Claims 23-30, 32-46 are presented for examination.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 23, 26, 28, 30, 32-38, 43, 45 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yasin et al., US Patent Application Publication 2014/0380027 (hereinafter Yasin) in view of Hinton et al., US Patent 5,721,855 (hereinafter Hinton), further in view of Gschwind et al., US Patent Application Publication 2015/0347133 (hereinafter Gschwind).
Regarding claim 23, Yasin teaches:
A processor comprising: decode circuitry to decode a plurality of branch instructions (see e.g. para. [0037]), including a first branch instruction and a second branch instruction (see e.g. para. [0086]); execution circuitry coupled to the decode circuitry, the execution circuitry to execute the plurality of branch instructions, including the first branch instruction and the second branch instruction (see e.g. para. [0086]); and a plurality of registers to store branch information associated with the plurality of branch instructions, the plurality of registers including a first register to store branch information associated with the first branch instruction (see e.g. figs. 1-2, para. [0021-6]), and a second register to store branch information associated with the second branch instruction (see e.g. figs. 1-2, para. [0021-6]), the first register comprising: a count field to store a cycle count associated with the first branch instruction (see e.g. para. [0014]); a misprediction field to store branch prediction information associated with the first branch instruction (see e.g. para. [0025]).
Yasin fails to explicitly teach a type field to store branch type information to indicate a call branch type of the first branch instruction when set to a first value, and to indicate a return branch type of the first branch instruction when set to a second value.
Hinton teaches using a branch type field to indicate a call branch type and a return branch type using different values (see e.g. col. 13 lines 15-23, col. 14 line 66 – col. 15 line 12).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Yasin and Hinton to include a type field to store branch type information to indicate a call branch type of the first branch instruction when set to a first value, and to indicate a return branch type of the first branch instruction when set to a second value. This would have provided more granularity to the branch predictions to improve the flexibility of the system such as when special operations are performed for a call or return such as in Hinton.
Yasin in view of Hinton fails to explicitly teach an abort field to store abort information associated with the first branch instruction, and a transaction field, separate from the abort field, to store transactional information associated with the first branch instruction.
Gschwind teaches an abort field (see e.g. para. [0071-2]) and a transaction field separate from the abort field storing information associated with a first branch instruction (see e.g. para. [0185], [0188-9]).
While Gschwind teaches the TX status bit being within a separate TX status register, the single status bit could easily be incorporated within the same register as other status information with no change in its functionality. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Yasin, Hinton, and Gschwind to an abort field to store abort information associated with the first branch instruction, and a transaction field, separate from the abort field, to store transactional information associated with the first branch instruction. This would have provided additional information for analysis so that corrective action could be taken to improve instruction execution. Tracking and constraining transactional areas would have also provided a benefit such as discussed by Gschwind: “Advantageously, constrained transactions have desirable properties because of the burden removed from programmers.” (see para. [0114]).
Regarding claim 26, Yasin in view of Hinton and Gschwind teaches or suggests:
The processor of claim 23, wherein the first register is a 64-bit register (see e.g. Yasin para. [0029]).
Regarding claim 28, Yasin in view of Hinton and Gschwind teaches or suggests:
The processor of claim 23, wherein the transaction field is a 1-bit field (see e.g. Gschwind para. [0185], [0188-9]).
Regarding claim 30, Yasin in view of Hinton and Gschwind teaches or suggests:
The processor of claim 23, wherein the branch prediction information is to indicate whether a branch of the first branch instruction was mispredicted (see e.g. Yasin para. [0025]).
Regarding claim 32, Yasin in view of Hinton and Gschwind teaches or suggests:
The processor of claim 23, wherein the abort field is a 1-bit field (see e.g. Gschwind para. [0071], a single bit can indicate an abort and what caused it).
Regarding claim 33, Yasin in view of Hinton and Gschwind teaches or suggests:
The processor of claim 23, wherein the plurality of registers are also to store: a source address for the first branch instruction; and a target address for the first branch instruction (see e.g. Yasin para. [0014], [0021-6]).
