DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to remarks filed 11/24/2025.
Claims 1-18 are pending in this application.
Claims 1-18 are currently rejected.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 07/18/2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see remarks, filed 11/24/2025, with respect to the rejection of claims 13 and 14 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) have been fully considered and are persuasive. The rejection of claims 13 and 14 under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) has been withdrawn.
Applicant’s arguments, see remarks, filed 11/24/2025, with respect to the rejections of claims 1-11 and 13-18 under 35 U.S.C. 102 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. On page 12 of remarks, applicant argues that Li fails to teach “wherein the first sidelink transmission is a transmission of a second stage sidelink control information”. Applicant specifically argues that the timings, scheduling information or intended timings or resources are not sensing information. However, the previously cited portion of Li [0268] states “the signal could be…an associated second stage SCI”.
Applicant’s arguments, see remarks, filed 11/24/2025, with respect to the rejection of claim 12 under 35 U.S.C. 102 have been fully considered and are not persuasive. Applicant argues that Li does not teach the newly amended claim. Examiner disagrees with this as described in the claim mapping below. Please see claim rejection section provided for further details.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Li (Pub. No.: US 2023/0254883 A1).
Regarding claim 1, Li teaches
Method for sharing sensing information between at least two transceivers of a wireless communication system, the at least two transceivers operating in a sidelink in- coverage, out of coverage or partial coverage scenario, in which resources for a sidelink communication over a sidelink are pre-configured by the wireless communication system or allocated or scheduled autonomously by the at least two transceivers, the method comprising (Li [0005] and fig. 11: method for sharing sensing information between at least two transceivers (UE A and UE B) in sidelink; the limitation before ‘comprising’ is not being given patentable weight as it would be a duplicate claim and is not recited in the body of the claim):
performing, with the first transceiver, a continuous or partial sensing of a first set of resources of the sidelink, in order to acquire a first sensing information, the first sensing information describing an occupancy of at least a proper subset of the first set of resources of the sidelink (Li [0005], and figs 11 & 14: first device performing sensing of a first resource pool (first set of resources of the sidelink); [0042]: partial sensing),
performing a first sidelink transmission from the first transceiver to a second transceiver of the at least two transceivers, wherein the first sidelink transmission comprises the first sensing information (Li [0005] and figs 11 & 14: first sidelink transmission from first transceiver to second transceiver comprising the resource information (sensing information));
wherein the first sidelink transmission is a transmission of a second stage sidelink control information (Li [0265-0268]: first sidelink transmission from first to second device, signal can be an associated second stage SCI (sidelink control information)).
Regarding claim 2, Li teaches
Method according to claim 1 (the limitations of parent claim 1 as indicated above),
Li further teaches
wherein the first sidelink transmission is one out of
- a transmission of a first stage sidelink control information, SCI (Li [0268] and [0289]: signal transmission can be a first stage SCI),
- a transmission of an information element, IE,
- a transmission of a hybrid automatic repeat request, HARQ, feedback transmission,
- a transmission of a broadcasting message.
Regarding claim 3, Li teaches
Method according to claim 1 (the limitations of parent claim 1 as indicated above),
Li further teaches
wherein the transmission of the first sidelink transmission and/or a periodicity of the transmission of the first sidelink transmission depends on at least one out of
- a type of the first transceiver and/or the second transceiver,
- a battery level of the first transceiver and/or the second transceiver (Li [0260]: sending resources based on battery constraint of the UEs (first and second transceiver)),
- a velocity of the first transceiver and/or the second transceiver,
- a reception of cooperation request requesting a sharing of the sensing information,
- a quality of service or quality requirement of the first transceiver and/or the second transceiver, and/or of a priority of traffic of the second transceiver (Li [0171]: transmission parameters based on QoS (quality of service); Li [0126]: priority of traffic),
- a social's or operator's credit,
- a geo-location of the first transceiver and/or the second transceiver (Li [0322]: resources based on device location; multiple limitations were mapped for the purpose of compact prosecution, however examiner notes that only one is required per the claim language).
