DETAILED ACTION
Introduction
This action responds to the amendment filed on 11-07-2025. Claims 1 and 2 have been amended and claims 11-13 have been withdrawn. Claims 1-10 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
5. Claims 1-10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shiner et al. (US 2020/0112806) in view of Shdema et al. (US 2002/0072816).
Consider Claim 1, Shiner teaches a method for determining operational status of one or more power-over-Ethernet powered loudspeakers(see fig. 4), the method comprising:
receiving (see fig. 4(120)) audio data at an audio receiver;
transmitting(see fig. 4(102)) the received audio data from the audio receiver to one or more audio data interface speakers using an audio-over-Internet Protocol (AoIP)(see fig. 4(AOIP)) encoding scheme using an Ethernet cable(see figs. 4-8 and paragraphs[0117]-[0128]), wherein each of the one or more audio data interface speakers comprises a status monitor (see figs. 4-8 and paragraphs[0036]-[0044]);
receiving(see fig. 4(114)) the transmitted (AoIP)(see fig. 4(AOIP)) encoded audio data at the one or more audio data interface device, converting the encoded audio data to an analog audio data signal, transmitting the analog audio data signal to at least PoE powered loudspeaker that receives the analog audio data signal from the one or more audio data interface speakers(see figs. 4-8 and paragraphs[0105]-[00114]), and
substantially(see fig. 4(110)) continuously receiving and storing operational status information regarding an operating state of the at least one PoE powered loudspeaker by the status monitor located in each of the one or more audio data interface speakers(see figs. 8B-10))(see figs. 4-10 and paragraphs[0132]-[0141]); wherein such operational status information(see fig. 10(120)) comprises whether or not the at least one PoE powered loudspeaker is operational(such as switch on or off for PoE powered loudspeaker) (see fig. 10(1008) and paragraphs[0134]-[00143]); but Shiner does not explicitly teach a status monitor located in each of the one or more audio data interface devices.
However, Shdema teaches receiving(see figs. 1-3) the transmitted AoIP encoded audio data at the one or more audio data interface devices(see fig. 1(114A-114F)), converting the encoded audio data to an analog audio data signal, transmitting the analog audio data signal to at least one loudspeaker, and broadcasting the same as an acoustic audio signal(see figs. 1-4 and paragraphs[0066]-[0087]);
substantially (see(see fig.2(102)), fig. 4, fig. 8) continuously receiving and storing status information by a status monitor located in each of the one or more audio data interface devices audio data interface devices(see fig. 1(114A-114F)); and transmitting(see fig. 1(102)) the received and stored status information to the audio receiver(see figs. 1-4 and paragraphs[0034]-[0065]), wherein such operational status information(see fig.2(102)) comprises whether or not the at least one PoE powered loudspeaker is operational (see figs. 1-4 and paragraphs[0094]-[0107]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date the of claimed invention was made to combine the teaching of Shdema into Shiner to provide audio system for operating a plurality of speakers, the audio system including an audio management system connected to the speakers via a network, a user interface connected to the audio management system, and an audio source cluster connected to the audio management system, wherein the audio management system operates the speakers by transmitting audio streams and speaker audio control data to the network, and wherein the audio management system determines the speaker audio control data, according to a plurality of parameters.
Consider Claim 2, Shiner teaches a system for determining operational status of one or more power-over-Ethernet powered loudspeakers(see fig. 4), comprising:
an audio receiver(see fig. 4(120));
at least one processor that is part of the audio receiver(see fig. 4(114));
a memory operatively connected with the at least one processor, wherein the memory stores computer-executable instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor(see fig. 1(110)), causes the at least one processor to execute a method that(see figs. 4-10 and paragraphs[0015]-[0019]) comprises:
receiving (see fig. 4(120)) audio data at an audio receiver;
transmitting(see fig. 4(102)) the received audio data from the audio receiver to one or more audio data interface speakers using an audio-over-Internet Protocol (AoIP)(see fig. 4(AOIP)) encoding scheme using an Ethernet cable(see figs. 4-8 and paragraphs[0117]-[0128]), wherein each of the one or more audio data interface speakers comprises a status monitor (see figs. 4-8 and paragraphs[0036]-[0044]);
receiving(see fig. 4(114)) the transmitted AoIP)(see fig. 4(AOIP)) encoded audio data at the one or more audio data interface device, converting the encoded audio data to an analog audio data signal, transmitting the analog audio data signal to at least PoE powered loudspeaker that receives the analog audio data signal from the one or more audio data interface speakers(see figs. 4-8 and paragraphs[0105]-[00114]), and
substantially(see fig. 4(110)) continuously receiving and storing operational status information regarding an operating state of the at least one PoE powered loudspeaker by the status monitor located in each of the one or more audio data interface speakers(see figs. 4-10 and paragraphs[0132]-[0141]); wherein such operational status information(see fig. 10(120)) comprises whether or not the at least one PoE powered loudspeaker is operational(such as switch on or off for PoE powered loudspeaker) (see fig. 10(1008) and paragraphs[0134]-[00143]); but Shiner does not explicitly teach a status monitor located in each of the one or more audio data interface devices.
