DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendments
Applicant’s submission of a response was received on 03/04/2026. Presently, claims 1-3, 5-12, and 14-20 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3, 5-6, 10-12, 14-15, and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Christoper Ian Tilston (US 20070218965 A1; hereinafter Tilston) in view of TheXclusiveAce (YouTube Video: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pgxkk0fR564 (January 29, 2018) [00:00-7:24]; hereinafter TheXclusiveAce) in further view of Prop Hunt (https://callofduty.fandom.com/wiki/Prop_Hunt (2017); hereinafter Prop Hunt).
Claim 1, Tilston discloses an information display method, performed by an electronic device (recited in at least: Tilston [Abstract]), comprising: displaying a game control interface corresponding to a first virtual character, the first virtual character being in a first health state in a virtual environment, and the virtual environment further comprising a second virtual character in a second health state (FIG. 6 below shows a first character and their health state (top bar) and a second and third and fourth character that are also in the virtual environment all having health states that belong to them;
receiving a check operation for the second virtual character, the check operation being an operation of checking, by the first virtual character using a check skill (“According to an illustrative aspect, with initial reference to FIG. 6, a FPS video game 401 may provide a radar 603 with which a player can determine the location of nearby enemies… Player character 609 represents the character (e.g., instance 501) controlled by the player or user of the video game, whereas other characters in video game 401 may include friendly, neutral, and/or enemy player characters and/or computer-controlled characters. In FIG. 6, radar 603 illustrates radar blips 605a, 605b, and 605c representing locations corresponding to enemy characters 607a, 607b, and 607c, respectively. Radar 603 also illustrates radar blips 605d and 605e corresponding to enemy characters not visible in the screenshot” (recited in at least: Tilston paragraph [0069])).
However, Tilston doesn’t explicitly disclose state conversion information of the second virtual character, the state conversion information being virtual character information indicating a last virtual character observed by the second virtual character before the second virtual character goes from the first health state to the second health state, wherein an action of the first virtual character is not responsible for the second virtual character going from the first health state to the second health state; and displaying the state conversion information in the game control interface based on the check operation, the displaying the state conversion information comprising: displaying object identifier information of a fourth virtual character based on the second virtual character going from the first health state to the second health state based on the attack action by the a third virtual character and a third virtual character triggering the hiding skill preventing the third virtual character from being seen by the second virtual character, the fourth virtual character being the last virtual character observed by the second virtual character before the second virtual character goes from the first health state to the second health state.
TheXclusiveAce and Prop Hunt (a game mode in Call of Duty Modern Warfare Remastered) teach state conversion information of the second virtual character, the state conversion information being virtual character information indicating a last virtual character observed by the second virtual character before the second virtual character goes from the first health state to the second health state, wherein an action of the first virtual character is not responsible for the second virtual character going from the first health state to the second health state; and displaying the state conversion information in the game control interface based on the check operation, the displaying the state conversion information comprising Prop Hunt is a game mode in Call of Duty Modern Warfare Remastered (shown in at least: Prop Hunt page 2). Within this game mode players are given a roll as prop or hunter. If the player is a prop the player and teammates have to escape hunters by hiding and moving around. The hunters have a different goal and it is to catch them and eliminate them by chipping away at their health that is not regenerative (shown in at least: Prop Hunt pages 3-6). When a teammate on the hunters’ side eliminates a prop player the virtual character who is responsible for elimination has their information and displayed on the screen as well as who they eliminated which is shown in FIG. 1 below in the bottom left corner.
(FIG. 1 TheXclusiveAce: YouTube Video screen capture [5:35])
displaying object identifier information of a fourth virtual character based on the second virtual character going from the first health state to the second health state based on the attack action by a third virtual character and a third virtual character triggering the hiding skill preventing the third virtual character from being seen by the second virtual character, the fourth virtual character being the last virtual character observed by the second virtual character before the second virtual character goes from the first health state to the second health state (TheXclusiveAce shows that there are many players that all have object identifiers on the screen based on their player information and that when one goes from one health state (first health state) to another (second health state) by being attacked by the third character or any other player in the game the character can trigger the hiding skill to prevent being seen and continue to observe the other players within the game (shown in at least the figures from TheXclusiveAce below).
