DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to remarks filed 04/23/2026.
Claims 1, 4-8, 11-15, 18-22, and 25-28 are pending and presented for examination. Claims 1, 8, 15, and 22 are amended. No claims cancelled or added.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 4-8, 11-15, 18-22, and 25-28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chou et al. (WO 2024035956 A1, hereinafter “Chou”) in view of Sun et al. (US 20180124753 A1, hereinafter “Sun”), in view of Olsson et al. (US 20210075537 A1, hereinafter “Olsson”), in view of Palgy et al. (US 20180323803 A1, hereinafter “Palgy”).
RE Claim 15, 1, Chou discloses an apparatus or method:
An apparatus for of wireless communication, by a user equipment (UE) (¶0036, Fig. 2), comprising:
a memory (¶0036, Fig. 2); and
at least one processor coupled to the memory (¶0036, Fig. 2), the at least one processor configured (¶0036, Fig. 2; Fig. 1A: 150,152):
to receive an in-band skipping indication on a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) during a semi persistent scheduling (SPS) occasion (MAC CE or Piggybacked DCI, transmitted on SPS PDSCH, includes a bitmap, in-band skipping indication. Bitmap size related to number of SPS PDSCH candidates of an SPS period. Each bit for each SPS candidate indicates transmission, a ‘1’, or no transmission, a ‘0’, an indication of skipping the referenced SPS PDSCH candidate. ¶0071, Fig. 4B); and
to skip at least one future SPS occasion based on the in-band skipping indication (Bitmap size related to number of SPS PDSCH candidates, to be transmitted – future, for an SPS occasion. Each bit for each SPS candidate indicates a transmission, a ‘1’, or no transmission, a ‘0’, an indication of skipping the referenced SPS occasion. ¶0071, Fig. 4B).
Chou does not explicitly disclose:
the in-band skipping indication comprising a specific scrambled cyclic redundancy check (CRC) sequence that provides N bits of skipping indication information transmitted over an M bit CRC sequence, the N bits of skipping indication information being conveyed by selecting one of 2N defined M bit long binary sequences, the CRC sequence also conveying error correction information;
However, Sun discloses:
the in-band skipping indication comprising a specific scrambled cyclic redundancy check (CRC) sequence (First and second DCI portions may provide semi-persistent scheduling (SPS) of downlink assignments, skipping indication. The first DCI portion may further include the piggyback, in-band signaling, control information providing information about the second DCI portion, piggybacked DCI. ¶¶0095, 0112, Fig. 7; Each first DCI portion may be transmitted to a different scheduled entity, and the DL traffic and control channel generation and transmission circuitry 542 may select one of the scheduled entities to receive the second DCI portion by scrambling the second DCI portion with the RNTI of the selected scheduled entity. ¶0096, Fig. 5; In some examples, the second DCI portion, piggybacked DCI, may further include a cyclic redundancy check (CRC) for error detection that may be scrambled with a specific user RNTI or a group RNTI. ¶0085;)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date
of the claimed invention to combine the method of Chou, in-band skipping indication for SPS, with the teachings of Sun, piggyback DCI with SPS indications and apply CRC for error detection and scrambled with specific RNTI to indicate grouping.
