DETAILED ACTION
The Applicant's amendment filed on August 14, 2026 was received. Claims 1, 3 and 14 were amended. Claims 12 and 20 were withdrawn. Claim 2 was canceled.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 3-11 and 13-19 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claims 1 and 14, the general formula A is indefinite as it is unclear if R4 and R5 are required to be bonded which each other when q is 0 as the claim does not specify if such bonding is required. While applicant argues R4 and R5 should only be interpreted as being bonded together to form a 3-membered ring when q is 0, it is noted that the specification also does not specify the 3-membered ring is required when q is 0 and the list of examples does not include any chemical with such 3-membered ring. Specifically, the disclosed examples hexamethyldisilazane, N,N-dimethyltrimethylsilylamine, tris(trimethylsilyl)amine, chlorotrimethylsilane, and iodotrimethylsilane, all have the formular A with R4 and R5 being not bonded to each other when q is 0 (not 3-membered ring). For purpose of examination, R4 and R5 are interpreted as not being bonded to each other when q is 0. However, Applicant should clarify what is intended, without adding new matter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-11 and 13-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tois (US20170352533) in view of Todd (US20210118684), and in alternative, further in view of Thompson (US20160322213) (Tois in view of Todd and Thompson for claim 3).
Regarding claim 1, Tois teaches a method of selectively depositing an organic film on a substrate comprising a first surface and a second surface (abstract, paragraph 0008). Tois teaches to treat the surface of the substrate with hydrogen plasma (paragraph 0039), wherein the first surface is metal or metallic (non-hydroxyl containing surface) and a second surface is dielectric surface such as silicon oxide (paragraph 0037, 0066-0067, 0030-0031). Tois teaches to flow a first precursor over the substrate comprising the second surface and the non-hydroxyl containing surface to form a first portion of a selectively deposited layer on the non-hydroxyl containing surface, the first precursor comprises a first reactive group (paragraphs 0029, 0058 to 0060 and 0073, figure 2). Tois teaches to remove the excess first precursor and any volatile reaction by-product (first precursor effluent) from the substrate (paragraph 0061, figure 2). Tois teaches to flow a second precursor comprising a second reactive group over the substrate to react with the first reactive group to form a selectively deposited layer on the non-hydroxyl containing surface of the substrate and not on the second surface (paragraphs 0062-0063 and 0074, figure 2). Tois teaches to remove the excess second precursor and any volatile reaction by-product from the substrate (second precursor effluent) (paragraph 0064).
Tois does not explicitly teach to form the hydroxide groups on the second surface and to expose the substrate to silylating precursory to form a passivated surface on the second surface and not on the first surface. However, Tois teaches the second surface has the same dielectric material (SiO2), the first surface has the same metallic non-hydroxyl containing surface and use the same hydrogen plasma as the claimed invention, thus, it would be reasonably expected to form hydroxide groups on the dielectric material not on the non-hydroxyl containing surface. Nevertheless, Todd teaches a method of selectively deposition on a second surface of a substrate relative to a first surface (paragraph 0005), wherein the deposit is carbon containing film (pargraph 0128). Todd teaches the surface is treated with hydrogen plasma to form hydroxyl group on the second surface, and the second surface is subsequently passivated by a silicon containing compound (silylating precursor) which reacts with the surface hydroxyl groups to form silyl ether terminated surface and thereby passivate the surface, wherein the second surface is silicon oxide (paragraphs 0064-0065, 0056, 0075 and 0115). Since Tois teaches the first surface is same metallic non-hydroxyl- containing surface as the claimed invention, Todd’s passivated layer would intricially not formed on the such metallic non-hydroxyl-containing surface. Todd teaches the silylating precursor has a formula I
, wherein R1 and R2 are each independently selected from H or C1 to C8 alkyl group, R3 is selected from a C1 to C18 alkyl group, X is NRaRb with Ra and Rb are each independently selected from C1 to C4 linear alkyl group and C1-C4 branched alkyl group (paragraph 0064), which reads on the claimed formula A wherein the q is 0, and R4 and R5 are alkyl group and R1, R2 and R3 independently comprise H or an alkyl group having from 1 to 9 carbon atoms. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to increase the hydroxy group and passivate the silicon oxide surface as suggested by Todd in the method of Tois because Todd teaches such process can overcome the issue of incomplete passivation of the surfaces, physisorption of ALD precursor molecules and subsequent formation of the ALD film material either within the passivation layer itself or on the surfaces where deposition is not desired (paragraph 0004).
