DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed 03/19/2026 has been entered. Claims 1, 2, 4, 6-14, and 17-22 remain
pending. Claim 60 has been added.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s argument with respect to Papay no longer reading on the limitation “wherein the depression is a wedge-shaped depression or elongated depression that is elongated in shape along the second surface, the Examiner respectfully disagrees. Due to Papay disclosing in paragraph [0045] that point features 112 can be any shape or size, it would have been obvious in view of the additional prior art applied below to change the shape of the depressions to either elongated or wedge shaped. Applicant’s argument with respect to Papay no longer reading on the updated claim limitations for claims 7, 8, and 13 describing the elevated ridge, as the implant is capable of being positioned to sit underneath soft tissue, the corner is capable of “trapping” the stylus depending on the size by blocking movement in at least one direction, and depending on the force applied to the stylus the “gradual” transition, being the transition between the surface and the highest point of the elevated ridge, could “prevent” the stylus from going up along the side and over the ridge.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 4, 6-14, 17-22, and 60 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20150105858 A1 (hereafter --Papay--), in view of US 20200100894 A1 (hereafter --Woodburn--).
Regarding Claim 1, Papay discloses an implant (100) for correcting a defect of a bone structure (see paragraph [0037]), comprising: a first surface comprising a shape configured to interface with a surface of the bone structure (see annotated first surface 204 in Figure 2 below, see paragraph [0039]); and a second surface opposite the first surface and substantially conformal to the shape of the first surface (see annotated second surface 102 in Figure 1 below, see also paragraph [0039]), the second surface comprising: three or more point features on the second surface (see annotated point features in Figure 1 below), wherein the three or more point features comprise a first point feature, a second point feature, and a third point feature that form nodes of a triangle (see annotated first, second, and third point features 112 in Figure 1 below), wherein each of the three or more point features are recessed below the second surface (see paragraph [0042]), wherein at least one of the three or more point features comprises a depression (see paragraph [0042] denoting that point features 112 can extend partially or all the way through the implant, the descent of the extension into the implant being the depressions, depression being defined as “a place or part that is lower than the surrounding area” (see Merriam Webster online definition 3)), and an elevated ridge at least partially surrounding at least one of the three or more point features (see annotated elevated ridge 514 in Figure 1 below, see also paragraph [0048] denoting that elevated ridges 514 can be protruding above the implant).
The limitation “configured to receive a tip of a stylus angled close to tangentially to the second surface” is treated as functional language, that is given limited patentable weight. The stylus is not positively recited as part of the claimed invention. The prior art is not required to disclose a stylus, but merely have the capability of performing the recited function. Due to the depression being a recess that is able to be touched by at least some existing stylus, it is therefore able to “receive a tip of a stylus angled close to the surface”.
Papay discloses wherein the depression could be any shape (see paragraph [0045] denoting that 112 can be any shape or size), however fails to specifically disclose wherein the depression is a wedge-shaped depression or elongated depression that is elongated in shape along the second surface.
Woodburn discloses an orbital implant for implantation in the eye of a patient, wherein the implant comprises of a first surface, a second surface, and depressions (see annotated depressions in Figure 1 below). Woodburn teaches elongated depression that is elongated in shape along the second surface (see annotated depressions in Figure 1 below being both “elongated” and “wedge-shaped).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date for the depression of Papay to be an elongated depression that is elongated in shape along the second surface or to be wedge shaped, the substitution of one known element (depression shape of Papay) for another (either of the depression shapes of Woodburn) would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention since the substitution of the depression shapes shown in Woodburn would have yielded predictable results, namely, a depression with an elongated shape, or a depression with a wedge shape, as disclosed in Woodburn.
Regarding Claim 2, Papay as modified discloses the implant of claim 1, wherein at least another one of the three or more point features comprises a hole through the implant from the first surface to the second surface (see paragraph [0042] denoting that the apertures 112 can extend fully through both surfaces 102 and 204).
The limitation “configured to receive a tip of a stylus angled close to tangentially to the second surface” is treated as functional language, that is given limited patentable weight. The prior art is not required to disclose this function, but merely have the capability of performing the recited function. Due to the hole being a recess that is able to be touched by a stylus, it is therefore able to “receive a tip of a stylus angled close to the surface”.
Regarding Claim 4, Papay as modified discloses the implant of claim 1, wherein the depression is a wedge-shaped depression (see paragraph [0045] denoting that 112 can be any shape or size, see also claim 1 rejection).
Regarding Claim 6, Papay discloses the implant of claim 1, wherein the elevated ridge surrounds the at least one or more of the three or more point features on a distal side (see annotated point features and elevated ridge in Figures 1 and 2 above).