Regarding claim 34, Yasin in view of Hinton and Gschwind teaches or suggests:
The processor of claim 23, further comprising a counter to count cycles corresponding to the cycle count (see e.g. Yasin para. [0014]).
Regarding claim 35, Yasin in view of Hinton and Gschwind teaches or suggests:
The processor of claim 23, wherein the first register further comprises a plurality of additional fields to store additional information associated with the first branch instruction (see e.g. Yasin para. [0025]).
Regarding claim 36, Yasin in view of Hinton and Gschwind teaches or suggests:
The processor of claim 23, wherein the transactional information is to indicate whether the first branch instruction is in a transactional region (see e.g. Gschwind para. [0185], [0188-9]).
Regarding claim 37, Yasin in view of Hinton and Gschwind teaches or suggests:
The processor of claim 23, wherein the cycle count is based on a number of clock cycles since branch information was provided for a branch instruction immediately prior to the first branch instruction (see e.g. Yasin para. [0014]).
Claim 38 is rejected for reasons corresponding to those given above for claim 23 (see also e.g. Yasin para. [0016], SoC).
Claims 43, 45 are rejected for reasons corresponding to those given above for claims 23, 33-34, 37 (see also e.g. Yasin para. [0064], storage).
Claims 24-25, 39-40, 44 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Yasin in view of Hinton and Gschwind, further in view of Chen et al., US Patent Application Publication 2016/0092230 (hereinafter Chen-Yang).
Regarding claim 24, Yasin in view of Hinton and Gschwind teaches or suggests:
The processor of claim 23.
While Hinton teaches using different values to distinguish between each branch type (see e.g. col. 14 line 66 – col. 15 line 12), Yasin in view of Hinton and Gschwind fails to explicitly teach wherein the type field is to store the branch type information to indicate any one of at least seven different branch types for the first branch instruction by at least seven different corresponding values of the type field.
Chen-Yang teaches a type field to indicate any one of at least seven different branch types (see e.g. para. [0022], call/return, direct/indirect, conditional/unconditional, loop).
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Yasin, Hinton, Gschwind and Chen-Yang such that the type field is to store the branch type information to indicate any one of at least seven different branch types for the first branch instruction by at least seven different corresponding values of the type field. This would have provided an advantage of being able to monitor the performance and track predictions for commonly executed branch types to more accurately analyze/predict branch performance.
Regarding claim 25, Yasin in view of Hinton and Gschwind teaches or suggests:
The processor of claim 23.
Hinton teaches using different values to distinguish between each branch type (see e.g. col. 14 line 66 – col. 15 line 12). Yasin in view of Hinton and Gschwind fails to explicitly teach wherein the call branch type is an indirect call branch type, and the type field is to store the branch type information to indicate a direct call branch type of the first branch instruction when set to a third value, to indicate a conditional branch type of the first branch instruction when set to a fourth value, to indicate an indirect jump branch type of the first branch instruction when set to a fifth value, and to indicate a direct jump branch type of the first branch instruction when set to a sixth value.
Chen-Yang teaches a type field to indicate additional branch types (see e.g. para. [0022], call/return, direct/indirect, conditional/unconditional, loop).
Using different values for each branch type such as in Hinton would readily apply to these additional common branch types. Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Yasin, Hinton, Gschwind and Chen-Yang such that the call branch type is an indirect call branch type, and the type field is to store the branch type information to indicate a direct call branch type of the first branch instruction when set to a third value, to indicate a conditional branch type of the first branch instruction when set to a fourth value, to indicate an indirect jump branch type of the first branch instruction when set to a fifth value, and to indicate a direct jump branch type of the first branch instruction when set to a sixth value. This would have provided an advantage of being able to monitor the performance and track predictions for commonly executed branch types to more accurately analyze/predict branch performance.
Claims 39-40 are rejected for reasons corresponding to those given above for claims 24-25 (see also e.g. Yasin para. [0016], [0036], SoC, graphics processing).
