Detailed Action
The present office action is in response to the reply filed on 10 Jun 2026.
Status
Claims 11 and 13-20 of the pending application have been examined on the merits. Acknowledgement is made of the amendments filed 10 Jun 2026. Acknowledgement is made of the cancellation of claims 1-10 and 12.
Priority
Applicants identify the instant application, Serial #: 17/990,976, filed 21 Nov 2022, as a Continuation of International Patent Application #: PCT/CN2022/091105, filed 06 May 2022, which claims foreign priority from Foreign Application #: CN2021105096975, filed 22 May 2021.
Response to Applicant Arguments
Acknowledgement is made of the remarks filed 10 Jun 2026.
Examiner thanks applicant for correcting the record regarding WO 2021/024872 which was misidentified as WO 2021/024871 in the office action mailed 12 Feb 2026. The record has been corrected below.
The objection to claim 14 is rendered moot following applicant amendments.
The rejection of claim 13 under 35 U.S.C. § 112(b) is rendered moot following applicant amendments.
The rejection of claims 11 and 13 under 35 U.S.C. § 102(a)(1) over WO 2021/024872 is rendered moot following applicant amendments.
Regarding the rejection of claims 11-14 under 35 U.S.C. § 103 over US 2021/0060096, hereinafter ‘096, Kim et al. (J Microbiol Biotechnol, 1995, 5:149-153; provided in the office action mailed 12 Feb 2026), hereinafter Kim, Tian et al. (Biochem Biophys Res Commun, 2019, 516, 430-436; provided in the office action mailed 12 Feb 2026), hereinafter Tian, and CICC 24632 (www.china-cicc.org, Bifidobacterium longum, CICC 24632, accessed 30 Jan 2026; provided in the office action mailed 12 Feb 2026), hereinafter CICC; applicant arguments filed 10 Jun 2026 have been fully considered but are not persuasive. Claims 16-17 and 19-20 have been included in the rejection below and the rejection has been amended to reflect the new grounds of rejection. This is necessitated by applicant amendment.
Applicant argues on pg. 11 of the remarks that the cited reference does not provide evidence that discloses or suggests a drug formulation comprising specific microbiota derived plasmalogens comprising 158.3 mg/g of choline plasmalogen, 241.8 mg/g of ethanolamine plasmalogen, 11.0 mg/g of serine plasmalogen, 367.1 mg/g of phosphatidylglycerol plasmalogen, and 181.0 mg/g of phosphatidic acid plasmalogen.
This is not persuasive. By teaching all the elements of the claims, ‘096, Kim, Tian, and CICC teach the inherent properties of the drug of the instant claims. Because ‘096, Kim, Tian, and CICC do not teach purification of the plasmalogen component, the claims directed to plasmalogens of greater than 90% purity are not rejected by the prior art.
In light of the discussion above, the rejection of claims 11, 13-14, 16-17, and 19-20 under 35 U.S.C. § 103, as obvious over ‘096, Kim, Tian, and CICC is amended for the reasons of record and restated below
Claim Objections
Claims 15 and 18 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 11, 13-14, 16-17, and 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 over US 2021/0060096, hereinafter ‘096, further in view of Kim et al. (J Microbiol Biotechnol, 1995, 5:149-153), hereinafter Kim, Tian et al. (Biochem Biophys Res Commun, 2019, 516, 430-436), hereinafter Tian, in light of CICC.
‘096 teaches that administering B. longum ATCC BAA-999 improved depression scores for patients (paragraph [0005]). ‘096 further teaches that B. longum ATCC BAA-999 may be cultured according to any suitable method and the bacteria may be administered orally in the form of a drink (paragraphs [0059]-[0060]). ‘096 also teaches that B. longum ATCC BAA-999 has the trademarked name of BB536 (paragraph [0048]). ‘096 further teaches administering the composition in an amount that provides a therapeutically effective dose of the B. longum ATCC BAA-999 (paragraph [0080]). However, ‘096 does not teach the specific mg/g values of the plasmalogens or culturing B. longum in MRS media.
Kim teaches that B. longum was grown in MRS media under anaerobic conditions and found good growth (pg. 149, column 2; pg. 151, column 1).
Tian teaches that Clostridium butyricum has neuroprotective effects on mood disorders and that preventive supplementation of C. butyricum in mice helped alleviate depression-like phenotypes in mice.
CICC, cited for evidence, teaches that B. longum BB536 is B. longum CICC 24632.
Based on the teachings of ‘096 and Kim, the artisan would have an expectation of success in growing B. longum in MRS media under anaerobic conditions. The artisan would find MRS media suitable for growing B. longum.
It would be prima facie obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to combine the composition of B. longum with the composition of C. butyricum to create a third composition for the treatment of depression with a reasonable expectation of success. See In re Kerkhoven, 626 F.2d 846, 850, 205 USPQ 1069, 1072 (CCPA 1980).
The instant application identifies that when combined, B. longum CICC 24632 and C. butyricum have a plasmalogen composition of choline plasmalogens (158.3 mg/g), ethanolamine plasmalogens (241.8 mg/g), serine plasmalogens (11.0 mg/g), phosphatidylglycerol plasmalogens (367.1 mg/g), and phosphatidic acid plasmalogens (181.0 mg/g). MPEP § 2112(II) states, “There is no requirement that a person of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized the inherent disclosure at the relevant time, but only that the subject matter is in fact inherent in the prior art reference. Schering Corp. v. Geneva Pharm. Inc., 339 F.3d 1373, 1377, 67 USPQ2d 1664, 1668 (Fed. Cir. 2003).” It is inherent that a combination of B. longum CICC 24632 and C. butyricum have the claimed composition of plasmalogens and so ‘096 and Tian make obvious the total mass of the instantly claimed plasmalogens.
Conclusion
No claim is allowed. THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Correspondence
/J.D.M./Examiner, Art Unit 1625
/Andrew D Kosar/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1625