DETAILED ACTION
This Final Office Action is in response to the correspondence filed 08/20/2025.
Claims 1-7, and 9-20 are pending and rejected.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 07/08/2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-7, & 9-20 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-7, & 9-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Wai et al (US20240333344) (hereinafter "Wai-1) in view of Wai et al (US20230327746) (hereinafter "Wai-2"), in further view of Xi et al (WO2018232090A1).
Regarding claim 1, Wai-1 teaches a control apparatus comprising:
one or more memories configured to store instructions ( Fig 1 104 [0124] capability of different memories); and
one or more processors configured to execute the instructions (Fig 1 200, [0123] processing device) to:
acquire a measurement result including information on reception qualities of a plurality of beams (Fig 9 903, 902, 903, [0066], [0074]-[0075] beam selection unit (apparatus) acquires information indicating the measurement result of reception quality of the beam specifying signal for each beam ID output);
update a database including information representing a relationship between the plurality of beams for each of a plurality of propagation environments, based on the measurement result (Fig 9, 111, 101, 300 [0113], [00122]-[0123], [0127]-[0135] storage of beam characteristics and optimal beam ID may include propagation environments based on measured results of acquired information of receptive quality, subsequently stores in a beam storage unit— updated when new beam information is stored—the data in table format having beam ID and beam associated with each other),
But Wai-1 fails to teach and perform selection processing for selecting a beam using the database.
However, Wai-2 teaches and perform selection processing for selecting a beam using the database (Fig 18, Fig 19, [0015], [0073]-[0076],[0086]-[0087], [0089]-[0091], performing discrete beam selection involving selection processing using transmission data, processing unit performing beam selection).
Wai-1 and Wai-2 are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same field of multiple beam selection, processing, and propagation environment categorization based on reception quality characteristics. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teaching of Wai-1 and Wai-2 to create and control apparatus and method for adaptive beam selection in 5G networks, where multiple beams are used to cover areas with high-frequency signals that suffer from propagation loss.
Wai-1 provides a general description of a communication control method and apparatus capable of performing beam selection with respect to an increase in the number of distributed antennas. Furthermore, Wai-2 provides a wireless communication method and apparatus that aims at improving communication between wireless stations by efficiently managing beam switching which involves beam control. Wai-2 aims to improve signal quality, reliability and efficiency in wireless networks, particularly in scenarios where multiple beams are used and need to be dynamically adjusted. Combining the teachings of Wai-1 and Wai-2 would allow for an control apparatus and method for adaptive beam selection in 5G networks, where multiple beams are used to cover areas with high-frequency signals that suffer from propagation loss. The motivation to combine both references is to improve beam selection accuracy, thereby enhancing communication reliability and efficiency in complex wireless environments.
But Wai-1 and Wai-2 fails to teach—
determine a first beam having highest reception quality for each of a plurality of propagation environments based on the measurement result;
the relationship represents a difference between a first reception quality of the first beam and a second reception quality of a second beam among the plurality of beams;
However, Xi teaches—
determine a first beam having highest reception quality for each of a plurality of propagation environments based on the measurement result ([0100]-[0101], explicitly says the WRTU measures RSRP per SS block (per-beam measurement) and selects the best N blocks (i.e. selects the beam(s) with the highest reception quality),;
the relationship represents a difference between a first reception quality of the first beam and a second reception quality of a second beam among the plurality of beams ([0149]-[0150] ,[0184], [0195]-[0197], report format uses “relative RSRP value” associated with each reported beam pair—explicit representation of a difference/relationship between a base (first) RSRP and other beams (i.e. relative/differential values), the “differential L1-RSRP reporting” phrase shows the spec contemplates reporting differences (deltas) rather than absolute values; the “relative RSRP value” pairs and use of offset values (SSB vs CSI-RS) show a concrete method of representing beam relationships as differences between the first (base) reception quality and other beams).
Wai-1, Wai-2 and Xi are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same field of multiple beam selection, processing, and propagation environment categorization based on reception quality characteristics. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the combination teachings of Wai-1, Wai-2, and Xi to create and control apparatus and method for adaptive beam selection in 5G networks, where multiple beams are used to cover areas with high-frequency signals that suffer from propagation loss.
