DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant has amended claims 1, 6, 8, and 13 to incorporate subject matter from claims 2,10, 12, and 15. Claims 2-5, 9-12, 14-15, and 17-20 have been canceled without prejudice. Applicant has added claims 21-30.
Regarding Ochiai et al (US 20020171429 A1), applicant argues that Ochiai does not disclose all the features of amended claim 1. Applicant argues that “the terminal voltage of the battery 13 corresponding to the upper limit state of charge SOC (for example, 80%) in Ochiai… does not disclose the first voltage which represents an actual charging cut-off voltage of the charging chip”. Ochiai FIG 3 depicts an operation of the state of charge measuring apparatus, particularly step S01 “TERMINAL VOLTAGE V
≥
UPPER LIMIT VOLTAGE VP”, which is described in Ochiai ¶0070 “step S01 shown in FIG. 3, it is determined whether the terminal [voltage] V of the battery detected by the voltage detector 16 is higher than the upper limit voltage VU”. The upper limit voltage VU as taught by Ochiai may be the full-charge voltage of the battery, and thereby does represent a charging cut-off voltage under broadest reasonable interpretation. Applicant further cites Ochiai ¶0052 “an upper limit SOC (for example, 80%) and a lower limit SOC (for example, 20%)”, as evidence that Ochiai does not disclose an upper limit SOC representing the fully charged state of the battery. Examiner respectfully disagrees as Ochiai ¶0052 discloses “an upper limit SOC (for example, 80%) and a lower limit SOC (for example, 20%)”, where emphasis has been added to the non-limiting term of “for example” which leaves room for the upper limit SOC being 100% or the battery being fully charged.
Applicant further argues that Ochiai does not disclose “that the lower limit SOC thereof represents the minimum power required to maintain the normal operation of the electronic device”. Ochiai ¶0038 discloses “state of charge (SOC) measuring apparatus 10 for a battery device (hereinafter, simply called an SOC measuring apparatus) is installed on, for example, electric vehicles or hybrid vehicles” where emphasis has been added to where the battery device is located. The state of charge (SOC) measuring apparatus 10 is measuring the SOC of the on-board battery device, and further described in ¶0069 “FIG. 3 shows an operation of the state of charge measuring apparatus 10”. As detailed above Ochiai ¶0052 discloses “an upper limit SOC (for example, 80%) and a lower limit SOC (for example, 20%)”, where emphasis has been added to the non-limiting term of “for example” which leaves room for the lower limit SOC to be the minimum power required to maintain the normal operation of the electronic device.
Further applicant specification does not define the minimum power required to maintain the normal operation of the electronic device in terms of SOC or terminal voltage. Applicant specification ¶0038 and ¶0066 discloses “When a remaining power of the battery of the electronic device reaches the minimum power required for maintaining the normal operation of the electronic device, the electronic device stops operating, and the display power is 0% when the electronic device stops operating” indicating that when the SOC measuring apparatus detects the minimum power required the display power will be 0% but is silent on what the actual minimum power would be. Since applicant has not disclosed that the minimum power required for maintaining the normal operation of the electronic device is a particular state of charge or terminal voltage, it appears that the invention would perform equally well with the lower limit SOC (for example 20%) as taught by Ochiai.
Applicant asserts “In particular, in Ochiai, no difference between the upper terminal voltage VU and the lower terminal voltage VL is calculated”, examiner disagrees with this assessment. Ochiai ¶0016 discloses “calculating portion 34 corrected state of charge calculating portion 35 in the embodiment shown below) for calculating a substitution value (for example, (upper limit SOC-lower limit SOC) in the embodiment shown below) from the integrated state of charge to the upper limit value by a difference between the integrated state of charge and the upper limit value”, indicating that the substitution value is a difference between the upper limit SOC and the lower limit SOC which correspond to the upper terminal voltage and the lower terminal voltage respectively. The substitution value is described in Ochiai ¶0053 “These integrated SOCs are output to the upper and lower limit substitution portion 33, the upper and lower limit substitution value calculation portion 34, and corrected state of charge calculating portion” to be substituted in for the upper and lower SOC’s. Ochiai ¶0053 further discloses “When the upper limit value QU (for example, the upper limit SOC) is adopted as the standard, the integrated SOC is obtained by subtracting the consumed charge Q from the predetermined upper limit QU (for example, upper limit SOC). When the lower limit QL (for example, the lower limit SOC) is adopted as the standard, the integrated SOC obtained by adding the consumed charge Q to the lower limit QL”, as previously cited in the Non-Final Rejection dated 22 October 2025, to be calculated using a difference in voltage. The difference in voltage would necessarily correspond to the difference in terminal voltage.
Applicant makes no further arguments regarding the content of Ochiai or the other references.