However, Shdema teaches receiving(see figs. 1-3) the transmitted AoIP encoded audio data at the one or more audio data interface devices(see fig. 1(114A-114F)), converting the encoded audio data to an analog audio data signal, transmitting the analog audio data signal to at least one loudspeaker, and broadcasting the same as an acoustic audio signal(see figs. 1-4 and paragraphs[0066]-[0087]);
substantially (see(see fig.2(102)), fig. 4, fig. 8) continuously receiving and storing status information by a status monitor located in each of the one or more audio data interface devices audio data interface devices(see fig. 1(114A-114F)); and transmitting(see fig. 1(102)) the received and stored status information to the audio receiver(see figs. 1-4 and paragraphs[0034]-[0065]); wherein such operational status information(see fig.2(102)) comprises whether or not the at least one PoE powered loudspeaker is operational (see figs. 1-4 and paragraphs[0094]-[0107]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date the of claimed invention was made to combine the teaching of Shdema into Shiner to provide audio system for operating a plurality of speakers, the audio system including an audio management system connected to the speakers via a network, a user interface connected to the audio management system, and an audio source cluster connected to the audio management system, wherein the audio management system operates the speakers by transmitting audio streams and speaker audio control data to the network, and wherein the audio management system determines the speaker audio control data, according to a plurality of parameters.
Consider Claims 3 and 4, Shiner as modified by Shdema teaches the method further comprising: transmitting the received and stored operational status information regarding the at least one PoE powered loudspeaker to the audio receiver(see figs. 4-10 and paragraphs[0132]-[0141]); and the method wherein the step of transmitting the received and stored operational status information regarding the at least one POE powered loudspeaker to the audio receiver comprises: transmitting the operational status information regarding the at least one PoE powered loudspeaker to the audio receiver on a periodic basis(see figs. 4-8 and paragraphs[0105]-[00114]).
Consider Claims 5 and 6, Shiner as modified by Shdema teaches the method wherein the step of transmitting the received and stored operational status information to the audio receiver comprises: transmitting the operational status information operational status information regarding the at least one PoE powered loudspeaker to the audio receiver whenever an anomaly in the operational status information is detected(see figs. 4-8 and paragraphs[0105]-[00114]); and the method wherein the step of transmitting the received and stored operational status information to the audio receiver comprises: transmitting the operational status information operational status information regarding the at least one PoE powered loudspeaker to the audio receiver whenever requested by the audio receiver(see figs. 4-8 and paragraphs[0105]-[00114]);
Consider Claims 7 and 8, Shiner as modified by Shdema teaches the system according wherein the method further comprises: transmitting the received and stored operational status information regarding the at least one PoE powered loudspeaker to the audio receiver(see figs. 4-8 and paragraphs[0105]-[00114]); and the system wherein the step of transmitting the received and stored operational status information regarding the at least one POE powered loudspeaker to the audio receiver comprises:
transmitting the operational status information regarding the at least one PoE powered loudspeaker to the audio receiver on a periodic basis(see figs. 4-10 and paragraphs[0132]-[0141]).
Consider Claims 9 and 10, Shiner as modified by Shdema teaches the system wherein the step of transmitting the received and stored operational status information to the audio receiver comprises: transmitting the operational status information operational status information regarding the at least one PoE powered loudspeaker to the audio receiver whenever an anomaly in the operational status information is detected(see figs. 4-8 and paragraphs[0105]-[00114]); and the system wherein the step of transmitting the received and stored operational status information to the audio receiver comprises: transmitting the operational status information operational status information regarding the at least one PoE powered loudspeaker to the audio receiver whenever requested by the audio receiver(see figs. 4-10 and paragraphs[0132]-[0141]).
