NON-FINAL ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Power of Attorney
3. On 4/21/26, The Power of Attorney was accepted for:
KLARQUIST SPARKMAN, LLP
121 SW SALMON STREET
SUITE 1600
PORTLAND, OR 97204
4. On 4/21/26, The Power of Attorney was revoked for: INTELINK LAW GROUP, PC.
NON-COMPLIANT AMENDMENT:
5. Claims 12, 19, and 20 filed on 12/8/25 do not have the proper status identifiers.
The claims are listed as “Previously presented” when they are “Currently amended”. Please correct the status identifiers for clarification.
Claims History:
Claims filed - 11/18/22, 11/11/24, 4/28/25, and 12/8/25.
Election/Restrictions
6. Applicant's election with traverse of Species (A-II claims 22 and 23) and (B-IV claims 19-21) in the reply filed on 4/28/25 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that no serious burden exists to examine all the claims together. More specifically, Applicant argues that there is no undue burden, and the Examiner must examine all the claims on the merits, even though they include claims to independent and distinct inventions. This argument was carefully considered and not found persuasive because the inventions are independent and distinct as set forth in the Restriction Requirement mailed 2/27/25.
With respect to a different field of search — Because the inventions are distinct and have acquired separate status in the art as shown by their different classification, recognized divergent subject matter and because the search required for each invention is not substantially coextensive with the search required for the remaining invention, restriction for examination purposes as indicated is proper.
Restriction is only proper when there would be a serious burden as evidenced by separate classification, status, or field of search even though the claims include independent or distinct inventions (MPEP 808.02).
Please note that the classifications in the restriction are illustrative only and do not represent all the classes and subclasses, which must be searched for each invention; nor is the search limited to issued US patents but rather includes published foreign patents and applications as well as literature search. For these reasons the inventions were not rejoined.
7. The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
8. Claims 13, 15, and 16 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made with traverse in the reply filed on 4/28/25.
Amendment Entry
9. Applicant’s reply to the Final Action mailed 6/10/24 is acknowledged (responses on 12/8/25 and 2/18/26). In the amendments filed therein claims 12, 15, 16, 17, 19, and 20 were modified. While claim 26 was added.
10. Currently claims 12, 17-21, and 26 are under consideration.
Priority
11. This application is a Divisional application of co-pending Application No. 16/615,814 which was filed on November 21, 2019, which is the National Phase Under 35 USC § 371 of PCT International Application No. PCT/GB2018/051401 filed on May 23, 2018, which claims priority under 35 U.S.C. § 119 on Patent Application No. 1708262.9 filed in the United Kingdom on May 23, 2017.
12. Rejections and/or objections of record not reiterated herein have been withdrawn.
DECLARATION
13. The Declaration under 37 CFR 1.132 filed by Dr Hughes is sufficient to overcome the rejection of claims 12 and 17-25 based upon 35 USC § 112(a) – written description and 35 USC § 101.
The Declaration noted that anti-FLC antibodies useful in the presently claimed method were per se known in the art, were available to a POSITA and could be readily made by a POSITA without any undue experimentation. Therefore, Dr. Hughes concludes that "the inventors had possession of the invention, at the time of filing, as defined in the present claims of the invention." (See paragraph 19) Further, the Hughes Declaration argues that in 1985 anti-human free light chain-specific antibodies were raised in rabbits. Further detailed descriptions of how anti-free light chain specific antibodies are made can be found in US Patent 8,133,744 (also cited in the Declaration) and the claimed kit therefore does not contain naturally occurring free light chains but, rather, antibodies against those free light chains, which do not occur in nature without human intervention.
In addition, the present claims are directed to a kit comprising antibodies including a mass spectrometry plate. Accordingly, the rejections were withdrawn.
