DETAILED ACTION
The Applicant’s amendment filed on 6/15/2026 was received. Claim 1 was amended. Claims 5, 10 cancelled.
The text of those sections of Title 35, U.S.C. code not included in this action can be found in the prior Office action issued on 10/01/2025.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
The claim rejection under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ) on claim 10 is withdrawn because Applicant cancelled claim 10.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
The claim rejections under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Sasayama et al. (US 6461757 B1) on claims 1, 6-7, 10 are withdrawn because Applicant amended independent claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
The claim rejections under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sasayama et al. (US 6461757 B1) in view of Yun (US 20230187651 A1) on claims 2-4, 8-9 are withdrawn because Applicant amended independent claim 1. The claim rejection under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sasayama et al. (US 6461757 B1) in view of Kwon et al. (US 20180034121 A1) on claim 11 is withdrawn because Applicant amended independent claim 1
Claims 1, 6, 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sasayama et al. (US 6461757 B1) in view of Yun et al. (US 20220278359 A1), hereinafter Yun et al. 359.
Regarding to claim 1: Sasayama et al. disclose a non-aqueous battery provided in a pouchy casing (abstract). The battery comprises:
an anode current collector (equivalent an anode current collector) (col. 20, lines 51-63);
a solid electrolyte (equivalent to a solid electrolyte layer) (col. 14, lines 40-53)
a cathode electrode active material (equivalent to a cathode layer) (col. 20, lines 51-63).
The solid electrolyte is interposed between the cathode active material and the anode current collector (col. 14, lines 40-42). Sasayama et al. further disclose a pouch dimension of the battery in Fig. 1-3. In Fig. 1 (c), the length of the pouch is 14 cm, the width of the pouch is 9 cm, and the peripheral edge of 10 mm is used for sealing (col. 26, lines 42, col. 27, lines 1-23, fig. 1 (c)). The central portion (the portion except sealing periphery) of the battery is used to place the electrochemical cell (col. 27, lines 1-23). As the electrochemical reacts in the central portion, the central portion is equivalent to the reaction portion (see fig. below). The area of the central portion is 84 cm2 (12x7) and the circumference is 38 cm ((12+7)x2). The value of
(
c
i
r
c
u
m
f
e
r
e
n
c
e
(
P
)
a
r
e
a
(
A
)
) is 0.45.
Sasayama et al. fail to explicitly disclose the battery has a current density of about 0.01 mA/cm2 to 6.5 mA/cm2 during charging. However, Yun et al. 359 disclose a lithium metal secondary battery (abstract). The lithium metal secondary battery may be charged at a temperature of 5-60 °C. under a pressurized state of 3-300 psi at a current density during charge of 0.01-7 mA/cm2 (par. 54). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the charging condition (the current density of 0.01-7 mA/cm2) of Yun et al. 359 when charging the non-aqueous battery of Sasayama et al. because Yun et al. 359 teach that this charging condition can improve the cycle characteristics of the battery and to prevent the battery from swelling (par. 27). In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). See MPEP §2144.05(I).
Regarding to claim 6: Sasayama et al. disclose the planer surface of pouch has a rectangular shape in Fig. 1-3.
Regarding to claim 7: Sasayama et al. disclose the planer surface of pouch has a rectangular shape in Fig. 1-3. In Fig. 1 (c), the length of the pouch is 14 cm and the width of the pouch is 9 cm. Thus, the battery area is 126 cm2 (14x9).
Claims 2-4, 8-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sasayama et al. (US 6461757 B1) in view of Yun et al. (US 20220278359 A1), hereinafter Yun et al. 359, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Yun (US 20230187651 A1), hereinafter Yun 651.
Regarding to claim 2: Sasayama et al. disclose a non-aqueous battery provided in a pouchy casing (abstract) as described in paragraph 5 above. Sasayama et al. and Yun et al. 359 fail to explicitly disclose a functional layer disposed between the anode current collector and the solid electrolyte layer, and the functional layer comprises a carbon material. However, Yun 651 discloses a negative electrode for a lithium metal battery includes a metal current collector substrate, a lithium metal layer formed on at least one surface of the metal current collector substrate, and a protective layer formed on the lithium metal layer (abstract). The protective layer (equivalent to a functional layer) comprises a carbon-based material, a metallic compound capable of alloying with lithium or a mixture of two or more thereof. The carbon-based material may be, for example, carbon such as artificial graphite, natural graphite, graphitized carbon fiber, or amorphous carbon (par. 44-46). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the lithium metal layer and the protective layer of Yun 651 on the negative electrode sheet of Sasayama et al. because Yun 651 teaches that lithium metal as a negative electrode material can make a high energy density battery (par. 10) and the protective layer can resolve the problem of rapid deterioration of lifespan characteristics of lithium metal (par. 11).
