DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 5, 9, 13-17, 19, 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sauerteig et al. (US2020/0358060A1, with a May 10, 2019, foreign application priority date).
As to claim 1, Sauerteig discloses a battery pack [Abstract], comprising: a top board (13 or 14 depending on battery pack orientation) and two lateral boards (15, 16), the two lateral boards are connected to the top board to form the accommodation space (Annotated fig. 6), the top board is disposed oriented toward end faces of the plurality of cells and perpendicular to a first direction (Annotated fig. 6), the two lateral boards are connected to two opposite ends of the top board (Annotated fig. 6).
(Sauerteig, annotated fig. 6)
Where the orientation of the battery pack places board (13) as a top side wall [0079], provides a top board configuration for the battery pack.
It should be noted the mere rearrangement of parts, without any new or unexpected results, is within the ambit of one of ordinary skill in the art. See In re Japikse, 86 USPQ 70 (CCPA 1950) (see MPEP § 2144.04).
a cell module accommodated in the accommodation space, and comprising a plurality of stacked cells (A plurality of pouch cells, [Abstract] fig. 2); wherein each cell comprises a cell housing (Pouch cells, [Abstract]), a first tab and second tab ([Abstract] fig. 2);
and the first tab and the second tab extend out of the accommodation space ([Abstract]);
an adapter board (Circuit board (52), [0087] and frame (59) ) disposed on the cell module (The frame 59 supports the circuit board 52 and is disposed on the housing opening 10O [0091]), wherein the first tab and the second tab are welded onto the adapter board (The circuit board 52 is electrically connected to a number of the cell tabs 22, in particular tab parts 22T, in particular in each case, by a welded connection 52S [0087]);
a circuit board fixed onto the housing (Circuit board (53)), wherein the circuit board is arranged adjacent to the adapter board ([0103] fig. 9) and where the orientation of the battery pack with board (13) as a top side wall provides a top surface of the top board;
Similarly, the first and second connecting strips are disposed on the top surface of the top board when the battery orientation has board (13) as a top side wall.
A first connecting strip disposed on the housing (Electrical power connectors (29) fig. 2), wherein one end of the first connecting strip is connected to the first tab ((22T), [0071]) , and another end of the first connecting strip is connected to a positive input end of the circuit board (circuit board (53) (Circuit board 53, in particular the power electronics 56, is/are electrically connected to the at least one electric power connector 29. [0109]… further circuit board 53, in particular the power electronics 56, is/are electrically connected to the battery pack contacts 71…The battery pack contacts 71 are configured for electrical connection of the battery pack 1 and the treatment apparatus 101 to each other for supplying the treatment apparatus 101 with electric driving power AL from the battery pack 1. [0111] Where contacts (71) are configured for electrical connection of battery pack 1 would require a positive or negative connection thereby electrical power connectors (29) would be required to connect to positive or negative of circuit board (53) to provide a battery pack configured to electrically connect to apparatus 101 and provide driving power.;
In a similar manner as above the second connecting strip is connected to the positive or negative tab of the opposite common tab side (The cell tabs 22 are disposed on a common tab side [0065] fig. 5), a second connecting strip disposed on the housing (Electrical power connectors (29) fig. 7), wherein one end of the second connecting strip is connected to the second tab ((22T), [0071]), and another end of the second connecting strip is connected to a negative input end of the circuit board (Circuit board 53) (Circuit board 53, in particular the power electronics 56, is/are electrically connected to the at least one electric power connector 29. [0109]… the further circuit board 53, in particular the power electronics 56, is/are electrically connected to the battery pack contacts 71…The battery pack contacts 71 are configured for electrical connection of the battery pack 1 and the treatment apparatus 101 to each other for supplying the treatment apparatus 101 with electric driving power AL from the battery pack 1. [0111] Where contacts (71) are configured for electrical connection of battery pack 1 would require a positive or negative connection thereby electrical power connectors (29) would be required to connect to positive or negative of circuit board (53) with respect to the polarity of the first connecting strip, to provide a battery pack configured to electrically connect to apparatus 101 and provide driving power.)
One skilled in the art would have noted that Sauerteig discloses that the two connecting strips, two electrical power connectors (29), may be connected to tabs 22T and battery pack contacts (71) via circuit board (53). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was made to have chosen from a finite set of embodiments in Sauerteig, the combination of a first connecting strips connected to positive input of board (53), and second connecting strips connected to negative input of board (53) to achieve the desired purpose of providing electric driving power. "Obvious to try" - choosing from a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, with a reasonable expectation of success; see MPEP 2143 |.