Regarding claim 4, Li teaches
Method according to claim 1 (the limitations of parent claim 1 as indicated above),
Li further teaches
wherein the method further comprises:
performing, with the second transceiver, a continuous or partial sensing of a second set of resources of the sidelink, in order to acquire a second sensing information, the second sensing information describing an occupancy of at least a proper subset of the second set of resources of the sidelink (Li [0296]: second set of resources, potentially comprising first set of resources or in addition to (subset of), two sets of resources; Li [0005]: performing sensing; Li [0042]: partial sensing),
performing a second sidelink transmission from the second transceiver to the first or a third transceiver of the at least two transceivers (Li fig. 15 & 11: second sidelink transmission from the second device (transceiver), “to be transmitted by the second device”), wherein the second sidelink transmission comprises one out of
- the first sensing information and the second sensing information (Li [0296]: first set of resources (sensing information) and second set of resources),
- an updated sensing information acquired by updating the first sensing information based on the second sensing information,
- a combined sensing information derived from a combination of the first sensing information and the second sensing information.
wherein the first set of resources and the second set of resources are the same sets of resources, different sets of resources or partially overlapping sets of resources (Li [0296]: can be separate resource or be from the same set).
Regarding claim 5, Li teaches
Method according to claim 4 (the limitations of parent claim 4 as indicated above),
Li further teaches
wherein the second sidelink transmission is one out of
- a transmission of a first stage sidelink control information, SCI,
- a transmission of a second stage sidelink control information (Li [0277]: second transmission comprising second stage SCI),
- a transmission of an information element, IE,
- a transmission of a hybrid automatic repeat request, HARQ, feedback,
- a transmission of a broadcasting message.
Regarding claim 6, Li teaches
Method according to claim 4 (the limitations of parent claim 4 as indicated above),
Li further teaches
wherein the transmission of the second sidelink transmission and/or a periodicity of the transmission of the second sidelink transmission depends on at least one out of
- a type of the second transceiver and/or the third transceiver,
- a battery level of the second transceiver and/or the third transceiver (Li [0260]: transmission dependent on battery constraint; only one limitation of the list required per the claim language, multiple mapped for the purpose of compact prosecution),
- a velocity of the second transceiver and/or the third transceiver,
- a reception of cooperation request requesting a sharing of the sensing information,
- a quality of service or quality requirement of the second transceiver and/or the third transceiver, and/or of a priority of traffic of the third transceiver,
- a social's or operator's credit,
- a geo-location of second transceiver and/or the third transceiver (Li [0079]: UE provided location).
Regarding claim 7, Li teaches
Method according to claim 1 (the limitations of parent claim 1 as indicated above),
wherein the first sensing information describes
- a set of free resources that are not utilized by the first transceiver (Li [0086] & [0197]: available resources (free resources)),
- a set of resources that are recommended to be used (Li [0048]: priority resources),
- a set of resources that are not recommended to be used (Li [0047] & [0054]: excluding resources that meet a criterion (resources that are not recommended)),
- a set of occupied resources (Li [0048]: reserved resources),
- one or more resources in which a collision is detected (Li [0050] & [0163]: resource overlap (collision)).
Regarding claim 8, Li teaches
Method according to claim 4 (the limitations of parent claim 4 as indicated above),
Li further teaches
wherein the second sensing information describes
- a set of free resources that are not utilized by the second transceiver (Li [0086] & [0197]: available resources (free resources)),
- a set of resources that are recommended to be used (Li [0048]: priority resources),
- a set of resources that are not recommended to be used (Li [0047] & [0054]: excluding resources that meet a criterion (resources that are not recommended)),
- a set of occupied resources (Li [0048]: reserved resources),
- one or more resources in which a collision is detected (Li [0050] & [0163]: resource overlap (collision)).
Regarding claim 9, Li teaches
Method according to claim 1 (the limitations of parent claim 1 as indicated above),
Li further teaches
wherein the first sidelink transmission is transmitted by the first transceiver in response to an external event or in response to a reception of a sensing information sharing request (Li [0040-0041] and [0271]: when requested by higher layers, UE (transceiver) determines resources to be reported (transmitted)).
