DETAILED ACTION
Status of Case
This Office Action is in response to the amendment filed on 8/24/2026.
Claims 1-20 are pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed on 8/24/2026 with respect to the pending claims have been considered but are moot because the arguments do not apply to any of the references being used in the current rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1,8, and 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang (USPAN 2022/0022251) in view of Liu (USPN 10,547,374), Tymes (EP 0544337 B1), and Barker (USPAN 2017/0059337).
Consider claims 1, 8, and 15, Yang discloses one or more processors (see figures 12-13: processor 22), and a corresponding system comprising one or more processors (see figures 5-6 (reproduced below for convenience), wherein disclosed is said system), and a corresponding method (see figures 5-6, wherein disclosed is said method), comprising:
circuitry to adjust one or more timings windows, in which to configure one or more resources to receive one or more signals based, at least in part, on one or more previously received signals (see paragraph 373: when updating the time window, the network device may adjust a length of the time window based on the first information, wherein the first information is a “previously received signal” relative to subsequently received signals after the time window is adjusted).
Yang does not specifically disclose adjusting one or more timing windows based, at least in part, on a time of one or more signals previously received at a base station from a user equipment (UE).
Lin discloses adjusting one or more timing windows based, at least in part, on a time of one or more signals previously received at a base station from a user equipment (UE) (see col. 8 lines 40-65: the procedure for detecting PRACH preambles (which are received at a BS from a UE) and estimating terminal timing advance (TA) (which is used to adjust a timing transmission window) is based on “a third operation, [where] the satellite eNB detects the presence of PRACH preambles and estimates their respective time of arrivals in the expanded PRACH slot by applying the terrestrial LTE PRACH preamble detection and timing estimation algorithm successively in each of the observation windows. As indicated in FIG. 7 and FIG. 8, if a detection occurs in the k.sup.th observation window and delay measurement is made within the k.sup.th observation window as δ relative to the start time of the k.sup.th observation window, then the satellite eNB reports the new TA to be (k−1)*CP duration+δ”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Yang and combine it with the noted teachings of Lin. The motivation to combine these references is to provide a method for random access for long-term evolution (LTE) over satellite (see col. 1 lines 19-21 of Lin).
Yang does not specifically disclose to identify one or more wireless signals previously received at a base station and sent from a user equipment (UE) and adjusting one or more time windows based at least on a time of one or more wireless signals previously received.
Tymes discloses to identify one or more wireless signals previously received at a base station and sent from a user equipment (UE) and adjusting one or more time windows based at least on a time of one or more wireless signals previously received (see claim 6: time window adjusted according to a previous reception of an acknowledge signal).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Yang and combine it with the noted teachings of Tymes. The motivation to combine these references is to provide an RF communication system in which a number of remote units send data to a central computer via intermediate base stations (see paragraph 1 of Tymes).
Yang does not specifically disclose determining an early arrival margin and a late arrival margin for one or more timing windows and adjusting the one or more timing windows according to the early arrival margin and the late arrival margin.
Barker discloses determining an early arrival margin and a late arrival margin for one or more timing windows and adjusting the one or more timing windows according to the early arrival margin and the late arrival margin (see paragraph 30: “The user may adjust the time window by setting an early arrival parameter and/or an acceptable tardiness parameter for the time window (e.g., an amount of time the user prefers to arrive before events and/or an amount of time the user considers acceptable to arrive to events late).”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Yang and combine it with the noted teachings of Barker. The motivation to combine these references is to provide a manner to adjust time window based on early and late thresholds (see paragraphs 3 and 4 of Barker).
Claims 3, 5-6, 9-12, 16, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang (USPAN 2022/0022251) in view of Liu (USPN 10,547,374), Tymes (EP 0544337 B1), Barker (USPAN 2017/0059337), and Hande (USPAN 2023/0231788).
Consider claim 3, although Yang discloses previously received signals to adjust the one or more timing windows (see above), Yang does not disclose the use of arrival times or the length of time a previously received 5G NR signal took to arrive at a base station to adjust one or more timing windows.