Wai-1 provides a general description of a communication control method and apparatus capable of performing beam selection with respect to an increase in the number of distributed antennas. Wai-2 provides a wireless communication method and apparatus that aims at improving communication between wireless stations by efficiently managing beam switching which involves beam control. Wai-2 aims to improve signal quality, reliability and efficiency in wireless networks, particularly in scenarios where multiple beams are used and need to be dynamically adjusted. Furthermore, Xi teaches unified beam management in a wireless network. Combining the combination of teachings of Wai-1, Wai-2, and Xi would allow for an control apparatus and method for adaptive beam selection in 5G networks, where multiple beams are used to cover areas with high-frequency signals that suffer from propagation loss. The motivation to combine both references is to improve beam selection accuracy, thereby enhancing communication reliability and efficiency in complex wireless environments.
Regarding claim 2, Wai-1 teaches wherein the one or more processors are configured to
select the relationship corresponding to a present propagation environment in the information representing the relationship (Fig 7, Fig 9, 111, 101, 300 [0113], [00122]-[0123], [0127]-[0135] selection of current propagation environment factors—physical conditions storage of beam characteristics and optimal beam ID may include propagation environments based on measured results of acquired information of receptive quality, subsequently stores in a beam storage unit— updated when new beam information is stored—the data in table format having beam ID and beam associated with each other), and
perform the selection processing using the selected relationship (Fig 10, S101, [0029]-[0031], selection step of selection a physical resources and conditions—relationship of the physical conditions or propagation environment).
Regarding claim 3, Wai-1 fails to disclose wherein, in the information representing the relationship, the plurality of propagation environments are distinguished based on the first beam having the highest reception quality at a time point at which the measurement result is acquired, and
the one or more processors are configured to regard a beam currently in use or to be used next as the first beam, and select the relationship corresponding to the present propagation environment.
However, Wai-2 teaches wherein, in the information representing the relationship, the plurality of propagation environments are distinguished based on a first beam having a highest reception quality at a time point at which the measurement result is acquired ([0118], [0141]-[0143], [0239]-[0240] data processing unit determines which reception beam search signal has the best communication quality among the reception beam search signals transmitted, highest reception quality, beam ID read out (other characteristic data) reads out the beam ID from the received beam search signal determined by the data processing unit to have the best communication quality).
the one or more processors are configured to regard a beam currently in use or to be used next as the first beam, and select the relationship corresponding to the present propagation environment ([0030]-[0031], [0069]-[0070], [0086], beam search signal used in the discrete beam search selection—consider beam currently in use, selection of beam selection considered data involving propagation characteristics such as physical conditions).
Wai-1, Wai-2 and Xi are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same field of multiple beam selection, processing, and propagation environment categorization based on reception quality characteristics. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the combination teachings of Wai-1, Wai-2, and Xi to create and control apparatus and method for adaptive beam selection in 5G networks, where multiple beams are used to cover areas with high-frequency signals that suffer from propagation loss.
Wai-1 provides a general description of a communication control method and apparatus capable of performing beam selection with respect to an increase in the number of distributed antennas. Wai-2 provides a wireless communication method and apparatus that aims at improving communication between wireless stations by efficiently managing beam switching which involves beam control. Wai-2 aims to improve signal quality, reliability and efficiency in wireless networks, particularly in scenarios where multiple beams are used and need to be dynamically adjusted. Furthermore, Xi teaches unified beam management in a wireless network. Combining the combination of teachings of Wai-1, Wai-2, and Xi would allow for an control apparatus and method for adaptive beam selection in 5G networks, where multiple beams are used to cover areas with high-frequency signals that suffer from propagation loss. The motivation to combine both references is to improve beam selection accuracy, thereby enhancing communication reliability and efficiency in complex wireless environments.
Regarding claim 4, Wai-1 fails to teach wherein, in the information representing the relationship, the plurality of propagation environments are distinguished based on the first beam having the highest reception quality at a time point at which the measurement result is acquired, and the first reception quality of the first beam, and the one or more processors are configured to select the relationship corresponding to the present propagation environment, based on the first beam determined from the measurement result acquired at a present time, and the reception quality of the first beam.