Regarding Claim 7, Papay as modified discloses the implant of claim 1, wherein the elevated ridge is formed along a distal edge of the second surface (see annotated second surface and distal edge in Figure 1 above), and wherein the distal edge is positioned to sit underneath soft tissue during implantation of the implant (the distal edge of the implant is capable of being implanted under soft tissue as it is disclosed that it is configured for contact with an underside of a patient’s facial tissue (see Abstract)).
Regarding Claim 8, Papay as modified discloses the implant of claim 1, wherein the elevated ridge comprises at least one of a corner, a hook, a notch, or a gap at the one or more of the three or more point features (see annotated corner in Figure 1 above), wherein the at least one or the corner, the hook, the notch, or the gap is configured to trap the stylus at the one or more of the three or more point features (due to the corner of the protrusion having a space between the surface and the protruded surface, and the corner being near a “point feature”, the space is able to be touched by at least some existing stylus, and therefore “trap” a stylus from movement in at least one direction between the corner and point feature depending on the size and shape of the stylus).
Regarding Claim 9, Papay as modified discloses the implant of claim 8.
The limitation “wherein the corner, hook, notch, or gap is configured to receive the tip of the stylus angled substantially tangential to the second surface” is treated as functional language, that is given limited patentable weight. The prior art is not required to disclose this function, but merely have the capability of performing the recited function. Due to the corner of the protrusion having a space between the surface and the protruded surface, the space is able to be touched by at least some existing stylus, and is therefore able to “receive a tip of a stylus angled close to the surface”.
Regarding Claim 10, Papay as modified discloses the implant of claim 1, wherein the elevated ridge extends from the first point feature of the three or more point features to the second point feature of the three or more point features (see annotated first and second point features, as well as the elevated ridges in Figure 1 above).
Regarding Claim 11, Papay as modified discloses the implant of claim 10, further comprising another elevated ridge on the second surface, the other elevated ridge extending from the second point feature to the third point feature of the three or more point features (see annotated elevated ridges in Figure 1 above, both of which extend from each point feature).
Regarding Claim 12, Papay as modified discloses the implant of claim 11, wherein the elevated ridge and the other elevated ridge form a continuous ridgeline on the second surface (see annotated elevated ridges in Figure 1 above).
Regarding Claim 13, Papay as modified discloses the implant of claim 1, wherein the implant further comprises a gradual transition at a side of the elevated ridge from a top of the elevated ridge to the second surface (see annotated gradual transition in Figure 5 below), wherein the gradual transition is configured to prevent the stylus being guided along the side of the elevated ridge (since the “elevated ridge” is elevated along the surface, depending on the force applied to the stylus the “gradual” transition, being the transition between the surface and the highest point of the elevated ridge, could “prevent” the stylus from going up along the side and over the ridge). “Gradual” transition is broad, and therefore is being given its broadest reasonable interpretation to encompass the structure disclosed by Papay.
Regarding Claim 14, Papay as modified discloses the implant of claim 13, wherein the side is a distal side of the elevated ridge (see annotated distal side in Figure 5 above).
Regarding Claim 17, Papay as modified discloses the implant of claim 1, wherein the elevated ridge comprises a concave side (see annotated concave side in Figure 5 above).
The limitation “for receiving the tip of the stylus” is treated as functional language, that is given limited patentable weight. The prior art is not required to disclose this function, but merely have the capability of performing the recited function. Due to the side of the protrusion having a space between the surface and the protruded surface, the space is able to be touched by at least some existing stylus, and is therefore able to “receive a tip of a stylus”.
Regarding Claim 18, Papay as modified discloses the implant of claim 17, wherein the concave side is a proximal side of the elevated ridge (see annotated proximal side in Figure 5 above).
Regarding Claim 19, Papay as modified discloses the implant of claim 1, wherein the elevated ridge extends along a path between the first point feature of the three or more point features and the second point feature of the three or more point features, wherein each of the one or more elevated ridge is located on a first side of the path and no elevated ridge is located on a second side of the path (see annotated path, first side of path, and second side of path in Figure 5 above).
Regarding Claim 20, Papay as modified discloses the implant of claim 19, wherein the first side of the path is a distal side of the path (see annotated path and distal side in Figure 5 above).
Regarding Claim 21, Papay as modified discloses the implant of claim 1, further comprising a plurality of perforations through the implant from the first surface to the second surface (see paragraph [0042] denoting that the apertures 112 can extend fully through both surfaces 102 and 204).
Regarding Claim 22, Papay as modified discloses the implant of claim 21, wherein a path between the first point feature of the three or more point features and the second point feature of the three or more point features does not include the plurality of perforations (see annotated path in Figure 5 above).
Regarding Claim 60, Papay as modified discloses the implant of claim 1, wherein the depression is the elongated depression (see paragraph [0045] denoting that 112 can be any shape or size, see also claim 1 rejection).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/PARIS MARIE BLASS/Examiner, Art Unit 3774
/SARAH W ALEMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3774