Notice of AIA Status
DETAILED ACTION
Specification
The specification is objected to. Specifically, paragraph 00093 of Applicants specification contains many compounds of poor quality. Applicants pre-grant publication US 2023/0200205 shows this as many of the atom labels and some of the bonds in the compounds taught in paragraph 00093 cannot be interpreted/identified. Additionally, compounds H-5, H-7, and H-8 in paragraph 00202 and the compound of Formula 16 in paragraph 00228 suffer from legibility issues.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to. The limitation “each of a A ring and a E ring is” should be amended to “each of ring A and ring E are” for better clarity.
Claim 8 is objected to. The limitation “the emitting compound is one of the compounds” should be amended to “the emitting compound is selected from any one of the compounds” for better clarity.
Claim 11 is objected to. The limitation “the second compound is one of the compounds” should be amended to “the second compound is selected from any one of the compounds” for better clarity.
Claim 18 is objected to. The limitation “the emitting compound is one of the compounds” should be amended to “the emitting compound is selected from any one of the compounds” for better clarity.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. Formula 2-2 of claim 3 does not further limit Formula 1 of claim 1. Specifically, the ring which comprises Y2 by necessity requires a double bond as recited in Formula 1 when variable m is equal to zero. However, Formula 2-2 of claim 3 is missing said double bond in the Y2-containing ring. Applicant may cancel the claim, amend the claim to place the claim in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. Compounds 45 through 54 do not further limit Formula 1 of claim 8. Specifically, compounds 45 through 54 are believed to refer to embodiments where variable m is equal to zero and variable n is equal to 1. However, in such an embodiment, there must necessarily be a double bond in the ring furthest form the central boron atom. Applicant may cancel the claim, amend the claim to place the claim in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. Compounds 45 through 54 do not further limit Formula 1 of claim 18. Specifically, compounds 45 through 54 are believed to refer to embodiments where variable m is equal to zero and variable n is equal to 1. However, in such an embodiment, there must necessarily be a double bond in the ring furthest form the central boron atom. Applicant may cancel the claim, amend the claim to place the claim in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 5-7, 9, and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Shin et al. (US 2023/0189646). The English language equivalent US 2023/0189646 is relied upon for citation purposes.
Claim 1: Compound 227 of Shin et al., which has the structure,
, anticipates Formula 1. As applied to Formula 1, compound 227 has X1 equal to B, X2 and X3 equal to NR3 with both R3 equal to a substituted phenyl group (t-butyl substituted phenyl), ring E is an unsubstituted benzene ring, ring A is the C14 heterocyclic ring system
, Y1 is C(R5)2 with both R5 groups equal to methyl, n equal to zero, and m equal to zero.
Claim 2: Compound 227 also anticipates Formula 2-1 of claim 2 with all variable assignments being the same as in claim 1.
Claim 5: Compound 227 also anticipates Formulae 3-1 of claim 5, with Y3 equal to O, R11 and R12 equal to hydrogen atoms, and R13 and R14 joined to form a substituted hetero ring (benzofuran), and all other variables being defined in claim 1 above.
Claim 6: Compound 227 also anticipates Formula 3-2 of claim 6 with R21-R23 equal to hydrogen atoms and all other variables being defined in claim 1 above.
Claim 7: Compound 227 also anticipates Formula 3-3 of claim 7 with R11-R14 being described in claim 5 above, R21-R23 equal to hydrogen, R31, R32, R34, R35, R41, R42, R44, and R45 equal to hydrogen, and R33 and R43 equal to t-butyl, and all other variables being defined in claim 1 above.
Claims 9 and 10: The compounds taught by Shin et al., which includes compound 227, are employed as dopants in organic electroluminescent devices. The employment of any one of the explicitly taught boron-based compounds of Shin et al., including compound 227, in the devices taught therein, is at once envisaged. The devices taught by Shin et al. are comprised of a substrate, an anode, a hole transport region, an light-emitting region comprising an anthracene-based host material and a boron-based dopant material, an electron transporting region, and a cathode. The exemplified host material has the structure
(page 208). As applied to Formula 5 of claim 10, this compound has Ar1 equal to a deuterated phenyl, L equal to a single bond, and Ar2 equal to a substituted C12 heteroaryl group. A device prepared in the manner of the working examples with compound 227 as the dopant material therefore satisfies all of the structural limitations of claims 9 and 10. Additionally, it can be said that the devices taught by Shin et al. satisfies all of the device limitations of claim 9, wherein the device taught by Shin et al. comprises a substrate and which has one blue pixel, thereby satisfying the device limitations of claim 9.
