Continued Examination under 37 CFR 1.114
Specification
The amendment filed 1/21/26 is objected to under 35 U.S.C. 132(a) because it introduces new matter into the disclosure. 35 U.S.C. 132(a) states that no amendment shall introduce new matter into the disclosure of the invention. The added material which is not supported by the original disclosure is as follows:
For claim 4, wherein, along the direction from center to edge of the first display area, the first central sub-area has a same width as the first edge sub-area, is not disclosed in the specification.
The only location wherein same width is disclosed in the specification is:
[0033] In some embodiments, along the direction from center to edge of the first display area AA1, each sub-area AA10 includes an annular area centered on the center of the first display area AA1, and along the direction from center to edge of the first display area AA1, each annular area has a same width.
However, the disclosure in [0033] does not support the limitations of claim 4: wherein, along the direction from center to edge of the first display area, the first central sub-area has a same width as the first edge sub-area, is not disclosed in the specification.
For claim 5, the limitation of “an area of an orthographic projection of each first spacer in the first central sub-area on the substrate is greater than an area of an orthographic projection of each first spacer in the first edge sub-area”, is not disclosed in the specification. Each spacer is not addressed in the specification. Only collective areas of the spacers are disclosed.
Further for claim 5, the limitation of “or a number of first spacers per unit area in the first central sub-area is greater than a number of first spacers per unit area in the first edge sub-area” is not disclosed in the specification.
From Applicant’s disclosure in [0033] from the US publication, the opposite of the above limitation is disclosed, that is: In order to increase the light transmittance of the light-transmitting display area, arrangement of the spacers may be reduced. For example, an area of a spacer is reduced, or the number of spacers is reduced.
Applicant is required to cancel the new matter in the reply to this Office Action.
Claim Objection
Claims 4 and 5 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In the claim 4, the limitation of “wherein, along the direction from center to edge of the first display area, the first central sub-area has a same width as the first edge sub-area” is unclear language. It is not clear what is meant by this limitation, what is the width defined as ? and how is the width measured? That is, from what point to what point is the width measured.
In claim 5, the limitation of “wherein orthographic projections of the plurality of first spacers in each of the sub-areas on the substrate to the area of the sub-area decreases” is unclear language. It is not clear what is meant by “orthographic projections decrease”. How does the projection decrease? An area or width or height or some dimension of the projection may decrease, which looks to be more appropriate, but how can the projection itself decrease.
Appropriate correction is needed.
Drawing
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore,
For claim 4,
“wherein, along the direction from center to edge of the first display area, the first central sub-area has a same width as the first edge sub-area”
must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s).
This aspect is not shown in the Drawings as none of the drawings show “the first central sub-area has a same width as the first edge sub-area”. Further the width measurement is also undefined, therefore it is not clear which part is the width in the Drawings.
No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 ,2, 4 ,5,8,10, 11 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shen (CN 109061934 A) in view of Park (US 20190064572 A1) and further in view of Gao (US 20210043867 A1)
Regarding claim 1, Shen teaches a display panel comprising a first display area (A1 and A2, Fig.10, 3, 4 and 12), at least a part of which is a light-transmitting display area A1, the first display area comprising: a first central sub-area A1 centered on a center of the first display area; and a first edge sub-area A2 being an annular area surrounding the first central sub-area; a substrate 10; a pixel definition layer 50 (Fig.12) disposed on the substrate; a plurality of first spacers disposed on a side of the pixel definition layer facing away from the substrate.
Also see in Shen:
Based on the above research, the invention claims a display panel and a display device, a partial area in the display area is not provided with display panel of the supporting column by adjusting the other areas on the display panel support column of area density, improving pressure resistance of the whole display panel, the display panel is not provided near the supporting column region appears poor display problem of water wave and improve the display effect of narrow side frame display panel.
AND
The embodiment of the display panel, provided by formula determined by the area density of the supporting column in the second region so that the first region and the second region of the whole supporting column of the area density in the third region supporting column density of area, i.e., the area density of the display panel integrally, so that the same pressure resistance of each position of the display panel to improve the uniformity of the display panel.
