Response to Amendment
This is in response to Applicant’s amendment which was filed on 12/18/2025 and has been entered. Claims 1, 7, 16 and 22 have been amended. Claims 2, 8, 17 and 23 have been cancelled. No claims have been added. Claims 1, 3-7, 9-16, 18-22 and 24-30 are pending in this application, with claims 1, 7, 16 and 22 being independent.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claims have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-7, 9-16, 18-22 and 24-30 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over “Solution for paging collision avoidance, S2-2000116” herein after “Qualcomm” in view of WO 2017/136078 (“Challa et al.”).
Regarding claim 1, Qualcomm discloses a communication method comprising:
determining, by a terminal device, first indication information based on states of a plurality of universal subscriber identity modules, USIMs (6.x.1 multi sim device paging monitoring occasions for different USIMs are overlapping in time domain);
wherein the first indication information indicates at least one of: to enable or disable a paging enhancement function, or to enable or disable a paging occasion collision avoidance and the terminal device comprises the plurality of USIMs (6.x.3.2 the UE may provide and option to dynamically enable or disable the secondary USIM to update the paging collision avoidance indication in registration update procedure); and
sending, by the terminal device, the first indication information to an access and mobility management function, AMF (Page 4, Figure 6.X.3.1, step 1, UE reports the paging collision avoidance indication to AMF via NAS message).
Qualcomm discloses a paging enhancement request in section 2. The receipt of the paging message with the service category enabling the paging enhancement function. The paging enhancement function indicates service information that triggers paging of the terminal device based on the service information that triggers paging (page 4, 6.x.3.2 AMF decides to send the paging collision avoidance indication to RAN based on the NAS information received from UE, subscription information, policy information and local configuration). However Qualcomm does not specify “wherein the paging enhancement function is used to filter paging of the terminal device based on service information that triggers paging” as claimed.
In a similar field of endeavor, Challa et al. discloses filtering paging occasions (POs) by prioritizing specific networks by using associated SIM information to monitor multiple subscriptions. The method for a wireless communication device includes determining valid paging occasions associated with the first subscription, determining a selected paging occasion of the valid paging occasions based on at least one of activities of the second subscription or a sleep period of the first subscription, and receiving a page of the first subscription on the selected paging occasion ([0005]). The selected paging occasions corresponding to the claimed paging enhancement function of filtering.
A person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention would have been motivated to combine the teachings to arrive at the claimed invention because the paging enhancement function using filtering optimizes power consumption and reduces page loss when multiple SIMs share a single RF chain.
Regarding claim 7, Qualcomm discloses a communication method applied to an access and mobility management function and comprising:
Receiving first indication information from a terminal device (Page 4, Figure 6.X.3.1, step 1, UE reports the paging collision avoidance indication to AMF via NAS message), wherein the terminal device comprises
a plurality of universal subscriber identity modules (USIMs), and the first indication information is determined based on states of the plurality of USIMs (6.x.1 multi sim device paging monitoring occasions for different USIMs are overlapping in time domain); and
enabling or disabling a paging enhancement function based on the first indication information; (6.x.3.2 the UE may provide and option to dynamically enable or disable the secondary USIM to update the paging collision avoidance indication in registration update procedure).
Qualcomm discloses a paging enhancement request in section 2. The receipt of the paging message with the service category enabling the paging enhancement function. The paging enhancement function indicates service information that triggers paging of the terminal device based on the service information that triggers paging (page 4, 6.x.3.2 AMF decides to send the paging collision avoidance indication to RAN based on the NAS information received from UE, subscription information, policy information and local configuration). However Qualcomm does not specify “wherein the paging enhancement function is used to filter paging of the terminal device based on service information that triggers paging” as claimed.
In a similar field of endeavor, Challa et al. discloses filtering paging occasions (POs) by prioritizing specific networks by using associated SIM information to monitor multiple subscriptions. The method for a wireless communication device includes determining valid paging occasions associated with the first subscription, determining a selected paging occasion of the valid paging occasions based on at least one of activities of the second subscription or a sleep period of the first subscription, and receiving a page of the first subscription on the selected paging occasion ([0005]). The selected paging occasions corresponding to the claimed paging enhancement function of filtering.
A person of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claim invention would have been motivated to combine the teachings to arrive at the claimed invention because the paging enhancement function using filtering optimizes power consumption and reduces page loss when multiple SIMs share a single RF chain.