The motivation in doing so would be to support SPS skipping by use of in-band signaling via PDSCH with DCI information with CRC for error checking for reception of DCI signaling. This method reduces overhead signaling and reducing the requirement for the UE to continuously monitor PDCCH by monitoring in-band signaling embedded in PDSCH for dynamic changing DCI formats. (Chou: ¶¶0005, 0009, 0060, 0123, 0140; Sun: Abstract, ¶¶0004, 0005-0009, 0073, 0085, Fig. 5, 7, 10)
Chou and Sun do not explicitly disclose, however Olsson discloses:
a specific scrambled cyclic redundancy (CRC) sequence that provides N bits of skipping indication information transmitted over an M bit CRC sequence, the N bits of skipping indication information being conveyed by selecting one of 2N defined M bit long binary sequences, (Examiner interpretation of the claim limitation, as written, is that N and M are integers with values 0, 1, and so on. Additionally, the value of N may be smaller, equal, or larger than M. DCI formatting indicator is embedded into a Cyclic Redundancy Check (CRC) mask of the CRC of the DCI message. ¶0039, Fig. 3; The DCI formatting indication indicates an entry in a higher layer configured table where the formatting of the DCI is defined. The indication is based at least on an indication scrambled with the DCI CRC. ¶¶0089, 0092, Fig. 3; FIG. 3 illustrates an alternative embodiment in which the DCI formatting indicator is embedded into a CRC mask of the CRC of the DCI message. In this example, the DCI formatting indicator size may be predefined (e.g., fixed) or configured via higher layer signaling (e.g., RRC signaling). ¶0121, Fig. 3; In NR, number of CRC bits is 24 while the RNTI is 16 bits. The remaining 8 bits are configured to be used for DCI formatting indication. ¶0124, Fig. 3; DCI mask sequence and application to CRC applies to DCI formats 1-x for DL. ¶¶0130-0132, Table 4; Examiner interpretation is that DCI information is included in the 8 bits, ‘N’, and is embedded into the DCI CRC sequence of 24 bits, ‘M’. The ‘DCI formatting indicator’ allows for different DCI formats thereby conveying downlink control information with the CRC portion of the message)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date
of the claimed invention to combine the method of Chou, in-band skipping indication for SPS, with the teachings of Sun, piggyback DCI with SPS indications and apply CRC for error detection and scrambled with specific RNTI to indicate grouping, with the teachings of Olsson, embed DCI information in a masked portion of the DCI CRC.
The motivation in doing so would be to support SPS skipping by use of in-band signaling via PDSCH with DCI information with CRC for error checking for reception of DCI signaling. This method reduces overhead signaling and reducing the requirement for the UE to continuously monitor PDCCH by monitoring in-band signaling embedded in PDSCH for specific masked CRC information for dynamic changing DCI formats. (Chou: ¶¶0005, 0009, 0060, 0123, 0140; Sun: Abstract, ¶¶0004, 0005-0009, 0073, 0085, Fig. 5, 7, 10,; Olsson: Abstract, ¶¶0009-0012, 0013-0014, 0017-0024, 0088-0089, 0104-0105, 0124, Fig. 3)
Chou, Sun, and Olsson do not explicitly disclose, however Palgy discloses:
the CRC sequence also conveying error correction information (“In 3GPP there is a continual search for agreements on the implementation of new and relevant features for NR systems. The agreements are relevant to many options. One option of interest relates to the use of Polar coding for the eMBB (enhanced Mobile Broadband) UL/DL control channels. According to this option, CRC (cyclic redundancy check) codes will be utilized either within the coded block or external in another coded block in the case of concatenated polar codes. These CRC codes may be used to provide error detection for the blocks of data being transmitted and, in some implementations may also enable error correction.”, ¶¶0005, 0053; “The method 250 tests the K hypotheses at steps 260 and 262 by using the hypothesised scrambling code to descramble the decoded scrambled data and then, using a CRC code which is also received for the block of data to check whether the descrambled data is correct. In other words, the method 250 checks whether the CRC indicates that any errors are present in the descrambled data for each of the K hypotheses and determines that the correct hypothesis is the one for which the CRC passes.”, ¶0137, Fig. 2);
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date
of the claimed invention to combine the method of Chou, in-band skipping indication for SPS, with the teachings of Sun, piggyback DCI with SPS indications and apply CRC for error detection and scrambled with specific RNTI to indicate grouping, with the teachings of Olsson, embed DCI information in a masked portion of the DCI CRC, with the teachings of Palgy, method to use CRC for error detection and error correction by decoding possible alternate codes until CRC passes.