NEW GROUNDS OF REJECTIONS NECESSITATED BY AMENDMENTS
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
14. Claims 12, 17-21 and 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 12 recites the phrase "substantially indistinguishable” The term is a relative term which renders the claim indefinite. The term “substantially indistinguishable” is not defined by the claim, the specification does not provide a standard for ascertaining the requisite degree, and one of ordinary skill in the art would not be reasonably apprised of the scope of the invention. It is not clear if the plurality of magnetic beads are the same or different. Additionally, it is ambiguous as to what will encompass “substantially”. For example, can the beads differ in size? It is suggested that the term is omitted in order to obviate the rejection. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
15. Claims 12, 17-21, and 26 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. This is a New Matter Rejection.
The claims recite “substantially undistinguishable” plurality of magnetic beads. However, support for the “substantially undistinguishable” language is not found in the disclosure. Applicant is invited to show support for the terminology but is cautioned as to not introducing new matter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
16. Claim(s) 12, 17, and 26 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Harding et al. (WO 2013/132245 A1) and Bradwell et al. (WO2011/114250A1) in view of Campbell et al. (Journal of Immunological Methods, 391, 2013, pages 1-13) and Zhang et al. (J Biomol Tech. 2004 Sep;15(3):167–175) and further in view of Foster (U.S. Patent #4,444,879).
Harding et al. disclose a method for detecting a plasma cell associated disease in a patient comprising: (i)providing at least one sample from the patient; (ii)determining in the sample(s) two or more of; (a) the κ:λ free light chain (FLC) ratio; (b) the ratio of κ light chains bound to a class of heavy chain : λ light chain bound to the same class of heavy chain (HLC κ : HLC λ ratio); (c) the total amount of FLC in the samples and (d) the total amount of κ light chains bound to the heavy chain class plus λ light chains bound to the same heavy chain class (total HLC); (iii)comparing each ratio or amount from (a) (b), (c) and/or (d) to predetermined values and assigning a score to each amount or ratio; and (iv)using the scores to measure the plasma cell associated disease. See abstract.
Harding et al. also disclose that antibodies, or fragments of antibodies, specific for or λ FLC are generally know and are commercially available under the trade name Freelite™. See page 16.
Although Harding et al. detect both anti-kappa FLC and anti-lambda FLC in their patient samples, Harding et al. differ from the instant invention in not specifically reciting that a mixture of anti-kappa FLC and anti-lambda FLC are contacted with the sample. See claims 1 and 16 (i and ii).
However, Bradwell et al. (WO 2011/114150) teach this limitation.
Bradwell et al. disclose methods and kits for identifying a subject likely to have liver disease, or for determining the prognosis of a subject previously identified as having a liver disease wherein the method detects an amount of free light chains (FLC) in a sample from the subject.
And a higher amount of FLC is associated with an increased likelihood of the subject having a liver disease or an increased likelihood of having a poor prognosis of a liver disease. See abstract.
In one embodiment the kit employs a mixture of anti-κ and anti-λ FLC antibodies. The kit is utilized to measure free light chains in the sample. See page 8 lines 5-8 and pages 10-13.
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ a mixture of anti-κ and anti-λ FLC antibodies as taught by Bradwell et al. in the method of Harding et al. measuring free FLC antibodies because Bradwell demonstrated that the combined anti-κ/anti-λ FLC antibody mixture was viable in assay procedures. See page 13.
In fact, the method reduced steps (one incubation with both antibodies simultaneously verse two separate incubations of each antibody alone) and FLC are sensitive markers for immune activation in liver disease and may be useful for diagnosing and monitoring inflammatory immune mediated liver disease patients. See page 12.
Harding et al. and Bradwell et al. fail to teach anti-free antibody immobilization on magnetic beads.
However, Campbell et al. teach the reagents required by the instant kit claims. The researchers describe an improved method using specific mouse anti-human FLC monoclonal antibodies (mAbs). Anti-κ (anti-kappa) and anti-λ (anti-lambda) FLC (free light chain) mAbs were, separately, covalently coupled to polystyrene Xmap® beads (or mass spectrometry target) and assayed, simultaneously, in a multi-plex format by Luminex® (mAb assay).
