DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Examiner acknowledges amending of claims 1, 5, 8, 12-13, 16, 18, 20 and cancellation of claims 2, 7, 15, 19.
Response to Arguments
Applicant argues the device and operation in Hosoda are completely different from those of the device within Brown, rendering the two sloped side surface modification for the claim 1 rejection improper. Applicant contends that Hosoda involves a THz emitter, whereas Brown involves a THz detector (Remarks pgs. 10-11).
Examiner disagrees. The alleged differences between Brown and Hosoda are insufficient to make the references nonanalogous. The motivation to incline the slit side surfaces (preventing dielectric breakdown/short circuit across slit) applies to both emitters and detectors. Additionally, Hosoda mentions the device can be used as/within a THz detector (like Brown's), further supporting the conclusion that the references are analogous.
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 13, 20 (upper surface of light emitting layer lower than upper surface of first and second metal layers) pertain to amended portions of claims which are addressed in the updated rejections below (Remarks pgs. 11-13).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 12 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. Claim 12 requires the light-emitting layer to fill a portion of each of the first slit, second slit, and third slit. This does not further limit the subject matter of claim 8, which already requires light-emitting layer to partially fill second slit and third slit (from claim 8) and first slit (from claim 1). Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 13, 15, 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brown et al. (US-9356170-B2) in view of Pein et al. (US-20160258807-A1) and Hosoda (JP-2013062658-A, machine translation “Hosoda_English” cited and included herewith).
Regarding claim 1, Brown discloses a light conversion device (fig. 15) comprising: a substrate (fig. 12 1222 substrate, col. 8 lines 34-35, equivalent substrate for fig. 15); a plurality of metal patterns provided on the substrate and separated from each other (annotated fig. 15 plurality (9) of MP, central gray region, on substrate separated from each other, see figs. 12/13 for analogous layout, fig. 15 white circles represent ohmic 1504 and detector contacts 1502, col. 9 lines 40-45, non-central gray ring represents gap/slit similar to fig. 12 1202, col. 8 line 22, metal on either side of gap represented by 1210/1206 in fig. 12 and non-gap/slit gray regions in fig. 15, col. 8 lines 26-28); a metal layer provided on the substrate and surrounding each of the plurality of metal patterns (annotated fig. 15 rest of gray region, NOT central gray region/MP and NOT non-central gray ring, this rest of gray region is on substrate and surrounds each of MP); a first slit positioned between the metal layer and each of the plurality of metal patterns and surrounding each of the plurality of metal patterns (annotated fig. 15 slit between each of plurality of MP and metal layer + surrounds each of MP, slit between 2 white circles, see fig. 12 1202 col. 8 line 22); wherein the first slit and each of the plurality of metal patterns surrounded by the first slit are concentric (annotated fig. 15 slit between 2 white circles concentric with each MP), wherein the metal layer and the plurality of metal patterns are aligned so that a first electric field enhancement occurs when a wave belonging to an invisible light band is incident to the first slit (fig. 15 “THz Electric Field”, col. 4 lines 23-34, THz frequency incident (invisible) light creates spoof/structured surface plasmons across slits, col. 4 lines 45-49, excitation of plasmons creates strong concentration of EM energy across slits (E-field enhancement), col. 4 lines 62-64) (col. 3 lines 65-67, col. 4 lines 1-23, col. 4 lines 45-61, col. 9 lines 60-63), and wherein the first slit defines a side surface perpendicular with respect to the substrate (gap/first slit in fig. 15 defines side surface of metal patterns + metal layer perpendicular with respect to substrate. See also fig. 12).
Brown does not disclose a light-emitting layer filling the first slit.
Pein discloses a THz radiation detection and conversion device with a quantum dot light-emitting layer that fills slits between adjacent metal patterns and emits visible light via electroluminescence (fig. 3 320 between and on top of 312a-n, filling slits 315, 0051, 0068, 0083 lines 1-2, Abstract).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to fill the first slit in Brown with a light-emitting layer.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to facilitate detection of the invisible THz radiation (Pein 0051 final 6 lines).