However Wai-2 teaches wherein, in the information representing the relationship, the plurality of propagation environments are distinguished based on the first beam having the highest reception quality at a time point at which the measurement result is acquired ([0118], [0141]-[0143], [0239]-[0240] data processing unit determines which reception beam search signal has the best communication quality among the reception beam search signals transmitted, highest reception quality, beam ID read out (other characteristic data) reads out the beam ID from the received beam search signal determined by the data processing unit to have the best communication quality),
and the first reception quality of the first beam, and the one or more processors are configured to select the relationship corresponding to the present propagation environment, based on the first beam determined from the measurement result acquired at a present time, and the reception quality of the first beam ( Fig 18, Fig 19, [0015], [0073]-[0076],[0086]-[0087], ([0030]-[0031], [0069]-[0070], [0089]-[0091], performing discrete beam selection involving selection processing using transmission data, processing unit performing beam selection, beam search signal used in the discrete beam search selection—consider beam currently in use, selection of beam selection considered data involving propagation characteristics such as physical conditions).
Regarding claim 5, Wai-1 teaches wherein, in the information representing the relationship, the plurality of propagation environments are distinguished based on a first combination of beams, the first combination includes at least the first beam having the highest reception quality at a time point at which the measurement result is acquired (Fig 9, Fig. 2, 903, 902, 903, [0066], [0074]-[0075], [0061]-[0062], ,[0118], [0141]-[0143], [0239]-[0240], combination of distributed antennas and plurality of beams—multiple beams measured for highest quality, data processing unit determines which reception beam search signal has the best communication quality among the reception beam search signals transmitted, highest reception quality, beam ID read out (other characteristic data) reads out the beam ID from the received beam search signal determined by the data processing unit to have the best communication quality, beam selection unit (apparatus) acquires information indicating the measurement result of reception quality of the beam specifying signal for each beam ID output)), and the second beam having the second reception quality at the time point at which the measurement result is acquired, and the one or more processors are configured to select the relationship corresponding to the present propagation environment, based on the first combination determined from the measurement result acquired at a present time (Fig 9, Fig. 2, 903, 902, 903, [0066], [0074]-[0075], [0061]-[0062], ,[0118], [0141]-[0143], [0239]-[0240], combination of distributed antennas and plurality of beams—multiple beams measured for highest quality, data processing unit determines which reception beam search signal has the best communication quality among the reception beam search signals transmitted, highest reception quality, beam ID read out (other characteristic data) reads out the beam ID from the received beam search signal determined by the data processing unit to have the best communication quality, beam selection unit (apparatus) acquires information indicating the measurement result of reception quality of the beam specifying signal for each beam ID output).
Regarding claim 6, Wai-1 fails to teach wherein the control apparatus is connected to a plurality of radio apparatuses forming the plurality of beams, and is configured to communicate with a plurality of radio terminals via the plurality of radio apparatuses, in the information representing the relationship, the plurality of propagation environments are distinguished based on a second combination of beams and a third combination of radio apparatuses, the third combination includes at least a first radio apparatus included in the plurality of radio apparatuses and forming a third beam having a highest reception quality in a first beam set; and a second radio apparatus included in the plurality of radio apparatuses and forming a fourth beam having a highest reception quality in a second beam set, the first beam set is a set of all beams included in the measurement result, the second beam set is a set in which beams formed by the first radio apparatus are deleted from the first beam set, the second combination includes at least the third beam and the fourth beam, and the one or more processors are configured to select the relationship corresponding to the present propagation environment, based on the second combination and the third combination that are determined from the measurement result acquired at a present time.
However Wai-2 teaches wherein the control apparatus is connected to a plurality of radio apparatuses forming the plurality of beams, and is configured to communicate with a plurality of radio terminals via the plurality of radio apparatuses, in the information representing the relationship, the plurality of propagation environments are distinguished based on a second combination of beams and a third combination of radio apparatuses, the third combination includes at least a first radio apparatus included in the plurality of radio apparatuses and forming a third beam having a highest reception quality in a first beam set; and a second radio apparatus included in the plurality of radio apparatuses and forming a fourth beam having a highest reception quality in a second beam set, the first beam set is a set of all beams included in the measurement result, the second beam set is a set in which beams formed by the first radio apparatus are deleted from the first beam set, the second combination includes at least the third beam and the fourth beam, and the one or more processors are configured to select the relationship corresponding to the present propagation environment, based on the second combination and the third combination that are determined from the measurement result acquired at a present time (Fig 3. 20, 212, Fig 2, Fig 6, [0113], [00122]-[0123], [0127]-[0135] Radio terminal devices, multiple RF capable apparatuses forming plurality of beams, configured to communicate with terminals, distinguishing propagation characteristics—physical conditions of beam propagation—differing sets of data, storage of beam characteristics and optimal beam ID may include propagation environments based on measured results of acquired information of receptive quality, subsequently stores in a beam storage unit— updated when new beam information is stored—the data in table format having beam ID and beam associated with each other).