Hande discloses the use of arrival times or the length of time a previously received 5G NR signal took to arrive at a base station to adjust one or more timing windows (see paragraph 89: The network 405 may determine (e.g., set) the time window 430-a according to a start time, such as indicated via an Win_DL_start IE, and an end time, such as indicated via an Win_DL_end IE. In some examples, the start time and the end time may be based on a time (e.g., a time instance) in which an uplink message (e.g., the first uplink message 420) is received at the network 405. That is, the start time and the end time may be based on an arrival time of the uplink message).
Hande discloses that signals are fifth generation new radio (5G NR) signals (see paragraph 35: fifth generation (5G) New Radio (NR) system that transmits/receives 5G NR signals).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Yang and combine it with the noted teachings of Hande. The motivation to combine these references is to provide compatibility with a 5G system, as well as providing a method for round-trip time (RTT) as a latency performance indicator (see paragraph 1 of Hande).
Consider claims 5, 11, and 18, Yang does not specifically disclose to cause antenna resources of a base station to receive one or more 5G NR signals by adjusting a start time and an end time of one or more timing windows.
Hande discloses to cause antenna resources of a base station to receive one or more 5G NR signals by adjusting a start time and an end time of one or more timing windows (see paragraph 89: the network 405 may determine (e.g., set) the time window 430-a according to a start time, such as indicated via an Win_DL_start IE, and an end time, such as indicated via an Win_DL_end IE. In some examples, the start time and the end time may be based on a time (e.g., a time instance) in which an uplink message (e.g., the first uplink message 420) is received at the network 405. That is, the start time and the end time may be based on an arrival time of the uplink message and are therefore adjusted).
Hande discloses that signals are fifth generation new radio (5G NR) signals (see paragraph 35: fifth generation (5G) New Radio (NR) system that transmits/receives 5G NR signals).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Yang and combine it with the noted teachings of Hande. The motivation to combine these references is to provide compatibility with a 5G system, as well as providing a method for round-trip time (RTT) as a latency performance indicator (see paragraph 1 of Hande).
Consider claim 6, Yang discloses that one or more timing windows comprise a specified time range to receive the one or more signals from a user equipment device (UE) at a base station (see paragraph 373).
Yang does not specifically disclose that said signals are fifth generation new radio (5G NR) signals.
Hande discloses that signals are fifth generation new radio (5G NR) signals (see paragraph 35: fifth generation (5G) New Radio (NR) system that transmits/receives 5G NR signals).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Yang and combine it with the noted teachings of Hande. The motivation to combine these references is to provide compatibility with a 5G system, as well as providing a method for round-trip time (RTT) as a latency performance indicator (see paragraph 1 of Hande).
Consider claim 9, Yang discloses to adjust the one or more timing windows by using signal data collected from a user equipment (UE) while communicating with a base station (see figure 5, where the terminal device is a UE as per paragraph 325 and the network device is a base station as per paragraph 326, and see paragraph 373).
Yang does not specifically disclose that said signals are fifth generation new radio (5G NR) signals.
Hande discloses that signals are fifth generation new radio (5G NR) signals (see paragraph 35: fifth generation (5G) New Radio (NR) system that transmits/receives 5G NR signals).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invent of Yang and combine it with the noted teachings of Hande. The motivation to combine these references is to provide compatibility with a 5G system, as well as providing a method for round-trip time (RTT) as a latency performance indicator (see paragraph 1 of Hande).
Consider claims 12 and 16, Yang discloses configuring one or more antenna resources of a base station to receive the one or more signals from a user equipment (UE) based, at least in part, on the previously received signals (see figure 5, where the terminal device is a UE as per paragraph 325 and the network device is a base station as per paragraph 326, and see paragraph 373; also see figure 11-19, wherein the receiving module/receiver and the sending module/transmitter are for wireless devices, which are performed using antenna resources).
Yang does not specifically disclose that said signals are fifth generation new radio (5G NR) signals.
Hande discloses that signals are fifth generation new radio (5G NR) signals (see paragraph 35: fifth generation (5G) New Radio (NR) system that transmits/receives 5G NR signals).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invent of Yang and combine it with the noted teachings of Hande. The motivation to combine these references is to provide compatibility with a 5G system, as well as providing a method for round-trip time (RTT) as a latency performance indicator (see paragraph 1 of Hande).