Regarding claim 10, Li teaches
Method according to claim 1 (the limitations of parent claim 1 as indicated above),
Li further teaches
wherein the method further comprises:
receiving, with the first transceiver, a first assistance information from the second transceiver, the first assistance information indicating a set of resources preferred or not preferred for a reception of the first sidelink transmission (Li [0266], [0279-0280], [0135], and fig. 11: preferrable candidate resources (preferred) and resource exclusion of not preferred resources, resource selection procedure),
selecting, with the first transceiver, a set of resources for the first sidelink transmission in dependence on the first assistance information (Li [0266], [0279-0280], [0135], and fig. 11: preferrable candidate resources (preferred) and resource exclusion of not preferred resources, selecting based on resource selection procedure).
Regarding claim 11, Li teaches
Method according to claim 4 (the limitations of parent claim 4 as indicated above),
Li further teaches
wherein the method further comprises:
receiving, with the second transceiver, a second assistance information from the third transceiver, the second assistance information indicating a set of resources preferred or not preferred for a reception of the second sidelink transmission (Li [0266], [0279-0280], and fig. 11: preferrable candidate resources (preferred) and resource exclusion of not preferred resources, derives information based on received signal),
selecting, with the second transceiver, a set of resources for the second sidelink transmission in dependence on the second assistance information (Li [0266], [0279-0280], and fig. 11: preferrable candidate resources (preferred) and resource exclusion of not preferred resources, selecting with second device (second transceiver) candidate resource).
Regarding claim 12, Li teaches
Method for sharing sensing information between at least two transceivers of a wireless communication system, the at least two transceivers operating in a sidelink in- coverage, out of coverage or partial coverage scenario, in which resources for a sidelink communication over a sidelink are pre-configured by the wireless communication system or allocated or scheduled autonomously by the at least two transceivers (Li [0005], [0042], and fig. 11: method for sharing sensing information between at least two transceivers (UE A and UE B) in sidelink, configured communication can occur via higher layers or allocated by the transceivers as seen in fig. 11; Li [0066]: in-coverage, partial coverage, or out-of-coverage), the method comprising:
performing, with the first transceiver, a continuous or partial sensing of a first set of resources of the sidelink, in order to acquire a first sensing information, the first sensing information describing an occupancy of at least a proper subset of the first set of resources of the sidelink (Li [0005] and figs 11 & 14: first device performing sensing of a first resource pool (first set of resources of the sidelink); [0042]: partial sensing),
performing a first sidelink transmission from the first transceiver to a second transceiver of the at least two transceivers, wherein the first sidelink transmission comprises the first sensing information (Li [0005] and figs 11 & 14: first sidelink transmission from first transceiver to second transceiver comprising the resource information (sensing information));
wherein the transmission of the first sidelink transmission and/or a periodicity of the transmission of the first sidelink transmission depends on at least one out of
- a reception of cooperation request requesting a sharing of the sensing information,
- a social's or operator's credit (this credit is being interpreted as usable/remaining bandwidth or resources, as it is not a term of the art and is not further defined in the specification; Li [0409-0410] and [0400-0401]: set of sidelink resources to be used along with remaining set of resources available).
Regarding claim 13, Li teaches
First transceiver of a wireless communication system, wherein the first transceiver comprises a processor and a transceiver (Li [0005], [0037], [0042], and fig. 11: first transceiver (UE A); Li [0037]: CPU (central processing unit) (processor)),
wherein the first transceiver is configured to operate in a sidelink in-coverage, out of coverage or partial coverage scenario, in which resources for a sidelink communication over a sidelink are pre-configured by the wireless communication system or allocated or scheduled autonomously by the first transceiver (Li [0005], [0037], [0042], and fig. 11: first transceiver (UE A) sharing sensing information between at least two transceivers (UE A and UE B) in sidelink, configured communication can occur via higher layers or allocated by the transceivers as seen in fig. 11), the method comprising:
wherein the first transceiver is configured to perform a continuous or partial sensing of a first set of resources of the sidelink, in order to acquire a first sensing information, the first sensing information describing an occupancy of at least a proper subset of the first set of resources of the sidelink (Li [0005] and figs 11 & 14: first device performing sensing of a first resource pool (first set of resources of the sidelink); [0042]: partial sensing),
wherein the first transceiver is configured to perform a first sidelink transmission from the first transceiver to a second transceiver of the wireless communication network, wherein the first sidelink transmission comprises the first sensing information (Li [0005] and figs 11 & 14: first sidelink transmission from first transceiver to second transceiver comprising the resource information (sensing information));
wherein the first sidelink transmission is a transmission of a second stage sidelink control information (Li [0265-0268]: first sidelink transmission from first to second device, signal can be an associated second stage SCI (sidelink control information)).