Modified Brown does not disclose wherein the first slit defines a side surface inclined with respect to the substrate, wherein the side surface comprises two side surfaces inclined with respect to the substrate and the two side surfaces are separated from each other and symmetrically provided.
Hosoda discloses a terahertz wave antenna element with a slit that defines a side surface inclined with respect to a substrate (figs. 1+2 antenna element 1 has slit 26 defining side surface 25 (both sides) inclined with respect to substrate 2, Abstract, “description of embodiments” par. 2, pg. 2 final par., pg. 3 par. 1-3), wherein the side surface comprises two side surfaces inclined with respect to the substrate and the two side surfaces are separated from each other and symmetrically provided (figs. 1+2 25 (both sides) comprises two side surfaces 25 inclined with respect to 2 and the 25s are separated from each other by 26 and are symmetrically provided).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the first slit define a side surface inclined with respect to the substrate, wherein the side surface comprises two side surfaces inclined with respect to the substrate and the two side surfaces are separated from each other and symmetrically provided to prevent dielectric breakdown due to short circuit between the metal patterns across the slits (Hosoda Abstract).
Modified Brown does not disclose wherein an upper surface of the light-emitting layer is lower than an upper surface of the metal layer and an upper surface of each of the plurality of metal patterns.
Pein further discloses filling the gaps “at least partially” with the quantum dot light-emitting material (0007, 0009, claim 1). Pein also discloses a general desire to minimize cost (0048-0049).
It is well known to optimize values within disclosed ranges to achieve desired results (MPEP 2144.05 I/II).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to fill all slits only partially + have an upper surface of the light-emitting layer is lower than an upper surface of the metal layer and an upper surface of each of the plurality of metal patterns to reduce the amount of light-emitting layer material used + decrease cost + production time.
Annotated fig. 15
Regarding claim 3, Brown, as modified by Pein + Hosoda, discloses the light conversion device of claim 1.
Brown, as modified by Pein + Hosoda, does not disclose wherein the light-emitting layer comprises at least one of quantum dots or an organic light-emitting diode (OLED) material.
Pein discloses a THz radiation detection and conversion device with a quantum dot light-emitting layer (fig. 3 320 between 312a-n, 0083 lines 1-2, Abstract).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use quantum dots within the light-emitting layer in Brown.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to use quantum dots within the light-emitting layer to increase the operational flexibility and tunability of the device and its emission spectrum (Pein 0085).
Regarding claim 13, Brown discloses a light conversion device (fig. 15) comprising: a substrate (fig. 12 substrate 1222, col. 8 lines 34-35); a first metal layer formed on the substrate and including a plurality of first through holes separated from each other (annotated fig. 15 first metal layer (entire gray region in fig. 15 array outside of 1504 white circles) with plurality (x9) of first through holes separated from each other (all regions in fig. 15 array within 1504 white circles)); a second metal layer provided in the plurality of first through holes and separated from the first metal layer (annotated fig. 15 second metal layer (all gray regions in fig. 15 array within 1502 white circles), innermost gray circles) within first through holes and physically separated from first metal layer); a first gap (gap between 1502 and 1504, see fig. 12 1202 col. 8 line 22) between the first metal layer and the second metal layer (fig. 15 gap between gray region outside of 1504 white circles and gray regions within 1502 white circles), wherein the first gap has a first width configured to generate a first electric field enhancement according to a polarization state of a wave when the wave belonging to an invisible light band is incident (fig. 15 “THz Electric Field”, col. 4 lines 23-34, THz frequency incident (invisible) light creates spoof/structured surface plasmons across gaps, col. 4 lines 45-49, excitation of plasmons creates strong concentration of EM energy across gaps (E-field enhancement), col. 4 lines 62-64, circular enhancement generates fields for/according to ALL polarization states) (col. 3 lines 65-67, col. 4 lines 1-23, col. 4 lines 45-61, col. 9 lines 60-63).
Brown does not disclose a light-emitting layer filling the first gap.
