DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 are pending in the application and claims 1-20 are rejected.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-3, 5, 6, 8, 9, 11, 14-17, 20 are/is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Golshan US2014/0019443 in view of Shacham et al. US2011/0252016
Regarding claim 1, Golshan teaches: a display;
a processor that is operably coupled to the display; and
memory storing instructions that, when executed by the processor, causes the processor to perform acts comprising: (Golshan see paragraph 0363 display interface and processor with instructions in digital device)
transmitting a query to a computing system that is in network communication with the client computing device, where the computing system executes a search engine; (Golshan see paragraphs 0074 0224 0227 0305 user to issue query and discovery system or crawler receives query to perform retrieval of information)
first search results identified by the search engine based upon a first search performed by the search engine over the first search engine index wherein the first search engine index indexes first items that are publicly available; and (Golshan see paragraph 0056 0057 0065 0066 0181 0319 0333 query for content and returning content to user utilizing an index crawl for retrieved information that is indexed where information is public content)
wherein items indexed in the second index are labeled as being shared with a user of the client computing device by contacts of the user; and (Golshan see paragraph 0131 0138 0140 0322 0323 retrieving content based on user shared content or information based on a Facebook friend or allowing a user to share content with another user such that the shared information is retrieved from PHRI index)
Golshan does not distinctly disclose: obtaining search results from the computing system based upon the query, wherein the search results comprise results from at least a first search engine index and a second search engine index, wherein the search results further comprise
second search results identified by the search engine based upon a second search performed by the search engine over a second search engine index, wherein items indexed in the second search engine index are labeled
in response to obtaining the search results, displaying the search in the graphical user interface, wherein the search results are visually distinguished based upon which index from which the search results were identified
However, Shacham teaches: obtaining search results from the computing system based upon the query, wherein the search results comprise results from at least a first search engine index and a second search engine index, wherein the search results further comprise (Shacham see paragraph 0037-0039 search query entered is received and in response generates multiple queries corresponding to multiple categories such that each category has a its own index)
second search results identified by the search engine based upon a second search performed by the search engine over a second search engine index, wherein items indexed in the second search engine index are labeled (Shacham see fig. 3a paragraphs 0033 0037-0039 0071 0072 search query entered is received and in response generates multiple queries corresponding to multiple categories such that each category has a its own index, search results are categorized such as images, news, maps)
in response to obtaining the search results, displaying the search in the graphical user interface, wherein the search results are visually distinguished based upon which index from which the search results were identified (Shacham see fig. 3a see paragraphs 0033 0071 0072 0074 search results such as list of news may present headline, image results may present thumbnail of image, each category is displayed by category as a tab with most relevant group on left displayed more prominently, each category can be displayed vertically aligned side by side with title)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified a search method as taught by Golshan to include visually distinguishing multiple search index results as taught by Shacham for the predictable result of more efficiently executing a search and accessing data.
Regarding claim 2, Golshan as modified further teaches: wherein the first search results are presented in a first region of the graphical user interface of the display and the second search results are presented in a second region of the graphical user interface of the display(Shacham see fig. 3a see paragraphs 0033 0071 0072 0074 search results such as list of news may present headline, image results may present thumbnail of image, each category can be displayed vertically aligned side by side with title)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified a search method as taught by Golshan to include visually distinguishing multiple search index results as taught by Shacham for the predictable result of more efficiently executing a search and accessing data.
Regarding claim 3, Golshan as modified further teaches: wherein the first search results and the second search results are presented in the same region of the graphical user interface of the display. (Shacham see fig. 3a see paragraphs 0033 0071 0072 0074 search results such as list of news may present headline, image results may present thumbnail of image, each category is displayed by category as a tab with most relevant group on left displayed more prominently)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified a search method as taught by Golshan to include visually distinguishing multiple search index results as taught by Shacham for the predictable result of more efficiently executing a search and accessing data.
Regarding claim 5, Golshan as modified further teaches: wherein the second search engine index is uniquely assigned to the user of the client computing device. (Golshan see paragraph 0071 0073 each user profile and master profile has a hierarchal reasoning index)
Regarding claim 6, Golshan as modified further teaches: searching a computer-readable index based upon the query, wherein the computer-readable index indexes second items that are stored on the client computing device, wherein the search results include an item from the second items, and further wherein the item is displayed in the graphical user interface visually distinguished from the first search results and the second search results (Shacham see fig. 3a see paragraphs 0033 0071 0072 0074 search results such as list of news may present headline, image results may present thumbnail of image, each category is displayed by category as a tab with most relevant group on left displayed more prominently, each category can be displayed vertically aligned side by side with title)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified a search method as taught by Golshan to include visually distinguishing multiple search index results as taught by Shacham for the predictable result of more efficiently executing a search and accessing data.