Regarding claim 14, Li teaches
Second transceiver of a wireless communication system, wherein the second transceiver comprises a processor and a transceiver (Li [0005], [0037], [0042], and fig. 11: second transceiver (UE B); Li [0037]: CPU (central processing unit) (processor)),
Wherein the second transceiver is configured to operate in a sidelink in-coverage, out of coverage or partial coverage scenario, in which resources for a sidelink communication over a sidelink are pre-configured by the wireless communication system or allocated or scheduled autonomously by the second transceiver (Li [0005], [0037], [0042], and fig. 11: second transceiver (UE B), sharing sensing information between at least two transceivers (UE A and UE B) in sidelink, configured communication can occur via higher layers or allocated by the transceivers as seen in fig. 11; Li [0066]: in-coverage, partial coverage, or out-of-coverage), the method comprising:
Wherein the second transceiver is configured to receive a first sidelink transmission from a first transceiver of the wireless communication network, wherein the first sidelink transmission comprises a first sensing information acquired by the first transceiver by performing a continuous or partial sensing of a first set of resources of the sidelink, the first sensing information describing an occupancy of at least a proper subset of the first set of resources of the sidelink (Li [0005] and figs 11 & 14: second transceiver (UE B) receiving first sidelink transmission from first transceiver (UE A), first device performing sensing of a first resource pool (first set of resources of the sidelink); [0042]: partial sensing; Li [0005] and figs 11 & 14: first sidelink transmission from first transceiver to second transceiver comprising the resource information (sensing information));
wherein the first sidelink transmission is a transmission of a second stage sidelink control information (Li [0265-0268]: first sidelink transmission from first to second device, signal can be an associated second stage SCI (sidelink control information)).
Regarding claim 15, Li teaches
Method for operating a first transceiver of a wireless communication system (Li [0005], [0037], and fig. 11: method, first transceiver (UE A); [0002]: wireless communication system), the method comprising:
operating the first transceiver in a sidelink in-coverage, out of coverage or partial coverage scenario, in which resources for a sidelink communication over a sidelink are pre-configured by the wireless communication system or allocated or scheduled autonomously by the first transceiver (Li [0005], [0042], and fig. 11: sharing sensing information between at least two transceivers (UE A and UE B) in sidelink, configured communication can occur via higher layers or allocated by the transceivers as seen in fig. 11; Li [0066]: in-coverage, partial coverage, or out-of-coverage),
performing a continuous or partial sensing of a first set of resources of the sidelink, in order to acquire a first sensing information, the first sensing information describing an occupancy of at least a proper subset of the first set of resources of the sidelink (Li [0005] and figs 11 & 14: first device performing sensing of a first resource pool (first set of resources of the sidelink); [0042]: partial sensing),
performing a first sidelink transmission from the first transceiver to a second transceiver of the wireless communication network, wherein the first sidelink transmission comprises the first sensing information (Li [0005] and figs 11 & 14: first sidelink transmission from first transceiver to second transceiver comprising the resource information (sensing information)),
wherein the first sidelink transmission is a transmission of a second stage sidelink control information (Li [0265-0268]: first sidelink transmission from first to second device, signal can be an associated second stage SCI (sidelink control information)).
Regarding claim 16, Li teaches
Method for operating a second transceiver of a wireless communication system (Li [0005], [0037], and fig. 11: method, second transceiver (UE B); [0002]: wireless communication system), the method comprising:
operating the second transceiver in a sidelink in-coverage, out of coverage or partial coverage scenario, in which resources for a sidelink communication over a sidelink are pre-configured by the wireless communication system or allocated or scheduled autonomously by the second transceiver (Li [0005], [0037], [0042], and fig. 11: second transceiver (UE B), sharing sensing information between at least two transceivers (UE A and UE B) in sidelink, configured communication can occur via higher layers or allocated by the transceivers as seen in fig. 11; Li [0066]: in-coverage, partial coverage, or out-of-coverage),
receiving a first sidelink transmission from a first transceiver of the wireless communication network, wherein the first sidelink transmission comprises a first sensing information acquired by the first transceiver by performing a continuous or partial sensing of a first set of resources of the sidelink, the first sensing information describing an occupancy of at least a proper subset of the first set of resources of the sidelink (Li [0005] and figs 11 & 14: second transceiver (UE B) receiving first sidelink transmission from first transceiver (UE A), first device performing sensing of a first resource pool (first set of resources of the sidelink); [0042]: partial sensing; Li [0005] and figs 11 & 14: first sidelink transmission from first transceiver to second transceiver comprising the resource information (sensing information));
wherein the first sidelink transmission is a transmission of a second stage sidelink control information (Li [0265-0268]: first sidelink transmission from first to second device, signal can be an associated second stage SCI (sidelink control information)).
