DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-5, 8-12 and 14-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Rehor et al. (CZ 34647, hereinafter ‘Rehor’).
Regarding claim 1, Rehor discloses a milling tool comprising a rotatable tool body N configured to rotate around an axis. The rotatable tool body comprises a circumferential outer surface, a pocket defined within the circumferential outer surface, at least one first coolant outlet S and at least one second coolant outlet S. The pocket comprises a seating surface. A cutting insert D is disposed within the pocket, the cutting insert comprising a first cutting edge (at the intersection of sides B1 and C), a second cutting edge (at the intersection of sides B2 and C), a seating face and a rake face C opposed to the seating face. The rake face is disposed above the seating face, the seating face being disposed against the seating surface. The at least one first coolant outlet of the rotatable tool body is disposed above the rake face C and oriented to direct coolant directly onto the second cutting edge (see fig. 5). The at least one second coolant outlet of the rotatable tool body is disposed below the seating face, the at least one second is coolant disposed adjacent to the seating face and oriented to direct coolant directly onto the first cutting edge (see fig. 5).
Regarding claim 2, Rehor discloses the pocket further comprising first and second side surfaces (oriented opposite to sides B2 and B1 of the cutting insert respectively) disposed transversely to the seating surface. The cutting insert also comprises first and second flank surfaces (opposite sides B2 and B1 of the cutting insert respectively) extending between the seating face and the rake face. The first flank face is disposed against the first side surface and the second flank face is disposed against the second side surface.
Regarding claim 3, Rehor discloses the at least one first coolant outlet being disposed adjacent the first flank face (see Fig. 5).
Regarding claim 4, Rehor discloses the rotatable tool body further comprising at least one third coolant outlet S disposed above the rake face C, the at least one third coolant outlet being disposed adjacent the second flank face and oriented to direct coolant directly onto the first cutting edge (see Fig. 5).
Regarding claim 5, Rehor discloses the at least one second coolant outlet being disposed in the circumferential outer surface (see Fig. 5).
Regarding claim 8, Rehor discloses the first, second and third coolant outlets being positioned to collectively provide coolant to cover full lengths of the first and second cutting edges.
Regarding claim 9, Rehor discloses the rotatable tool body further comprising first, second and third coolant channels, connected to respective ones of the first, second and third coolant outlets, said channels being disposed within an interior of the rotatable tool body.
Regarding claim 10, Rehor discloses a milling tool comprising a rotatable tool body N configured to rotate around an axis. The rotatable tool body comprises a circumferential outer surface, a pocket defined within the circumferential outer surface, at least one first coolant outlet S, at least one second coolant outlet S and at least one third coolant outlet S. The pocket comprises a seating surface and first and second side surfaces (oriented opposite to sides B2 and B1 of the cutting insert respectively) disposed transversely to the seating surface. A cutting insert D is disposed within the pocket, the cutting insert comprising a first cutting edge (at the intersection of sides B1 and C), a second cutting edge (at the intersection of sides B2 and C), a seating face and a rake face C opposed to the seating face. The cutting insert also comprises first and second flank surfaces (opposite sides B2 and B1 of the cutting insert respectively) extending between the seating face and the rake face. The rake face is disposed above the seating face, the seating face being disposed against the seating surface, the first flank face is disposed against the first side surface and the second flank face is disposed against the second side surface.. The at least one first coolant outlet of the rotatable tool body is disposed above the rake face C and oriented to direct coolant directly onto the second cutting edge (see fig. 5). The at least one second coolant outlet of the rotatable tool body is disposed below the seating face, the at least one second coolant is disposed adjacent to the seating face and oriented to direct coolant directly onto the first cutting edge (see fig. 5). The at least one third coolant outlet is disposed above the rake face C adjacent the second flank face and oriented to direct coolant directly onto the first cutting edge (see Fig. 5).
Regarding claim 11, Rehor discloses the at least one second coolant outlet being disposed adjacent the seating face (see Fig. 5).
Regarding claim 12, Rehor discloses the at least one second coolant outlet being disposed in the circumferential outer surface (see Fig. 5).
Regarding claim 14, Rehor discloses the first, second and third coolant outlets being positioned to collectively provide coolant to cover full lengths of the first and second cutting edges.
Regarding claim 15, Rehor discloses the rotatable tool body further comprising first, second and third coolant channels, connected to respective ones of the first, second and third coolant outlets, said channels being disposed within an interior of the rotatable tool body.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-5, 8-12 and 14-15 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Rehor et al. (CZ 34649) and Woodruff et al. (US 20120082518) also disclose milling tools having inserts in pockets of rotatable tool bodies with first and second (and third) coolant outlets disposed and oriented to direct coolant to first and second cutting edges of the insert.
/Alan Snyder/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3722