In the figure above TheXclusiveAce shows that there are at least 5 different virtual characters that are alive and can go into hiding with the use of their hiding skills.
In the figure above TheXclusiveAce shows that as the game progresses some characters can go from one health state to another and lose the game.
In the figure above, it shows the player the information and how the virtual character who went from a first health state to a second health state did and which character caused it allowing the character viewing to continue to use their hiding skills to win.
Regarding claim 2, and similarly claims 11 and 20 Tilston in view of TheXclusiveAce in further view of Prop Hunt teaches the claimed matter as stated above and Tilston further suggests wherein the receiving the check operation comprises: receiving the check operation for the second virtual character through a target shortcut key based on the check skill being in the activated state (video game 401 may illuminate on radar 603, without distinguishing friend from foe, any character within the range of the radar 603. Alternatively, radar 603 may illuminate friendly characters in a first visual appearance or color, e.g., green, and may illuminate enemy characters in a second visual appearance or color, e.g., red (recited in at least: Tilston paragraph [0071])).
Regarding claim 3, and similarly claims 12, Tilston in view of TheXclusiveAce in further view of Prop Hunt teaches the claimed matter as stated above and Tilston further suggests the check skill comprises an image check skill; and the displaying the state conversion information comprises: displaying the virtual character information in the game control interface based on the check operation corresponding to the image check skill (The radar signature may include a size of a blip, or radar image, to display on a radar, a blip color, and/or a blip duration (i.e., the length of time the blip appears on radar). The radar signature may include additional or different information as well, such as a blinking pattern to indicate a specific action performed by the first character (e.g., using a specific weapon, blowing up a bomb, or providing a specific audible signal). The radar signature may be defined as attributes to an object instance, type, and/or class, or may be determined by a radar object based on various received inputs, including a value of a team attribute, an object type and/or class, etc. (recited in at least: Tilston paragraph [0080]).
Regarding claim 5, and similarly claim 14, Tilston in view of TheXclusiveAce in further view of Prop Hunt teaches the claimed matter as stated above and TheXclusiveAce and Prop Hunter further suggest displaying failure information in the game control interface based on the third virtual character triggering the hiding skill and the failure information indicating that the hiding skill of the third virtual character is triggered TheXclusiveAce shows that within the game failure information of the characters and who was able to hide and who was eliminated (shown in at least: FIG 5 below).
(FIG. 5 TheXclusiveAce YouTube Video screen capture [3:39])
Regarding claim 6, and similarly claim 15, Tilston in view of TheXclusiveAce in further view of Prop Hunt teaches the claimed matter as stated above and TheXclusiveAce and Prop Hunter further suggest, the check skill comprises a prop check skill; the state conversion information comprises virtual prop information indicating virtual props which enable the second virtual character to be subjected to state conversion; and the displaying the state conversion information comprises: displaying the virtual prop information in the game control interface based on the check operation for the prop check skill TheXclusiveAce shows in Prop Hunter that the characters are given skills to use in the game to hide and switch/convert their state to change the prop (shown in at least: FIGs 6A, 6B, and 6C below) within the game. They are given a number of times they can use prop changes within a game and will display that information on the interface based on whether the operation was used.
(FIG. 6A TheXclusiveAce YouTube Video screen capture [3:57])
(FIG. 6B TheXclusiveAce YouTube Video screen capture [4:18])
(FIG. 5 TheXclusiveAce YouTube Video screen capture [4:35])
Claim 10, Tilston discloses an information display apparatus, comprising: at least one memory configured to store program code; and at least one processor configured to read the program code and operate as instructed by the program code, the program code comprising (The features described herein may also be practiced in distributed computing environments where tasks are performed by remote processing devices that are linked through a communications network. In a distributed computing environment, program modules may be located in both local and remote computer storage media including memory storage devices. (recited in at least: Tilston paragraph [0034])): steps similar in scope to claim 1.
Claim 19, Tilston discloses a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium, storing computer code that when executed by at least one processor causes the at least one processor to (“Aspects described herein may be implemented in video game application software stored on a computer readable medium” (recited in at least: Tilston paragraph [0048])) perform the steps comprising: steps similar in scope to claim 1.