Claim 44 is rejected for reasons corresponding to those given above for claims 24-25 (see also e.g. Yasin para. [0064], storage).
Claims 27, 29, 41-42, 46 are rejected under pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Yasin in view of Hinton and Gschwind, further in view of In re Rinehart, 531 F.2d 1048, 189 USPQ 143 (CCPA 1976).
Regarding claim 27, Yasin in view of Hinton and Gschwind teaches or suggests:
The processor of claim 23.
Yasin in view of Hinton and Gschwind fails to explicitly teach wherein the type field comprises 4 bits.
In re Rinehart describes that the mere scaling of a prior art process capable of being scaled, if such were the case, would not establish patentability in a claim to an old process so scaled. 531 F.2d at 1053, 189 USPQ at 148.
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Yasin, Hinton, Gschwind, and In re Rinehart such that the type field comprises 4 bits. This would have provided the clearly predictable result of performing the exact same functionality on a different sized field. This also would have provided increased flexibility in being able to denote more branching types.
Regarding claim 29, Yasin in view of Hinton and Gschwind teaches or suggests:
The processor of claim 23.
Yasin in view of Hinton and Gschwind fails to explicitly teach wherein the misprediction field is a 1-bit field.
In re Rinehart describes that the mere scaling of a prior art process capable of being scaled, if such were the case, would not establish patentability in a claim to an old process so scaled. 531 F.2d at 1053, 189 USPQ at 148.
Before the effective filing date of the claimed invention it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to combine the teachings of Yasin, Hinton, Gschwind and In re Rinehart such that the misprediction field is a 1-bit field. This would have provided the clearly predictable result of performing the exact same functionality on a different sized field. This also would have provided an efficient use of space by only using a single bit to indicate whether something is mispredicted or not.
Claims 41-42 are rejected for reasons corresponding to those given above for claims 27, 29 (see also e.g. Yasin fig. 6-7, para. [0016], [0036], SoC, audio, display).
Claim 46 is rejected for reasons corresponding to those given above for claims 27, 29 (see also e.g. Yasin fig. 6-7, communication device).
Double Patenting
Claims 23-46 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-18 of U.S. Patent No. 10,592,244. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the claims of the ‘244 patent and the claims of the instant application have substantially overlapping scope.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 9/21/26 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
In response to applicant's argument that the examiner's conclusion of obviousness is based upon improper hindsight reasoning, it must be recognized that any judgment on obviousness is in a sense necessarily a reconstruction based upon hindsight reasoning. But so long as it takes into account only knowledge which was within the level of ordinary skill at the time the claimed invention was made, and does not include knowledge gleaned only from the applicant's disclosure, such a reconstruction is proper. See In re McLaughlin, 443 F.2d 1392, 170 USPQ 209 (CCPA 1971).
Applicant argues Gschwind does not teach abort information associated with the first branch instruction or transactional information associated with the first branch instruction.
Examiner respectfully disagrees. The abort field (see e.g. para. [0071-2]) of Gschwind stores information associated with any instructions involved in transactional execution which can include a branch instruction (see e.g. para. [0008], transactional branch instructions). The transaction field stores information associated with a branch instruction by indicating transactional execution for the branch instruction (see e.g. para. [0185], [0188-9]).
In response to applicant's argument regarding the combination of references, the test for obviousness is not whether the features of a secondary reference may be bodily incorporated into the structure of the primary reference; nor is it that the claimed invention must be expressly suggested in any one or all of the references. Rather, the test is what the combined teachings of the references would have suggested to those of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Keller, 642 F.2d 413, 208 USPQ 871 (CCPA 1981). An obviousness analysis “need not seek out precise teachings directed to the specific subject matter of the challenged claim, for a court can take account of the inferences and creative steps that a person of ordinary skill in the art would employ.” KSRInt’l Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 418 (2007). “A person of ordinary skill is also a person of ordinary creativity, not an automaton.” Id. at 421. One of ordinary skill would certainly have had the ordinary creativity to include multiple status bits within the same register with no required change in their functionality.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/JOHN M LINDLOF/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2183