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang (USPAN 2022/0022251) in view of Tymes (EP 0544337 B1), Hande (USPAN 2023/0231788), Barker (USPAN 2017/0059337), and Laroia (USPAN 2002/0172213).
Consider claim 2, although Yang discloses adjusting the one or more timing windows based, at least in part, on the previously received signals (see above), Yang does not specifically disclose dynamically adjusting the one or more timing windows.
Hande discloses dynamically adjusting the one or more timing windows (see paragraph 89: the network 405 may determine (e.g., set) the time window 430-a according to a start time, such as indicated via an Win_DL_start IE, and an end time, such as indicated via an Win_DL_end IE. In some examples, the start time and the end time may be based on a time (e.g., a time instance) in which an uplink message (e.g., the first uplink message 420) is received at the network 405. That is, the start time and the end time may be based on an arrival time of the uplink message; as such, the timing windows are adjusted dynamically).
Hande discloses that signals are fifth generation new radio (5G NR) signals (see paragraph 35: fifth generation (5G) New Radio (NR) system that transmits/receives 5G NR signals).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Yang and combine it with the noted teachings of Hande. The motivation to combine these references is to provide compatibility with a 5G system, as well as providing a method for round-trip time (RTT) as a latency performance indicator (see paragraph 1 of Hande).
Yang does not specifically disclose prepending a portion of a signal that is coped from an end portion of that signal.
Laroia discloses prepending a portion of a signal that is coped from an end portion of that signal (see claim 15: “…copy an end portion of the digital signal sample vector and prepend the end portion to a beginning portion of the digital signal sample vector”).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Yang and combine it with the noted teachings of Laroia. The motivation to combine these references is to provide a method for multiple access communication in an OFDM system (see paragraph 2 of Laroia).
Claims 4, 13, 17, and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang (USPAN 2022/0022251) in view of Tymes (EP 0544337 B1), Hande (USPAN 2023/0231788), Barker (USPAN 2017/0059337), and Li (USPAN 2017/0353365).
Consider claim 4, although Yang in view of Hande disclose using information from the one or more previously received 5G NR signals to adjust the one or more timing windows (see above), Yang in view of Hande do not specifically disclose using a multiplier to adjust a timing window.
Li discloses using a multiplier to adjust a timing window (see paragraph 34: scheduling the time windows as a multiplier of router communication times).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invent of Yang in view of Hande and combine it with the noted teachings of Li. The motivation to combine these references is to provide a method of wireless communications that are non-conflicting (see paragraph 5 of Li).
Consider claim 17, although Yang in view of Hande disclose using information from the one or more previously received 5G NR signals to adjust the one or more timing windows (see above), Yang in view of Hande do not specifically disclose calculating a correction factor to dynamically adjust the one or more timing windows.
Li discloses calculating a correction factor to dynamically adjust the one or more timing windows (see paragraph 34: the time windows are established prior to (e.g., just before) the communication times of the wireless router. For example, the data-communication scheduling circuitry schedules the time windows as the same or a multiplier of the wireless router communication times and schedules window offsets as a period time prior to the communication and based on the length of time of the time windows. If the time window is less than the wireless router communication pattern, the time windows are established as a division of the wireless router communication pattern).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invent of Yang in view of Hande and combine it with the noted teachings of Li. The motivation to combine these references is to provide a method of wireless communications that are non-conflicting (see paragraph 5 of Li).
Consider claims 13 and 19, although Yang in view of Hande disclose using information from the one or more previously received 5G NR signals to adjust the one or more timing windows (see above), Yang in view of Hande do not specifically disclose calculating a correction factor and adjusting the one or more timing windows using the calculated correction factor.
Li discloses using calculating a correction factor and adjusting the one or more timing windows using the calculated correction factor (see paragraph 34: the time windows are established prior to (e.g., just before) the communication times of the wireless router. For example, the data-communication scheduling circuitry schedules the time windows as the same or a multiplier of the wireless router communication times and schedules window offsets as a period time prior to the communication and based on the length of time of the time windows. If the time window is less than the wireless router communication pattern, the time windows are established as a division of the wireless router communication pattern).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invent of Yang in view of Hande and combine it with the noted teachings of Li. The motivation to combine these references is to provide a method of wireless communications that are non-conflicting (see paragraph 5 of Li).
