DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. Claim 11 fails to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends (see claim 8, lines 8-9). Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4 and 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kelleher et al. (US 2021/0100319), herein Kelleher.
Regarding claim 1, Kelleher discloses an interlocking assembly for an article of footwear, the interlocking assembly comprising: a first component (20) having a plurality of ribs (62) exposed through a medial side and a lateral side of the first component (Fig. 15), each rib of the plurality of ribs having a head (head of pin) that is connected to a base of the first component by a stem (Fig. 17), wherein the head is at least partially hollow and includes a cavity extending partially or entirely through the head in a lateral-to-medial direction, wherein the cavity extends into the stem and toward the base (Fig. 17); and a second component (sole) having a plurality of receptacles (64), wherein the plurality of ribs of the first component is configured to be received within the plurality of receptacles of the second component such that the cavity of each head at least partially collapses and expands during assembly (wherein the wider head of the snap mechanism at least partially collapses and expands to fit through the narrower start of the snap receptacle), whereby the first component and the second component are removably attached (paragraphs 0047, 0052; Fig. 15-17).
Regarding claim 2, Kelleher discloses that at least one of the plurality of receptacles is exposed through a lower surface of the second component (Fig. 15).
Regarding claim 3, Kelleher discloses that the plurality of receptacles is located between the lower surface and a top surface of the second component (Fig. 17).
Regarding claim 4, Kelleher discloses that the plurality of receptacles extends continuously between a medial side and a lateral side of the second component (wherein the centrally located receptacles extend continuously between the medial and lateral sides; Fig. 15).
Regarding claim 7, Kelleher discloses that the first component is configured to snap into the second component (paragraph 0052).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kelleher, as applied to claim 1.
Regarding claim 6, Kelleher does not disclose the specific materials of the first and second components. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to make the first component of a different material than the second component in order to provide a first component (or outsole) with adequate stiffness and abrasion resistance, and to provide a second component (or midsole) with adequate cushioning and support characteristics. It has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to select a known material on the basis of its suitability for the intended use as a matter of obvious design choice. In re Leshin, 125 USPQ 416.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 8-10, 12-14, 16-18, and 20 are allowed.
Claim 5 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1-7 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
/SHARON M PRANGE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3732