Claim 16 recites a communication apparatus, wherein the apparatus is a terminal device, and comprises: processor, configured to implement the method of claim 1. Thus claim 16 is rejected in view of Qualcomm in view of Challa et al. for the same reasons discussed in claim 1.
Claim 22 recites a communication apparatus, wherein the apparatus is an access and mobility management function (AMF) communication apparatus implementing the method of claim 7. Thus claim 22 is rejected in view of Qualcomm in view of CHALLA ET AL. for the same reasons discussed in claim 7.
Claims 3, 9, 10, 18, 24 and 25, Qualcomm in view of CHALLA ET AL. discloses wherein the first indication information indicates to enable the paging enhancement function, the plurality of USIMs comprise a first USIM and a second USIM, the first USIM is in a connected state, the second USIM is in an idle or inactive state and
the sending, by the terminal device, the first indication information to an AMF communication apparatus comprises: sending, by the terminal device, the first indication information to an AMF communication apparatus corresponding to the second USIM and
sending, by the AMF communication apparatus, a first notification message to a session management function of the second USIM, wherein the first notification message notifies the session management function to enable the paging enhancement function (Qualcomm discloses a paging enhancement request in section 2. Additionally, CHALLA ET AL. discloses the operation of sending a paging message including a service category to a multi-USIM terminal during paging indicating an idle/inactive state ([0060-0061]).
Regarding claims 4, 11, 12, 19, 26 and 27, Qualcomm in view of CHALLA ET AL. discloses wherein the first indication information indicates to disable the paging enhancement function, the plurality of USIMs comprise a first USIM and a second USIM, the first USIM is in an idle or inactive state, the second USIM is in an idle or inactive state, and the AMF communication apparatus is at least one of an AMF communication apparatus corresponding to the first USIM, or and/or an AMF communication apparatus corresponding to the second USIM (Challa, determining the selected paging occasion of the valid paging occasions based on at least one of the activities of the second subscription or the sleep period of the first subscription includes determining a first paging occasion of the valid paging occasions based on the activities of the second subscription); and
sending, by the AMF communication apparatus, a second notification message to a session management function corresponding to the first USIM or a session management function corresponding to the second USIM, wherein the second notification message notifies the session management function to disable the paging enhancement function (Qualcomm, 6.x.3.1 and 6.x.3.2, the UE may provide an option to the user to dynamically enable or disable the secondary USIM. When the UE changes between single USIM and MUSIM mode, it is allowed by UE to update the paging enhancement function indication in registration update procedure).
Claims 5, 13, 14, 20, 28 and 29, Qualcomm discloses wherein the first indication information indicates to enable a paging occasion collision avoidance function, the plurality of USIMs comprise a first USIM and a second USIM, the first USIM is in an idle or inactive state, the second USIM is in an idle or inactive state, a paging occasion (PO) of the first USIM is the same as a PO of the second USIM, and the AMF communication apparatus is an AMF communication apparatus corresponding to the first USIM or an AMF communication apparatus corresponding to the second USIM (page 4, Fig. 6.x.1-3 PO collision reoccur, state of each SIM 1, SIM2, 6.x.3.2 UE reports the paging collision avoidance indication to AMF via NAS message in step 1. Whether paging collision avoidance is allowed or not may be stored in subscription information); and
wherein the enabling, by the AMF communication apparatus, the paging occasion collision avoidance function comprises: sending, by the AMF communication apparatus, a paging message to an access network device, wherein the paging message indicates to enable the paging occasion collision avoidance function. (sections 6.X.1, 6.X.2, 6.X.3, AMF provides option for user to dynamically enable or disable secondary USIM).
Regarding claims 6, 15, 21 and 30, Qualcomm discloses wherein the first indication information indicates to disable the paging occasion collision avoidance function, the plurality of USIMs comprise a first USIM and a second USIM, the first USIM is in an idle or inactive state, the second USIM is in a connected state, and the access and mobility management function is an access and mobility management function corresponding to the first USM (Fig. 6.x.3.1-1 AMF communication apparatus, 6.x.3.2, AMF provides option for user to dynamically enable or disable secondary USIM, 6.x.1 during the mobility in idle there is a paging collision indication).
Conclusion
/JIRAPON TULOP/Examiner, Art Unit 2693