Response to Arguments
6. Applicant's arguments filed on 11-05-2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Election/Restrictions
7. Applicant's election with traverse of Group II, claims 11-13 in the reply filed on 11-05-2025 is acknowledged. The traversal is on the ground(s) that the restriction is not
proper. This is not found persuasive because: I. Claims 1-10, drawn to A method for determining operational status of one or more power-over-Ethernet (PoE) powered loudspeakers, the method comprising:
receiving audio data at an audio receiver;
transmitting the received audio data from the audio receiver to one or more audio data interface devices using an audio-over-Internet Protocol (AoIP) encoding scheme using an Ethernet cable, wherein each of the one or more audio data interface devices comprises a status monitor;
receiving the transmitted AoIP encoded audio data at the one or more audio data interface devices, converting the encoded audio data to an analog audio data signal, transmitting the analog audio data signal to at least one PoE powered loudspeaker that receives the analog audio data signal from the one or more audio data interface devices, and broadcasting the same as an acoustic audio signal; and
substantially continuously receiving and storing operational status information regarding an operating state of the at least one PoE powered loudspeaker by [[a]] the status monitor located in each of the one or more audio data interface devices; is classified in H04R 29/00.CPC.
Il. Claims 11-13, drawn to a method for distributing audio signals in an audio distribution network, the audio distribution network comprising an audio receiver, a plurality of audio data interfaces connected to the audio receiver, and a plurality of power-over-ethernet (PoE) powered loudspeaker connected to the plurality of audio data interfaces, the method comprising:
receiving operating status information from each of the plurality of POE powered loudspeakers by its respective audio data interface;
storing the operating status information for each of the plurality of PoE powered loudspeakers by its respective audio data interface;
transmitting the plurality of operating status information regarding each of the plurality of PoE powered loudspeakers from its respective audio data interface to the audio receiver; and
determining a distribution of power of audio signals to the plurality of PoE powered loudspeakers based on an analysis of the plurality of the operating status information of the plurality of PoE powered loudspeakers is classified in G11B20/10527.CPC.
The inventions are distinct, each from the other. Groups I and II are related subcombinations disclosed as usable together in a single combination. The subcombinations are distinct if they do not overlap in scope and are not obvious variants, and if it is shown that at least one subcombination is separately usable.
In the instant case, Group I, drawn to receiving the transmitted AoIP encoded audio data at the one or more audio data interface devices, converting the encoded audio data to an analog audio data signal, transmitting the analog audio data signal to at least one PoE powered loudspeaker that receives the analog audio data signal from the one or more audio data interface devices, and broadcasting the same as an acoustic audio signal; and substantially continuously receiving and storing operational status information regarding an operating state of the at least one PoE powered loudspeaker by the status monitor located in each of the one or more audio data interface devices, as listed in Groups I Group II draws to receiving operating status information from each of the plurality of POE powered loudspeakers by its respective audio data interface;
storing the operating status information for each of the plurality of PoE powered loudspeakers by its respective audio data interface;
transmitting the plurality of operating status information regarding each of the plurality of PoE powered loudspeakers from its respective audio data interface to the audio receiver; and determining a distribution of power of audio signals to the plurality of PoE powered loudspeakers based on an analysis of the plurality of the operating status information of the plurality of PoE powered loudspeakers.
Because these inventions are distinct for the reasons giving above and have acquired a separate status in the art as shown by their different classifications, restriction for examination purposes as indicated is proper.
The requirement is still deemed proper and is therefore made FINAL.
Applicant argued that Shdema and Shiner, whether taken alone or in combination, fail to disclose the recited claim feature of “substantially continuously receiving and storing operational status information regarding an operating state of the at least one PoE powered loudspeaker by a status monitor located in each of the one or more audio data interface devices”(see the remarks page 8 3rd paragraph.)
The examiner respectfully disagrees that argument.