Claims 1 and 2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Wang et al. (CN-112225837, cited on Applicants information disclosure statement, filed on 4/7/25).
Claim 1: Wang et al. teaches the polymers of P2-71 and P2-72 on page 136. Prior to polymerization, the boron containing monomers satisfy all of the structural limitations of Formula 1 of claim 1. Such monomers have the structures
. As applied to Formula 1, these monomers have X1 equal to B, X2 and X3 equal to S, ring A equal to an unsubstituted C6 aromatic ring (benzene in the left structure above) or equal to a substituted C6 aromatic ring (right structure above), Y1 equal to NR1, R1 equal to methyl, n and m equal to zero, and ring E equal to a substituted C6 aromatic ring (vinyl-substituted benzene).
Claim 2: The two monomers above further anticipate Formula 2-1 of claim 2 with all variable assignments being the same as in claim 1.
Claims 1, 2, and 9-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kim et al. (WO 2021/020928, cited on Applicants information disclosure statement filed on 4/7/25).
Claim 1: Kim et al. teaches polycyclic compounds which are employed as blue dopants in organic electroluminescent devices. One such compound is compound 60, which anticipates Formula 1 of claim 1 and which has the structure
(page 395). As applied to Formula 1, compound 60 has X1 equal to B, X2 and X3 equal to NR1, both R1 groups equal to substituted C6 aryl groups (4-t-butyl-substitued phenyl and 4-t-butyl-2-phenyl-substituted phenyl), ring A equal to a t-butyl-substituted benzene ring E equal to a substituted C6 aromatic ring (p-toluene) Y1 equal to C(R2)2, both R2 groups equal to methyl, and n and m equal to zero.
Claim 2: Compound 60 further anticipates Formula 2-1 of claim 2 with all variable assignments being the same as in claim 1.
Claims 9-11: Device example 1-60 of Kim et al. is drawn to an organic light emitting device comprising a substrate, an anode, a hole injection layer, a hole transport region comprising a first and second hole transport layer, an emission layer comprising the compound BH as a host, compound 60 as a blue dopant, an electron transport region comprising a first and second electron transport layer, an electron injection layer, and a cathode. It can be said that the device taught in example 1-60 satisfies all of the limitations of claim 9, wherein the device has one blue pixel defined on the substrate. The compound BH taught in device example 1-60 is the same compound as H-3 of claim 11, and BH therefore anticipates the limitations of Formula 5 of claim 10 since claim 11 is dependent on claim 10.
Claims 1, 2, and 9-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Geum et al. (KR-20220073182). Copies of the original and a machine translation are included with this Office action. Geum et al. has a publication date of 6/3/22, which is before Applicants filing date of 11/21/22 but after Applicants (unperfected) foreign priority date of 12/22/21. Should Applicants provide a certified English language translation of their foreign priority document KR 10-2021-0185340, this rejection would be withdrawn.
Claim 1: Geum et al. teaches the compound P-6 which has the structure
(page 99). As applied to Formula 1, this compound has X1 equal to B, X2 and X3 equal to NR1, with both R1 equal to a substituted phenyl group, ring A equal to a substituted C6 aromatic ring (a 2,6-difluorophenylbenzene), Y1 equal to Si(R3)2 with both R3 groups equal to methyl , n and m equal to zero, and ring E equal to a methyl-substituted C6 aromatic ring (p-tolyl).
Claim 2: Compound P-6 above also anticipates Formula 2-1 of claim 2 with all variable assignments being the same as in claim 1.
Claims 9-11: Device example 29 of Kim et al. is drawn to an organic light emitting device comprising a substrate, an anode, a hole transport region, an emission layer comprising the compound BH-4 as a host, P-6 above as a blue dopant, an electron transport region, and a cathode. It can be said that the device taught in example 29 satisfies all of the limitations of claim 9 and wherein the device has one blue pixel defined on the substrate. The compound BH taught in device example 29 is the same compound as H-2 of claim 11, and BH therefore anticipates the limitations of Formula 5 of claim 10 as well as claim 11 since claim 11 is dependent on claim 10.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Geum et al. (KR-20220073182). While claim 3 is a dependent claim, independent claim 1 does not cover the structural embodiments of claim 3 as described in the 112(d) rejection of claim 1 above. However, for the sake of compact prosecution, the structural merits of claim 3 by itself is considered.