Claims 7, 14, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yang (USPAN 2022/0022251) in view of Tymes (EP 0544337 B1), Hande (USPAN 2023/0231788), Barker (USPAN 2017/0059337), and Rofougaran (USPAN 2021/0084601).
Consider claim 7, although Yang in view of Hande discloses adjusting the one or more timing windows based, at least in part, on the one or more previously received 5G NR signals (see above), Yang in view of Hande do not disclose using one or more neural networks.
Rofougaran discloses using one or more neural networks for receiving a signal (see paragraph 18: the neural network system 106 may be a deep learning network. After neural network system 106 is trained, the trained neural network system 106 is then deployed in a wireless modem so that the modem may function as the 5G modem 112. The deployed pre-trained neural network system 106 is remotely updatable as and when required. In a first implementation, the neural network system 106 may employ a supervised learning model. In a second implementation, the neural network system 106 may employ a semi-supervised learning model. In a third implementation, the neural network system 106 may employ unsupervised or reinforcement machine learning algorithms for operation thereof. Typically, the machine learning algorithms refer to a category of algorithms employed by a system that allows the system to become more accurate in predicting outcomes and/or performing tasks, without being explicitly programmed).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invent of Yang in view of Hande and combine it with the noted teachings of Rofougaran. The motivation to combine these references is to provide a method for high sensitivity 5G signal detection using a neural network (see paragraph 2 of Rofougaran).
Consider claim 14, although Yang in view of Hande discloses adjusting the one or more timing windows based, at least in part, on the one or more previously received 5G NR signals (see above), Yang in view of Hande do not disclose using a machine learning algorithm.
Rofougaran discloses using a machine learning algorithm for receiving a signal (see paragraph 18: the neural network system 106 may be a deep learning network. After neural network system 106 is trained, the trained neural network system 106 is then deployed in a wireless modem so that the modem may function as the 5G modem 112. The deployed pre-trained neural network system 106 is remotely updatable as and when required. In a first implementation, the neural network system 106 may employ a supervised learning model. In a second implementation, the neural network system 106 may employ a semi-supervised learning model. In a third implementation, the neural network system 106 may employ unsupervised or reinforcement machine learning algorithms for operation thereof. Typically, the machine learning algorithms refer to a category of algorithms employed by a system that allows the system to become more accurate in predicting outcomes and/or performing tasks, without being explicitly programmed).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invent of Yang in view of Hande and combine it with the noted teachings of Rofougaran. The motivation to combine these references is to provide a method for high sensitivity 5G signal detection using a neural network (see paragraph 2 of Rofougaran).
Consider claim 20, although Yang in view of Hande discloses adjusting the one or more timing windows based, at least in part, on the one or more previously received 5G NR signals (see above), Yang in view of Hande do not disclose to train one or more neural networks.
Rofougaran discloses to train one or more neural networks (see paragraph 18: the neural network system 106 may be a deep learning network. After neural network system 106 is trained, the trained neural network system 106 is then deployed in a wireless modem so that the modem may function as the 5G modem 112. The deployed pre-trained neural network system 106 is remotely updatable as and when required. In a first implementation, the neural network system 106 may employ a supervised learning model. In a second implementation, the neural network system 106 may employ a semi-supervised learning model. In a third implementation, the neural network system 106 may employ unsupervised or reinforcement machine learning algorithms for operation thereof. Typically, the machine learning algorithms refer to a category of algorithms employed by a system that allows the system to become more accurate in predicting outcomes and/or performing tasks, without being explicitly programmed).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invent of Yang in view of Hande and combine it with the noted teachings of Rofougaran. The motivation to combine these references is to provide a method for high sensitivity 5G signal detection using a neural network (see paragraph 2 of Rofougaran).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Charles Jiang, can be reached on 571-270-7191. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/JAMAL JAVAID/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2412