DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
This Office Action is in response to the application filed on 04 December 2025. Claims 1, 4-7, 10-13, and 16-18 are presently pending and are presented for examination. Claims 2-3, 8-9, and 14-15 were previously cancelled.
Response to Amendments
In response to Applicant’s amendments dated 04 December 2025, Examiner withdraws the previous claim objections; withdraws the previous 35 U.S.C. 112(b) rejections; and maintains the previous prior art rejections.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments, see Remarks, filed 04 December 2025, have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues, see Remarks, pg. 8-9, that the previous references do not teach nor suggest “generating statistical data in the form of a histogram in which relative velocity ratios of a plurality of stationary targets are accumulated, nor deriving a velocity correction factor based on the relative velocity ratio corresponding to the highest-frequency peak of such histogram-generated data.” Examiner respectfully disagrees. DE-10215673-A1 (“Boecker”) teaches generating a histogram using relative velocity ratio data from a plurality of stationary targets (see Boecker, FIGs. 3-4, paragraphs 0011 and 0034). Additionally, Boecker teaches using a highest-frequency peak of a relative velocity ratio histogram to derive a velocity correction factor (see Boecker, FIGs. 3-4, paragraphs 0028 and 0034-0037). Furthermore, US-20180203109-A1 (“Aoki”) discloses generating relative velocity ratios using data collected from stationary objects using a RADAR device and an ego-vehicle speed detected by a second sensor (see Aoki, paragraphs 0036, 0039, 0102, and 0122). For these reasons, examiner is unpersuaded and maintains the corresponding rejections. For more detailed information on how Aoki and Boecker teach the limitations of the amended independent claims, see the Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 section, below.
The remaining arguments are essentially the same as those addressed above and/or below and are unpersuasive for at least the same reasons. Therefore, examiner is unpersuaded and maintains the corresponding rejections.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 4, 7, 10, 13, and 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US-20180203109-A1, hereinafter “Aoki” (previously of record), in view of DE-10215673-A1, hereinafter “Boecker” (previously of record).
Regarding claim 7, Aoki discloses an apparatus for vehicle velocity correction (Aoki, para. 0008: “It is therefore an object of the present invention is to provide a radar device [i.e., an apparatus] and a vehicle velocity correction method capable of appropriately correcting a detection vehicle velocity detected on the basis of rotation of a wheel of a vehicle.”), the apparatus comprising:
a calculator calculating, for each stationary target among a plurality of stationary targets, a relative velocity of the stationary target detected by a first sensor included in a vehicle (Aoki, para. 0009: “According to an aspect of the embodiments of the present invention, a radar device includes a detection vehicle velocity acquiring unit, a relative velocity calculating unit [i.e., a calculator calculating…a relative velocity of the stationary target], a correction value calculating unit, and a vehicle velocity correcting unit. The detection vehicle velocity acquiring unit acquires a detection vehicle velocity detected on the basis of rotation of a wheel. The relative velocity calculating unit calculates the relative velocity of a still object on the basis of the frequencies of the reflected waves of a transmission wave from targets in each of an FM-CW mode for transmitting a transmission wave to targets, which is applied frequency modulation and a CW mode for transmitting a transmission wave to targets, which is not applied frequency modulation.”; para. 0034: “The radar device 1 [i.e., a first sensor included in a vehicle] detects targets existing in the traveling direction of the vehicle C by transmitting transmission waves SW in the traveling direction of the vehicle C and receiving the reflected waves from targets.”; para. 0036: “After detecting targets, the radar device 1 also performs a still-object determining process of determining targets having a relative velocity [i.e., for each stationary target among a plurality of stationary targets] equal to the detection vehicle velocity of the vehicle velocity sensor 11 as still objects P.”), and
a relative angle between a driving direction of the vehicle and a direction in which the stationary target is positioned (Aoki, para. 0069: “The azimuth calculating unit 73 b calculates [i.e., a calculator calculating] the incident angles of reflected waves [i.e., relative angle] corresponding to the peak frequencies extracted in the peak extracting unit 73 a, and the signal intensities (reception levels) thereof. At this time, since the incidence angles include angles based on phase wrapping, and are estimates of the angles at which the targets exist [i.e., between a driving direction of the vehicle and a direction in which the stationary target is positioned].”);