Wai-1, Wai-2 and Xi are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same field of multiple beam selection, processing, and propagation environment categorization based on reception quality characteristics. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the combination teachings of Wai-1, Wai-2, and Xi to create and control apparatus and method for adaptive beam selection in 5G networks, where multiple beams are used to cover areas with high-frequency signals that suffer from propagation loss.
Wai-1 provides a general description of a communication control method and apparatus capable of performing beam selection with respect to an increase in the number of distributed antennas. Wai-2 provides a wireless communication method and apparatus that aims at improving communication between wireless stations by efficiently managing beam switching which involves beam control. Wai-2 aims to improve signal quality, reliability and efficiency in wireless networks, particularly in scenarios where multiple beams are used and need to be dynamically adjusted. Furthermore, Xi teaches unified beam management in a wireless network. Combining the combination of teachings of Wai-1, Wai-2, and Xi would allow for an control apparatus and method for adaptive beam selection in 5G networks, where multiple beams are used to cover areas with high-frequency signals that suffer from propagation loss. The motivation to combine both references is to improve beam selection accuracy, thereby enhancing communication reliability and efficiency in complex wireless environments.
Regarding claim 7, Wai-1 teaches wherein, in the information representing the relationship, the plurality of propagation environments are distinguished based on a similarity of the measurement result, and the one or more processors are configured to select the relationship corresponding to the present propagation environment, based on the similarity between the measurement result acquired at a present time, and an average measurement result of each of the plurality of propagation environments (Fig 9, Fig. 2, 903, 902, 903, [0066], [0074]-[0075], [0061]-[0062], ,[0118], [0141]-[0143], [0239]-[0240], combination of distributed antennas and plurality of beams—multiple beams measured for highest quality, data processing unit determines which reception beam search signal has the best communication quality among the reception beam search signals transmitted, highest reception quality, beam ID read out (other characteristic data) reads out the beam ID from the received beam search signal determined by the data processing unit to have the best communication quality, beam selection unit (apparatus) acquires information indicating the measurement result of reception quality of the beam specifying signal for each beam ID output).
Regarding claim 9, Wai-1 fails to teach wherein the control apparatus is connected to a plurality of radio apparatuses forming the plurality of beams, and is configured to communicate with a plurality of radio terminals via the plurality of radio apparatuses, the one or more processors are configured to select the first relationship corresponding to a present propagation environment in the first information, and perform the selection processing using the selected first relationship, and the selection processing includes one or both of first selection processing for selecting a beam to be used for measuring the reception quality, and second selection processing for selecting a beam to be used for communication with the radio terminal.
However Wai-2 teaches wherein the control apparatus is connected to a plurality of radio apparatuses forming the plurality of beams, and is configured to communicate with a plurality of radio terminals via the plurality of radio apparatuses, the one or more processors are configured to select the first relationship corresponding to a present propagation environment in the first information, and perform the selection processing using the selected first relationship, and the selection processing includes one or both of first selection processing for selecting a beam to be used for measuring the reception quality, and second selection processing for selecting a beam to be used for communication with the radio terminal (Fig 3. 20, 212, Fig 2, Fig 6, [0113], [00122]-[0123], [0127]-[0135] Radio terminal devices, multiple RF capable apparatuses forming plurality of beams, configured to communicate with terminals, distinguishing propagation characteristics—physical conditions of beam propagation—differing sets of data, storage of beam characteristics and optimal beam ID may include propagation environments based on measured results of acquired information of receptive quality, subsequently stores in a beam storage unit— updated when new beam information is stored—the data in table format having beam ID and beam associated with each other).
Wai-1, Wai-2 and Xi are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same field of multiple beam selection, processing, and propagation environment categorization based on reception quality characteristics. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the combination teachings of Wai-1, Wai-2, and Xi to create and control apparatus and method for adaptive beam selection in 5G networks, where multiple beams are used to cover areas with high-frequency signals that suffer from propagation loss.