Regarding claim 17, Li teaches
A non-transitory digital storage medium having a computer program stored thereon to perform the method for operating a first transceiver of a wireless communication system (Li [0469]: computer-readable storage medium; [0005], [0037], and fig. 11: method, first transceiver (UE A); [0002]: wireless communication system), the method comprising:
operating the first transceiver in a sidelink in-coverage, out of coverage or partial coverage scenario, in which resources for a sidelink communication over a sidelink are pre-configured by the wireless communication system or allocated or scheduled autonomously by the first transceiver (Li [0005], [0037], [0042], and fig. 11: first transceiver (UE A) sharing sensing information between at least two transceivers (UE A and UE B) in sidelink, configured communication can occur via higher layers or allocated by the transceivers as seen in fig. 11),
performing a continuous or partial sensing of a first set of resources of the sidelink, in order to acquire a first sensing information, the first sensing information describing an occupancy of at least a proper subset of the first set of resources of the sidelink (Li [0005] and figs 11 & 14: first device performing sensing of a first resource pool (first set of resources of the sidelink); [0042]: partial sensing),
performing a first sidelink transmission from the first transceiver to a second transceiver of the wireless communication network (Li [0005] and figs 11 & 14: first sidelink transmission from first transceiver to second transceiver),
wherein the first sidelink transmission comprises the first sensing information, wherein the first sidelink transmission is a transmission of a second stage sidelink control information, when said computer program is run by a computer (Li [0005] and figs 11 & 14: first sidelink transmission from first transceiver to second transceiver comprising the resource information (sensing information); Li [0265-0268]: first sidelink transmission from first to second device, signal can be an associated second stage SCI (sidelink control information); Li [0469]: computer program, computer).
Regarding claim 18, Li teaches
A non-transitory digital storage medium having a computer program stored thereon to perform the method for operating a second transceiver of a wireless communication system (Li [0469]: computer-readable storage medium; [0005], [0037], and fig. 11: method, second transceiver (UE B); [0002]: wireless communication system), the method comprising:
operating the second transceiver in a sidelink in-coverage, out of coverage or partial coverage scenario, in which resources for a sidelink communication over a sidelink are pre-configured by the wireless communication system or allocated or scheduled autonomously by the second transceiver (Li [0005], [0037], [0042], and fig. 11: second transceiver (UE B), sharing sensing information between at least two transceivers (UE A and UE B) in sidelink, configured communication can occur via higher layers or allocated by the transceivers as seen in fig. 11; Li [0066]: in-coverage, partial coverage, or out-of-coverage),
receiving a first sidelink transmission from a first transceiver of the wireless communication network, wherein the first sidelink transmission comprises a first sensing information acquired by the first transceiver by performing a continuous or partial sensing of a first set of resources of the sidelink, the first sensing information describing an occupancy of at least a proper subset of the first set of resources of the sidelink (Li [0005] and figs 11 & 14: second transceiver (UE B) receiving first sidelink transmission from first transceiver (UE A), first device performing sensing of a first resource pool (first set of resources of the sidelink); [0042]: partial sensing; Li [0005] and figs 11 & 14: first sidelink transmission from first transceiver to second transceiver comprising the resource information (sensing information));
wherein the first sidelink transmission is a transmission of a second stage sidelink control information (Li [0265-0268]: first sidelink transmission from first to second device, signal can be an associated second stage SCI (sidelink control information)),
when said computer program is run by a computer (Li [0469]: computer program, computer).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/R.E.M./Examiner, Art Unit 2412 /CHARLES C JIANG/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2412