The mAbs displayed no cross-reactivity to bound LC, the alternate LC type, or other human proteins and had improved sensitivity and specificity over immunofixation electrophoresis (IFE) and Freelite™. The assay gives good linearity and sensitivity (<1 mg/L), and the competitive inhibition format gave a broad calibration curve up to 437.5 mg/L and prevented anomalous results for samples in antigen excess i.e. high FLC levels. The mAbs displayed good concordance with Freelite™ for the quantitation of normal polyclonal FLC in plasma from healthy donors (n = 249). The mAb assay identified all monoclonal FLC in serum from consecutive patient samples (n = 1000; 50.1% with monoclonal paraprotein by serum IFE), and all FLC in a large cohort of urine samples tested for Bence Jones proteins (n = 13090; 22.8% with monoclonal κ, 9.0% with monoclonal λ, and 0.8% with poly LC detected by urine IFE). Importantly this shows that the mAbs are at least close to the ideal of detecting FLC from all patients and neoplastic plasma cell clones . See abstract and Discussion.
Zhang et al. disclose that profiling by using C8-functionalized magnetic beads that enrich a specific subset of plasma proteins based on their absorption, followed by elution, transfer onto a sample support (AnchorChip technology), and analysis in a bench-top MALDI-TOF mass spectrometer (OmniFLEX) with AutoXecute acquisition control; enables automated operation with reproducible results.
This approach in combination with ClinProTools software permits the investigator to rapidly scan for potential biomarker peptides/proteins in human plasma. The results show that the novel and facile approach with manual magnetic-bead sample preparation and a low-cost bench-top MALDI-TOF mass spectrometer is suitable for preliminary biomarker discovery studies. See abstract.
Zhang et al. teach that the novel and facile approach with manual magnetic-bead sample preparation and a low-cost bench-top MALDI-TOF mass spectrometer is suitable for preliminary biomarker discovery studies. When using a fully automated sample preparation robot, together with higher performance automated TOF/TOF instruments, the CV values should be much lower and throughput much higher.
KSR forecloses the argument that a specific teaching, suggestion, or motivation is required to support a finding of obviousness. See recent Board decision Ex parte Smith,— USPQ2d—, slip op. at 20, (Bd. Pat. App. & Interf. June 25, 2007)(citing KSR, 82 USPQ2d at 1396).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to immobilize the reagents exemplified by Harding et al. and Bradwell et al. on magnetic beads because Campbell et al. taught that their technique was an improved method using specific mouse anti-human FLC monoclonal antibodies (mAbs). Anti-κ (anti-kappa) and anti-λ (anti-lambda) FLC (free light chain) mAbs were, separately, covalently coupled to polystyrene Xmap® beads (or mass spectrometry plates) and assayed, simultaneously, in a multi-plex format by Luminex® (mAb assay).
And Zhang et al. taught that the combination of magnetic beads and MALDI-TOF provided automated/reproducible results of biomarker measurements in plasma.
While, Foster et al. (U.S. Patent #4,444,879) teach kit embodiments that include the reactant reagents, a microplate, positive controls, negative controls, standards, and instructions. The reagents are compartmentalized or packaged separately for utility. See figure 6, and column 15, lines 10-34.
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the effective filing date of applicant’s invention to take the detection assay reagents as taught by Harding et al. and Bradwell in view of Campbell et al. and Zhang et al. and format them into a kit because Foster et al. teach that it is convenient to do so and one can enhance sensitivity of a method by providing reagents as a kit.
Further, the reagents in a kit are available in pre-measured amounts, which eliminates the variability that can occur when performing the assay. Kits are also economically beneficial in reagent distribution.