The motivation in doing so would be to support SPS skipping by use of in-band signaling via PDSCH with DCI information with CRC for error checking and error correction for reception of DCI signaling. . This method reduces overhead signaling and reducing the requirement for the UE to continuously monitor PDCCH by monitoring in-band signaling embedded in PDSCH for specific masked CRC information for dynamic changing DCI formats. (Chou: ¶¶0005, 0009, 0060, 0123, 0140; Sun: Abstract, ¶¶0004, 0005-0009, 0073, 0085, Fig. 5, 7, 10,; Olsson: Abstract, ¶¶0009-0012, 0013-0014, 0017-0024, 0088-0089, 0104-0105, 0124, Fig. 3; Palgy: Abstract, ¶¶0005-0006, 0044-0062, 0088, 0137)
RE Claim 18, 4, Chou discloses an apparatus or method:
The apparatus, in which the in-band skipping indication indicates a quantity of future SPS occasions to skip (MAC CE or Piggybacked DCI, transmitted on SPS PDSCH, includes a bitmap, in-band skipping indication. Bitmap size related to number of SPS PDSCH candidates, to be transmitted – future, for an SPS occasion, a quantity of SPS occasions. Each bit for each SPS candidate indicates transmission, a ‘1’, or no transmission, a ‘0’, an indication of skipping the referenced SPS occasion. ¶0071, Fig. 4B).
RE Claim 19, 5, Chou discloses an apparatus or method:
The apparatus, in which the quantity of future SPS occasions to skip comprises at least one of a skipping duration (MAC CE or piggybacked DCI, transmitted on SPS PDSCH, includes a bitmap, where the length of the bitmap is equal to or larger than the number of SPS PDSCH candidates in the SPS period, a duration. ¶0071), or a quantity of occasions (MAC CE or Piggybacked DCI, transmitted on SPS PDSCH, includes a bitmap, in-band skipping indication. Bitmap size related to number of SPS PDSCH candidates, to be transmitted – future, for an SPS occasion, a quantity of SPS occasions. Each bit for each SPS candidate indicates transmission, a ‘1’, or no transmission, a ‘0’, an indication of skipping the referenced SPS occasion. ¶0071, Fig. 4B).
RE Claim 20, 6, Chou discloses an apparatus or method:
The apparatus, in which the in-band skipping indication indicates an end of a current SPS burst (UE determines end of data transmission in this SPS period and omits, skips, the last actual SPS PDSCH of the SPS period, the current SPS burst. ¶0064, Fig. 4A: 414; ¶0071, Fig. 4B: 414).
RE Claim 21, 7, Chou discloses an apparatus or method:
The apparatus, in which the at least one processor is further configured to receive signaling indicating a mapping between a binary sequence carried by the in-band skipping indication and an interpretation of the binary sequence (MAC CE or Piggybacked DCI, transmitted on SPS PDSCH, includes a bitmap, in-band skipping indication. Bitmap size related to number of SPS PDSCH candidates. Example of SPS Period with 4 SPS PDSCH candidates. Bitmap size is 4. Skipping indication bitmap for skipping the first and last PDSCHs while transmitting the two middle PDSCHs is {0,1,1,0}, a binary sequence with a mapped interpretation. ¶0071).
RE Claim 22, 8, Chou discloses an apparatus or method:
An apparatus for wireless communication, by a network device (¶0035, Fig. 2:104), comprising:
a memory (¶0035, Fig. 2:104); and
at least one processor coupled to the memory (¶0035, Fig. 2:104), the at least one processor configured (¶0035, Fig. 1A: 130, 132):
to transmit, to a user equipment (UE), a semi persistent scheduling (SPS) configuration (MAC CE or Piggybacked DCI SPS scheduling configuration, transmitted on SPS PDSCH, includes a bitmap, in-band skipping indication. ¶0071, Fig. 4B); and
to transmit, to the UE, an in-band skipping indication on a physical downlink shared channel (PDSCH) during an SPS occasion of the SPS configuration to enable the UE to skip at least one future SPS occasion (MAC CE or Piggybacked DCI, transmitted on SPS PDSCH, includes a bitmap, in-band skipping indication. Bitmap size related to number of SPS PDSCH candidates of an SPS period. Each bit for each SPS candidate indicates transmission, a ‘1’, or no transmission, a ‘0’, an indication of skipping the referenced SPS PDSCH candidate. Bitmap size related to number of SPS PDSCH candidates, to be transmitted – future, for an SPS occasion. Each bit for each SPS candidate indicates a transmission, a ‘1’, or no transmission, a ‘0’, an indication of skipping the referenced SPS occasion. ¶0071, Fig. 4B).