a statistics processor (Aoki, para. 0062: “The data processing unit 73 includes a microcomputer [i.e., statistics processor] and various circuits. The microcomputer includes, for example, a CPU (Central Processing Unit), a ROM (Read Only Memory), a RAM (Random Access Memory), input/output ports, and so on.”) to…
…wherein the relative velocity ratios are derived from radar-detected relative velocities and an ego-vehicle speed detected by a second sensor (Aoki, para. 0036: “After detecting targets, the radar device 1 also performs a still-object determining process of determining targets having a relative velocity equal to the detection vehicle velocity [i.e., an ego-vehicle speed] of the vehicle velocity sensor 11 [i.e., an ego-vehicle speed detected by a second sensor] as still objects P.”; para. 0039: “The radar device 1 according to the present embodiment is configured to be able to transmit transmission waves SW in both of a CW (Continuous Wave) mode and an FM-CW (Frequency Modulated Continuous Wave) mode [i.e., radar-detected].”; para. 0102: “The relative velocity calculating unit 76 b calculates the relative velocity of the still object P on the basis of the frequency of the reflected wave of the transmission wave from the target in each of the CW mode and the FM-CW mode [i.e., radar-detected relative velocities].”; para. 0122: “The correction value calculating unit 76 c calculates a first correction value on the basis of the detection vehicle velocity and the relative velocity of the still object P calculated in the CW mode. The first correction value is, for example, a value (a correction factor) obtained by dividing the relative velocity of the still object P calculated in the CW mode by the detection vehicle velocity [i.e., relative velocity ratios].”),
for the plurality of stationary targets, identifying deviations in the ego-vehicle speed due to sensor error using the second sensor included in the vehicle (Aoki, para. 0036: “After detecting targets [i.e., for the plurality of stationary targets], the radar device 1 also performs a still-object determining process of determining targets having a relative velocity equal to the detection vehicle velocity of the vehicle velocity sensor 11 as still objects P.”; para. 0037: “Since the vehicle velocity sensor 11 [i.e., the second sensor included in the vehicle] detects a detection vehicle velocity [i.e., ego-vehicle speed] on the basis of rotation of the wheel W as described above, if the diameter of the wheel W changes due to the air pressure of the wheel W, the degree of wear of the wheel, wheel replacement, or the like, the detection vehicle velocity may become different from the actual vehicle velocity, resulting in an error in the detection vehicle velocity [i.e., deviations in the ego-vehicle speed due to sensor error]. If an error occurs in the detection vehicle velocity, for example, the error may influence the still-object determining process of the radar device 1.”; para. 0038: “For this reason, the radar device 1 according to the present embodiment is configured to be able to appropriately correct a detection vehicle velocity detected on the basis of rotation of the wheel W [i.e., identifying deviations in the ego-vehicle speed due to sensor error].”) and
a vehicle speed corrector (Aoki, para. 0063: “The data processing unit 73 includes a peak extracting unit 73 a, an azimuth calculating unit 73 b, a pairing unit 73 c, a continuity determining unit 73 d, a filter process unit 73 e, an object classifying unit 73 g, an unnecessary-object determining unit 73 h, a grouping unit 73 i, an output target selecting unit 73 j, and a vehicle velocity correction process unit 73 k [i.e., vehicle speed corrector].”)…
Aoki does not appear to disclose the following:
…accumulate a statistical histogram of relative velocity ratios…correcting the ego-vehicle speed detected by the second sensor based on a relative velocity ratio corresponding to a peak on the statistical histogram, wherein the statistical histogram created by the statistics processor is a histogram in which relative velocity ratios of stationary targets are accumulated, wherein the vehicle speed corrector calculates a corrected ego-vehicle speed by multiplying a reciprocal of the relative velocity ratio corresponding to a peak on the statistical histogram by the ego-vehicle speed detected by the second sensor.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Boecker teaches:
…accumulate a statistical histogram of relative velocity ratios (translated document of Boecker, FIG. 3, FIG. 4; para. 0011: “Another variant of the method takes advantage of the fact that stationary objects [i.e., for the plurality of stationary targets] statistically occur much more frequently than moving objects and therefore become noticeable in a histogram that indicates the frequencies [i.e., accumulate a statistical histogram of relative velocity ratios] of the parallactically measured relative velocities for a larger ensemble of objects in a sharply defined maximum at the relative velocity zero.”; para. 0034: “Fig. 3 shows a histogram in which the frequency n with which the relative velocities occur during the parallactic measurement is plotted against the measured velocity V<sub>p</sub> [Vp]. The measured speeds are normalized here to the vehicle's own speed V [i.e., relative velocity ratios].”)…