Applicant's arguments filed 21 January 2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 6-7, 21, and 24-30 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ochiai et al (US 20020171429 A1)
Regarding claim 1, Ochiai teaches a method for determining a display power, the method comprising: determining, based on a first pin of a charging chip, a first voltage characterizing a voltage of the first pin (¶0044 "a voltage detecting portion 16 for detecting a terminal voltage V of the battery 13")
obtained when a battery is in a fully charged state, the first pin being a battery pin of the charging chip, and the first voltage representing an actual charging cut- off voltage of the charging chip; (¶0052 "upper and lower limit memory portion 31 stores an upper limit SOC (for example, 80%) and a lower limit SOC (for example, 20%)")
determining, based on the first voltage, a first relationship characterizing a correspondences between the voltages of the first pin and power of the battery; (¶0070 "step S01 shown in FIG. 3, it is determined whether the terminal voltage V of the battery detected by the voltage detector 16 is higher than the upper limit voltage VU")
and determining, based on the first relationship, the display power of the battery using a voltage of the first pin, (¶0074 "step S03, the upper limit SOC (for example, 80%) is set to the displaying and controlling SOC and the flow is completed")
wherein said determining, based on the first voltage, the first relationship comprises: determining a first difference value characterizing a difference value between the first voltage and a second voltage, (¶0052 "upper and lower limit memory portion 31 stores an upper limit SOC (for example, 80%) and a lower limit SOC (for example, 20%)")
the second voltage characterizing a voltage of the first pin corresponding to a minimum power required by the battery for maintaining a normal operation of an electronic device; (¶0052 "lower limit SOC (for example, 20%)")
determining a second difference value characterizing a difference value between the voltage of the first pin and the second voltage; (¶0076 "step S04, in contrast, it is determined whether the terminal voltage V of the battery 13 detected by the voltage detector 16 is less than the lower limit voltage VL")
and determining, based on a proportional relationship between the first difference value and the second difference value, the correspondence between the voltage of the first pin and power in the first relationship.
Similarly for claim 8 as applied to a method for determining a display power, the method comprising: powering a charging chip in response to a charging function of the charging chip being enabled, (¶0070 "step S01 shown in FIG. 3, it is determined whether the terminal voltage V of the battery detected by the voltage detector 16 is higher than the upper limit voltage VU"
and collecting a first voltage external to a first pin of the charging chip (¶0044 "a voltage detecting portion 16 for detecting a terminal voltage V of the battery 13").
Similarly for claim 13 an electronic device, comprising: a processor; (¶0037 " FIG. 2 is a block structural diagram showing an SOC calculating portion 14 shown in FIG. 1")
and a memory storing a computer program executable on the processor, (¶0049 " state of charge calculating portion 14 comprises an upper limit and lower limit value memory portion 31, an integrated state of charge calculating portion 32, an upper limit and lower limit substitution portion 33, an upper limit and lower limit substitution value calculation portion 34, and a corrected state of charge calculating portion 35"),
wherein the processor is configured to implement a computer program. (¶0044 "a voltage detecting portion 16 for detecting a terminal voltage V of the battery 13")
Regarding claim 6, Ochiai teaches the method for determining the display power according to claim 1. Ochiai further teaches wherein: said determining, based on the first pin of the charging chip, the first voltage comprises: detecting, in response to a second pin of the charging chip characterizing that the battery is in the fully charged state, a current voltage of the first pin, (¶0057 " control are substituted by the upper limit SOC and the lower limit SOC responding to the terminal voltage V output from the voltage detector 16")
and determining the detected voltage of the first pin as the first voltage, the second pin characterizing a charging state of the battery, (¶0076 "step S04, in contrast, it is determined whether the terminal voltage V of the battery 13 detected by the voltage detector 16 is less than the lower limit voltage VL)
and said determining, based on the first voltage, the first relationship comprises: determining, in response to the first voltage being different from a nominal charging cut-off voltage of the charging chip, the first relationship based on the first voltage. (FIG 7, ¶0111 "When the time arrives at time t3, the terminal voltage V falls below the lower limit voltage VL").