Pein discloses a THz radiation detection and conversion device with a quantum dot light-emitting layer that fills slits between adjacent metal patterns and emits visible light via electroluminescence (fig. 3 320 between and on top of 312a-n, filling slits 315, 0051, 0068, 0083 lines 1-2, Abstract).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to fill the first gap in Brown with a light-emitting layer.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to facilitate detection of the invisible THz radiation (Pein 0051 final 6 lines).
Modified Brown does not disclose wherein the first slit defines a side surface inclined with respect to the substrate, wherein the side surface comprises two side surfaces inclined with respect to the substrate and the two side surfaces are separated from each other and symmetrically provided.
Hosoda discloses a terahertz wave antenna element with a slit that defines a side surface inclined with respect to a substrate (figs. 1+2 antenna element 1 has slit 26 defining side surface 25 (both sides) inclined with respect to substrate 2, Abstract, “description of embodiments” par. 2, pg. 2 final par., pg. 3 par. 1-3), wherein the side surface comprises two side surfaces inclined with respect to the substrate and the two side surfaces are separated from each other and symmetrically provided (figs. 1+2 25 (both sides) comprises two side surfaces 25 inclined with respect to 2 and the 25s are separated from each other by 26 and are symmetrically provided).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the first slit define a side surface inclined with respect to the substrate, wherein the side surface comprises two side surfaces inclined with respect to the substrate and the two side surfaces are separated from each other and symmetrically provided to prevent dielectric breakdown due to short circuit between the metal patterns across the slits (Hosoda Abstract).
Modified Brown does not disclose wherein an upper surface of the light-emitting layer is lower than an upper surface of the metal layer and an upper surface of each of the plurality of metal patterns.
Pein further discloses filling the gaps “at least partially” with the quantum dot light-emitting material (0007, 0009, claim 1). Pein also discloses a general desire to minimize cost (0048-0049).
It is well known to optimize values within disclosed ranges to achieve desired results (MPEP 2144.05 I/II).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to fill all slits only partially + have an upper surface of the light-emitting layer is lower than an upper surface of the metal layer and an upper surface of each of the plurality of metal patterns to reduce the amount of light-emitting layer material used + decrease cost + production time.
Regarding claim 20, Brown discloses an image sensing device comprising: a light conversion device (fig. 15) comprising: a substrate (fig. 12 1222 substrate, col. 8 lines 34-35, equivalent substrate for fig. 15); a plurality of metal patterns provided on the substrate and separated from each other (annotated fig. 15 plurality (9) of MP, central gray region, on substrate separated from each other, see figs. 12/13 for analogous layout, fig. 15 white circles represent ohmic 1504 and detector contacts 1502, col. 9 lines 40-45, non-central gray ring represents gap/slit similar to fig. 12 1202, col. 8 line 22); a metal layer provided on the substrate and surrounding each of the plurality of metal patterns (annotated fig. 15 rest of gray region, NOT central gray region/MP and NOT non-central gray ring, this rest of gray region is on substrate and surrounds each of MP); a first slit positioned between the metal layer and each of the plurality of metal patterns and surrounding each of the plurality of metal patterns (annotated fig. 15 slit between each of plurality of MP and metal layer + surrounds each of MP, slit between 2 white circles, see fig. 12 1202 col. 8 line 22); wherein the first slit and each of the plurality of metal patterns surrounded by the first slit are concentric (annotated fig. 15 slit between 2 white circles and MP concentric), wherein the metal layer and the plurality of metal patterns are aligned so that a first electric field enhancement occurs when a wave belonging to an invisible light band is incident to the first slit (fig. 15 “THz Electric Field”, col. 4 lines 23-34, THz frequency incident (invisible) light creates spoof/structured surface plasmons across slits, col. 4 lines 45-49, excitation of plasmons creates strong concentration of EM energy across slits (E-field enhancement), col. 4 lines 62-64, circular enhancement generates fields for/according to ALL polarization states) (col. 3 lines 65-67, col. 4 lines 1-23, col. 4 lines 45-61, col. 9 lines 60-63), wherein the image sensing device is used to detect a polarization state of invisible light (structure/device in Brown is capable of detecting polarization state of incident THz light via plasmon + enhanced electric field activity within slits in direction of polarization, circular element in fig. 15 detects ALL polarization states due to 2D nature).
