DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 14-15 objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 14, Line 5; and Claim 15, Line2 recites the limitation “demuliplexer”. This appears to be a typo.
Claim 14, Line 5; and Claim 15, Line 2 should recite: demultiplexer.
Claim 14 recites the limitation “the demultiplexer if a first demultiplexer” in Line 1.
Claim 14, Line 1 should recite: the demultiplexer is a first demultiplexer.
Appropriate correction is required.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 4 and 6-8 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 4-6 and 11 of U.S. Patent No. 11,518,260 in view of Perez et al. (2018/0358839).
Claim 1 is rejected over claim 4 of U.S. Patent No. 11,518,260.
Claim 4 of US Patent No. 11,518,260 contains the limitations of Claim 1 including a renewable energy collection device to collect renewable energy from a renewable source.
Claim 4 of US Patent No. 11,518,260 does not recite a power grid connection to receive energy from a power grid.
Perez teaches a system for charging vehicles (20) (Fig.1), the system comprising: a renewable energy collection device (44 and 52) to collect renewable energy from a renewable source (40 and 50) (Par.39); and a power grid connection to receive energy from a power grid (14) (Par.38).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have had modified Claim 4 of US Patent No. 11,518,260 as disclosed in Perez to have had provided power from the grid if the renewable sources are depleted (Par.41) thereby ensuring enough electricity is available to meet the power demand.
Claim 4 is rejected over claim 4 of U.S. Patent No. 11,518,260 in view of Perez.
Claim 4 of US Patent No. 11,518,260 does not recite wherein the power grid connection is configured to electrically connect the electrical energy storage bank to the power grid.
Perez teaches the power grid connection is configured to electrically connect an electrical energy storage bank (60) (Fig.1) to the power grid (14) (Par.40).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have had modified Claim 4 of US Patent No. 11,518,260 as disclosed in Perez to have had provided power from an energy storage bank when necessary (Par.39); and have had charged the energy storage bank from a power grid based on available power thereby optimizing the use of multiple power sources (Par.40).
Claim 6 corresponds to claim 5 of U.S. Patent No. 11,518,260.
Claim 7 corresponds to claim 6 of U.S. Patent No. 11,518,260.
Claim 8 corresponds to claim 11 of U.S. Patent No. 11,518,260.
Claims 2-3 and 5 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 4 of U.S. Patent No. 11,518,260 in view of Perez et al. (2018/0358839), and further in view of Gohla-Neudecker et al. (US 2020/0001730).
Claims 2-3 are rejected over claim 4 of U.S. Patent No. 11,518,260 in view of Perez.
The combination of Claim 4 of U.S. Patent No. 11,518,260 and Perez does not disclose wherein the power grid connection is configured to electrically connect the high-voltage capacitor to the power grid; further comprising a converter to convert the energy from the power grid into a form for receipt by the high-voltage capacitor.
Gohla-Neudecker teaches a power grid connection configured to electrically connect a high-voltage capacitor (19; dual-layer capacitor) (Fig.2) to a power grid (10) (Par.39); further comprising a converter (18’) to convert the energy from the power grid (10) into a form for receipt by the high-voltage capacitor (19; dual-layer capacitor) (Par.39).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have had modified the combination of Claim 4 of US Patent No. 11,518,260 in view of Perez as disclosed in Gohla-Neudecker to have had delivered a large electrical power to a motor vehicle, greater than the electrical power that can be provided by the grid (Par.10).
Claim 5 is rejected over claim 4 of U.S. Patent No. 11,518,260 in view of Perez.
The combination of Claim 4 of U.S. Patent No. 11,518,260 and Perez does not disclose wherein the power grid is connected to both of the high-voltage capacitor and the electrical energy storage bank.
Gohla-Neudecker discloses a power grid (10) (Fig.2) connected to both a high-voltage capacitor (19; dual-layer capacitor) and an electrical energy storage bank (19; batteries) (Par.39).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to have had modified the combination of Claim 4 of US Patent No. 11,518,260 in view of Perez as disclosed in Gohla-Neudecker to have had been able to store enough electric energy (Par.23).
Claim 20 corresponds to claims 16 and 23 of U.S. Patent No. 11,518,260.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 9, 16 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Perez et al. (2018/0358839).
Claim 9: Perez teaches a method of charging a battery of a vehicle (20), the method comprising: receiving at a charging system (10) (Fig.1) renewable electrical energy from one or more renewable energy sources (40 and 50) (Par.39);
determining that an additional amount of the electrical energy is needed (Par.41);
in response to determining that the additional electrical energy is needed, receiving at the charging system (10) additional electrical energy from a power grid (14) (Par.41); and
dispensing from the charging system (10) electrical energy comprising both the renewable electrical energy (40 and 50) and the additional electric energy and charging the battery of the vehicle (20) (Par.12, 37 and 41).
Claim 16: Perez teaches the limitations of claim 9 as disclosed above. Perez teaches further comprising converting the renewable electrical energy to a different form prior to dispensing the electrical energy (Par.39).