17. Claim(s) 18-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Harding et al. (WO 2013/132245 A1) and Bradwell et al. (WO2011/114250A1) in view of Campbell et al. (Journal of Immunological Methods, 391, 2013, pages 1-13) and Zhang et al. (J Biomol Tech. 2004 Sep;15(3):167–175) and further in view of Foster (U.S. Patent #4,444,879) as applied to claims 12, 17, and 26 above, and further in view of Raghuwanshi et al. (WO 2016/063299) and Goldenberg et al (Bioconjugate Chemistry, 1991, Vol. 2, pp. 275-289).
Please see Harding et al. (WO 2013/132245 A1) and Bradwell et al. (WO2011/114250A1) in view of Campbell et al. (Journal of Immunological Methods, 391, 2013, pages 1-13) and Zhang et al. (J Biomol Tech. 2004 Sep;15(3):167–175) and further in view of Foster (U.S. Patent #4,444,879) as set forth above.
Harding et al. (WO 2013/132245 A1) and Bradwell et al. (WO2011/114250A1) in view of Campbell et al. (Journal of Immunological Methods, 391, 2013, pages 1-13) and Zhang et al. (J Biomol Tech. 2004 Sep;15(3):167–175) and further in view of Foster (U.S. Patent #4,444,879) fail to teach anti-free antibodies raised in animal models such as goats wherein the antibodies are cross linked.
However, Raghuwanshi et al teach an example of an immunoaffinity purification using a goat polyclonal antibody (paragraph [0007]). Thus, it would have been prima facie obvious to use goat polyclonal anti-Ig in the immunopurification process as a routine selection previously taught by the prior art.
Regarding the polyclonal population wherein at least 70% of the antibodies comprise one or more non-reducible thioether containing cross-links between the heavy chain and the light chain replacing the naturally occurring disulphide bonds, Goldberg et al teach that the extensiveuse of antibody-containing affinity columns for the purification of biologically active compounds such as genetically engineered is severely hampered by the leaching of portions of the antibody from the immunoaffinity resin during elution of the target (abstract). Goldberg et al teach that hydrolysis of the immobilized antibody light and/or heavy chains which then contaminate the affinity purified product (page 275, lines 1-6 of the second paragraph under “Introduction”).
Goldberg et al teach that the interchain disulfides of a mouse anti-biotin antibody were reduced to free thiols (page 276, under the heading “Reduction of Antibodies” and page 277, lines 1-7 under “Results and Discussion”) and the resulting reduced antibody was reacted with the bismaleimide, PDM, to form a product with over 90% cross-links (page 276, second column, under the heading “Cross-Linking with Bismaleimides” and page 276, first column, lines 4-9). Goldberg et al teach that the free SH groups are in spatial juxtaposition and are expected to react simultaneously with the PDM reagent (page 276, first column, lines 4-7).
Goldberg et al teach that the resulting cross-linked product was immobilized onto activated Sepharose as a solid support (page 276, second column, last full paragraph) and high levels of binding activity were observed (page 276, second column, lines 11-12).
Goldberg et al demonstrate using an anti-biotin antibody cross linked with MPHPD that the leakage properties of the cross-linked immunoaffinity column were far superior to those of a column containing immobilized native antibody (page 279, second column, lines 7-10).
It would have been prima facie obvious prior to the effective filing date to utilize cross links in the goat polyclonal anti-immunoglobulin antibodies by reacting the reduced polyclonal antibodies with the PDM cross linker to form a product having 90% cross-links. One of skill in the art would have been motivated to do so because Goldberg et al teach that hydrolysis of the immobilized antibody light and/or heavy chains contaminate the affinity purified product. One of skill in the art would be motivated to minimize contamination of the product which was being quantified to increase the accuracy of the result.
Response to Arguments
18. Applicants’ arguments are MOOT because the claim amendments have resulted in new grounds of rejections that have been presented herein.
19. For reasons aforementioned, no claims are allowed.
For more information about the PAIR system, see http://portal.uspto.gov/external/portal. Should you have questions about access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free).
Lisa V. Cook
Patent Examiner
Art Unit 1641
Hoteling
9/6/26
/LISA V COOK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1641