DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Double Patenting
Claims 1 and 21-39 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claim 1-7 and 9-21 of copending Application No. 17/991675 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because claims 1 and 21-39 are being anticipated by claim 1-7 and 9-21 of copending Application No. 17/991675.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
(a) A patent may not be obtained though the invention is not identically disclosed or described as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the subject matter sought to be patented and the prior art are such that the subject matter as a whole would have been obvious at the time the invention was made to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which said subject matter pertains. Patentability shall not be negatived by the manner in which the invention was made.
Claims 1 and 21-39 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Lerner (US 2023/0096556 A1) in view of Byrne (US 12200568 B1).
As to claims 1, 27 and 34, Lerner discloses a mobile offload method/station/computer-readable medium, comprising: deploying, by one or more computing devices of a mobile offload station (para. 0084, reroute vehicle 120 to vehicle 100), the mobile offload station (para. 0084, vehicle 120) to a proximate distance of an autonomous vehicle (para. 0084, vehicle 100); initiating, by the one or more computing devices, ingestion of the logged data from the AV upon the mobile offload station entering the proximate distance to the AV (Fig. 5, para. 0069, handoff data); and storing, by the one or more computing devices and mobile offload station, on a storage device onboard the mobile offload station, the logged data and offloading, by the one or more computing devices, the logged data onto a cloud infrastructure for further processing upon receipt the logged data from the AV (para. 0069). Lerner does not disclose operating outside its nominal range of operation based on a determination that a logged data on a data storage device on board the AV has exceeded a data storage threshold. However, Byrne teaches AV operating outside its nominal range of operation based on a determination that a logged data on a data storage device on board the AV has exceeded a data storage threshold (Fig. 4). Therefore, given the teaching of Byrne, it would have been obvious to one skilled in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to have readily recognized the desirability and advantages of modifying the method/station of Lerner, by employing the well-known or conventional features of AV operating outside its nominal range of operation based on a determination that a logged data on a data storage device on board the AV has exceeded a data storage threshold, to offload data when the storage of the AV is getting full.
As to claims 21, 28 and 35, Lerner further discloses the mobile offload station is a further AV (para. 0084).
As to claims 22, 29 and 36, Lerner further discloses the mobile offload station is a semi-autonomous vehicle (para. 0084).
As to claims 23, 30 and 37, the feature of determining, the proximate distance based on a rendezvous point chosen such that a cumulative metric of travel times of the AV and the mobile offload station are minimized is well-known and widely used by navigation systems to determine rendezvous point for meet up.
As to claims 24 and 31, Lerner further discloses wherein the ingestion of the logged data from the AV is performed using a point-to-point wireless connection (para. 0006-0007).
As to claims 25, 32 and 38, Byrne further teaches triggering, by the one or more computing devices, deployment of the mobile offload station to the proximate distance based on the mobile offload station determining that the logged data on the data storage device on board the AV has exceeded the data storage threshold (Fig. 4).
As to claims 26, 33 and 39, Byrne further teaches triggering, by the one or more computing devices, deployment of the mobile offload station to the proximate distance based on instructions received by an operating center upon the operating center determining that the logged data on the data storage device on board the AV has exceeded the data storage threshold (Fig. 4).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
CE LI . LI
Examiner
Art Unit 3661
/PETER D NOLAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3661