Chou does not explicitly disclose:
the in-band skipping indication comprising a specific scrambled cyclic redundancy check (CRC) sequence that provides N bits of skipping indication information transmitted over an M bit CRC sequence, the CRC sequence also conveying error correction information.;
However, Sun discloses:
the in-band skipping indication comprising a specific scrambled cyclic redundancy check (CRC) sequence (First and second DCI portions may provide semi-persistent scheduling (SPS) of downlink assignments, skipping indication. The first DCI portion may further include the piggyback, in-band signaling, control information providing information about the second DCI portion, piggybacked DCI. ¶¶0095, 0112, Fig. 7; Each first DCI portion may be transmitted to a different scheduled entity, and the DL traffic and control channel generation and transmission circuitry 542 may select one of the scheduled entities to receive the second DCI portion by scrambling the second DCI portion with the RNTI of the selected scheduled entity. ¶0096, Fig. 5; In some examples, the second DCI portion, piggybacked DCI, may further include a cyclic redundancy check (CRC) for error detection that may be scrambled with a specific user RNTI or a group RNTI. ¶0085;)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date
of the claimed invention to combine the method of Chou, in-band skipping indication for SPS, with the teachings of Sun, piggyback DCI with SPS indications and apply CRC for error detection and scrambled with specific RNTI to indicate grouping.
The motivation in doing so would be to support SPS skipping by use of in-band signaling via PDSCH with DCI information with CRC for error checking for reception of DCI signaling. This method reduces overhead signaling and reducing the requirement for the UE to continuously monitor PDCCH by monitoring in-band signaling embedded in PDSCH for dynamic changing DCI formats. (Chou: ¶¶0005, 0009, 0060, 0123, 0140; Sun: Abstract, ¶¶0004, 0005-0009, 0073, 0085, Fig. 5, 7, 10)
Chou and Sun do not explicitly disclose, however Olsson discloses:
a specific scrambled cyclic redundancy check (CRC) sequence that provides N bits of skipping indication information transmitted over an M bit CRC sequence, (Examiner interpretation of the claim limitation, as written, is that N and M are integers with values 0, 1, and so on. Additionally, the value of N may be smaller, equal, or larger than M. DCI formatting indicator is embedded into a Cyclic Redundancy Check (CRC) mask of the CRC of the DCI message. ¶0039, Fig. 3; The DCI formatting indication indicates an entry in a higher layer configured table where the formatting of the DCI is defined. The indication is based at least on an indication scrambled with the DCI CRC. ¶¶0089, 0092, Fig. 3; FIG. 3 illustrates an alternative embodiment in which the DCI formatting indicator is embedded into a CRC mask of the CRC of the DCI message. In this example, the DCI formatting indicator size may be predefined (e.g., fixed) or configured via higher layer signaling (e.g., RRC signaling). ¶0121, Fig. 3; In NR, number of CRC bits is 24 while the RNTI is 16 bits. The remaining 8 bits are configured to be used for DCI formatting indication. ¶0124, Fig. 3; DCI mask sequence and application to CRC applies to DCI formats 1-x for DL. ¶¶0130-0132, Table 4; Examiner interpretation is that DCI information is included in the 8 bits, ‘N’, and is embedded into the DCI CRC sequence of 24 bits, ‘M’. The ‘DCI formatting indicator’ allows for different DCI formats thereby conveying downlink control information with the CRC portion of the message)
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date
of the claimed invention to combine the method of Chou, in-band skipping indication for SPS, with the teachings of Sun, piggyback DCI with SPS indications and apply CRC for error detection and scrambled with specific RNTI to indicate grouping, with the teachings of Olsson, embed DCI information in a masked portion of the DCI CRC.