…correcting the ego-vehicle speed detected by the second sensor based on a relative velocity ratio corresponding to a peak on the statistical histogram (translated document of Boecker, para. 0003: “However, the results of the distance measurements can be distorted by systematic errors, which are particularly due to misalignment of one or both optical sensors [i.e., by the second sensor].”; para. 0004: “The object of the invention is to provide a method which allows the automatic detection and, if necessary, correction of such systematic errors [i.e., correcting the ego-vehicle speed detected].”; para. 0037: “Therefore, similar to Fig. 2, different measuring points can be recorded, whereby for V<sub>p</sub> [Vp] the peak value of curve 30 [i.e., based on a relative velocity ratio corresponding to a peak on the statistical histogram] is taken and for D<sub>p</sub> [Dp] the mean value of the objects that form the pronounced maximum in curve 30 is taken.”; Note: One of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the application, would find the relationship between error measurements in distance and error measurements in velocity to be well-known, based on the mathematical relationship between distance and velocity.),
wherein the statistical histogram created by the statistics processor is a histogram in which relative velocity ratios of stationary targets are accumulated (translated document of Boecker, FIG.3, FIG. 4; para. 0033: “The computational effort for the method described above is relatively low and results largely from the need to reliably detect stationary objects [i.e., stationary targets] based on their classification as traffic signs, guide posts and the like. The use of statistical methods can further reduce the computational effort, as will be explained below with reference to Figs. 3 and 4.”; para. 0034: “Fig. 3 shows a histogram [i.e., the statistical histogram created by the statistics processor is a histogram] in which the frequency n with which the relative velocities occur [i.e., relative velocity ratios of stationary targets are accumulated] during the parallactic measurement is plotted against the measured velocity V<sub>p</sub> [Vp]. The measured speeds are normalized here to the vehicle's own speed V.”),
wherein the vehicle speed corrector calculates a corrected ego-vehicle speed by multiplying a reciprocal of the relative velocity ratio corresponding to a peak on the statistical histogram by the ego-vehicle speed detected by the second sensor (translated document of Boecker, para. 0028: “In the special case that the error quotient F does not depend on time, this error quotient F is given directly by the quotient Vp / V [i.e., the relative velocity ratio], and a more accurate, corrected value Dc [i.e., corrected ego-vehicle speed] for the distance D of the object 18 is obtained by using the Distance Dp measured parallactically multiplied by a correction factor 1 / F [i.e., multiplying a reciprocal of the relative velocity ratio]: Dc = (V / Vp ) .Dp .”; para. 0037: “Therefore, similar to Fig. 2, different measuring points can be recorded, whereby for V<sub>p</sub> [Vp] the peak value of curve 30 [i.e., corresponding to a peak on the statistical histogram by the ego-vehicle speed detected by the second sensor] is taken and for D<sub>p</sub> [Dp] the mean value of the objects that form the pronounced maximum in curve 30 is taken.”; Note: One of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the application, would find the relationship between error measurements in distance and error measurements in velocity to be well-known, based on the mathematical relationship between distance and velocity.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention and with a reasonable likelihood of success to modify the invention disclosed by Aoki, with the concept of using statistical data organized into a histogram of relative vehicle velocity ratios of stationary objects to correct a vehicle velocity by multiplying a measured vehicle velocity by a reciprocal of the relative vehicle velocity ratio with the highest frequency in the histogram (i.e., “peak”), taught by Boecker, in order to accurately determine the velocity of a vehicle and/or nearby objects, especially an autonomous vehicle that relies on accurate sensors and sensor measurement to determine traveling information of the vehicle and information about the surrounding environment (translated document of Boecker, para. 0006: “Stationary objects, such as traffic signs, guide posts and the like at the edge of the road, are particularly suitable for the independent determination of the relative speed. For these objects, which can be identified relatively easily by electronic image processing or by statistical analysis of the frequency distribution of the relative speeds, the relative speed corresponds in magnitude to the vehicle's own speed, which can be measured relatively accurately with conventional speedometers.”).
