DETAILED ACTION
Response to amendment
2. This is a Final Office action in response to applicant’s remarks/arguments filed on 10/31/2025.
3. Status of the claims:
• No claims have been amended.
• Claims 1-14 are currently pending and have been examined.
Response to remarks/arguments
4. Applicant’s remarks/arguments filed on 10/31/2025 with respect to the rejection of claims 1, 5, 9 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
5. Regarding independent claim 1, on pages 1-4 of Applicant’s remarks dated 10/31/2025, Applicant states that the disclosed operations in Inoue do not disclose generating a constant amplitude zero auto-correlation (CAZAC) sequence having possible constellations in the modulation method, on the basis of an order determined from the constellations in the modulation method. Inoue does not independent of an order of a constellation. By disclosing pilot signals that are orthogonal, Inoue does not suggest an ordered determined from the constellations in the modulation method. Therefore, Inoue does not disclose or suggest "the reference sequence obtaining circuitry generates a constant amplitude zero auto-correlation sequence having possible constellations in the modulation method, on the basis of an order determined from the constellations in the modulation method, parameters of the constant amplitude zero auto-correlation sequence being determined on the basis of parameters of the modulation method," as recited in claim 1.
6. In response to applicant’s remarks, the examiner respectfully disagrees. Inoue explicitly discloses generating CAZAC (e.g., Zadoff-Chu) sequences for use as pilot/reference signals in a system employing modulation schemes such as QAM (see at least Inoue, para.26, 29, 49, 131). As understood by one of ordinary skill in the art, the modulation order (e.g., 4QAM, 16QAM, 64QAM) inherently defines the constellation size, and thus an “order determined from the constellations” is an inherent parameter of the modulation method. Moreover, the claims do not require an explicit, separately labeled step of “determining an order,” but merely that the CAZAC sequence be generated on the basis of such an order. Inoue teaches selecting parameters of the CAZAC sequence based on system and modulation parameters (see at least Inoue, para. 49, 131), which necessarily include the modulation order. The generation of orthogonal pilot sequences in a multipath environment using CAZAC sequences presupposes knowledge of modulation parameters, including constellation order, as these parameters affect sequence length, structure, and orthogonality. Applicant’s assertion that orthogonal signals can be obtained independent of constellation order does not negate the fact that Inoue bases its CAZAC sequence generation on modulation parameters, which include the modulation order. The claims do not require that constellation order be the only factor used, nor that it be used in isolation.
7. Claim 5 depends from claim 1. Since the arguments presented for independent claim 1 are not persuasive and the rejection of claim 1 is maintained, and Applicant has not presented separate arguments addressing additional limitations of claim 5, the rejection of claim 5 is also maintained.
8. Regarding independent claim 9, on pages 1-4 of Applicant’s remarks dated 10/31/2025, Applicant argues that Inoue does not describe or suggest “giving a phase rotation depending on a bit sequence to a reference sequence. Inoue, therefore, does not describe or suggest “the reference sequence for data having the reference sequence given a phase rotation, the phase rotation depending on an information sequence to be transmitted,” and asserts that Inoue merely describes modulation order without tying phase rotation to an information sequence.
9. In response to applicant’s remarks, the examiner respectfully disagrees. Inoue discloses generating reference sequences for data transmission in which phase characteristics are modified based on transmitted information (see at least Inoue, para. 61, 128-131). In particular, Inoue teaches applying phase rotations to reference sequences in association with modulation and data mapping processes. As understood by one of ordinary skill in the art, phase rotation in digital modulation schemes (including QAM) is inherently dependent on the information sequence being transmitted, as different bit sequences correspond to different phase states. Furthermore, Inoue discloses that the symbol sequence length of the reference sequence is selected relative to the modulation order (see Inoue, para. 131), which satisfies the limitation that “the reference sequence having a symbol sequence length equal to or smaller than a modulation order of a modulation method used for data transmission.”