Wai-1 provides a general description of a communication control method and apparatus capable of performing beam selection with respect to an increase in the number of distributed antennas. Wai-2 provides a wireless communication method and apparatus that aims at improving communication between wireless stations by efficiently managing beam switching which involves beam control. Wai-2 aims to improve signal quality, reliability and efficiency in wireless networks, particularly in scenarios where multiple beams are used and need to be dynamically adjusted. Furthermore, Xi teaches unified beam management in a wireless network. Combining the combination of teachings of Wai-1, Wai-2, and Xi would allow for an control apparatus and method for adaptive beam selection in 5G networks, where multiple beams are used to cover areas with high-frequency signals that suffer from propagation loss. The motivation to combine both references is to improve beam selection accuracy, thereby enhancing communication reliability and efficiency in complex wireless environments.
Regarding claim 10, Wai-1 teaches wherein the first selection processing includes selecting a predetermined number of beams in ascending order of the difference with respect to a beam currently in use or a beam to be used next ([0030], [0196] specifying signals (selecting) from a plurality of antennas to the wireless station at a predetermined transmission beams, plurality of beams transmitted – specifying signals—using differing beams).
Regarding claim 11, Wai-1 fails to teach wherein, in a case in which the control apparatus communicates with the plurality of radio terminals, the second selection processing includes selecting a beam for which the difference with respect to a beam currently in use is greater than a predetermined first threshold.
However, Wai-2 teaches wherein, in a case in which the control apparatus communicates with the plurality of radio terminals, the second selection processing includes selecting a beam for which the difference with respect to a beam currently in use is greater than a predetermined first threshold (Fig 3. 20, 212, Fig 2, Fig 6, [0113], [00122]-[0123], [0127]-[0135] Radio terminal devices, multiple RF capable apparatuses forming plurality of beams, configured to communicate with terminals, distinguishing propagation characteristics—physical conditions of beam propagation—differing sets of data, storage of beam characteristics and optimal beam ID may include propagation environments based on measured results of acquired information of receptive quality, subsequently stores in a beam storage unit— updated when new beam information is stored—the data in table format having beam ID and beam associated with each other).
Wai-1, Wai-2 and Xi are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same field of multiple beam selection, processing, and propagation environment categorization based on reception quality characteristics. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the combination teachings of Wai-1, Wai-2, and Xi to create and control apparatus and method for adaptive beam selection in 5G networks, where multiple beams are used to cover areas with high-frequency signals that suffer from propagation loss.
Wai-1 provides a general description of a communication control method and apparatus capable of performing beam selection with respect to an increase in the number of distributed antennas. Wai-2 provides a wireless communication method and apparatus that aims at improving communication between wireless stations by efficiently managing beam switching which involves beam control. Wai-2 aims to improve signal quality, reliability and efficiency in wireless networks, particularly in scenarios where multiple beams are used and need to be dynamically adjusted. Furthermore, Xi teaches unified beam management in a wireless network. Combining the combination of teachings of Wai-1, Wai-2, and Xi would allow for an control apparatus and method for adaptive beam selection in 5G networks, where multiple beams are used to cover areas with high-frequency signals that suffer from propagation loss. The motivation to combine both references is to improve beam selection accuracy, thereby enhancing communication reliability and efficiency in complex wireless environments.
Regarding claim 12, Wai-1 fails to teach wherein, in a case in which the control apparatus communicates with a same radio terminal via the plurality of radio apparatuses, the second selection processing includes selecting a beam having a highest reception quality determined from the measurement result acquired at a present time in each of the plurality of radio apparatuses.
However, Wai-2 teaches wherein, in a case in which the control apparatus communicates with a same radio terminal via the plurality of radio apparatuses, the second selection processing includes selecting a beam having a highest reception quality determined from the measurement result acquired at a present time in each of the plurality of radio apparatuses (Fig 7 S2101, Fig 9, S3101, [0118], [0143] control apparatus communicated with same radio terminal, with highest reception quality, communicating and determining beam having highest reception quality (communication quality) among various beams).
Wai-1, Wai-2 and Xi are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same field of multiple beam selection, processing, and propagation environment categorization based on reception quality characteristics. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the combination teachings of Wai-1, Wai-2, and Xi to create and control apparatus and method for adaptive beam selection in 5G networks, where multiple beams are used to cover areas with high-frequency signals that suffer from propagation loss.