Regarding claim 1, and analogous claim 13, Aoki discloses, a method for vehicle velocity correction that is performed by an apparatus for vehicle velocity correction (Aoki, para. 0008: “It is therefore an object of the present invention is to provide a radar device and a vehicle velocity correction method capable of appropriately correcting a detection vehicle velocity detected on the basis of rotation of a wheel of a vehicle.”), the method comprising:
a process of calculating, for each stationary target among a plurality of stationary targets, a relative velocity of the stationary target detected by a first sensor included in a vehicle (Aoki, para. 0009: “According to an aspect of the embodiments of the present invention, a radar device includes a detection vehicle velocity acquiring unit, a relative velocity calculating unit [i.e., a calculator calculating a relative velocity], a correction value calculating unit, and a vehicle velocity correcting unit. The detection vehicle velocity acquiring unit acquires a detection vehicle velocity detected on the basis of rotation of a wheel. The relative velocity calculating unit calculates the relative velocity of a still object [i.e., stationary target] on the basis of the frequencies of the reflected waves of a transmission wave from targets in each of an FM-CW mode for transmitting a transmission wave to targets, which is applied frequency modulation and a CW mode for transmitting a transmission wave to targets, which is not applied frequency modulation.”; para. 0034: “The radar device 1 [i.e., a first sensor included in a vehicle] detects targets [i.e., for each stationary target among a plurality of stationary targets] existing in the traveling direction of the vehicle C by transmitting transmission waves SW in the traveling direction of the vehicle C and receiving the reflected waves from targets.”; para. 0036: “After detecting targets, the radar device 1 also performs a still-object determining process of determining targets having a relative velocity [i.e., calculating, for each stationary target among a plurality of stationary targets, a relative velocity of the stationary target] equal to the detection vehicle velocity of the vehicle velocity sensor 11 as still objects P.”), and
a relative angle between a driving direction of the vehicle and a direction in which the stationary target is positioned (Aoki, para. 0069: “The azimuth calculating unit 73 b calculates [i.e., a calculator calculating] the incident angles of reflected waves [i.e., relative angle] corresponding to the peak frequencies extracted in the peak extracting unit 73 a, and the signal intensities (reception levels) thereof. At this time, since the incidence angles include angles based on phase wrapping, and are estimates of the angles at which the targets exist [i.e., between a driving direction of the vehicle and a direction in which the stationary target is positioned].”);
a process of creating statistical data about a relative velocity ratio for the plurality of stationary targets wherein the relative velocity ratio is derived from radar-detected relative velocities and an ego-vehicle speed detected by a second sensor included in the vehicle (Aoki, para. 0036: “After detecting targets [i.e., the plurality of stationary targets], the radar device 1 also performs a still-object determining process of determining targets having a relative velocity equal to the detection vehicle velocity [i.e., an ego-vehicle speed] of the vehicle velocity sensor 11 [i.e., an ego-vehicle speed detected by a second sensor included in the vehicle] as still objects P.”; para. 0039: “The radar device 1 according to the present embodiment is configured to be able to transmit transmission waves SW in both of a CW (Continuous Wave) mode and an FM-CW (Frequency Modulated Continuous Wave) mode [i.e., radar-detected].”; para. 0102: “The relative velocity calculating unit 76 b calculates the relative velocity of the still object P on the basis of the frequency of the reflected wave of the transmission wave from the target in each of the CW mode and the FM-CW mode [i.e., radar-detected relative velocities].”; para. 0122: “The correction value calculating unit 76 c calculates a first correction value on the basis of the detection vehicle velocity and the relative velocity of the still object P calculated in the CW mode. The first correction value is, for example, a value (a correction factor) obtained by dividing the relative velocity of the still object P calculated in the CW mode by the detection vehicle velocity [i.e., creating statistical data about a relative velocity ratio].”).