Regarding to claim 3: Sasayama et al. disclose a non-aqueous battery provided in a pouchy casing (abstract) as described in paragraph 5 above. Sasayama et al. and Yun et al. 359 fail to explicitly disclose the functional layer further comprises a metal powder comprising one or more metal components selected from the group consisting of gold (Au), platinum (Pt), palladium (Pd), silicon (Si), silver (Ag), aluminum (Al), bismuth (Bi), tin (Sn), and zinc (Zn). However, Yun 651 discloses a negative electrode for a lithium metal battery includes a metal current collector substrate, a lithium metal layer formed on at least one surface of the metal current collector substrate, and a protective layer formed on the lithium metal layer (abstract). The protective layer (equivalent to a functional layer) comprises a carbon-based material, a metallic compound capable of alloying with lithium or a mixture of two or more thereof. The metallic compound may be a compound including a metal forming an alloy with lithium, which may be a metal such as Al, Ge, Mg, Zn, Ag, Si, or Sn (par. 48). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the lithium metal layer and the protective layer of Yun 651 on the negative electrode sheet of Sasayama et al. because Yun 651 teaches that lithium metal as a negative electrode material can make a high energy density battery (par. 10) and the protective layer can resolve the problem of rapid deterioration of lifespan characteristics of lithium metal (par. 11).
Regarding to claim 4: Sasayama et al. disclose a non-aqueous battery provided in a pouchy casing (abstract) as described in paragraph 5 above. Sasayama et al. and Yun et al. 359 fail to explicitly disclose the all-solid-state battery further comprises an anode layer disposed between the anode current collector and the solid electrolyte layer, and the anode layer comprises lithium metal. However, Yun 651 discloses a negative electrode for a lithium metal battery includes a metal current collector substrate, a lithium metal layer (equivalent to an anode layer) formed on at least one surface of the metal current collector substrate, and a protective layer formed on the lithium metal layer (abstract, par. 38). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the lithium metal layer and the protective layer of Yun 651 on the negative electrode sheet of Sasayama et al. because Yun 651 teaches that lithium metal as a negative electrode material can make a high energy density battery (par. 10) and the protective layer can resolve the problem of rapid deterioration of lifespan characteristics of lithium metal (par. 11).
Regarding to claim 8: Sasayama et al. disclose a non-aqueous battery provided in a pouchy casing (abstract) as described in paragraph 5 above. Sasayama et al. and Yun et al. 359 fail to explicitly disclose the functional layer has a thickness of about 30 µm or less. However, Yun 651 discloses a negative electrode for a lithium metal battery includes a metal current collector substrate, a lithium metal layer formed on at least one surface of the metal current collector substrate, and a protective layer formed on the lithium metal layer (abstract). The protective layer (equivalent to a functional layer) has the thickness of 0.1 μm to 100 μm. It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the lithium metal layer and the protective layer of Yun 651 on the negative electrode sheet of Sasayama et al. because Yun 651 teaches that lithium metal as a negative electrode material can make a high energy density battery (par. 10) and the protective layer can resolve the problem of rapid deterioration of lifespan characteristics of lithium metal (par. 11). In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). See MPEP §2144.05(I).
Regarding to claim 9: Sasayama et al. disclose a non-aqueous battery provided in a pouchy casing (abstract) as described in paragraph 5 above. Sasayama et al. and Yun et al. 359 fail to explicitly disclose the solid electrolyte layer has a thickness of about 50 m or less. However, Yun 651 discloses a negative electrode for a lithium metal battery includes a metal current collector substrate, a lithium metal layer formed on at least one surface of the metal current collector substrate, and a protective layer formed on the lithium metal layer (abstract). In the battery, the solid electrolyte can be served as the separator and have the thickness of 5 to 300 μm (par. 76). It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to use the lithium metal layer, the protective layer, and the solid electrolyte thickness of Yun 651 on the non-aqueous battery of Sasayama et al. because Yun 651 teaches that the lithium metal battery developed by Yun 651 can have high energy density (par. 10) and resolve the problem of rapid deterioration of lifespan characteristics of lithium metal (par. 11). In the case where the claimed ranges “overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art” a prima facie case of obviousness exists. In re Wertheim, 541 F.2d 257, 191 USPQ 90 (CCPA 1976); In re Woodruff, 919 F.2d 1575, 16 USPQ2d 1934 (Fed. Cir. 1990). See MPEP §2144.05(I).
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sasayama et al. (US 6461757 B1) in view of Yun et al. (US 20220278359 A1), hereinafter Yun et al. 359, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Kwon et al. (US 20180034121 A1).
Regarding to claim 11: Sasayama et al. disclose a non-aqueous battery provided in a pouchy casing (abstract) as described in paragraph 5 above. Sasayama et al. and Yun et al. 359 are silent on a vehicle comprising an all-solid-state battery. However, Kwon et al. disclose that a cartridge having a novel structure for guaranteeing stable operational performance of a secondary battery (abstract). Kwon et al. further disclose that pouch-type all-solid-state battery can be used in vehicles (par. 7-9). It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the non-aqueous battery, comprising the solid electrolyte, of Sasayama et al. in the vehicles of Kwon et al. because Kwon et al. teach that all-solid-state batteries can prevent problems such as electrolytic solution leakage, gas generation, and guarantee safety (par. 7).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed on 6/5/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant primarily argues:
The unit of current density was a typographic error and was corrected in the claimed submitted on 6/15/2026. No new matter is presented.
Sasayama et al. fail to teach the battery has a current density of about 0.01 mA/cm2 to 6.5 mA/cm2 during charging.
In response:
Applicant’s arguments are persuasive.
Applicant’s arguments are moot. Newly cited Yun reference teaches a current density during charge of 0.01-7 mA/cm2.
Conclusion
/PIN JAN WANG/Examiner, Art Unit 1717
/Dah-Wei D. Yuan/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1717