DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
The election is noted, as is the amendment and cancellation of nonelected clams.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 11-15, 23-31 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sass et al. 4358344 in view of Dacombe article.
Sass teaches, especially in col. 2, 6 and the figure, reactor 14 with coal and char inlets and product outlet, inert gas (‘oxygen-depleted gas’) inlet 8, superheater 28, and heating at an overlapping (and thus obvious) time period and temperature, although the process steps do not limit an apparatus. A temperature of 2800 F (1537 C) is contemplated, so a heater capable of that temperature is obvious. Item 10 is a cyclone separator of the feed, also suggesting a small particle size for proper functioning thereof.
Volatiles are removed and the article establishes (evidentiary reference) that fragmentation/fracturing the coal occurs, noting that these limitations relate to the process and are not apparatus features per se. See pg. 1365 of Dacombe.
Claims 13-14 do not actually limit the apparatus; they relate to the intended feed or product. It is noted that 14 mesh (1.5 mm) feed is taught, as is entrainment of the fed into a gas stream. Thus, the claimed sizes are obvious. More to the point, example IV teaches ‘less than 100 microns’.
For claim 12, it is structured as a process limitation which does not limit a product. However, Sass teaches a cyclone 22, downstream of the reactor as claim 12 implies. A more direct structural relationship of the apparatus should be claimed.
For claim 23, see element 8 and col. 2 lines 50-65.
Claims 15 and 24 relate to a process, however the features of claim 24 are depicted. Example IV teaches ‘about 1.5 seconds’.
For claims 25-26, col. 6 teaches a ‘high velocity reactor’, suggesting the claimed features. For claims 26-27, col. 4 teaches an atmosphere ‘substantially free of oxygen’.
Claims 27-30 relate to a process and thus do not limit the apparatus, noting the temperature of 1537.
For claim 31, item 41 is a condenser for the effluent.
Additional citation:
Rugg 20120017498 is noted to teach pyrolysis of coal and biomass.
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to STUART L HENDRICKSON whose telephone number is (571)272-1351. The examiner can normally be reached on Monday-Friday from 9 to 5. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner's supervisor, Anthony Zimmer, can be reached on 571-270-3591. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/STUART L HENDRICKSON/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1736