Aoki does not appear to explicitly disclose the following:
…a process of correcting the ego-vehicle speed detected by the second sensor using a peak-adjusted velocity ratio on the statistical data, where the peak adjusted velocity ratio includes relative velocities of stationary objects over time, wherein the statistical data are a histogram in which relative velocity ratios of stationary targets are accumulated in the process of creating, wherein the process of correcting includes a process of calculating a corrected ego- vehicle speed by multiplying a reciprocal of the relative velocity ratio corresponding to the relative velocity ratio with the highest frequency in the histogram by the ego-vehicle speed detected by the second sensor.
However, in the same field of endeavor, Boecker teaches:
a process of correcting the ego-vehicle speed detected by the second sensor using a peak-adjusted velocity ratio on the statistical data, where the peak adjusted velocity ratio includes relative velocities of stationary objects over time (translated document of Boecker, para. 0003: “However, the results of the distance measurements can be distorted by systematic errors, which are particularly due to misalignment of one or both optical sensors [i.e., by the second sensor].”; para. 0004: “The object of the invention is to provide a method which allows the automatic detection and, if necessary, correction of such systematic errors [i.e., process of correcting the ego-vehicle speed detected].”; para. 0011: “Another variant of the method takes advantage of the fact that stationary objects [i.e., stationary objects] statistically occur much more frequently than moving objects and therefore become noticeable in a histogram that indicates the frequencies of the parallactically measured relative velocities for a larger ensemble of objects in a sharply defined maximum at the relative velocity zero.”; para. 0034: “Fig. 3 shows a histogram in which the frequency n with which the relative velocities occur during the parallactic measurement is plotted against the measured velocity V<sub>p</sub> [Vp]. The measured speeds are normalized here to the vehicle's own speed V [i.e., the peak adjusted velocity ratio includes relative velocities of stationary objects over time].”; para. 0037: “Therefore, similar to Fig. 2, different measuring points can be recorded, whereby for V<sub>p</sub> [Vp] the peak value of curve 30 [i.e., sensor using a peak-adjusted velocity ratio on the statistical data] is taken and for D<sub>p</sub> [Dp] the mean value of the objects that form the pronounced maximum in curve 30 is taken.”; Note: One of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the application, would find the relationship between error measurements in distance and error measurements in velocity to be well-known, based on the mathematical relationship between distance and velocity.),
wherein the statistical data are a histogram in which relative velocity ratios of stationary targets are accumulated in the process of creating (translated document of Boecker, FIG.3, FIG. 4; para. 0033: “The computational effort for the method described above is relatively low and results largely from the need to reliably detect stationary objects [i.e., stationary targets] based on their classification as traffic signs, guide posts and the like. The use of statistical methods can further reduce the computational effort, as will be explained below with reference to Figs. 3 and 4.”; para. 0034: “Fig. 3 shows a histogram [i.e., statistical data are a histogram] in which the frequency n with which the relative velocities occur [i.e., relative velocity ratios of stationary targets are accumulated] during the parallactic measurement is plotted against the measured velocity V<sub>p</sub> [Vp]. The measured speeds are normalized here to the vehicle's own speed V.”; Note: One of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the application, would find the relationship between error measurements in distance and error measurements in velocity to be well-known, based on the mathematical relationship between distance and velocity.),
