DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-11 and 13 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Masahiro [JP 2001-230134 A] in view of Yeom et al. [EP 3032549 A1].
Regarding claims 1-3 and 6-7, Masahiro discloses a magnetic device [figure 4] comprising;
- a frame portion [figure 4];
- a first winding set having a first winding wire and a first magnetic core of the frame portion [figure 4]
- a second winding set having a second winding wire and a second magnetic core of the frame portion, wherein winding numbers of the two winding sets are identical or different and winding directions of the two winding sets are identical or different;
- a first metal piece [one of the I-shaped cores], wherein the first winding set, the second winding set and the first metal piece are disposed in the frame portion, the first metal piece substantially connects the first winding set, the second winding set and the frame portion;
- a third winding set and a second metal piece [one of the I-shaped cores], wherein the third winding set and the second metal piece are disposed in the frame portion, the first metal piece and the second metal piece respectively connect adjacent two of the first, second and third winding sets and the frame portion [figure 4].
Masahiro discloses a three-phase AC reactor device which uses AC for the winding sets.
Masahiro disclose the instant claimed invention except for a material of the two winding sets is different from a material of the first metal piece.
Yeom et al. discloses a magnetic device [figure 1] comprising:
- a first core [11];
- a first coil [12] wound about the first core;
- a second core [21];
- a second coil [22] wound about the second core; and
- a third core [30] arranged between the first and second coils, wherein a material of the third core different from material of the first and second cores [figure 1].
It would have been an obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to use the material different between the core and the metal piece of Yeom et al., in Masahiro for the purpose of facilitating different desired magnetic flux/field characteristic and reducing/minimizing core losses [abstract].
The specific “different” phases between the coils would have been an obvious design consideration based on the intended applications and/or environments uses.
Regarding claims 4 and 10, Yeom et al. discloses the use of different materials for the magnetic cores and different examples of magnetic core structure and/or materials [Table 1].
The specific low and/or high permeability material uses for the first and second metal pieces would have been an obvious design consideration for the purpose of facilitating different desired magnetic field/flux characteristics.
Regarding claim 5, both Masahiro and Yeom et al. disclose the magnetic cores are tightly engaged with contact surfaces of the first metal piece [first, second, third cores].
Regarding claims 8-9, Masahiro discloses the winding numbers of adjacent two of the three winding sets are identical or different and winding directions of adjacent two of the three winding sets are identical or different [figure 4].
Regarding claim 11, Masahiro discloses adjacent two of the three winding sets respectively are tightly engaged with two contact surfaces of the first and the second metal pieces [figure 4].
Regarding claim 13, Masahiro discloses the frame portion comprises a first frame portion, a second frame portion, and a third frame portion, wherein the first and third frame portions, respectively stacked on top and bottom of the first metal piece, are tightly engaged with two opposite sides of the first metal piece, wherein the third and second frame portions, respectively stacked on top and bottom of the second metal piece, are tightly engaged with two opposite sides of the second metal piece [figure 4 shows 3 different core/winding assemblies stacked and separated by metal pieces I-shaped cores].
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-11 and 13 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/TUYEN T NGUYEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2837