Claim 18: Perez teaches the limitations of claim 9 as disclosed above. Perez wherein receiving the renewable electrical energy from the one or more renewable energy sources comprises receiving the renewable electrical energy from at least one of solar power (40) and wind power (Par.39).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 10-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Perez et al. (2018/0358839) as applied to claim 9 above, and further in view of Kaniki (US 2020/0160461).
Claims 10-11: Perez teaches the limitations of claim 9 as disclosed above. Perez does not explicitly teach further comprising directing the electrical energy to a demultiplexer prior to dispensing the electrical energy and charging the battery of the vehicle; wherein dispensing the electrical energy comprises dispensing a first portion of the electrical energy from the demultiplexer and charging the battery, the method further comprising directing a second portion of the electrical energy from the demultiplexer to an electrical energy storage bank that is separate from the battery of the vehicle.
Kaniki teaches comprising directing electrical energy to a demultiplexer (102) (Fig.1) prior to dispensing the electrical energy and charging a battery of a vehicle (104) (Par.27); wherein dispensing the electrical energy comprises dispensing a first portion of the electrical energy from the demultiplexer (10) and charging the battery (Par.27), the method further comprising directing a second portion of the electrical energy from the demultiplexer (102) to an electrical energy storage bank (101) that is separate from the battery of the vehicle (104) (Par.27).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have had the teachings of Kaniki in the system of Perez to have had directed an allocated desired energy between an energy source to one or more output destinations (Par.26-27).
Claim 12: Perez in view of Kaniki teaches the limitations of claim 11 as disclosed above. Perez does not explicitly teach further comprising directing the first portion of the electrical energy to the battery prior to receiving the additional electrical energy.
Kaniki teaches further comprising directing the first portion of the electrical energy to the battery (104) prior to receiving additional electrical energy from the power grid (105) (Par.33 and 35; Receiving power from 107 prior to 105).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have had the teachings of Kaniki in the system of Perez to have had utilized the most cost-effective energy source (Par.35).
Claim 13: Perez in view of Kaniki teaches the limitations of claim 11 as disclosed above. Perez teaches further comprising receiving the additional electrical energy (from power grid 14) at the electrical energy storage device (60) (Par.40).
Claims 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Perez et al. (2018/0358839) in view of Kaniki (US 2020/0160461) as applied to claim 11 above, and further in view of Eldridge et al. (US 2020/0124683).
Claim 14-15: Perez in view of Kaniki teaches the limitations of claim 11 as disclosed above. Perez in view of Kaniki does not discloses wherein the demultiplexer is a first demultiplexer, the method further comprising: directing the electrical energy from the electrical energy storage bank to a second demultiplexer; and dispending the electrical energy from the second demultiplexer to the battery of the vehicle; further comprising simultaneously directing the electrical energy from the first demultiplexer and the second demultiplexer to the battery.
Eldridge teaches dispensing electrical energy comprises dispensing a first portion of the electrical energy from a demultiplexer (8) (Fig.1) and charging an electric load (12) (Par.33); the demultiplexer (8) is a first demultiplexer, the method further comprising: directing the electrical energy from an electrical energy storage bank (10) to a second demultiplexer (6) (Par.33); and dispending the electrical energy from the second demultiplexer (6) to the electric load (12) (Par.33); further comprising simultaneously directing the electrical energy from the first demultiplexer (8) and the second demultiplexer (6) to the electric load (12) (Par.33) (Fig.1).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have had the teachings of Eldridge in the combination of Perez in view of Kaniki to have had distributed and metered first and second electric powers separately (Par.33) thereby improving power distribution operation.
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Perez et al. (2018/0358839) as applied to claim 16 above, and further in view of Gohla-Neudecker et al. (US 2020/0001730).
Claim 17: Perez teaches the limitations of claim 16 as disclosed above. Perez does not explicitly teach further comprising receiving the additional electrical energy from the power grid at a high-voltage capacitor.
Gohla-Neudecker teaches receiving electrical energy from a power grid (10) (Fig.2) at a high-voltage capacitor (19; dual-layer capacitor) (Par.39).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have had the teachings of Gohla-Neudecker in the system of Perez to have had delivered a large electrical power to a motor vehicle, greater than the electrical power that can be provided by the grid (Par.10).
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Perez et al. (2018/0358839) as applied to claim 9 above, and further in view of Allison et al. (US 2019/0322189).
Claim 19: Perez teaches the limitations of claim 9 as disclosed above. Perez does not explicitly teach further comprising dispensing the electrical energy to the battery of the vehicle at a charging rate ranging between 100kWh to 100 MWh.
Allison teaches dispensing the electrical energy to a battery of a vehicle at a charging rate ranging between 100kWh to 100 MWh (Par.3; 1200kWh).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have had the teachings of Allison in the system of Perez to have had charged a vehicle’s high power battery in a short amount of time (Par.3).
Conclusion
/JOHALI A TORRES RUIZ/Examiner, Art Unit 2859
/JULIAN D HUFFMAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2859