wherein the process of correcting includes a process of calculating a corrected ego- vehicle speed by multiplying a reciprocal of the relative velocity ratio corresponding to the relative velocity ratio with the highest frequency in the histogram by the ego-vehicle speed detected by the second sensor (translated document of Boecker, para. 0028: “In the special case that the error quotient F does not depend on time, this error quotient F is given directly by the quotient Vp / V [i.e., the velocity ratio], and a more accurate, corrected value Dc [i.e., the process of correcting includes a process of calculating a corrected ego-vehicle speed] for the distance D of the object 18 is obtained by using the Distance Dp measured parallactically multiplied by a correction factor 1 / F [i.e., multiplying a reciprocal of the relative velocity ratio]: Dc = (V / Vp ) .Dp .”; para. 0037: “Therefore, similar to Fig. 2, different measuring points can be recorded, whereby for V<sub>p</sub> [Vp] the peak value of curve 30 [i.e., corresponding to the relative velocity ratio with the highest frequency in the histogram by the ego-vehicle speed detected by the second sensor] is taken and for D<sub>p</sub> [Dp] the mean value of the objects that form the pronounced maximum in curve 30 is taken.”; Note: One of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the application, would find the relationship between error measurements in distance and error measurements in velocity to be well-known, based on the mathematical relationship between distance and velocity.).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention and with a reasonable likelihood of success to modify the invention disclosed by Aoki, with the concept of using statistical data organized into a histogram of relative vehicle velocity ratios of stationary objects to correct a vehicle velocity by multiplying a measured vehicle velocity by a reciprocal of the relative vehicle velocity ratio with the highest frequency in the histogram (i.e., “peak”), taught by Boecker, in order to accurately determine the velocity of a vehicle and/or nearby objects, especially an autonomous vehicle that relies on accurate sensors and sensor measurement to determine traveling information of the vehicle and information about the surrounding environment (translated document of Boecker, para. 0006: “Stationary objects, such as traffic signs, guide posts and the like at the edge of the road, are particularly suitable for the independent determination of the relative speed. For these objects, which can be identified relatively easily by electronic image processing or by statistical analysis of the frequency distribution of the relative speeds, the relative speed corresponds in magnitude to the vehicle's own speed, which can be measured relatively accurately with conventional speedometers.”).
Regarding claim 10, and analogous claims 4 and 16, Aoki and Boecker teach the apparatus of claim 7, and Aoki further discloses the following:
wherein the calculator calculates an accumulated difference of accumulated ego-vehicle speed correction values when ego-vehicle speed correction values are accumulated by a preset number of times of correction or more (Aoki, para. 0131: “Specifically, the vehicle velocity correcting unit 76 d [i.e., the calculator] may calculate the difference between the first correction value and the second correction value [i.e., accumulated difference of accumulated ego-vehicle speed correction values], and transition from the second correcting process to the first correcting process if the calculated difference (specifically, the absolute value of the difference) is equal to or greater than a predetermined value [i.e., preset number of times of correction or more].”), and
the vehicle speed corrector determines an average of the accumulated ego-vehicle speed correction values as a final accumulated ego-vehicle speed correction value when the calculated accumulated difference is less than a preset reference difference (Aoki, para. 0066: “The first correction value information 74 a includes information representing first correction values (for example, moving average values of first correction values [i.e., an average of the accumulated ego-vehicle speed correction values]) calculated by a correction value calculating unit 76 c [i.e., vehicle speed corrector] (see FIG. 6) to be described below, and the second correction value information 74 b includes information representing second correction values (for example, moving average values of second correction values).”; para. 0123: “Subsequently, the correction value calculating unit 76 c reads out the moving average value of first correction values obtained until the previous process, from the first correction value information 74 a, and updates the first correction value information 74 a with a moving average value reflecting the first correction value calculated in the current process [i.e., determines an average of the accumulated ego-vehicle speed correction values as a final accumulated ego-vehicle speed correction value].”; para. 0120: “Also, the predetermined velocity range Db is, for example, a range between −5% and +5% with reference to the frequency “B” (i.e. a range of 10%). However, the specific numerical values of the predetermined velocity range Db are just illustrative, and are not limited. For example, the predetermined velocity range may be a range between −2% and +2% with reference to the detection vehicle velocity, or any other range [i.e., accumulated difference is less than a preset reference difference].”).