The motivation in doing so would be to support SPS skipping by use of in-band signaling via PDSCH with DCI information with CRC for error checking for reception of DCI signaling. This method reduces overhead signaling and reducing the requirement for the UE to continuously monitor PDCCH by monitoring in-band signaling embedded in PDSCH for specific masked CRC information for dynamic changing DCI formats. (Chou: ¶¶0005, 0009, 0060, 0123, 0140; Sun: Abstract, ¶¶0004, 0005-0009, 0073, 0085, Fig. 5, 7, 10; Olsson: Abstract, ¶¶0009-0012, 0013-0014, 0017-0024, 0088-0089, 0104-0105, 0124, Fig. 3)
Chou, Sun, and Olsson do not explicitly disclose, however Palgy discloses:
the CRC sequence also conveying error correction information; (“In 3GPP there is a continual search for agreements on the implementation of new and relevant features for NR systems. The agreements are relevant to many options. One option of interest relates to the use of Polar coding for the eMBB (enhanced Mobile Broadband) UL/DL control channels. According to this option, CRC (cyclic redundancy check) codes will be utilized either within the coded block or external in another coded block in the case of concatenated polar codes. These CRC codes may be used to provide error detection for the blocks of data being transmitted and, in some implementations may also enable error correction.”, ¶¶0005, 0053; “The method 250 tests the K hypotheses at steps 260 and 262 by using the hypothesised scrambling code to descramble the decoded scrambled data and then, using a CRC code which is also received for the block of data to check whether the descrambled data is correct. In other words, the method 250 checks whether the CRC indicates that any errors are present in the descrambled data for each of the K hypotheses and determines that the correct hypothesis is the one for which the CRC passes.”, ¶¶0088, 0137, Fig. 2);
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date
of the claimed invention to combine the method of Chou, in-band skipping indication for SPS, with the teachings of Sun, piggyback DCI with SPS indications and apply CRC for error detection and scrambled with specific RNTI to indicate grouping, with the teachings of Olsson, embed DCI information in a masked portion of the DCI CRC, with the teachings of Palgy, method to use CRC for error detection and error correction by decoding possible alternate codes until CRC passes.
The motivation in doing so would be to support SPS skipping by use of in-band signaling via PDSCH with DCI information with CRC for error checking and error correction for reception of DCI signaling. . This method reduces overhead signaling and reducing the requirement for the UE to continuously monitor PDCCH by monitoring in-band signaling embedded in PDSCH for specific masked CRC information for dynamic changing DCI formats. (Chou: ¶¶0005, 0009, 0060, 0123, 0140; Sun: Abstract, ¶¶0004, 0005-0009, 0073, 0085, Fig. 5, 7, 10; Olsson: Abstract, ¶¶0009-0012, 0013-0014, 0017-0024, 0088-0089, 0104-0105, 0124, Fig. 3; Palgy: Abstract, ¶¶0005-0006, 0044-0062, 0088, 0137)
RE Claim 25, 11, Chou discloses an apparatus or method:
The apparatus, in which the in-band skipping indication indicates a quantity of future SPS occasions to skip (MAC CE or Piggybacked DCI, transmitted on SPS PDSCH, includes a bitmap, in-band skipping indication. Bitmap size related to number of SPS PDSCH candidates, to be transmitted – future, for an SPS occasion, a quantity of SPS occasions. Each bit for each SPS candidate indicates transmission, a ‘1’, or no transmission, a ‘0’, an indication of skipping the referenced SPS occasion. ¶0071, Fig. 4B).