As to claim 5, Sauerteig discloses the first connecting strip and the second connecting strip each comprise a bend portion (See annotated fig. 2), a clearance exists between the adapter board and the housing, and the bend portion is disposed in the clearance (element (29) fig.7).
(Sauerteig, annotated fig. 2)
As to claim 9. Sauerteig discloses a sampling line (sensor line 30L [0117]), an accommodation slot is made on a lateral face of the housing (fig. 7), the sampling line is accommodated in the accommodation slot (fig. 7), one end of the sampling line (30L) is connected to the circuit board (circuit board (53) electrically connected to measuring electronic (55) of circuit board (52) [0108] and sensor line (31) is connected to the measuring electronic (55)), and another end of the sampling line is connected to the adapter board (circuit board (52), The circuit board 52, in particular the measuring electronics 55, is/are electrically connected to the pressure sensor 31 and the inner temperature sensor 36 by means of the sensor line 30L. [0118]).
As to claim 13, Sauerteig discloses the housing (stack housing (10) [0074]) comprises a top board (13 or 14 depending on battery pack orientation, where (13) is a top side wall provides a top board orientation) and two lateral boards (15, 16), the two lateral boards are connected to the top board (annotated fig. 6), the top board is disposed oriented toward end faces of the plurality of cells and perpendicular to a first direction (annotated fig. 6), the two lateral boards are connected to two opposite ends of the top board (annotated fig. 6), and the first direction is a stacking direction of the plurality of cells.
(Sauerteig, annotated fig. 6)
As to claim 14, Sauerteig discloses the adapter board (circuit board (52) and frame (59) [0091]) comprises a plurality of openings ( (59O) fig. 2), the openings are configured for the tabs of the cell to protrude (Cell tabs parts 22T are welded to the circuit board (52) [0087] Therefore they would protrude through as illustrated in fig. 7).
As to claim 15, Sauerteig discloses the circuit board is connected to the adapter board [0108], and is configured to control charging or discharging of the cell module [0105].
As to claim 16, Sauerteig discloses the circuit board (53) is disposed on one side of the top board (14) away from the accommodation space (fig. 10).
As to claim 17, the rejection of claim 5 is incorporated, Sauerteig discloses the bend portion extends out of the accommodation space ((29) fig. 10).
As to claim 19, Sauerteig discloses the first connecting strip is connected to the first side of the adapter board, the second connecting strip is connected to the second side of the adapter board, the first side is opposite to the second side in the second direction, the plurality of stacked cells are stacked along a first direction, the second direction is perpendicular to first direction (fig. 7).
As to claim 20, Sauerteig discloses an electrical device (saw (101’) [0134]), wherein the electrical device comprises the battery pack according to claim 1 ([0131-0134]).
Claim(s) 2 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sauerteig et al. (US2020/0358060A1, with a May 10, 2019, foreign application priority date), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Warmuth et al.(US2012/0127676A1).
As to claim 2, modified Sauerteig does not explicitly disclose a fixing assembly is disposed on the top surface of the top board of the housing, the fixing assembly comprises a first clasp and a second clasp, and the first clasp is clasped to the first connecting strip and to the second connecting strip and the second clasp is clasped to the circuit board.
In the same field of endeavor Warmuth discloses a battery management system [0003] and solves the relevant technical problem of connection arrangements of battery management system [0003], and teaches, a fixing assembly (latches (31) and latching hooks (27) [Warmuth, 0016] figs1,2) is disposed on the top surface of the top board of the housing (Housing (13), figs. 1, 2), the fixing assembly comprises a first clasp (31) and a second clasp (27), and the first clasp is clasped to the first connecting strip (cell connector (17), [Warmuth, 0016] fig. 2) and to the second connecting strip (cell connector (17), [Warmuth, 0016] fig. 2) and the second clasp (27) is clasped to the circuit board [Warmuth, 0014].
Warmuth further teaches clamping lugs (35) provide extremely reliable mechanical and electrical connection of the cell [Abstract].
Therefore, it would have obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was effectively filed to modify Sauerteig with the fixing assembly as taught by Warmuth to achieve extremely reliable connections,
Claim(s) 3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sauerteig et al. (US2020/0358060A1, with a May 10, 2019, foreign application priority date), as applied to claim 2 above, and further in view of Matsuda et al.(JP3625577B2).
As to claim 3, Matsuda discloses the fixing assembly further comprises a fixing board (fixing holder 4); a limiting post extends from one end of the fixing board (positioning pins 8), and a toothed portion extends from another end of the fixing board away from the housing (battery case fixing ribs 7); the toothed portion, the fixing board, and the limiting post together form an opening (fig. 2); and a lateral end of the circuit board is clasped into the opening ([0020] fig.2).