Claim(s) 5-6, 11-12, and 17-18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Aoki, in view of Boecker and US-20150369912-A1, hereinafter “Kishigami” (previously of record).
Regarding claim 11, and analogous claims 5 and 17, Aoki and Boecker teach the apparatus of claim 7, and Aoki further discloses the following:
…the vehicle speed corrector corrects the ego-vehicle speed detected by the second sensor based on the relative angle of the stationary target and the relative velocity of the stationary target. (Aoki, para. 0009: “The detection vehicle velocity acquiring unit [i.e., the second sensor] acquires a detection vehicle velocity [i.e., ego-vehicle speed] detected on the basis of rotation of a wheel...The vehicle velocity correcting unit [i.e., vehicle speed corrector] corrects the detection vehicle velocity [i.e., corrects the ego-vehicle speed detected by the second sensor] using at least one of the first correction value and the second correction value.”; para. 0090: “The output target selecting unit 73 j selects targets which need to be output to the external device for system control. Also, the output target selecting unit 73 j outputs target information items on the selected targets (including the actual angles [i.e., based on the relative angle of the stationary target], the actual distances, the actual relative velocities [i.e., based on…the relative velocity of the stationary target], and so on) to the vehicle velocity correction process unit 73 k [i.e., vehicle speed corrector].”).
Aoki and Boecker do not appear to explicitly teach the following:
further comprising a controller transmitting a control signal for controlling a range of a transmission signal, which is transmitted from the first sensor, to the first sensor, wherein the calculator calculates a relative angle of the stationary target and a relative velocity of the stationary target of a reflection signal reflected by a ground in response to the transmission signal generated by the first sensor in accordance with the control signal, and…
However, in the same field of endeavor, Kishigami teaches:
further comprising a controller transmitting a control signal for controlling a range of a transmission signal, which is transmitted from the first sensor, to the first sensor (Kishigami, para. 0078: “The code generating unit 4 [i.e., a controller] generates transmission code of the code sequence Cn, of code length L at each transmission cycle Tr [i.e., transmitting a control signal for controlling a range of a transmission signal].”; para. 0080: “The modulator 5 performs pulse modulation of the transmission code Cn which the code generating unit 4 has generated, and generates the baseband transmission signal r(k, M) shown in Expression (1).”; para. 0085: “The frequency converting unit 8 upconverts the transmission signals r(k, M) generated by the transmission signal generating unit 2, thereby generating a carrier frequency band (e.g., millimeter wave band) radar transmission signal. The frequency converting unit 8 outputs the radar [i.e., from the first sensor] transmission signals to the amplifier 9.”; para. 0086: “The amplifier 9 amplifies the signal level of the radar transmission signals generated by the frequency converting unit 8 to a predetermined signal level, and outputs to a transmission antenna Tx_ant1.”; para. 0092; “Next, the configuration of the parts of the radar reception unit Rx [i.e., to the first sensor] will be described with reference to FIG. 2. The radar reception unit Rx illustrated in FIG. 2 includes four antenna brunch processing units D1, D2, D3, and D4 provided in accordance with the number (four in the case of FIG. 2, for example) of reception antennas making up the array antenna,”),
wherein the calculator calculates a relative angle of the stationary target and a relative velocity of the stationary target of a reflection signal reflected by a ground in response to the transmission signal generated by the first sensor in accordance with the control signal (Kishigami, para. 0002: “The present disclosure relates to a radar device [i.e., the first sensor] installed in a moving object (e.g., a vehicle)…”; para. 0134: “The stationary object group distribution generating unit 22 [i.e., calculator] obtains the distribution of Doppler frequency components of a stationary object group [i.e., stationary target] including stationary objects in the perimeter [i.e., reflected by a ground; Note: A calculator that can calculate a relative angle and a relative velocity from a reflection signal reflected by a stationary object, can