RE Claim 26, 12, Chou discloses an apparatus or method:
The apparatus, in which the quantity of future SPS occasions to skip comprises at least one of a skipping duration (MAC CE or piggybacked DCI, transmitted on SPS PDSCH, includes a bitmap, where the length of the bitmap is equal to or larger than the number of SPS PDSCH candidates in the SPS period, a duration. ¶0071), or a quantity of occasions (MAC CE or Piggybacked DCI, transmitted on SPS PDSCH, includes a bitmap, in-band skipping indication. Bitmap size related to number of SPS PDSCH candidates, to be transmitted – future, for an SPS occasion, a quantity of SPS occasions. Each bit for each SPS candidate indicates transmission, a ‘1’, or no transmission, a ‘0’, an indication of skipping the referenced SPS occasion. ¶0071, Fig. 4B).
RE Claim 27, 13, Chou discloses an apparatus or method:
The apparatus, in which the in-band skipping indication indicates an end of a current SPS burst (UE determines end of data transmission in this SPS period and omits, skips, the last actual SPS PDSCH of the SPS period, the current SPS burst. ¶0064, Fig. 4A: 414; ¶0071, Fig. 4B: 414).
RE Claim 28, 14, Chou discloses an apparatus or method:
The apparatus, in which the at least one processor is further configured to transmit a mapping between a binary sequence carried by the in-band skipping indication and an interpretation of the binary sequence (MAC CE or Piggybacked DCI, transmitted on SPS PDSCH, includes a bitmap, in-band skipping indication. Bitmap size related to number of SPS PDSCH candidates. Example of SPS Period with 4 SPS PDSCH candidates. Bitmap size is 4. Skipping indication bitmap for skipping the first and last PDSCHs while transmitting the two middle PDSCHs is {0,1,1,0}, a binary sequence with a mapped interpretation. ¶0071).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 04/23/2026 with respect to claim(s) 1, 8, 15, and 22 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
US 20230092206 A1 Bae et al.
“SEMI-PERSISTENT CONFIGURATIONS ENHANCEMENTS”
“Some example embodiments disclosed herein may allow XR traffic to be delivered in a more power saving manner and with potentially more efficient resource utilization. The example embodiment include limited decoding behaviour, using dynamic signalling to enable/disable SPS occasions for XR packet delivery, and using dynamic signalling to change SPS occasions allocations. Issues relating to multiplexed/piggybacked DCI on PDSCH and timing relations with dynamic signalling with respect to SPS occasions are discussed in a separate subsection.”, ¶0164
US-20200396760-A1 Yi et al.
“WIRELESS COMMUNICATIONS AND CONTROL INFORMATION TRANSMISSION/RECEPTION”
“A base station may use multiple-stage DCI for scheduling a semi-persistent scheduling (SPS) data (e.g., an SPS PDSCH transmission, a configured grant (CG) PUSCH transmission). The base station may use the multiple-stage DCI for activating and/or releasing one or more SPS configurations or CG configurations. The base station may use first-stage DCI in the multiple-stage DCI for activating and/or releasing the one or more SPS configurations or CG configurations. The first-stage DCI may be transmitted using an RNTI that is different from an RNTI for scheduling a dynamic scheduled PDSCH transmission and/or PUSCH transmission. One or more DCI fields in the first-stage DCI may be set to one or more preconfigured values that indicate a first code point for activation and/or a second code point to release.”, ¶0537.
US 20200287654 A1 Xi et al.
“POLAR CODING SYSTEM”
“A CA (CRC-Aided) polar code may be defined as a polar code with a CRC-Aided Successive Cancellation List (SCL) decoder. CRC bits may be used (e.g., at least in CRC-aided decoding) to select a final codeword from a list of candidate codewords, e.g., at the end of a decoding process. CRC bits may be designed and used for error correction (e.g., CRC bits may be designed and used for error correction in addition to or in lieu of error detection). CRC bits may be used (e.g., additionally) for error detection functionality.”, ¶0090.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/PAUL A. LANGER/Examiner, Art Unit 2419
/Nishant Divecha/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2419