DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 19-27 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected group, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on April 21, 2025.
Claim Objections
Claim 29 is objected to because of the following informalities:
In line 3, the term “and” is confusing.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 15-18 and 28-34 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
In claim 15, the intended use recitation is indefinite in that it is how the composition is “adapted”, such that it can be combined with an epoxy-based material.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 15-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 2008/0182945 (Malet).
Malet discloses a composition comprising:
a block copolymer having polyamide blocks and polyether blocks (meets Applicant’s block copolymer a)); and
an additional polymer inclusive of copolyamides which are not predominately composed of lauryl lactam and containing more than one polyamide unit [0050] (meets Applicant’s co-polyamide b)) (e.g., abstract, [0050]).
As to claim 15, while not expressly exemplified in the examples, it is within the purview of Malet’s inventive disclosure, and obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, to produce compositions comprising a copolyamide as component (B). The selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supports a prima facie case of obviousness, Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 65 USPQ 297. Notably, Malet does not expressly disclose that the composition can be combined with an epoxy-based material, i.e., the presently claimed intended use. Given that Malet’s composition is compositionally the same as that presently claimed, it would be expected that the former would have the same intended use. A recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim.
As to claim 16, Malet is unlimited as regards the melting point of the copolyamide (B) and, as such implicitly suggests that any melting point (inclusive of that presently claimed) can be used with the reasonable expectation of success, absent evidence of criticality thereof.
As to claim 17, Malet’s exemplified copolymers comprise polytetramethylene glycol (PTMG) polyether blocks.
As to claim 18, Malet expressly discloses copolyamides comprising different polyamide units [0050] as a viable component (B), rendering their use obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art.
Double Patenting
Claims 15-18 and 28-34 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over the claims of U.S. Patent No. 10,501,619 and 11,505,695. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the patented claims are directed to similarly-constituted compositions which include the presently claimed components.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed December 15, 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant’s argument that Malet does not disclose the presently claimed combination of components per claim 15 is not well taken. Malet clearly provides compositions wherein component (B) is a copolyamide. While Malet does not expressly disclose that the composition can be combined with an epoxy-based material, i.e., the presently claimed intended use, Malet’s similarly-constituted composition would be expected to have the same intended use. There is at present no evidence to demonstrate that there is a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art. That is, a recitation of the intended use of the claimed invention must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art. If the prior art structure is capable of performing the intended use, then it meets the claim.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ANA L. WOODWARD/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1765