Brown does not disclose a light-emitting layer filling the first slit or an image sensor configured to sense visible light emitted from the light conversion device.
Pein discloses a radiation detection technique using field enhancing structures, electroluminescent materials, and an image sensor configured to sense visible light emitted from a light conversion device with a quantum dot light-emitting layer that fills slits between adjacent metal patterns and emits visible light via electroluminescence (fig. 3 320 between and on top of 312a-n, filling slits 315, 0051, 0068, 0083 lines 1-2, Abstract).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to fill the first gap in Brown with a light-emitting layer.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to incorporate an image sensor with the device in Brown to sense visible light emitted from the device in Brown.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make the first modification to facilitate detection of the invisible THz radiation (Pein 0051 final 6 lines). One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make the second modification to allow for automated detection of the THz radiation (Pein Abstract). Using visible light would potentially provide a means to verify proper operation of the device using the naked eye.
Modified Brown does not disclose wherein the first slit defines a side surface inclined with respect to the substrate, wherein the side surface comprises two side surfaces inclined with respect to the substrate and the two side surfaces are separated from each other and symmetrically provided.
Hosoda discloses a terahertz wave antenna element with a slit that defines a side surface inclined with respect to a substrate (figs. 1+2 antenna element 1 has slit 26 defining side surface 25 (both sides) inclined with respect to substrate 2, Abstract, “description of embodiments” par. 2, pg. 2 final par., pg. 3 par. 1-3), wherein the side surface comprises two side surfaces inclined with respect to the substrate and the two side surfaces are separated from each other and symmetrically provided (figs. 1+2 25 (both sides) comprises two side surfaces 25 inclined with respect to 2 and the 25s are separated from each other by 26 and are symmetrically provided).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have the first slit define a side surface inclined with respect to the substrate, wherein the side surface comprises two side surfaces inclined with respect to the substrate and the two side surfaces are separated from each other and symmetrically provided to prevent dielectric breakdown due to short circuit between the metal patterns across the slits (Hosoda Abstract).
Modified Brown does not disclose wherein an upper surface of the light-emitting layer is lower than an upper surface of the metal layer and an upper surface of each of the plurality of metal patterns.
Pein further discloses filling the gaps “at least partially” with the quantum dot light-emitting material (0007, 0009, claim 1). Pein also discloses a general desire to minimize cost (0048-0049).
It is well known to optimize values within disclosed ranges to achieve desired results (MPEP 2144.05 I/II).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to fill all slits only partially + have an upper surface of the light-emitting layer is lower than an upper surface of the metal layer and an upper surface of each of the plurality of metal patterns to reduce the amount of light-emitting layer material used + decrease cost + production time.
Claim(s) 5-12, 16-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Brown in view of Pein, Hosoda, and Niigaki et al. (US-8482197-B2).
Regarding claim 5, Brown, as modified by Pein + Hosoda, discloses the light conversion device of claim 1.
Brown, as modified by Pein + Hosoda, does not disclose wherein each of the plurality of metal patterns (i) is arranged to form a second slit in which a second electric field enhancement occurs when the wave of the invisible light band is incident to the second slit, and (ii) includes a first metal portion and a second metal portion that are separated from each other, wherein the second metal portion completely surrounds the first metal portion, and wherein the second slit (i) is present between the first metal portion and the second metal portion, (ii) is partially filled with the light-emitting layer, and (iii) has a width configured to generate visible light from the light-emitting layer by the second electric field enhancement.
Niigaki discloses a light detection/emission nanoantenna element with multiple concentric circle slits (fig. 7a multiple slits (white circles outside of AA14) between protrusions AA10 (black circles) on AA6, col. 7 lines 18-20, col. 9 lines 5-10 + 15 + 28-29).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add at least a second concentric circle slit with light-emitting layer in the manner required by claim 5 to the antennae/metal patterns in Brown (modified fig. X).