As discussed in the 35 U.S.C. 112(b) rejections above, R4 and R5 are interpreted as not bonded to each other when q is 0, thus, Todd’s formula 1 reads on the claimed formula A. Nevertheless, Thompson teaches a method of depositing a film selectively onto a first substrate surface (by ALD) relative to a second substate surface by passivating the second surface comprising hydroxyl terminations (hydroxide groups) by exposing to the second surface to silyamide to form silyl ether-terminations (abstract, paragraphs 0006-0007, 0029, figure 1), which is the same technique as Todd’s. Thompson teaches the silyamide (silylating precursor) is 1-trimethylsilyprrolidine (paragraph 0007), which reads on formula A when q is 2. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use 1-trimethylsilyprrolidine as the passivation chemical as suggested by Thompson in the method of Tois in view of Todd because Thompson teaches 1-trimethylsilyprrolidine is able to passivate the hydroxide surface to by forming a sly ether group which is desired by Todd (paragraph 0064). In addition, the selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supported a prima facie obviousness determination in Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945) (MPEP 2144.07).
Regarding claim 3, Thompson teaches the silylating precursor is 1-trimethylsilyprrolidine (paragraph 0007).
Regarding claim 4, Tois teaches the non-hydroxyl containing surface is copper, cobalt etc (paragraphs 0030-0031).
Regarding claim 5, Tois teaches the second surface is silicon oxide (paragraph 0037).
Regarding claim 6, Tois teaches the first precursor has a general formula as the instant claim (paragraphs 0094-0097).
Regarding claim 7, Tois teaches the second precursor has a general formula as the instant claim (paragraphs 0094-0097).
Regarding claim 8, Tois teaches the first precursor and the second precursor are independly selected from terephthaldehyde and 1,4-diaminobenzene (phynylenediamine) (paragraph 0099).
Regarding claim 9, Tois teaches the forming an additional selectively deposited layer on the selectively deposited layer (paragraph 0065, see figure 2).
Regarding claim 10, Tois teaches to remove the first and second precursors by flowing a purge gas over the substrate and removing the mixture of the one or more of the first precursor effluent and the second precursor effluent and the purge gas from the substrate (paragraphs 0123, 0061 and 0064, figure 2).
Regarding claim 11, Tois teaches the purge gas is nitrogen (paragraph 0123).
Regarding claim 13, Tois teaches the method is atomic layer deposition (ALD) and molecular layer deposition (paragraphs 0009 and 0012).
Regarding claim 14, Tois teaches a method of selectively depositing an organic film on a substrate comprising a first surface and a second surface (abstract, paragraph 0008). Tois teaches to treat the surface of the substrate with hydrogen plasma (paragraph 0039), wherein the first surface is metal or metallic (non-hydroxyl containing surface) and a second surface is dielectric surface such as silicon oxide (paragraph 0037, 0066-0067, 0030-0031). Tois teaches to flow a first precursor over the substrate comprising the second surface and the non-hydroxyl containing surface to form a first portion of a selectively deposited layer on the non-hydroxyl containing surface, the first precursor comprising a first reactive group (paragraphs 0029, 0058 to 0060 and 0073, figure 2). Tois teaches to remove the excess first precursor and any volatile reaction by-product from the substrate (first precursor effluent) (paragraph 0061, figure 2). Tois teaches to flow a second precursor comprising a second reactive group over the substrate to react with the first reactive group to form a selectively deposited layer on the non-hydroxyl containing surface of the substrate and not on the second surface (paragraphs 0062-0063 and 0074, figure 2). Tois teaches to remove the excess second precursor and any volatile reaction by-product from the substrate (second precursor effluent) (paragraph 0064). Tois teaches the first and second precursors have a general formula as the instant claim (paragraphs 0094-0097).