Regarding claim 7, Ochiai teaches the method for determining the display power according to claim 1. Ochiai further teaches wherein said determining, based on the first pin of the charging chip, the first voltage comprises: detecting the voltage of the first pin during charging of the battery, to obtain the detected voltage of the first pin; (¶0076 "step S04, in contrast, it is determined whether the terminal voltage V of the battery 13 detected by the voltage detector 16 is less than the lower limit voltage VL)
and determining, in response to the detected voltage of the first pin characterizing that the first pin is in a constant-voltage state, a voltage corresponding to the constant-voltage state as the first voltage. (¶0101 " step S31 shown in FIG. 6, it is determined whether a difference between the data substitution value (for example, A1 in FIG. 7), that is, a value obtained by subtracting the lower limit SOC from the data substitution time integrated SOC (the data substitution time integrated SOC-the lower limit SOC) and the previous correction value AP is larger than the predetermined unit correction value BO")
Regarding claim 21, Ochiai teaches the method for determining the display power according to claim 1. Ochiai further teaches wherein the first relationship is represented in a form of a calculation formula with which the power of the battery corresponding to the voltage of the first pin is calculated based on the proportional relationship. (¶0053 " When the upper limit value QU (for example, the upper limit SOC) is adopted as the standard, the integrated SOC is obtained by subtracting the consumed charge Q from the predetermined upper limit QU (for example, upper limit SOC). When the lower limit QL (for example, the lower limit SOC) is adopted as the standard, the integrated SOC obtained by adding the consumed charge Q to the lower limit QL")
Regarding claim 24, Ochiai teaches the method for determining the display power according to claim 8. Ochiai further teaches wherein said collecting the first voltage comprises: detecting, in response to a second pin of the charging chip characterizing that the battery is in the fully charged state, a current voltage of the first pin, (¶0057 " control are substituted by the upper limit SOC and the lower limit SOC responding to the terminal voltage V output from the voltage detector 16")
and determining the detected voltage of the first pin as the first voltage, the second pin characterizing a charging state of the battery. (¶0076 "step S04, in contrast, it is determined whether the terminal voltage V of the battery 13 detected by the voltage detector 16 is less than the lower limit voltage VL)
Regarding claim 25, Ochiai teaches the method for determining the display power according to claim 8. Ochiai further teaches wherein said collecting the first voltage comprises: determining, in response to a voltage of the first pin detected during charging of the battery characterizing that the first pin is in a constant-voltage state, a voltage corresponding to the constant-voltage state as the first voltage. (¶0101 " step S31 shown in FIG. 6, it is determined whether a difference between the data substitution value (for example, A1 in FIG. 7), that is, a value obtained by subtracting the lower limit SOC from the data substitution time integrated SOC (the data substitution time integrated SOC-the lower limit SOC) and the previous correction value AP is larger than the predetermined unit correction value BO")
Regarding claim 26, Ochiai teaches the electronic device according to claim 13. Ochiai further teaches wherein said determining, based on the second relationship, the first relationship using the first voltage comprises: updating, with the first voltage, the third voltage corresponding to the first power in the second relationship, thereby obtaining the first relationship. (¶0086 "step S14, the correction value A calculated in step S12 is set to the previous correction value AP which is the correction value A calculated in the previous process")
Regarding claim 27, Ochiai teaches the electronic device according to claim 13. Ochiai further teaches wherein said determining, based on the second relationship, the first relationship using the first voltage comprises: determining a third difference value characterizing a difference value between the first voltage and the third voltage; (¶0085 "step S13, the corrected SOC is calculated based on the correction value A, a predetermined initial charge Al (for example, 60%), and the upper limit SOC. The corrected SOC obtained as described above is set as the displaying and controlling SOC and the corrected SOC is output to the control portion 11")
and updating, based on the third difference value, voltages corresponding to all or part of power in the set second relationship, thereby obtaining the first relationship, wherein the part of the powers comprises the first power. (¶0086 "step S14, the correction value A calculated in step S12 is set to the previous correction value AP which is the correction value A calculated in the previous process, and the flow is completed").
Regarding claim 28, Ochiai teaches the electronic device according to claim 13. Ochiai further teaches wherein said determining, based on the first pin of the charging chip, the first voltage comprises: detecting, in response to a second pin of the charging chip characterizing that the battery is in the fully charged state, a current voltage of the first pin, (¶0057 " control are substituted by the upper limit SOC and the lower limit SOC responding to the terminal voltage V output from the voltage detector 16"),
and determining the detected voltage of the first pin as the first voltage, the second pin characterizing a charging state of the battery. (¶0076 "step S04, in contrast, it is determined whether the terminal voltage V of the battery 13 detected by the voltage detector 16 is less than the lower limit voltage VL)
Regarding claim 29, Ochiai teaches the electronic device according to claim 13. Ochiai further teaches wherein said determining, based on the first pin of the charging chip, the first voltage comprises: determining, in response to a voltage of the first pin detected during charging of the battery characterizing that the first pin is in a constant-voltage state, a voltage corresponding to the constant-voltage state as the first voltage. (¶0101 " step S31 shown in FIG. 6, it is determined whether a difference between the data substitution value (for example, A1 in FIG. 7), that is, a value obtained by subtracting the lower limit SOC from the data substitution time integrated SOC (the data substitution time integrated SOC-the lower limit SOC) and the previous correction value AP is larger than the predetermined unit correction value BO")
The correction value A, as taught by Ochiai, is used to determine the difference between a measured SOC and a displayed SOC. FIG 6 is a flow chart that shows when the difference between the current measured SOC and the previously corrected SOC is sufficiently small, then the process ends. This functionally means when the battery reaches full charge and is thereby in a constant-voltage state.