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to increase the spoof plasmon density + number of resonances within the device due to the increased number of surfaces + capacitive pairs of metal circles. Including additional slits would also allow for multiple gap dimensions and emitted frequencies within one antenna element.
Modified fig. X after modification, second slit (SS) permits E-field enhancement w/ light-emitting layer (fig. 15 “THz Electric Field”, col. 4 lines 23-34, THz frequency incident (invisible) light creates spoof/structured surface plasmons across slits, col. 4 lines 45-49, excitation of plasmons creates strong concentration of EM energy across slits (E-field enhancement), col. 4 lines 62-64) (col. 3 lines 65-67, col. 4 lines 1-23, col. 4 lines 45-61, col. 9 lines 60-63), metal pattern includes FMP + SMP, FMP+SMP physically separated, SMP completely surrounds FMP. SS between FMP and SMP.
Pein discloses a THz radiation detection and conversion device with a gap + quantum dot light-emitting layer that is configured to generate visible light in response to an enhanced electric field (fig. 3 320 between and on top of 312a-n, 0009 final 6 lines, 0068, 0083 lines 1-2, Abstract).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure both the light-emitting layer and the width of the second slit to generate visible light (iii in claim 5).
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to facilitate naked-eye observation of transmission and overall device operation.
In modified figs. X,Y,Y1, each drawn single circular line represents either ohmic or detector contact, one single drawn line is equivalent to a double line used by Brown for a 1502/1504 contact in fig. 15.
Modified fig. X (one general example of proposed modification)
Regarding claim 6, Brown, as modified by Niigaki and Pein + Hosoda, discloses the light conversion device of claim 5, wherein the second slit defines a side surface substantially perpendicular or inclined with respect to the substrate.
Gap/SS in modified fig. X defines side surface of FMP + SMP perpendicular with respect to substrate. See also fig. 12.
Regarding claim 8, Brown, as modified by Pein + Hosoda, discloses the light conversion device of claim 1.
Brown, as modified by Pein + Hosoda, does not disclose wherein each of the plurality of metal patterns (i) is arranged to form a second slit and a third slit in which a second electric field enhancement and a third electric field enhancement respectively occur when the wave of the invisible light band is incident to the second slit and the third slit respectively, and (ii) includes a first metal portion, a second metal portion, and a third metal portion separated from each other, wherein the first metal portion, the second metal portion, and the third metal portion are concentric circles and are sequentially provided in a radial direction, wherein the second slit is positioned between the first metal portion and the second metal portion; wherein the third slit is positioned between the second metal portion and the third metal portion; and wherein the second slit and the third slit (i) are partially filled with the light-emitting layer and (ii) each have a respective width configured to generate visible light from the light- emitting layer by the second electric field enhancement and the third electric field enhancement.
Niigaki discloses a light detection/emission nanoantenna element with multiple concentric circle slits (fig. 7a multiple slits (white circles outside of AA14) between protrusions AA10 (black circles) on AA6, col. 7 lines 18-20, col. 9 lines 5-10 + 15 + 28-29).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add at least a second and third concentric circle slit with light-emitting layers in the manner required by claim 8 to the antennae/metal patterns in Brown (modified fig. Y).
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to increase the spoof plasmon density + number of resonances within the device due to the increased number of surfaces + capacitive pairs of metal circles. Including additional slits would also allow for multiple gap dimensions and emitted frequencies within one antenna element.
Modified fig. Y after modification, second slit (SS) + third slit (TS) w/ 2nd and 3rd E-field enhancement w/ light-emitting layer (fig. 15 “THz Electric Field”, col. 4 lines 23-34, THz frequency incident (invisible) light creates spoof/structured surface plasmons across slits, col. 4 lines 45-49, excitation of plasmons creates strong concentration of EM energy across slits (E-field enhancement), col. 4 lines 62-64) (col. 3 lines 65-67, col. 4 lines 1-23, col. 4 lines 45-61, col. 9 lines 60-63), metal pattern includes FMP + SMP + TMP, FMP+SMP+TMP physically separated, FMP+SMP+TMP concentric circles sequentially provided in radial direction, SS between FMP and SMP, TS between SMP and TMP.