Tois does not explicitly teach to form the hydroxide groups on the second surface and to expose the substrate to silylating precursory to form a passivated surface to form a passivated surface on the second surface and not on the first surface. However, Tois teaches the second surface has the same dielectric material (SiO2), the first surface has the same metallic non-hydroxyl containing surface and use the same hydrogen plasma as the claimed invention, thus, it would be reasonably expected to form hydroxide groups on the dielectric material and not on the non-hydroxyl containing surface. Nevertheless, Todd teaches a method of selectively deposition on a second surface of a substrate relative to a first surface (paragraph 0005), wherein the deposit is carbon containing film (pargraph 0128). Todd teaches surface is treated with hydrogen plasma to form hydroxyl group on the second surface, and the second surface is subsequently passivated by a silicon containing compound (silylating precursor) which reacts with the surface hydroxyl groups to form silyl ether terminated surface and thereby passivate the surface, wherein the second surface is silicon oxide (paragraphs 0064-0065, 0056, 0075 and 0115). Todd teaches the silylating precursor has a formula I
, wherein R1 and R2 are each independently selected from H or C1 to C8 alkyl group, R3 is selected from a C1 to C18 alkyl group, X is NRaRb with Ra and Rb are each independently selected from C1 to C4 linear alkyl group and C1-C4 branched alkyl group (paragraph 0064), which reads on the claimed formula A wherein the q is 0, and R4 and R5 are alkyl group and R1, R2 and R3 independently comprise H or an alkyl group having from 1 to 9 carbon atoms. Since Tois teaches the first surface is same metallic non-hydroxyl- containing surface as the claimed invention, Todd’s passivated layer would intricially not formed on the such metallic non-hydroxyl-containing surface. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to increase the hydroxy group and passivate the silicon oxide surface as suggested by Todd in the method of Tois because Todd teaches such process can overcome the issue of incomplete passivation of the surfaces, physisorption of ALD precursor molecules and subsequent formation of the ALD film material either within the passivation layer itself or on the surfaces where deposition is not desired (paragraph 0004).
As discussed in the 35 U.S.C. 112(b) rejections above, R4 and R5 are interpreted as not bonded to each other when q is 0, thus, Todd’s formula 1 reads on the claimed formula A. Nevertheless, Thompson teaches a method of depositing a film selectively onto a first substrate surface (by ALD) relative to a second substate surface by passivating the second surface comprising hydroxyl terminations (hydroxide groups) by exposing to the second surface to silyamide to form silyl ether-terminations (abstract, paragraphs 0006-0007, 0029, figure 1), which is the same technique as Todd’s. Thompson teaches the silyamide (silylating precursor) is 1-trimethylsilyprrolidine (paragraph 0007), which reads on formula A when q is 2. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use 1-trimethylsilyprrolidine as the passivation chemical as suggested by Thompson in the method of Tois in view of Todd because Thompson teaches 1-trimethylsilyprrolidine is able to passivate the hydroxide surface to by forming a sly ether group which is desired by Todd (paragraph 0064). In addition, the selection of a known material based on its suitability for its intended use supported a prima facie obviousness determination in Sinclair & Carroll Co. v. Interchemical Corp., 325 U.S. 327, 65 USPQ 297 (1945) (MPEP 2144.07).
Regarding claim 15, Tois teaches the non-hydroxyl containing surface is copper, cobalt etc (paragraphs 0030-0031).
Regarding claim 16, Tois teaches the second surface is silicon oxide (paragraph 0037).
Regarding claim 17, Tois teaches the first precursor and the second precursor are independly selected from terephthaldehyde and 1,4-diaminobenzene (phynylenediamine) (paragraph 0099).
Regarding claim 18, Tois teaches the forming an additional selectively deposited layer on the selectively deposited layer (paragraph 0065, see figure 2).
Regarding claim 19, Tois teaches to remove the first and second precursors by flowing a purge gas over the substrate and removing the mixture of the one or more of the first precursor effluent and the second precursor effluent and the purge gas from the substrate (paragraphs 0123, 0061 and 0064, figure 2). Tois teaches the purge gas is nitrogen (paragraph 0123).
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on August 14, 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant’s principal arguments are:
As recognized by one of kill in the art, when q is 0, general formula (A) contains no methylene groups and simply has R4 and R5 bonded to each other.
In response to Applicant’s arguments, please consider the following comments:
As discussed above in 112 (b) rejection, formula A is interpreted as R4 and R5 not bonded to each other when q is 0, thus Todd’s formula I reads on the claimed formula. Nevertheless, Thompson teaches the claimed formula A (see rejections above).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Li (US20180211833, paragraphs 0069-0071).
/NGA LEUNG V LAW/Examiner, Art Unit 1717