Wai-1 provides a general description of a communication control method and apparatus capable of performing beam selection with respect to an increase in the number of distributed antennas. Wai-2 provides a wireless communication method and apparatus that aims at improving communication between wireless stations by efficiently managing beam switching which involves beam control. Wai-2 aims to improve signal quality, reliability and efficiency in wireless networks, particularly in scenarios where multiple beams are used and need to be dynamically adjusted. Furthermore, Xi teaches unified beam management in a wireless network. Combining the combination of teachings of Wai-1, Wai-2, and Xi would allow for an control apparatus and method for adaptive beam selection in 5G networks, where multiple beams are used to cover areas with high-frequency signals that suffer from propagation loss. The motivation to combine both references is to improve beam selection accuracy, thereby enhancing communication reliability and efficiency in complex wireless environments.
Regarding claim 13, Wai-1 teaches wherein the information representing the relationship includes second information representing a second relationship of a number of reports about the reception quality between the plurality of beams ([0029]-[0032], [0065], [0072], information representing reception quality between differing beams that have associated beam identifiers).
Regarding claim 14, Wai-1 fails to teach wherein the control apparatus is connected to a plurality of radio apparatuses forming the plurality of beams, and is configured to communicate with a plurality of radio terminals via the plurality of radio apparatuses, the one or more processors are configured to select the second relationship corresponding to a present propagation environment in the second information, and perform the selection processing using the selected second relationship, and the selection processing includes one or both of first selection processing for selecting a beam to be used for measuring the reception quality, and second selection processing for selecting a beam to be used for communication with the radio terminal.
However, Wai-2 teaches wherein the control apparatus is connected to a plurality of radio apparatuses forming the plurality of beams, and is configured to communicate with a plurality of radio terminals via the plurality of radio apparatuses, the one or more processors are configured to select the second relationship corresponding to a present propagation environment in the second information, and perform the selection processing using the selected second relationship, and the selection processing includes one or both of first selection processing for selecting a beam to be used for measuring the reception quality, and second selection processing for selecting a beam to be used for communication with the radio terminal (Fig 7 S2101, Fig 9, S3101, [0118], [0143], Fig 3. 20, 212, Fig 2, Fig 6, [0113], [00122]-[0123], [0127]-[0135] control apparatus communicated with same radio terminal, with highest reception quality, communicating and determining beam having highest reception quality (communication quality) among various beams, Radio terminal devices, multiple RF capable apparatuses forming plurality of beams, configured to communicate with terminals, distinguishing propagation characteristics—physical conditions of beam propagation—differing sets of data, storage of beam characteristics and optimal beam ID may include propagation environments based on measured results of acquired information of receptive quality, subsequently stores in a beam storage unit— updated when new beam information is stored—the data in table format having beam ID and beam associated with each other).
Wai-1, Wai-2 and Xi are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same field of multiple beam selection, processing, and propagation environment categorization based on reception quality characteristics. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the combination teachings of Wai-1, Wai-2, and Xi to create and control apparatus and method for adaptive beam selection in 5G networks, where multiple beams are used to cover areas with high-frequency signals that suffer from propagation loss.
Wai-1 provides a general description of a communication control method and apparatus capable of performing beam selection with respect to an increase in the number of distributed antennas. Wai-2 provides a wireless communication method and apparatus that aims at improving communication between wireless stations by efficiently managing beam switching which involves beam control. Wai-2 aims to improve signal quality, reliability and efficiency in wireless networks, particularly in scenarios where multiple beams are used and need to be dynamically adjusted. Furthermore, Xi teaches unified beam management in a wireless network. Combining the combination of teachings of Wai-1, Wai-2, and Xi would allow for an control apparatus and method for adaptive beam selection in 5G networks, where multiple beams are used to cover areas with high-frequency signals that suffer from propagation loss. The motivation to combine both references is to improve beam selection accuracy, thereby enhancing communication reliability and efficiency in complex wireless environments.
Regarding claim 15, Wai-1 teaches wherein the one or more processors are configured to select a beam for updating the database (Fig 9, 111, 101, 300 [0113], [00122]-[0123], [0127]-[0135] storage of beam characteristics and optimal beam ID may include propagation environments based on measured results of acquired information of receptive quality, subsequently stores in a beam storage unit— updated when new beam information is stored—the data in table format having beam ID and beam associated with each other).