Pein discloses a THz radiation detection and conversion device with a gap + quantum dot light-emitting layer that is configured to generate visible light in response to an enhanced electric field (fig. 3 320 between and on top of 312a-n, 0009 final 6 lines, 0068, 0083 lines 1-2, Abstract).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to configure both the light-emitting layer and the width of the second slit and third slit to generate visible light.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to facilitate naked-eye observation of transmission and overall device operation. Having two slits with visible light, as opposed to one visible + two invisible, would help maintain reasonable intensity level for naked-eye observation.
Modified fig. Y (one general example of proposed modification)
Regarding claim 9, Brown, as modified by Pein and Niigaki + Hosoda, discloses the light conversion device of claim 8.
Brown, as modified by Pein and Niigaki + Hosoda, does not explicitly disclose wherein each of the first slit, the second slit, and the third slit have a same width as each other.
Pein discloses a radiation detection and conversion device with gaps/slits of equal width (0065 lines 1-4).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have made each of the first slit, the second slit, and the third slit have a same width as each other.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to simplify the manufacturing process of the device by maintaining a consistent slit width.
Regarding claim 10, Brown, as modified by Pein and Niigaki + Hosoda, discloses the light conversion device of claim 8.
Brown, as modified by Pein and Niigaki + Hosoda, does not disclose wherein the first slit, the second slit, and the third slit respectively have a first width, a second width, and a third width, and wherein at least two from among the first width, the second width and the third width are different from each other.
Pein discloses a radiation detection and conversion device with varying gap/slit widths (0065 lines 4-7 + 0073 final 3 lines).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a first slit width, a second slit width, and a third slit width, and wherein at least two from among the first width, the second width and the third width are different from each other.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to increase compatibility with a wider array of wavelengths (0065 lines 4-7 + 0073 final 3 lines).
Regarding claim 11, Brown, as modified by Niigaki and Pein + Hosoda, discloses the light conversion device of claim 8, wherein the second slit and the third slit each define a side surface substantially perpendicular to or inclined to the substrate.
Gap/first slit in modified fig. X defines side surface of metal patterns at 1502 + metal layer at 1504 perpendicular with respect to substrate. See also fig. 12.
Gap/SS in modified fig. Y defines side surface of FMP + SMP perpendicular with respect to substrate.
Gap/TS in modified fig. Y defines side surface of SMP + TMP perpendicular with respect to substrate.
Regarding claim 12, Brown, as modified by Niigaki and Pein + Hosoda, discloses the light conversion device of claim 8, wherein the light-emitting layer fills a portion of each of the first slit, the second slit, and the third slit (emitting layer fills portion of each slit, see claim 1 + 8 rejections).
Regarding claim 16, Brown, as modified by Pein + Hosoda, discloses the light conversion device of claim 13.
Brown, as modified by Pein + Hosoda, does not disclose wherein the second metal layer includes: a second through hole through which the substrate is exposed; and a third metal layer formed on the substrate in the second through hole and separated from the second metal layer, wherein a second gap between the second metal layer and the third metal layer is partially filled with the light-emitting layer, and wherein the second gap has a second width configured to generate a second electric field enhancement according to the polarization state of the wave when the wave is incident.
Niigaki discloses a light detection/emission nanoantenna element with multiple concentric circle slits (fig. 7a multiple slits (white circles outside of AA14) between protrusions AA10 (black circles) on AA6, col. 7 lines 18-20, col. 9 lines 5-10 + 15 + 28-29, alternatively viewed as multiple metal patterns in multiple through holes).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add at least a second through hole, a third metal layer in the second through hole, and a second gap with light-emitting layer in the manner required by claim 16 to the antennae/metal patterns in Brown (modified fig. X).
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to increase the spoof plasmon density + number of resonances within the device due to the increased number of surfaces + capacitive pairs of metal circles. Including additional metal layers with additional gaps would also allow for multiple gap dimensions and emitted frequencies within one antenna element.