Shen does not teach the plurality of first spacers positioned in the first central sub-area and the first edge sub-area, wherein a proportion of a total area of orthographic projections of the plurality of first spacers in the first central sub-area on the substrate to an area of the first central sub-area is greater than a proportion of a total area of orthographic projections of the plurality of first spacers in the first edge sub-area on the substrate to an area of the first edge sub-area.
Park teaches a display area wherein Park discloses (also see [0037], [0039] and [0038] of Park):
[0008] In an exemplary embodiment, a ratio of the arrangement density (wherein the density refers to the area occupied by the spacers with respect to the total area of the central position) of the spacers at a central position of the curved display panel to the arrangement density (wherein the density refers to the area occupied by the spacers with respect to the total area of the edge regions) of the spacers at either side of the non-curved edges of the curved display panel is greater than 1 and equal to or less than 3.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use the density ratios as disclosed in Park, in the device or Shen in order to provide strength to the device disposed between the top and bottom substrates.
Shen in view of Park does not teach: the plurality of first spacers in the first edge sub-area are doped with at least one of rigid bars and rigid particles.
Gao teaches a display panel wherein a plurality of spacers are doped with at least one of rigid bars and rigid particles ([0009]-[0010] and throughout Gao as supporting particles).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use the supporting particles as disclosed in Gao, in the device of Shen in view of Park, in order to provide extra support to the spacers.
Regarding claim 2, Shen in view of Park and Gao, teaches a display panel, further comprising: a cover plate (second substrate 20’ or 20 in Shen) disposed on a side of the plurality of first spacers facing away from the substrate.
Regarding claim 4, Shen in view of Park and Gao teaches a display panel, wherein, along the direction from center to edge of the first display area, the first central sub-area has a same width as the first edge sub-area (see objection to specification, objection to Drawings and objection to claim above).
Regarding claim 5, Shen in view of Park and Gao teaches a display panel, wherein orthographic projections of the plurality of first spacers in each of the sub-areas on the substrate to the area of the sub-area decreases (see objection to claim above),
an area of an orthographic projection of each first spacer in the first central sub-area on the substrate is greater than an area of an orthographic projection of each first spacer in the first edge sub-area (see objection to specification);
or
a number of first spacers per unit area in the first central sub-area is greater than a number of first spacers per unit area in the first edge sub-area (disclosed in the Figures 1-7 of Park, see objection to specification).
Regarding claim 8, Shen in view of Park and Gao teaches the display panel, wherein the plurality of first spacers further comprises: an annular spacer centered on the center of the first display area (see in Shen: the support column 40 the first base plate 10 of the orthographic projection of the shape is round, elliptic, square or strip of any one kind of or more).
Regarding claim 10, Shen in view of Park and Gao teaches the display panel, wherein the annular spacer is positioned in the first edge sub-area (edge spacers in Park).
Regarding claim 11, Shen in view of Park and Gao teaches the display panel, wherein the plurality of first spacers further comprises: a column-shaped spacer positioned in the first central sub-area (from the teachings of Park).
Regarding claim 19, Shen in view of Park and Gao teaches display apparatus comprising the display panel (Title of Park).
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shen (CN 109061934 A) in view of Park (US 20190064572 A1) and Gao (US 20210043867 A1) and further in view of Kobayashi (US 20130162939 A1)
Regarding claim 7, Shen in view of Park and Gao teaches the invention set forth in claim 1 above, but is silent regarding a proportion of a total area of orthographic projections of the plurality of first spacers in the first edge sub-area on the substrate to an area of the first edge sub-area is from 5% to 10%.
Kobayashi teaches the total area of orthographic projections of the plurality of first spacers in the first edge sub-area on the substrate to an area of the first edge sub-area, as a result effective variable, with various values listed in the Table in Fig.7, wherein the values 5-10% are also listed in the Table (also see [0068] in Kobayashi).
And it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use the ratio, as disclosed in Kobayashi, in the device of Shen in view of Park and Gao in order to suppress the deformation caused by stress ([0066] in Kobayashi).
Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shen (CN 109061934 A) in view of Park (US 20190064572 A1) and Gao (US 20210043867 A1) and further in view of Iguchi (JP 2001092121 A)
Regarding claim 13, Shen in view of Park and Gao teaches the invention set forth in claim 1 above, but is silent regarding a material of the rigid bars or the rigid particles is at least one of silicon, titanium, steel, and a fiber-reinforced composite material.