Matsuda further teaches, the present invention can provide a battery pack that with a simple structure and can be easily repaired [0005].
Therefore, it would have obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the application was effectively filed to modify Sauerteig with the fixing board as taught by Matsuda to provide a battery pack with a simple structure and easily repaired.
Claim(s) 4, 11, 12 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sauerteig et al. (US2020/0358060A1, with a May 10, 2019, foreign application priority date), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Choi et al.(US2018/0198172A1).
As to claim 4, modified Sauerteig teaches a housing with a top surface of a top board but does not explicitly disclose a first groove (35A) and a second groove (35B) are disposed on the housing, the first connecting strip (bus bar 35) is accommodated in the first groove, and the second connecting strip (bus bar 36) is accommodated in the second groove.
Choi discloses a battery pack [0058] and teaches (The bus bars 35 and 36 may be directly under the PCB (120 in FIG. 1) and include grooves 35A and 35B extending inwardly from ends thereof at opposite ends thereof on a same level and facing each other [0051], fig. 6)
Choi further teaches a bus bar structure which may be suitable for reducing an occupied area of a printed circuit board (PCB) in an interconnect board (ICB) assembly and thus, reducing a volume of a battery pack. [0009]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time the application was filed to modify Sauerteig with the grooves of Choi to be able to reduce the volume of the battery pack and increase marketability.
As to claim 11, Sauerteig does not explicitly teach the battery pack further comprises a fuse, the fuse connects the second connecting strip and the second tab; or, the fuse connects the first connecting strip and the first tab.
However in the same field of endeavor Choi discloses a battery pack [Abstract] and teaches, comprises a fuse (fuse wire 49 [0040]), the fuse connects the second connecting strip and the second tab; or, the fuse connects the first connecting strip and the first tab (the bus bars 32 and 33 (connecting strips) may contact the fuse wire 49 [0040]). Choi further teaches a bus bar structure suitable for reducing an area occupied by a printed circuit board (PCB) in an interconnect board (ICB) assembly and thus, reducing a volume of a battery pack. [0009].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time the application was filed to modify Sauerteig with the fuse of Choi to reduce battery pack volume and provide greater marketability..
As to claim 12, the rejection of claim 11 is incorporated, Modified Sauerteig discloses wherein a safety slot is made in the adapter board (grooves 43 and 46 [0043]), the fuse comprises a fusing portion (fuse wire 49 [0043]), and the fuse is disposed on the adapter board (The fuse wire 49 may be exposed to the grooves 43 and 46, and preferably partially protrude toward the inside of the grooves 43 and 46 [0043]).
Claim(s) 6 - 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sauerteig et al. (US2020/0358060A1, with a May 10, 2019, foreign application priority date), as applied to claim 5 above, and further in view of Oh et al.(US20080193838A1).
As to claim 6, Sauerteig discloses the cell housing comprises a body portion (Surface 21F of the pouch cells 21), but does not explicitly disclose, an outward extension portion obtained by extending one end of the body portion, the first tab and the second tab are connected to the outward extension, a stacking direction of the plurality of stacked cells is a first direction, and, along the first direction, a distance is provided between the outward extension portion and two end faces of the body portion so that an accommodation space is formed at a junction between the body portion and the outward extension portion, and the bend portion is partly located in the accommodation space.
In the same field of endeavor Oh, discloses plurality of unit cells connected in series [0067] and teaches the cell housing comprises a body portion (Pouch cells 34), and an outward extension portion (Connection part 35) obtained by extending one end of the body portion, the first tab (terminal 32) and the second tab (terminal 33) are connected to the outward extension [0041], a stacking direction of the plurality of stacked cells is a first direction ([0067] fig. 8), and, along the first direction, a distance is provided between the outward extension portion and two end faces of the body portion so that an accommodation space is formed at a junction between the body portion and the outward extension portion (annotated fig. 3 as exemplified in fig. 5 of the instant specification), and the bend portion is partly located in the accommodation space (In the combination with Sauerteig’s element (29) fig. 7, the bend portion of element (29), as shown in fig. 2 of Sauerteig would partially exist in the accommodation space) .
(Oh, annotated fig. 3)
Therefore it would be obvious to person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to use pouch cell of Oh because the simple substitution of one known element for another is likely to be obvious when predictable results are achieved. See KSR International Co. v. Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. __,__, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395 – 97 (2007) (see MPEP § 2143, B.) and at the time of the invention pouch cells of Oh were known to be used as a battery cell.
