DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-5,11,14,15,19 is/are rejected (to the extent understood) under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being fully met by Studer et al (WO-2017162552A1, from Google Patents).
Regarding Claims 1,14 Studer discloses an elevator system, comprising:
a hoistway 7;
an elevator car 3 in the hoistway 7;
sensors 23,25,27,57 in the hoistway 7 operationally coupled to the elevator car 3 and configured to capture sensor data indicative of a person 31,33 being in the hoistway 7,
the sensors including a volumetric detector in a hoistway pit (“Each of the 3D camera systems 23, 25, 27 is designed to record 3-dimensional image data within a field of view 43, 45, 47. A field of view 43, 45, 47 may enclose, for example, a conically widening volume starting from an objective of a camera system 23, 25, 27. The 3D camera systems 23, 25, 27 can be arranged and aligned in such a way that their fields of view 43, 45, 47 cover possible danger areas within the elevator installation 1, within which persons 31, 33 can typically reside and within which these persons 31, 33 could be endangered in particular by components of the elevator system 1.”),
and a processor 39 configured to determine from the sensor data that the person 31 is in the hoistway 7; and
wherein the elevator car 3 is configured to reduce speed or stop when the processor determines the person is in the hoistway (Abstract)
wherein the processor is configured to determine from data captured by the volumetric detector whether a person is in the hoistway pit (see above quote).
Regarding Claims 2,15, Studer discloses an elevator controller 37 operationally coupled to the elevator car 3 and communicatively coupled to the sensors 23,25,27,57.
Regarding Claim 3, Studer discloses the processor is configured to transmit an alert when the sensor data is indicative of the person in the hoistway (“warning signals can be output to the person”).
Regarding Claim 4, Studer discloses sensors located at a top of the elevator car 23, a bottom of the elevator car 25, a top of the hoistway, within a hoistway pit 27, and on or adjacent to a ladder 35 of the hoistway pit (Fig. 1).
Regarding Claim 5, Studer discloses the sensors are cameras, LIDAR sensors, “infrared sensor, ultrasonic sensor, a radar sensor, a laser distance sensor.”
Regarding Claim 11, Studer discloses the elevator controller 37 is configured to operate in a normal mode, and the elevator controller stops the elevator car upon rendering a determination that the person is in the hoistway (Abstract).
Regarding Claim 19, Studer discloses determining, by the elevator controller 37, that the elevator controller 37 is in a normal run mode; and permitting, by the elevator controller 37, the elevator car 3 to run only a determination is rendered that the person is not detected within the hoistway (no collision, Abstract).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6,7,10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Studer in view of Mangini et al (USPGP 2012018256).
Regarding Claim 6, Studer (applied here in a similar manner as to claim 2 above) discloses all features claimed, but does not explicitly teach that the processor is configured to compare captured sensor data from sensors with previously obtained data representing the hoistway without a person therein to determine whether the person is within the hoistway.
Mangini discloses a system for detection of persons in a hoistway, wherein the processor is configured to compare captured sensor data from sensors 20-28 with previously obtained data representing the hoistway without the person therein to determine whether the person is within the hoistway (calibration scan, para. 0035).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to adapt the teachings of Studer with those of Mangini, so as to increase the reliability of the safety system, as is known in the art to be desirable, and Studer and Mangini use infrared sensors.
Regarding Claim 7, Studer discloses using three dimensional sensors.
Regarding Claim 10, Mangini discloses (Fig. 3A) the sensors are automatically actuated 54 when the elevator car is controlled to move 52.
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Studer in view of Jussila et al (WO 2023066459 A1).
Regarding Claim 8, Studer (applied here in a similar manner as to claim 2 above) discloses all features claimed, but does not explicitly teach wherein the sensors are LIDAR sensors located at or more of the top of the elevator car and within a hoistway pit and are configured to generate a sensing curtain to determine a presence of the person.
Jussila discloses a safety system for an elevator which comprises LIDAR sensors (page 9 line 35) located at or more of the top 114 of the elevator car 102 and within a hoistway 104 pit, and are configured to generate a sensing curtain (page 9 line 34) to determine a presence of a person.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to adapt the teachings of Studer with those of Jussila, so as to take advantage of the improved sensing of LIDAR, as is known in the art to be desirable.
Claim(s) 16-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Studer in view of Oggianu et al (USPGP 2020039784).
Regarding Claim 16, Studer (applied here in a similar manner as to claim 15 above) discloses all features claimed, but does not explicitly teach:
determining from the sensor data a distance and speed toward an object in the hoistway;
determining whether the object is the person; and
depending on the distance to the object and speed of the elevator car, stopping or reducing speed of the elevator car upon determining that the object is the person.
Oggianu discloses a system for detecting elevator mechanics in elevators that comprises: determining from sensor data 206 a distance and speed (current speed of an elevator car 202 is inherently known; also see 113, para. 0034) toward an object (mechanic wearing tag) in the hoistway 117;
determining whether the object is the person (unique identifier, para. 0041); and
depending on the distance to the object and speed of the elevator car 103, stopping or reducing speed of the elevator car 103 upon determining that the object is the person (safety action, paras. 0045, 0046).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to adapt the teachings of Studer with those of Oggianu, so as to use extra layers of detection for safety, as is known in the art to be desirable.
Regarding Claim 17, Oggianu discloses a supplemental position reference system includes a supplemental sensor (master anchor) that is utilized to obtain a reference state (calibration phase) in which no person is within a travel path of the elevator car in the hoistway (para. 0049).
Regarding Claim 18, Oggianu discloses determining whether the object is the person by communication with a tag 206 configured for telecommunications and located in the hoistway 117 and associated with the person (paras. 0039, 0046).
Claim(s) 12,13,20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Studer/Oggianu, and further in view of Roussel et al (USPGP 20210101783).
Regarding Claim 20, Studer/Oggianu (applied here in a similar manner as to claim 18 above), discloses all features claimed, but does not explicitly teach:
determining, by the elevator controller, that the elevator controller is in an inspection mode; and permitting, by the elevator controller, the elevator car to run regardless of whether the determination is rendered by the that the person is within the hoistway.
Roussel discloses an inspection control system for an elevator which comprises:
determining, by an elevator controller 2, that the elevator controller 2 is in an inspection mode (Fig. 3a, step 4); and
permitting, by the elevator controller 2, an elevator car 8 to run regardless of whether the determination is rendered that a person is within the hoistway (para. 0031).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to adapt the teachings of Studer/Oggianu with those of Roussel, as inspection modes for elevators in which mechanics can inspect the hoistway are known in the art to be desirable.
Regarding Claim 12, Roussel discloses the elevator controller is configured to operate in an inspection mode, whereby and the elevator controller is configured to run the elevator car at a reduced speed (walking speed) regardless of the determination that the person is in the hoistway (para. 0002).
Regarding Claim 13, Roussel discloses the inspection mode is a top of car inspection mode (operating device 3 for inspection is on the top of car 8, Fig. 1).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 9 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
JEFFREY . DONELS
Examiner
Art Unit 2837
/JEFFREY DONELS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2837