Regarding claim 16, Wai-1 teaches wherein the control apparatus is connected to a plurality of radio apparatuses forming the plurality of beams, and is configured to communicate with a plurality of radio terminals via the plurality of radio apparatuses, and the one or more processors are configured to transmit instruction information for instructing the radio terminal about the reception quality of the beam to be included in the measurement result ([0061]-[0065], [0070]-[0073], specifying signal transmission instruction unit allocating beam IDs—categorized by signal quality—highest quality, measurement results).
Regarding claim 17, Wai-1 teaches wherein the one or more processors are configured to transmit the instruction information such that reception qualities of beams corresponding to two or more radio apparatuses among the plurality of radio apparatuses are included in the measurement result ([0061]-[0065], [0070]-[0073], specifying signal transmission instruction unit allocating beam IDs—categorized by signal quality—highest quality, measurement results).
Regarding claim 18, Wai-1 teaches wherein the one or more processors are configured to generate the database to be used in a first period of time and the database to be used in a second period of time (Fig 9, 111, 101, 300 [0113], [00122]-[0123], [0127]-[0135] generating data tables filled with beam type data, storage of beam characteristics and optimal beam ID may include propagation environments based on measured results of acquired information of receptive quality, subsequently stores in a beam storage unit— updated when new beam information is stored—the data in table format having beam ID and beam associated with each other).
Regarding claim 19, Wai-1 teaches a control method comprising:
acquiring a measurement result including information on reception qualities of a plurality of beams (Fig 9 903, 902, 903, [0066], [0074]-[0075] beam selection unit (apparatus) acquires information indicating the measurement result of reception quality of the beam specifying signal for each beam ID output);
updating a database including information representing a relationship between the plurality of beams for each of a plurality of propagation environments, based on the measurement result (Fig 9, 111, 101, 300 [0113], [00122]-[0123], [0127]-[0135] storage of beam characteristics and optimal beam ID may include propagation environments based on measured results of acquired information of receptive quality, subsequently stores in a beam storage unit— updated when new beam information is stored—the data in table format having beam ID and beam associated with each other),
But Wai-1 fails to teach and performing selection processing for selecting a beam using the database.
However, Wai-2 teaches and performing selection processing for selecting a beam using the database (Fig 18, Fig 19, [0015], [0073]-[0076],[0086]-[0087], [0089]-[0091], performing discrete beam selection involving selection processing using transmission data, processing unit performing beam selection).
Wai-1 and Wai-2 are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same field of multiple beam selection, processing, and propagation environment categorization based on reception quality characteristics. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teaching of Wai-1 and Wai-2 to create and control apparatus and method for adaptive beam selection in 5G networks, where multiple beams are used to cover areas with high-frequency signals that suffer from propagation loss.
Wai-1 provides a general description of a communication control method and apparatus capable of performing beam selection with respect to an increase in the number of distributed antennas. Furthermore, Wai-2 provides a wireless communication method and apparatus that aims at improving communication between wireless stations by efficiently managing beam switching which involves beam control. Wai-2 aims to improve signal quality, reliability and efficiency in wireless networks, particularly in scenarios where multiple beams are used and need to be dynamically adjusted. Combining the teachings of Wai-1 and Wai-2 would allow for an control apparatus and method for adaptive beam selection in 5G networks, where multiple beams are used to cover areas with high-frequency signals that suffer from propagation loss. The motivation to combine both references is to improve beam selection accuracy, thereby enhancing communication reliability and efficiency in complex wireless environments.
But Wai-1 and Wai-2 fails to teach—
determining a first beam having highest reception quality for each of a plurality of propagation environments based on the measurement result;
the relationship represents a difference between a first reception quality of the first beam and a second reception quality of a second beam among the plurality of beams;
However, Xi teaches—
determining a first beam having highest reception quality for each of a plurality of propagation environments based on the measurement result ([0100]-[0101], explicitly says the WRTU measures RSRP per SS block (per-beam measurement) and selects the best N blocks (i.e. selects the beam(s) with the highest reception quality),;
the relationship represents a difference between a first reception quality of the first beam and a second reception quality of a second beam among the plurality of beams ([0149]-[0150] ,[0184], [0195]-[0197], report format uses “relative RSRP value” associated with each reported beam pair—explicit representation of a difference/relationship between a base (first) RSRP and other beams (i.e. relative/differential values), the “differential L1-RSRP reporting” phrase shows the spec contemplates reporting differences (deltas) rather than absolute values; the “relative RSRP value” pairs and use of offset values (SSB vs CSI-RS) show a concrete method of representing beam relationships as differences between the first (base) reception quality and other beams).