As to claim 7, the rejection of claim 6 is incorporated, Sauerteig discloses shapes of the bend portion comprise a U shape or a V shape (Element (29) fig. 2).
As to claim 8, the rejection of claim 6 is incorporated, Sauerteig discloses the first connecting strip comprises a first portion and a second portion, one end of the first portion is connected to one end of the bend portion (element (29) fig. 2), another end of the first portion is connected to the adapter board (circuit board (52) [0110]), one end of the second portion is connected to another end of the bend portion (element (29) fig. 2), another end of the second portion is connected to the circuit board (circuit board (53) [0110] Where The circuit board 52, in particular the measuring electronics 55, is/are electrically connected to the ground cell tab 22 and the nominal voltage NSP cell tab 22 via the electrical power connectors 29 and the further circuit board 53. [0110] provides a second end portion connecting to circuit board (53)), a first clearance is provided between one end of the bend portion and the adapter board, and a second clearance is provided between another end of the bend portion and the body portion (fig. 9).
Claim(s) 10 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sauerteig et al. (US2020/0358060A1, with a May 10, 2019, foreign application priority date), as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Yamamoto et al.(US20050134232A1).
As to claim 10, Sauerteig discloses temperature sensor (36) connected by sensor line 30L [0118] and the sensor line 30L is accommodated in the adapter board hole ([0117] fig. 7),
Sauerteig further teaches a temperature sensor ((36), [0118] ) and (The circuit board 52 (adaptor board), in particular the measuring electronics 55, is/are electrically connected to the pressure sensor 31 and the inner temperature sensor 36 by means of the sensor line 30L. [0118] Where “electrically connected,” provides a welded connection [0097] ) but fails to teach a thermistor.
In the same field of endeavor Yamamoto discloses a battery pack, [abstract] and a temperature sensor may be a thermistor [0013] and further teaches, The battery pack described above has the characteristic that in addition to being able to detect battery temperature during discharge, battery power consumption is drastically reduced, and furthermore battery temperature can be accurately detected. [0011]
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time the application was filed to modify Sauerteig with the thermistor of Yamamoto to improve battery temperature detection.
Claim(s) 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Sauerteig et al. (US2020/0358060A1, with a May 10, 2019, foreign application priority date), as applied to claim 9 above, and further in view of Lee et al.(US2019/0389318A1).
As to claim 18, Sauerteig does not explicitly disclose the sampling line is a flexible circuit board.
In the same field of endeavor Lee disclosed a battery module [0038] and teaches a flexible printed circuit board (FPCB) 20, and a connector 5 […] may be configured to transmit and receive signals indicating the state of the plurality of battery cells (C), such as signals related to voltage sensing and temperature sensing, to and from the controller shown in FIG. 1, and may be coupled to the flexible printed circuit board 20. [0109] and further teaches method can reduce the number of welding processes between the tap terminals by more than half [0114].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the time the application was filed to modify Sauerteig with the FPCB of Lee to be able to reduce the number of welding process and increase productivity.
Response to Arguments
The 35 U.S.C. 112(b) rejection of claim 1 cited in office action dated 07/01/2025, was a typographical error which should have read claim 2, however 35 U.S.C. 112(b) rejection of claim 2 is withdrawn in view of the amendments.
Applicant's arguments filed 10/01/2025, have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues, page 8, “Sauerteig fails to provide any teaching or suggestion of the presently claimed configuration. As noted in the Office Action, Sauerteig provides an adapter board as part of circuit board 52 and frame 59. In contrast, the amended claims require an adapter board disposed on the cell module, the circuit board 50 fixed onto a top surface of the top board of the housing, a first connecting strip 41 disposed on the top surface of the top board of the housing and a second connecting strip 42 disposed on the top surface of the top board of the housing. Through the foregoing structure, a plurality of cells are closely stacked, and the internal space of the battery pack is utilized sufficiently. The battery pack made in this way achieves a high energy density per unit volume and is more convenient to use.
The office respectfully disagrees as these arguments are not persuasive, because applicant does not point out the specific deficiencies of the rejection over Sauerteig. Furthermore, applicant's arguments do not appear to be commensurate in scope with the arguments, as the arguments do not correspond exactly to the claim language as amended.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Wyatt et al. (US2015/0037616A1) Battery pack with interconnect board.
Bhardwaj et al. (US2012/0107654A1) Cell housing with terrace.
Yoo et al. (US2017/0012252A1) Cell housing with terrace.
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
BART HORNSBY
Examiner
Art Unit 1728
/MATTHEW T MARTIN/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1728