DETAILED ACTION
Status of Claims
Claims 1-16 are pending.
Claims 1, 3 are amended.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Amendment
Applicant’s amendments filed on 3/20/2026 have been entered.
The 102 rejections of previous Office action have been withdrawn in view of the applicant’s amendments.
The 103 rejections of previous Office action have been withdrawn in view of the applicant’s amendments and remarks.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-11, 14-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ikeda et al (US 20130122360 A1).
Regarding Claim 1, and Claim 3,
Ikeda teaches a non aqueous electrolyte secondary battery that comprises a electrolyte solution comprising a ionic compound represented by formula below (Paragraph 0035).
Ikeda specifically states that the compound contains a bisoxalatoborate anion (Paragraph 0035).
Ikeda also teaches that the Xm+ is an organic cation represented by a sulfonium cation (Paragraph 0039), as shown in formula below
When R13 to R15 are alkyl group such as methyl group then the Formula 1 above is the same as the claimed formula. Ikeda specifies that the ionic compound is used as an addition to a nonaqueous electrolyte solution (Paragraph 0042).
Ikeda teaches the use of carbonates such as propylenecarbonate, ethylene carbonate as nonaqueous solvents used in the electrolyte (Paragraph 0060). Ikeda also does not specifically teach the use of organophosphates used in the electrolyte solution, or the required use of the organophosphate in the electrolyte mix. Hence, Ikeda anticipates the limitations of Claim 1.
Regarding Claim 2,
Ikeda teaches that the ionic compound is added to the non-aqueous electrolyte in 1 to 10% by mass (Paragraph 0046), and shows specific examples within this range. This range falls within the claimed range of 0.001 to 10% by mass.
Regarding Claim 4 to Claim 9,
Ikeda teaches a non-aqueous electrolyte secondary battery (akin to an electrochemical device) that includes the ionic compound, a positive electrode, a negative electrode, and a non-aqueous electrolyte solution (Paragraph 0059). The secondary battery is a lithium ion battery as stated in Paragraph 0028.
Regarding Claim 10, and Claim 11,
Ikeda teaches that the lithium secondary battery is used in automobiles for higher capacity and durability at high temperatures (Paragraph 0004, 0007 and 0015). The use of lithium secondary batteries in automobiles includes a module that comprises the batteries/electrochemical device.
Regarding Claims 14-16,
The components of the electrolyte solution of Ikeda are the same as that of the instant invention (i.e. the presence of carbonate solvent and lithium salts). The mass % of the compound within the electrolyte solution falls within the claimed range. The percentage of cations and anions in the electrolyte solution is a result of the composition of the solution. Per MPEP 2112.01, products of identical chemical composition can not have mutually exclusive properties. The dissociation of the solution components into cations and anions is a behavior property of the composition.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ikeda et al.
Ikeda teaches that the ionic compound is added to the non-aqueous electrolyte in 1 to 10% by mass (Paragraph 0046). This range overlaps with the claimed range of 0.01 to 5% by mass, and 0.01 to 3% by mass. Per MPEP 2144.05, in the case where the claimed ranges overlap or lie inside ranges disclosed by the prior art, then a prima facie case of obviousness exists. Hence, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the compound of Ikeda within the claimed mass % ranges in order to develop an effect of an improvement in the recovery characteristic with no adverse effect on the cycle characteristics (Paragraph 0046).
References of Interest
Examiner notes the following references of interest pertinent to this application
Yamazaki et al (US 20210194057 A1)
Shin Jae et al (KR 20160058506A)
Yamaguchi et al (US 20150331342 A1)
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 and 3 in view of Sakaguchi have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument. A new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Ikeda. Ikeda shows the use of a bisoxalatoborate salt in a non-aqueous electrolytic solution that has alkyl sulfonium cation. Formula 1 of Ikeda reads on the claimed formula, hence Ikeda anticipates the claimed chemical compound and solvent of instant invention as explained in 102 rejections section above.
Applicant argues that the combination of Fisher in view of Sakaguchi is not obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art. Examiner agrees with the remarks of the applicant, and the 103 rejection based on Fisher in view of Sakaguchi has been withdrawn in this office action.
Conclusion
/SUHANI JITENDRA PATEL/Examiner, Art Unit 1783
/MARIA V EWALD/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1783