calculate those same things from a reflection signal reflected by the ground.], for in each azimuth angle with the vehicle CR as a reference [i.e., calculates a relative angle], based on the output from the electric power profile generating unit 21 (the electric power profile of the returning signals).”; para. 0135: “The Doppler frequency distribution analyzing unit 23 analyzes the Doppler frequency distribution [i.e., relative velocity of the stationary target of a reflection signal] for each azimuth angle θu [i.e., relative angle of the stationary target…of a reflection signal], based on the electric power profile Fout(k, fs, θu, w) obtained from the electric power profile generating unit 21 in the with Np×Nc times of transmission cycle Tr (see FIG. 6A).”), and…
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention and with a reasonable likelihood of success to modify the invention disclosed by Aoki, as modified by Boecker, with the concept of controlling a range of transmission signals and calculating a relative velocity and relative angle of a transmission signal reflected from a stationary surface, like the ground, taught by Kishigami, in order to improve the accuracy of determining vehicle velocity. Accurate determination of vehicle velocity is required to safely operate a vehicle (Kishigami, para. 0009: “One non-limiting and exemplary embodiment provides a radar device that suppresses measurement error in traveling speed of a moving object in which the radar device is mounted (e.g., a vehicle), and improves detection precision of the relative speed of the target.”; para. 0011: “According to the present disclosure, measurement error in traveling speed of a moving object in which the radar device is mounted (e.g., a vehicle) can be suppressed, and detection precision of the relative speed of the target improved.”).
Regarding claim 12, and analogous claims 6 and 18, Aoki, Boecker and Kishigami teach the apparatus of claim 11, and Kishigami further teaches the following:
wherein the control signal that is transmitted by the controller is a control signal making the first sensor generate an additional transmission signal in a side-lobe type toward the ground or a control signal making the first sensor generate a transmission signal having an expanded range toward the ground (Kishigami, para. 0078: “The code generating unit 4 [i.e., the controller] generates transmission code of the code sequence Cn, of code length L at each transmission cycle Tr [i.e., the control signal]. The elements of the code sequence Cn are configured using the two values of −1 and 1, or the four values of 1, −1, j, and −j, for example. This transmission code is preferably code including at least one of a code sequence making up a pair of complementary codes, a Barker code sequence, a pseudorandom noise (PN) code, a Golay code sequence, an M-sequence code, and a code sequence making up a Spano code, so that the radar reception unit Rx [i.e., the first sensor] will exhibit low side lobe characteristics [i.e., generate an additional transmission signal in a side-lobe type toward the ground].”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention and with a reasonable likelihood of success to modify the invention disclosed by Aoki, as modified by Boecker and Kishigami, with the concept of controlling a sensor, like a radar, to generate additional transmission signals with different characteristics, taught by Kishigami, in order to improve the accuracy and/or precision of transmitting signals towards a particular area or target (Kishigami, para. 0326: “The present disclosure is effective as a radar device that improves detection precision of the traveling speed of a moving object on which the radar device has been mounted, and as a radar device with improved detection precision of the relative speed of a target.”).
Additional Relevant Art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant’s disclosure:
US-20030040856-A1 (2003-02-27) | “The present invention relates to a device for determining a corrected offset value which represents the offset of the output signal of a first vehicle sensor, the sensor detecting at least one motion of a vehicle” (para. 0004). “This analysis of output signals of sensors at different points in time may allow for, for example, the use of histogram methods or regression methods for the determination of an offset value of the vehicle sensor” (para. 0018).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/L.N.M./Examiner, Art Unit 3663 /ABBY J FLYNN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3663