Regarding claim 8, Golshan as modified further teaches: wherein the second search engine index indexes:
a first item shared with the user by a first contact of the user; and
a second item shared with the user by a second contact of the user, and further wherein the second search results include the first item and the second item. (Golshan see paragraph 0131 0322 0323 0343 retrieving content based on user shared content or information based on a Facebook friends where the plural nature of friends reads on second contact such that content is show to user via user interface)
Regarding claim 9, Golshan as modified further teaches: wherein the first item is identified in the graphical user interface as being shared with the user of the client computing device by the first contact of the user and the second item is identified in the graphical user interface as being shared with the user of the client computing device by the second contact of the user. (Golshan see paragraph 0131 0322 0323 retrieving content based on user shared content or information based on a Facebook friends where the plural nature of friends reads on second contact)
Regarding claims 11, see rejection of claim 1
Regarding claims 14, see rejection of claim 9
Regarding claim 15, Golshan as modified further teaches: and the second region includes second search results that represent items shared with the user by contacts of the user. (Golshan see paragraph 0131 0322 0323 0343 retrieving content based on user shared content or information based on a Facebook friends such that content is show to user via user interface)
wherein the first search result is displayed in a first region of the graphical user interface and the second search result is displayed in a second region of the graphical user interface where the first region includes search results that represent webpages(Shacham see fig. 3a see paragraphs 0033 0071 0072 0074 search results such as list of news may present headline, image results may present thumbnail of image, each category is displayed by category as a tab with most relevant group on left displayed more prominently, each category can be displayed vertically aligned side by side with title)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified a search method as taught by Golshan to include visually distinguishing multiple search index results as taught by Shacham for the predictable result of more efficiently executing a search and accessing data.
Regarding claim 16, Golshan as modified further teaches: wherein the first search result is included in a first ranked list of search results in the graphical user interface, and further wherein the second search result is included in a second ranked list of search results in the graphical user interface (Shacham see fig. 3a see paragraphs 0005 0033 0071 0072 0074 search results for each category is displayed by category as a tab with most relevant group on left displayed more prominently, each category can be displayed vertically aligned side by side with title. Each category results are displayed in a determined order based on correlation)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified a search method as taught by Golshan to include visually distinguishing multiple search index results as taught by Shacham for the predictable result of more efficiently executing a search and accessing data.
Regarding claims 17, see rejection of claim 11
Regarding claim 20, Golshan as modified further teaches: wherein the search results further include a third search result that represents a second a second item that is indexed in the second index, where the second index further indexes second items that are labeled as being shared with the user of the client computing device by a second contact of the user of the client computing device, and further wherein the third search result is identified in the graphical user interface as being shared with the user of the client computing device by the second contact of the user. (Golshan see paragraph 0131 0322 0323 retrieving content based on user shared content or information based on a Facebook friend where Facebook friend reads on contact)
Claim(s) 4, 7, 12, 13, 18, 19 are/is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Golshan US2014/0019443 in view of Shacham et al. US2011/0252016
in view of Kulick et al. US2013/0036109
Regarding claim 4, Golshan as modified does not teach: wherein the second search engine index is stored in computer-readable storage of the client computing device
However, Kulick teaches: wherein the second search engine index is stored in computer-readable storage of the client computing device. (Kulick see paragraph 0007 0040 search engine to include index database to store index on computer readable storage device)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified a search method as taught by Golshan to include search indexes as taught by Kulick for the predictable result of more efficiently executing a search and accessing data.
Regarding claim 7, Golshan as modified does not teach: wherein the second search results include a photo that is shared with the user of the client computing device by a contact of the user
However, Kulick teaches: wherein the second search results include a photo that is shared with the user of the client computing device by a contact of the user. (Kulick see paragraph 0054 0058 shares searched result of friend presented to user for example image sharing of John Smith displayed for user)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified a search method as taught by Golshan to include search indexes as taught by Kulick for the predictable result of more efficiently executing a search and accessing data.
Regarding claim 12, see rejection of claim 4
Regarding claim 13, Golshan as modified does not teach: wherein the item is one of an image or a video
However, Kulick teaches: wherein the item is one of an image or a video (Kulick see paragraph 0054 0058 shares searched result of friend presented to user for example image sharing of John Smith displayed for user)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified a search method as taught by Golshan to include search indexes as taught by Kulick for the predictable result of more efficiently executing a search and accessing data.
Regarding claim 18, see rejection of claim 4
Regarding claim 19, see rejection of claim 13
Claim(s) 10 are/is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Golshan US2014/0019443 in view of Shacham et al. US2011/0252016 in view of Ganesan et al. US7366696
Regarding claim 10, Golshan as modified does not teach: wherein the first item is stored in a first network location assigned to the first contact of the user and the second item is stored in a second network location assigned to the second contact of the user.
However, Ganesan teaches: wherein the first item is stored in a first network location assigned to the first contact of the user and the second item is stored in a second network location assigned to the second contact of the user. (Ganesan see col. 4 lines 34-49 each location indicator is associated with different users indicating a network location for available billing information where this reference combined with the primary reference reads on contacts)
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified a search method as taught by Golshan to include location indicators as taught by Ganesan for the predictable result of more efficiently accessing data.
Response to arguments
Applicant’s argument: Prior art of record does not teach newly amended subject matter
Examiner’s response: Applicant’s argument is moot as newly amended claims are responded to in the above rejection
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ALLEN S LIN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2153