Modified fig. X after modification, there is second through hole (outer boundary of SS to center) through which substrate is exposed (figs. 12 + 15 1222), a third metal layer formed on the substrate in the second through hole and separated from the second metal layer (third metal layer (FMP) formed in second through hole and separated from second metal layer (SMP)), second gap (SS) between SMP and FMP with light-emitting layer + second electric field enhancement equivalent to those present in the first gap (fig. 15 “THz Electric Field”, col. 4 lines 23-34, THz frequency incident (invisible) light creates spoof/structured surface plasmons across gaps, col. 4 lines 45-49, excitation of plasmons creates strong concentration of EM energy across gaps (E-field enhancement), col. 4 lines 62-64) (col. 3 lines 65-67, col. 4 lines 1-23, col. 4 lines 45-61, col. 9 lines 60-63).
Regarding claim 17, Brown, as modified by Pein and Niigaki + Hosoda, discloses the light conversion device of claim 16.
Brown, as modified by Pein and Niigaki + Hosoda, does not disclose wherein the light-emitting layer extends onto the first metal layer, the second metal layer and the third metal layer.
Pein discloses a THz radiation detection and conversion device with a quantum dot light-emitting layer that is disposed both between and on top of adjacent metal patterns (fig. 3 320 between and on top of 312a-n, 0068, 0083 lines 1-2, Abstract).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use quantum dots within the light-emitting layer and then extend the light-emitting layer onto the first metal layer, the second metal layer, and the third metal layer in modified Brown.
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to use quantum dots within the light-emitting layer to increase the operational flexibility and tunability of the device and its emission spectrum (Pein 0085). One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to then extend the light-emitting layer onto the first metal layer, the second metal layer, and the third metal layer to increase the physical output area of the light-emitting layer to facilitate detection and analysis of outputted light.
Regarding claim 18, Brown, as modified by Pein and Niigaki + Hosoda, discloses the light conversion device of claim 16.
Brown, as modified by Pein and Niigaki + Hosoda, does not explicitly disclose wherein the third metal layer includes: a third through hole through which the substrate is exposed; and a fourth metal layer formed on the substrate in the third through hole and separated from the third metal layer, wherein a third gap between the third metal layer and the fourth metal layer is partially filled with the light-emitting layer, and wherein the third gap has a third width configured to generate a third electric field enhancement according to the polarization state of the wave when the wave is incident.
Niigaki discloses a light detection/emission nanoantenna element with multiple concentric circle slits (fig. 7a multiple slits (white circles outside of AA14) between protrusions AA10 (black circles) on AA6, col. 7 lines 18-20, col. 9 lines 5-10 + 15 + 28-29).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to add at least a third through hole, fourth metal layer in the third through hole, and third gap with light-emitting layer in the manner required by claim 18 to the antennae/metal patterns in Brown (modified fig. Y).
One of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to make this modification to increase the spoof plasmon density + number of resonances within the device due to the increased number of surfaces + capacitive pairs of metal circles. Including additional gaps would also allow for multiple gap dimensions and emitted frequencies within one antenna element.
Modified fig. Y1 after modification, there is third through hole (outer boundary of TTH to center) through which substrate is exposed (figs. 12 + 15 1222), a fourth metal layer formed on the substrate in the third through hole and separated from the third metal layer (fourth metal layer (FML) formed in third through hole (outer boundary of TTH to center) and separated from third metal layer (FMP)), third gap (TTH) between FMP and FML with light-emitting layer, gap width, + third electric field enhancement equivalent to those present in the first + second gaps (fig. 15 “THz Electric Field”, col. 4 lines 23-34, THz frequency incident (invisible) light creates spoof/structured surface plasmons across gaps, col. 4 lines 45-49, excitation of plasmons creates strong concentration of EM energy across gaps (E-field enhancement), col. 4 lines 62-64) (col. 3 lines 65-67, col. 4 lines 1-23, col. 4 lines 45-61, col. 9 lines 60-63).
Modified fig. Y1 (one general example of proposed modification)
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/A.E./Examiner, Art Unit 2828
/MINSUN O HARVEY/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2828