The claim does not require an explicit statement that phase rotation is “caused by” a bit sequence, only that the phase rotation depends on the information sequence. Inoue’s modulation-based phase adjustment necessarily depends on the transmitted data symbols, which are derived from the information sequence. Therefore, Inoue discloses or inherently teaches all the limitations of independent claim 9.
For the all reasons set forth above, Applicant’s arguments do not overcome the current rejections of claims 1, 5, and 9.
Please the rejections below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
12. Claim(s) 1, 5, 9 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by INOUE et al. (US 20150117390 A1), hereinafter INOUE et al.
Regarding claim 1, INOUE discloses a transmission device comprising:
reference sequence obtaining circuitry to obtain a reference sequence having a symbol sequence length equal to or smaller than a modulation order in a modulation method used for data transmission (INOUE, Figs. 2-4, para. 131: the modulation order of QAM is four or more (e.g. 4QAM, 16 QAM, 64QAM), therefore, the symbol sequence length of 4 symbols is a length of less than or equal to the modulation order of the modulation scheme used for data transmission. Moreover, the reference sequence is a sequence having a symbol sequence length less than or equal to the modulation order of the modulation scheme used for data transmission), the reference sequence having a constant amplitude in a time domain and a frequency domain (INOUE, para. 27: A CAZAC sequence is a sequence that has a constant amplitude in both time and frequency domains);
training sequence generating circuitry to generate a training sequence including the reference sequence (INOUE, para. 61: CAZAC sequences are generated as said pilot signal sequences); and
transmission circuitry to transmit a signal including the training sequence (INOUE, para. 59: a radio transmission apparatus for transmitting signals by transmitting pilot signal sequences), wherein
the reference sequence obtaining circuitry determines a sequence length of the reference sequence so that an integral multiple of the sequence length of the reference sequence is equal to the modulation order or to a value obtained by dividing the modulation order by 2 (INOUE, Figs. 2-4, para. 128-131: the reference sequence is a sequence having a symbol sequence length less than or equal to the modulation order of the modulation scheme used for data transmission. Moreover, the frequency blocks through which pilot signals are transmitted is constituted of bandwidth W and its integer multiples), and
the reference sequence obtaining circuitry generates a constant amplitude zero auto-correlation sequence having possible constellations in the modulation method, on the basis of an order determined from the constellations in the modulation method, parameters of the constant amplitude zero auto-correlation sequence being determined on the basis of parameters of the modulation method (INOUE, para. 26, 29, 49, 131: as a pilot signal sequence, CAZAC (Constant Amplitude Zero Auto-Correlation) sequences have drawn attention. In CDM of the pilot signals, all the users use CAZAC sequences of an identical sequence length added with a cyclic shift unique to each user. If the cyclic shift time is taken to be equal to or longer than the expected maximum delay, the pilot signals of all the users under the multipath environment can be made orthogonal to one another. This is feasible based on the property that the self-correlation value of a CAZAC sequence constantly becomes `0` other than when the phase difference is `0`).
Regarding claim 5, INOUE discloses the transmission device according to claim 1, further comprising:
data reference sequence obtaining circuitry to generate a reference sequence for data (INOUE, para. 121, Claim 1: generate a first reference signal including a sequence having a first sequence length corresponding to a first bandwidth assigned for data transmission), the reference sequence for data having a reference sequence given a phase rotation, the reference sequence having a symbol sequence length equal to or smaller than a modulation order of a modulation method used for data transmission, the phase rotation depending on an information sequence to be transmitted (INOUE, Figs. 2-4, para. 131: the modulation order of QAM is four or more (e.g. 4QAM, 16 QAM, 64QAM), therefore, the symbol sequence length of 4 symbols is a length of less than or equal to the modulation order of the modulation scheme used for data transmission. Moreover, the reference sequence is a sequence having a symbol sequence length less than or equal to the modulation order of the modulation scheme used for data transmission), wherein the signal includes the reference sequence for data (INOUE, para. 121, claim 1: generate a first reference signal including a sequence having a first sequence length corresponding to a first bandwidth assigned for data transmission).