Wai-1, Wai-2 and Xi are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same field of multiple beam selection, processing, and propagation environment categorization based on reception quality characteristics. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the combination teachings of Wai-1, Wai-2, and Xi to create and control apparatus and method for adaptive beam selection in 5G networks, where multiple beams are used to cover areas with high-frequency signals that suffer from propagation loss.
Wai-1 provides a general description of a communication control method and apparatus capable of performing beam selection with respect to an increase in the number of distributed antennas. Wai-2 provides a wireless communication method and apparatus that aims at improving communication between wireless stations by efficiently managing beam switching which involves beam control. Wai-2 aims to improve signal quality, reliability and efficiency in wireless networks, particularly in scenarios where multiple beams are used and need to be dynamically adjusted. Furthermore, Xi teaches unified beam management in a wireless network. Combining the combination of teachings of Wai-1, Wai-2, and Xi would allow for an control apparatus and method for adaptive beam selection in 5G networks, where multiple beams are used to cover areas with high-frequency signals that suffer from propagation loss. The motivation to combine both references is to improve beam selection accuracy, thereby enhancing communication reliability and efficiency in complex wireless environments.
Regarding claim 20, Wai-1 teaches a non-transitory computer readable recording medium storing a program causing a computer including a processor and a memory to execute:
acquiring a measurement result including information on reception qualities of a plurality of beams (Fig 9 903, 902, 903, [0066], [0074]-[0075] beam selection unit (apparatus) acquires information indicating the measurement result of reception quality of the beam specifying signal for each beam ID output);
updating a database including information representing a relationship between the plurality of beams for each of a plurality of propagation environments, based on the measurement result (Fig 9, 111, 101, 300 [0113], [00122]-[0123], [0127]-[0135] storage of beam characteristics and optimal beam ID may include propagation environments based on measured results of acquired information of receptive quality, subsequently stores in a beam storage unit— updated when new beam information is stored—the data in table format having beam ID and beam associated with each other),
But Wai-1 fails to teach and performing selection processing for selecting a beam using the database.
However, Wai-2 teaches and performing selection processing for selecting a beam using the database (Fig 18, Fig 19, [0015], [0073]-[0076],[0086]-[0087], [0089]-[0091], performing discrete beam selection involving selection processing using transmission data, processing unit performing beam selection).
Wai-1 and Wai-2 are considered to be analogous to the claimed invention because both are in the same field of multiple beam selection, processing, and propagation environment categorization based on reception quality characteristics. Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a motivation to combine the teaching of Wai-1 and Wai-2 to create and control apparatus and method for adaptive beam selection in 5G networks, where multiple beams are used to cover areas with high-frequency signals that suffer from propagation loss.
Wai-1 provides a general description of a communication control method and apparatus capable of performing beam selection with respect to an increase in the number of distributed antennas. Furthermore, Wai-2 provides a wireless communication method and apparatus that aims at improving communication between wireless stations by efficiently managing beam switching which involves beam control. Wai-2 aims to improve signal quality, reliability and efficiency in wireless networks, particularly in scenarios where multiple beams are used and need to be dynamically adjusted. Combining the teachings of Wai-1 and Wai-2 would allow for an control apparatus and method for adaptive beam selection in 5G networks, where multiple beams are used to cover areas with high-frequency signals that suffer from propagation loss. The motivation to combine both references is to improve beam selection accuracy, thereby enhancing communication reliability and efficiency in complex wireless environments.
But Wai-1 and Wai-2 fails to teach—
determining a first beam having highest reception quality for each of a plurality of propagation environments based on the measurement result;
the relationship represents a difference between a first reception quality of the first beam and a second reception quality of a second beam among the plurality of beams;
However, Xi teaches—
determining a first beam having highest reception quality for each of a plurality of propagation environments base