Iguchi teaches:
The above-mentioned titanium oxide-based fine particles and the like also function as a filler component, and can improve the shape retention and the strength of the partition walls in the firing step
And it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use the material, as disclosed in Iguchi, in the device of Shen in view of Park and Gao in order to add strength to the wall.
Claims 15,16 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shen (CN 109061934 A) in view of Park (US 20190064572 A1) and Gao (US 20210043867 A1) and further in view of Chang (CN 111129103 A, cited previously)
Regarding claim 15, Shen in view of Park and Gao teaches the invention set forth in claim 1 above, but is silent regarding: the details of the second display area and the corresponding second spacers.
Chang teaches a second display area AA2 adjoining the first display area (AA1 and TA), a light transmittance of the second display area being less than a light transmittance of the first display area; a plurality of second spacers 53 positioned in the second display area; wherein a proportion of a total area of orthographic projections of the plurality of first spacers on the substrate to an area of the first display area is a first proportion, a proportion of a total area of orthographic projections of the plurality of second spacers on the substrate to an area of the second display area is a second proportion, and the first proportion is less than the second proportion (AA2 is the second display area and TA with AA1 is the first display area; claim 5 of Chang wherein the spacing between the spacers of TA and AA2 are analogous, Note: instant Fig.2 is relied upon in the rejection, as the spacings of the spacers is analogous).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use the spacer arrangement as disclosed in Chang, in the distal region of Shen in view of Park and Gao, in order to improve integral strength of the display panel (Abstract).
Regarding claim 16, Shen in view of Park, Gao and Chang teaches the display panel, wherein the proportion of the total area of orthographic projections of the plurality of second spacers on the substrate to the area of the second display area is from 11% to 25% (second column AA2, that is analogous to spacing between spacers in TA, and claim of 5 Chang).
Regarding claim 20, Shen in view of Park, Gao and Chang teaches the display apparatus; wherein a side of at least one first spacer 51 (in Chang) of the plurality of first spacers faces away from the substrate and a side of at least one second spacer 52 of the plurality of second spacers faces away from the substrate is flush in a thickness direction of the display panel.
Claims 17-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shen (CN 109061934 A) in view of Park (US 20190064572 A1), Gao (US 20210043867 A1) and Chang (CN 111129103 A, cited previously) and further in view of Wu (CN 109061934 A; US 20200103690 A1 is relied upon in the rejection, cited previously)
Regarding claims 17 and 18,Shen in view of Park, Gao and Chang teaches the display panel, wherein the second display area further comprises a second central sub-area and a second edge sub-area on at least a part of an outer circumference of the second central sub-area (see [0022],[0027]-[0034] in Chang and description of second spacers 52 throughout Chang) but does not teach a proportion of a total area of orthographic projections of second spacers in the second central sub-area on the substrate to an area of the second central sub-area is greater than a proportion of a total area of orthographic projections of second spacers in the second edge sub-area on the substrate to an area of the second edge sub-area (for claim 17) and wherein the second display area further comprises: a second central sub-area and a second edge sub-area on at least a part of an outer circumference of the second central sub-area, and a proportion of a total area of orthographic projections of the plurality of second spacers in the second central sub-area on the substrate to an area of the second edge sub- area is greater than a proportion of a total area of orthographic projections of the plurality of first spacers in the first edge sub-area on the substrate to an area of the first edge sub-area (for claim 18).
However, since the variation of spacing and size of the support columns are already disclosed for the first display region in Chang in view of Wu, therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to use an analogous variation for the support columns for the second display region as claimed, in the device of Chang in view of Wu in order to optimize the integral strength of the display panel (Abstract of Chang; [0025]).
Other art
For claim 7: US 20250244320 A1 and filling factor of 1-5%
Response to Arguments
The arguments filed by the Applicant on 1/21/26 is acknowledged. However, they are moot in light of new grounds of rejection for the amended claims.
Examiner respectfully notes that the ratio/density of the spacers in the regions as claimed are well known techniques in curved as well as straight display devices. Not only in the prior art, Applicant’s disclosure also highlights use of curved display devices, and the arrangement of the spacers are focused on providing strength and endurance in such configuration, as also disclosed in the prior art.
Contact Information
/Fatima N Farokhrooz/
Examiner, Art Unit 2875