Regarding claim 9, INOUE discloses a transmission device comprising:
reference sequence obtaining circuitry to obtain a reference sequence having a symbol sequence length equal to or smaller than a modulation order in a modulation method used for data transmission (INOUE, Figs. 2-4, para. 131: the modulation order of QAM is four or more (e.g. 4QAM, 16 QAM, 64QAM), therefore, the symbol sequence length of 4 symbols is a length of less than or equal to the modulation order of the modulation scheme used for data transmission. Moreover, the reference sequence is a sequence having a symbol sequence length less than or equal to the modulation order of the modulation scheme used for data transmission), the reference sequence having a constant amplitude in a time domain and a frequency domain (INOUE, para. 27: A CAZAC sequence is a sequence that has a constant amplitude in both time and frequency domains); and
transmission circuitry to transmit a signal including the reference sequence (INOUE, para. 59: a radio transmission apparatus for transmitting signals by transmitting pilot signal sequences), wherein
the reference sequence obtaining circuitry generates a reference sequence for data (INOUE, para. 61: CAZAC sequences are generated as said pilot signal sequences), the reference sequence for data having the reference sequence given a phase rotation, the reference sequence having a symbol sequence length equal to or smaller than a modulation order of a modulation method used for data transmission, the phase rotation depending on an information sequence to be transmitted (INOUE, Figs. 2-4, para. 128-131: the reference sequence is a sequence having a symbol sequence length less than or equal to the modulation order of the modulation scheme used for data transmission. Moreover, the frequency blocks through which pilot signals are transmitted is constituted of bandwidth W and its integer multiples), and the signal includes the reference sequence for data (INOUE, para. 61: CAZAC sequences are generated as said pilot signal sequences).
Allowable Subject Matter
13. Claims 2-4, 6-8, 10-14 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
14. The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
The following applicant’s claim limitations “wherein the reference sequence obtaining circuitry regards pi/4-shift differential quadrature phase shift keying as a set of constellations of 8-phase shift keying, and generates the constant amplitude zero auto-correlation sequence with possible constellations in pi/4-shift quadrature phase shift keying temporally corresponding to even symbols and odd symbols”, as recited in claim 2, distinguishes over the prior art of record in that the closest prior art of record, the examiner found neither prior art cited in its entirely, nor based on the prior art, found any motivation to combine any of said prior art references which teaches the applicant’s claim limitations above.
The following applicant’s claim limitations “wherein the reference sequence obtaining circuitry obtains the reference sequence that is a bit, the training sequence generating circuitry generates the training sequence that is a bit sequence including the reference sequence, and the transmission circuitry multiplexes a data symbol sequence and the training sequence on a bit-by-bit basis, and generates a transmission sequence including the data symbol sequence and the constant amplitude zero auto-correlation sequence conforming to a rule associated with the modulation method”, as recited in claim 3, distinguishes over the prior art of record in that the closest prior art of record, the examiner found neither prior art cited in its entirely, nor based on the prior art, found any motivation to combine any of said prior art references which teaches the applicant’s claim limitations above.
The following applicant’s claim limitations “a reception device for receiving a signal transmitted by the transmission device according to claim 5, the reception device comprising: information extracting circuitry to extract radio environment information on a desired wave on the basis of a received signal; and processing circuitry to give the received signal a phase rotation, the phase rotation being a reverse of a phase rotation given to each candidate for a data reference sequence to be transmitted in the transmission device, and combine the received signal resulting from the phase rotation, with symbols corresponding to the data reference sequence”, as recited in claims 10 and 14, distinguishes over the prior art of record in that the closest prior art of record, the examiner found neither prior art cited in its entirely, nor based on the prior art, found any motivation to combine any of said prior art references which teaches the applicant’s claim limitations above.
Claims 4, 6-8, 11-13 are objected for their dependence on objected claims 2 or 3, directly or indirectly.
Conclusion
15. THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JEAN F VOLTAIRE/Examiner, Art Unit 2466
/CHRISTOPHER M CRUTCHFIELD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2466