Geum et al. teaches the compound
(page 12, bottom right). This compound satisfies all of the limitations of Formula 2-2 of claim 3 with X1 equal to B, X2 and X3 equal to NR3 with R3 equal to a substituted phenyl group, and ring A equal to a t-butyl-substituted benzene ring, and ring E equal to an isopropyl-substituted phenyl ring. This compound differs from Formula 2-2 of claim 3 in that the oxygen atom and the dimethyl group bonded to the ring which is bonded to the central B are in a different bonding position than Formula 2-2 of claim 3. That is to say, the boron atom and the oxygen atom bonded meta to each other with respect to the bridging phenyl ring. Claim 3 requires that the dimethyl group and the boron group be bonded meta to each other with respect to the bridging phenyl ring. However, Geum et al. teaches both type of bonding arrangements, such as, but not limited to the bonding arrangements in the first and third compounds shown on page 6. It would have been therefore been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to have prepared an analog of the compound above which does satisfy the bonding position of Formula 2-2 given the overall teachings of Geum et al. Aside from the teaching that both types of bonding patterns may be present in the compounds of Geum et al., in general formula 1-1 of Geum et al. on page 3, variables X1 and X2 may be independently selected from C(R2)2, O, S, and Si(R3)2 as taught on page 3. The selection of X1 equal to C(R2)2 and X2 equal to C(R2)2, O, S, or Si(R3)2 would have therefore been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art. This includes preparing a compound analogous to the compound above but where a C(Me)2 group replaces the oxygen atom and any one of a C(R2)2, O, S, or Si(R3)2 group (or atom) is bonded at the para position to the central boron atom. One having ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to prepare such compounds as it would be expected that such compounds would have similar properties to the compounds disclosed by Geum et al. The modifications described above represent a predictable variation to the compounds disclosed therein.
Double Patenting
Claims 1, 2, 5, 6, and 11 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 10 and 20 of copending Application No. 17/991,465 (reference application having the pre-grant publication number US 2023/0189642). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other. Compounds 1-42 and 1-45 as recited in claim 10 of the ‘465 application satisfy all of the structural limitations of Formula 1 of claim 1, Formula 2-1 of claim 2, Formula 3-1 of claim 5 and Formula 3-2 of claim 6. Further, compounds 1-42 and 1-45 as recited in claim 20 of the ‘465 application satisfy all of the device and structural limitations of claim 11.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4 and 12-17 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. Regarding claim 4, the prior art does not teach or fairly suggest compounds which have the central X1 atom bonded to a ring system having five fused rings as required by Formula 2-3. The closest prior art document regarding this claim is Huang et al. (CN-112278309). Huang et al. teaches compound of general formula (1) as shown in the abstract. In these compounds, n1 through n4 is taught to be equal to 0, 1, or 2. Embodiments where any one of n1 through n2 is equal to 2 would have therefore been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art and such compounds would have a fused ring system comprising five fused rings bonded to the central atom denoted as X in Huang et al, which corresponds to X1 in Formula 2-3 of claim 4. However, the central core of Huang et al. does not read on Formula 2-3 of claim 4. Claim 4 excludes embodiments where any one or more of variables Y1, X2, and X3 may be bonded to form a ring system.
Regarding claims 12-17, the prior art references of record teach organic light-emitting devices having a single emission layer and none of the prior art references teach or fairly suggest, the additional device limitations recited in claims 12-17. Each of claims 12-17 requires specific device limitations, including two light emitting layers in sequence with both light-emitting layers comprising a compound of claim 1 separated by a charge generation layer as required by claims 12, 14 and 15, or including a yellow-green emitting or a red and green emitting second light-emitting layer separated from the first emitting material layer by a charge generation layer as required by claims 16 and 17. The device limitations recited in claims 12-17 go beyond what is reasonably taught or suggested by the prior art.
Last, while claims 8 and 18 are rejected above, they are free of any prior art rejections. The prior art fails to teach or fairly suggest the specific compounds recited in claims 8 and 18.
Relevant Art Cited
Additional prior art documents which are relevant to Applicants invention can be found on the attached PTO-892 form.
/Robert S Loewe/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1766