indicating that the terminal requests to receive or can receive downlink data and/or paging from the first network; indicating that the terminal can initiate location update; or
requesting to receive data about the terminal; or
wherein the executing a first operation according to the first information comprises: in the period in which the terminal leaves from the first network, executing the first operation according to the first information.
Regarding claim 14, the scope and content of the claim recites discloses a communication device (Kumar - Fig. 1A – Multi-SIM UE 100), comprising: a processor (Kumar - Fig. 1A – Processor 160); and a memory (Kumar - Fig. 1A – Memory 140) storing a computer program that is executable on the processor, wherein the computer program, when executed by the processor, causes the communication device to perform the method of claim 1, therefore, being addressed as in claim 1.
Regarding claim 15, the scope and content of the claim recites the communication device for performing the method of claim 2, therefore, being addressed as in claim 2.
Regarding claim 20, the scope and content of the claim recites the communication device for performing the method of claim 7, therefore, being addressed as in claim 7.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 3-4, 10-11, 16-17, and 21-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kumar et al. (US 20220191824 A1) in view of Zhang et al. (US 20230007732 A1).
Regarding claim 3, Kumar discloses the method according to claim 1, however, silent on further details of claim 3.
Zhang discloses wherein the sending first information to a network device of the first network comprises one of the following: sending, by the terminal, the first information to the first network while sending an indication indicating that the terminal is leaving; and sending, by the terminal, the first information to the first network while requesting to leave (¶0043 – “while operating in a connected mode on a second RAN, means for transmitting a response rejecting the paging message to base station 110, wherein the response includes information that causes base station 110 to release UE 120 to the inactive or idle mode”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before effective filing date of the claimed the invention, to modify the invention of Kumar to incorporate fast connection release after paging response from Zhang because doing so would make use of known technique to improve similar devices (methods, or products) in the same way (MPEP §2141 -III) to reduce or avoid disruption of current communication on other SIM.
Regarding claim 4, Kumar discloses the method according to claim 1, however, silent on further details of claim 4.
Zhang discloses wherein the first information takes effect in a period in which the terminal leaves from the first network, or the first information takes effect when it is determined that the terminal leaves from the first network (¶0043 – “while operating in a connected mode on a second RAN, means for transmitting a response rejecting the paging message to base station 110, wherein the response includes information that causes base station 110 to release UE 120 to the inactive or idle mode”, ¶0066 – “Furthermore, the multi-SIM UE may include, in the response to the paging message, information to request a fast release to inactive or idle mode”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before effective filing date of the claimed the invention, to modify the invention of Kumar to incorporate fast connection release after paging response from Zhang because doing so would make use of known technique to improve similar devices (methods, or products) in the same way (MPEP §2141 -III) to reduce or avoid disruption of current communication on other SIM.
Regarding claim 10, Kumar discloses the method according to claim 9, however silent on further details of claim 10.
Zhang discloses wherein the obtaining the first information comprises one of the following: receiving the first information while receiving an indication indicating that the terminal is leaving; and receiving the first information while receiving a leaving request of the terminal (¶0043 – “while operating in a connected mode on a second RAN, means for transmitting a response rejecting the paging message to base station 110, wherein the response includes information that causes base station 110 to release UE 120 to the inactive or idle mode”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before effective filing date of the claimed the invention, to modify the invention of Kumar to incorporate fast connection release after paging response from Zhang because doing so would make use of known technique to improve similar devices (methods, or products) in the same way (MPEP §2141 -III) to reduce disruption of current communication on other SIM.
Regarding claim 11, the combined teaching of Kumar and Zhang discloses the method according to claim 10. Zhang discloses wherein the first information takes effect in a period in which the terminal leaves from the first network, or the first information takes effect when it is determined that the terminal leaves from the first network (¶0043 – “while operating in a connected mode on a second RAN, means for transmitting a response rejecting the paging message to base station 110, wherein the response includes information that causes base station 110 to release UE 120 to the inactive or idle mode”, ¶0066 – “Furthermore, the multi-SIM UE may include, in the response to the paging message, information to request a fast release to inactive or idle mode”). The combined teaching would be obvious for the same reason indicated in claim 10.
Regarding claim 16, the scope and content of the claim recites the communication device for performing the method of claim 3, therefore, being addressed as in claim 3.
Regarding claim 17, the scope and content of the claim recites the communication device for performing the method of claim 4, therefore, being addressed as in claim 4.
Regarding claim 21, Kumar discloses the method according to claim 1, however, silent on further details of claim 21.
Zhang discloses wherein the first information is further used for triggering the network device to release the terminal (¶0043 – “while operating in a connected mode on a second RAN, means for transmitting a response rejecting the paging message to base station 110, wherein the response includes information that causes base station 110 to release UE 120 to the inactive or idle mode”, ¶0066 – “Furthermore, the multi-SIM UE may include, in the response to the paging message, information to request a fast release to inactive or idle mode”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before effective filing date of the claimed the invention, to modify the invention of Kumar to incorporate fast connection release after paging response from Zhang because doing so would make use of known technique to improve similar devices (methods, or products) in the same way (MPEP §2141 -III) to reduce or avoid disruption of current communication on other SIM.
Regarding claim 22, Kumar discloses the method according to claim 9, however, silent on further details of claim 9.
Zhang discloses wherein the first information is further used for triggering the network device to release the terminal (¶0043 – “while operating in a connected mode on a second RAN, means for transmitting a response rejecting the paging message to base station 110, wherein the response includes information that causes base station 110 to release UE 120 to the inactive or idle mode”, ¶0066 – “Furthermore, the multi-SIM UE may include, in the response to the paging message, information to request a fast release to inactive or idle mode”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before effective filing date of the claimed the invention, to modify the invention of Kumar to incorporate fast connection release after paging response from Zhang because doing so would make use of known technique to improve similar devices (methods, or products) in the same way (MPEP §2141 -III) to reduce or avoid disruption of current communication on other SIM.
Regarding claim 23, the scope and content of the claim recites the communication device for performing the method of claim 21, therefore, being addressed as in claim 21.
Claim 6 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kumar et al. (US 20220191824 A1) in view of Wang et al. (US 20200236534 A1).
Regarding claim 6, Kumar discloses the method according to claim 1, however, silent on further details of claim 6.
Wang discloses wherein the indicating that the terminal cannot receive all data from the first network comprises at least one of the following: indicating that the terminal cannot receive all control plane data from the first network (¶0066 - "during a registration or registration update procedure, the UE may indicate a network that the MICO mode needs to be activated. The AMF of the network may determine whether to activate the MICO mode for the UE in accordance with such information as local configuration, subscription and policy. When the MICO mode is to be activated, the AMF may indicate the UE to enter the MICO mode"; ¶0067-0069 disclose UE in MICO mode is unreachable; ¶0004 - "After the UE has already been in the MICO mode, the UE does not monitor the network paging" - i.e. UE cannot receive control plane data); or indicating that the terminal cannot receive all user plane data from the first network.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before effective filing date of the claimed the invention, to modify the invention of Kumar to incorporate ability to indicate MICO mode by UE from Wang because doing so would apply a known technique to a known device (method, or product) ready for improvement to yield predictable results (MPEP §2141 -III) to provide ability to inform network that UE refraining from monitoring paging information.
Regarding claim 19, the scope and content of the claim recites the communication device for performing the method of claim 6, therefore, being addressed as in claim 6.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 8 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Contact Information
/DUNG HONG/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2643