Shiner discloses receiving (see fig. 4(120)) audio data at an audio receiver;
transmitting(see fig. 4(102)) the received audio data from the audio receiver to one or more audio data interface speakers using an audio-over-Internet Protocol (AoIP)(see fig. 4(AOIP)) encoding scheme using an Ethernet cable(see figs. 4-8 and paragraphs[0117]-[0128]), wherein each of the one or more audio data interface speakers comprises a status monitor (see figs. 4-8 and paragraphs[0036]-[0044]);
receiving(see fig. 4(114)) the transmitted (AoIP)(see fig. 4(AOIP)) encoded audio data at the one or more audio data interface device, converting the encoded audio data to an analog audio data signal, transmitting the analog audio data signal to at least PoE powered loudspeaker that receives the analog audio data signal from the one or more audio data interface speakers(see figs. 4-8 and paragraphs[0105]-[00114]), and
substantially(see fig. 4(110)) continuously receiving and storing operational status information regarding an operating state of the at least one PoE powered loudspeaker by the status monitor located in each of the one or more audio data interface speakers(see figs. 8B-10))(see figs. 4-10 and paragraphs[0132]-[0141]); wherein such operational status information(see fig. 10(120)) comprises whether or not the at least one PoE powered loudspeaker is operational(such as switch on or off for PoE powered loudspeaker) (see fig. 10(1008) and paragraphs[0134]-[00143]).
On the other hand, Shdema discloses receiving(see figs. 1-3) the transmitted AoIP encoded audio data at the one or more audio data interface devices(see fig. 1(114A-114F)), converting the encoded audio data to an analog audio data signal, transmitting the analog audio data signal to at least one loudspeaker, and broadcasting the same as an acoustic audio signal(see figs. 1-4 and paragraphs[0066]-[0087]);
substantially (see fig. 4, fig. 8) continuously receiving and storing status information by a status monitor located in each of the one or more audio data interface devices audio data interface devices(see fig. 1(114A-114F)); and transmitting(see fig. 1(102)) the received and stored status information to the audio receiver(see figs. 1-4 and paragraphs[0034]-[0065]), wherein such operational status information(see fig.2(102)) comprises whether or not the at least one PoE powered loudspeaker is operational (see figs. 1-4 and paragraphs[0094]-[0107]). The combination meets the limitation as recited in claims 1 and 2.
Applicant further argued that that one of ordinary skill in the art would not be motivated to combine such prior art in an obviousness determination as asserted by the Office(see the remarks page 8, 4th paragraph).
In response to applicant’s argument that there is no teaching, suggestion, or motivation to combine the references, the examiner recognizes that obviousness may be established by combining or modifying the teachings of the prior art to produce the claimed invention where there is some teaching, suggestion, or motivation to do so found either in the references themselves or in the knowledge generally available to one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Fine, 837 F.2d 1071, 5 USPQ2d 1596 (Fed. Cir. 1988), In re Jones, 958 F.2d 347, 21 USPQ2d 1941 (Fed. Cir. 1992), and KSR International Co. v. Teleflex, Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 82 USPQ2d 1385 (2007). In this case, Shdema and Shiner both teach audio-over-Internet Protocol (AoIP) and PoE powered loudspeaker system. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date the of claimed invention was made to combine the teaching of Shdema into Shiner to provide audio system for operating a plurality of speakers, the audio system including an audio management system connected to the speakers via a network, a user interface connected to the audio management system, and an audio source cluster connected to the audio management system, wherein the audio management system operates the speakers by transmitting audio streams and speaker audio control data to the network, and wherein the audio management system determines the speaker audio control data, according to a plurality of parameters.
Conclusion
8. THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
9. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure. Lee (US 2020/0344118) is cited to show other SYSTEM AND METHOD FOR DETERMINING OPERATIONAL STATUS OF POWER-OVER-ETHERNET POWERED LOUDSPEAKERS IN AN AUDIO DISTRIBUTION SYTEM.
10. Any response to this action should be mailed to:
Mail Stop ____(explanation, e.g., Amendment or After-final, etc.)
Commissioner for Patents
P.O. Box 1450
Alexandria, VA 22313-1450
Facsimile responses should be faxed to:
(571) 273-8300
Hand-delivered responses should be brought to:
Customer Service Window
Randolph Building
401 Dulany Street
Alexandria, VA 22314
should be directed to Lao,Lun-See whose telephone number is (571) 272-7501 The examiner
can normally be reached on Monday-Friday from 8:00 to 5:30.
supervisor, Nguyen Duc M, can be reached on (571) 272-7503.
Any inquiry of a general nature or relating to the status of this application or proceeding
should be directed to the Technology Center 2600 whose telephone number is (571) 272-2600.
/LUN-SEE LAO/Primary Examiner,
Art Unit 2591 Patent Examiner
US Patent and Trademark Office
Knox
571-272-7591
Date 01-16-2026