Regarding claim 30. Ochiai teaches the electronic device according to claim 27. Ochiai further teaches wherein said updating voltages corresponding to part of power in the set second relationship comprises: updating only the third voltage corresponding to the fully charged power in the second relationship [and a voltage corresponding to power at which the electronic device is incapable of maintaining a normal operation]. (¶0052 "upper and lower limit memory portion 31 stores an upper limit SOC (for example, 80%) and a lower limit SOC (for example, 20%)")
Ochiai discloses the claimed invention except for a voltage corresponding to power at which the electronic device is incapable of maintaining a normal operation. It would have been an obvious matter of design choice to set the lower limit SOC as the minimum power capable of maintaining a normal operation, since applicant has not disclosed the meets or bounds of what defines “minimum power capable of maintaining a normal operation” nor that it solves any stated problem or is for any particular purpose and it appears that the invention would perform equally well with a lower limit SOC (for example, 20%) as taught by Ochiai.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ochiai modified by Shaffer et al (US 20160219358 A1).
Regarding claim 16, Ochiai teaches the electronic device according to claim 13. Ochiai does not teach further comprising a wireless earphone.
Shaffer teaches further comprising a wireless earphone. (¶0011 "FIG. 1 illustrates diagrams of various electrical components within a set of wireless audio earbuds")
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the time of the effective filing date, to modify the electronic device as taught by Ochiai to further comprise a wireless earphone as taught by Shaffer. Ochiai discloses an apparatus for monitoring and displaying the SOC for a battery device, similarly Shaffer discloses an apparatus for monitoring and displaying the SOC of battery powered wireless earbuds. The modification would be obvious because one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to improve accuracy of the display power for better battery consumption to increase user experience.
Claim(s) 22 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ochiai modified by Nakashima et al (US 20120150465 A1)
Regarding claim 22, Ochiai teaches the method for determining the display power according to claim 1. Ochiai does not teach wherein the second voltage is a voltage of the first pin of the battery chip corresponding display power of the battery of 0%.
Nakashima teaches wherein the second voltage is a voltage of the first pin of the battery chip corresponding display power of the battery of 0%. (¶0048 “percent display 132 shows 100% in the case where the battery pack 200 is in a fully charged state, and shows 0% in the case where the battery pack 200 has no remaining charge”)
Therefor it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify Ochiai wherein the second voltage is a voltage of the first pin of the battery chip corresponding display power of the battery of 0% as taught by Nakashima. Ochiai and Nakashima both disclose an apparatus for monitoring and displaying the SOC for a battery device. The modification would be obvious because one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to display power of 0% to alert the user to charge the battery and prevent deep-discharging the battery.
Claim(s) 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ochiai modified by Kubota et al (US 20130234672 A1)
Regarding claim 23, Ochiai teaches the method for determining the display power according to claim 8. Ochiai does not teach wherein the first relationship is represented in a form of a rational table.
Kubota teaches wherein the first relationship is represented in a form of a rational table. (¶0011 “FIG. 4 is a diagram showing one example of a SOC-section table illustrating the relationship between the states of battery charge (SOC) and SOC sections S.sub.sec”)
Therefor it would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date, to modify method for determining the display power as taught by Ochiai wherein the first relationship is represented in a form of a rational table as taught by Kubota. Ochiai discloses an apparatus for monitoring and displaying the SOC for a battery device which updates based on the relationship between the terminal voltage and state of charge, and Kabota discloses an apparatus for monitoring SOC for a battery device which updates based on the relationship between the terminal voltage and state of charge. The modification would be obvious because one of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to improve accuracy of the display power for better battery consumption to increase user experience.
Prior Art Not Relied Upon
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure can be found in the attached PTO-892 Notice of References Cited by Examiner attached to this correspondence.
Kawahara et al (US 20100244886 A1) discloses a state detection device for a battery device which calculates first and second states of charge for the power storage unit based upon the measurement values and the property information.
Balasingam et al (US 20140244193 A1) discloses method of calculating a first estimated state of charge (SOC) of a battery at a first time, receiving a voltage value representing a measured voltage across the battery at a second time, calculating a filter gain at the second time, and calculating a second estimated SOC of the battery at the second time based on the first estimated SOC, the voltage value, and the filter gain.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/LISA KOTOWSKI/Examiner, Art Unit 2859
/JULIAN D HUFFMAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2859