Claims 7-9, and 16-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tilston in view of TheXclusiveAce and Prop Hunt in further view of Cedric Pabriga et al. (How To Change Game Controls in Genshin Impact; hereinafter Pabriga et al.) in further view of Bronze Dad Plays (https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cFi70khluYM (October 1, 2020); hereinafter Bronze Dad Plays).
Claim 7, and similarly 16, Tilston in view of TheXclusiveAce in further view of Prop Hunt teaches the claimed matter as stated above and TheXclusiveAce and Prop Hunter further suggests showing on a mini map in the top left corner in FIGs 1-6A as shown above that shows a way to find or create a path to enemies or allies within a game. However, do not explicitly teach that the check skill wherein the check skill comprises a searching skill; the state conversion information comprises searching guidance information indicating a path from the first virtual character to the third virtual character in the virtual environment; and the displaying the state conversion information comprises: displaying the searching guidance information in the game control interface based on the check operation for the searching skill (Pabriga et al. teaches in a game guide that users can press preset buttons in game to show them searching guidance information that would indicate a path in the virtual environment so they can progress in the game (shown in at least: Pabriga game controls). The path will light up after they use the button to indicate what needs to be done for game progression (shown in at least: FIG. 7 from Bronze Dad Plays below, [2:21-2:29]).
(FIG. 7 Bronze Dad Plays: YouTube Video screen capture [2:21-2:29])
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have included a path indictor to be used by players within the game for better accessibility. It also benefits players who need to complete missions and cannot find it to help them find what they need within the game.
Claim 8, and similarly claim 17 Tilston in view of TheXclusiveAce and Prop Hunt in further view of Pabriga et al. in further view of Bronze Dad Plays suggest the matter as stated above and further suggest wherein the displaying the searching guidance information comprises: displaying the searching guidance information in the game control interface based on the check operation for the searching skill based on the third virtual character skipping triggering a trace clearing skill for the second virtual character in the second health state, and the searching skill and the trace clearing skill being in a mutual exclusion relationship Bronze Dad Plays shows that with in a time period of the search operation (using the pathway guidance) there the interface changes and changes back in a mutual exclusion relationship (recited in at least: FIG. 8 below).
(FIG. 8 Bronze Dad Plays: YouTube Video screen capture [2:21-2:29])
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have trace or searching skills in mutual relationships to not give players an unfair advantage but to also help aid players in completing missions with no distractions after the search is done.
Claim 9, and similarly claim 18, Tilston in view of TheXclusiveAce and Prop Hunt in further view of Pabriga et al. in further view of Bronze Dad Plays suggest the matter as stated above and further suggest wherein the displaying the searching guidance information comprises: displaying the searching guidance information in the game control interface based on the check operation for the searching skill based on a duration of a state conversion of the second virtual character being shorter than a specified duration, the duration of the state conversion being a duration of the second virtual character in the second health state Tilston teaches an acoustic radar that is used within a game to find other players within the game within a preset amount of time. Each player has their own radar to use to find/hunt other opposing players within the game. The radar signature is displayed for the designated amount of time and with the designated appearance corresponding to the noise level and/or radar signature, and then in step 713 the radar signature is removed from the relevant characters' acoustic radar (recited in at least: Tilston paragraph [0081]).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to implement the skills within a game based on preset or changing durations within the game to ensure fair gameplay and that no one has an advantage over another player.
Response to Arguments
Contingent Limitations:
Claims 1, 10, and 19 no longer contain contingent limitations due to the amendments made by the Applicant.
35 U.S.C. § 103:
Applicant states on pages 2-3 that the prior art used in the Non-Final Action mailed out on 12/04/2026 does not teach the of “object identifier information of a fourth virtual character based on…” now in lines 15-21 of the claim; however, Applicant amended the claim limitation of “one of” out from the claim which now makes that limitation required in the claim.
Also, Examiner respectfully disagrees that the cited prior art does not teach that claim limitation, the prior art was not relied on in the Non-Final Action mailed out on 12/04/2026 because the original limitation said “one of” and the Examiner picked the first one. The citation with explanation is cited above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SELWA A ALSOMAIRY/Examiner, Art Unit 3715
/Jay Trent Liddle/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3715