Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see Page 10, filed 06/03/2026, with respect to the rejection(s) of claim(s) 1-20 under 103 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made in view of Neumann (US 3904255 A) in view of Petruccelli (US 3436071) and Maier (US 8465207 B2).
With respect to applicants’ argument regarding the central axis, The rejection has been updated to include an alternative embodiment of Neumann, as Neumann discloses alternative embodiments of the static flow bearing 14 (See Fig. 12-23) including one with a central duct (60, See Fig. 12).
With respect to applicants’ argument regarding the motivation to combine Neumann and Petruccelli Examiner finds this persuasive, The rationale has been updated in view of the arguments.
Applicant's remaining arguments filed 06/03/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues with respect to Petruccelli that the office action proposes modifying the contact-based pins of Petruccelli with the non-contact air bearings of Neuman, and that doing so would eliminate Petruccelli’s sensing and locking steps. Examiner respectfully disagrees, the combination presenting in the previous office action modifies Neumann in view of Petruccelli, and not Petruccelli in view of Neumann, Neumann discusses (Col 8 Line 66 – Col 9 Line 12) utilizing a plurality of rails (2 or 3) to provide a clamping effect around the work piece. The combination is focused on utilizing the Jaw of Petrucceli to support the plurality of bearings discussed in Neumann and shown in Figs. 26 and 27, as doing so would allow for easier loading and unloading (Petruccelli Col 3 Line 62-64), by not requiring loading of a workpiece in a longitudinal manner (Such as into and out of the page of Annotated Fig. A). As such Examiner does not find this argument persuasive.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1 and 3 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Neumann (US 3904255 A) in view of Petruccelli (US 3436071) and Maier (US 8465207 B2).
Regarding Claim 1, Neumann discloses:
A system for protecting a prefinished rotor journal of a rotor during a manufacturing process, the system comprising:
a manufacturing fixture (See Fig. 1) including:
a supply line (24) providing a pressurized flow (Col 3 Line 65- Col 4 Line 5 “A manifold section 20 is securely affixed to the underside of the air rail assembly 10 defining a supply chamber 22 from which a pressurized gaseous substance is supplied to each of the vortex diffusers 12. The interior of the supply chamber 22 may suitably be connected to a source of pressurized gas by means of a supply conduit 24 as illustrated in FIG. 2.”); and
a static flow bearing (rail 14, See Fig. 2) configured for suspending the prefinished rotor journal (18) above the static flow bearing without the prefinished rotor journal contacting the static flow bearing (See Figure 2, showing work piece 18 suspended above the bearing 14); and
wherein the static flow bearing includes a plurality of ducts (25) receiving the pressurized flow, wherein the plurality of ducts is configured for directing the pressurized flow at the prefinished rotor journal (See Col 4 Line 15-25 “The orifices 25 are of a size in relation to the pressure and volume of air in the supply chamber 22 such that the flow of air into each vortex diffuser is substantially independent and unaffected by variations in flow rates of adjacent vortex diffusers. In the exemplary embodiment illustrated the discharge of the gas in the form of a vortex from each of the vortex diffusers forms an air cushion between the periphery of the object and the arcuate concave surface 16, which is defined by a clearance gap 28 as shown in FIG. 2.”).
But does not explicitly disclose:
Wherein the static flow bearings include a central duct
A first end including a first bearing fixture and a second bearing fixture configured to support a rotor bearing surface of the rotor, wherein the rotor bearing surface is disposed between the first and second bearing fixtures;
Wherein the supply line is a plurality of supply lines, providing a plurality of pressurized flow;
A second end opposite the first end, the second end including The plurality of supply lines providing a plurality of pressurized flows are included on a second end opposite the first end;
The plurality of static flow bearings disposed at the second end,
Wherein the static flow bearing is a plurality of static flow bearings configured for suspending the prefinished rotor journal between the plurality of static flow bearings without the prefinished rotor journal contacting the plurality of static flow bearings
wherein the plurality of static flow bearings is arranged in a radial pattern about a center point between the static flow bearings, such that a longitudinal axis of the central duct for each of the static flow bearings is oriented to intersect with the center point
However, Neumann discloses a second embodiment (Fig. 27) showing a multitude of static flow configured for suspending the prefinished rotor journal between the plurality of static flow bearings without the prefinished rotor journal contacting the plurality of static flow bearings (See Figure 27 showing a trio of bearings suspending a work piece without contacting the plurality of bearings).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to duplicate the static flow bearing to have a trio of bearing surrounding the work piece in order to stabilize the workpiece and prevent undesirable movement or decoupling of the work piece from the bearing assembly by applying a clamping effect See Col 9 Line 1-12 “It is also contemplated within the scope of the present invention that two or more fluid rail assemblies can be employed for providing a clamping effect upon articles movably supported therebetween. FIG. 26 illustrates the use of two fluid rail assemblies 110 which are disposed in diametrically opposed relationship for supporting an article such as a cylindrical container 112 therebetween. Similarly, FIG. 27 illustrates the use of three fluid rail assemblies 114 which are disposed at substantially equal arcuate increments for movably supporting an article such as the substantially cylindrical container 116 therebetween.”.
Additionally, Neuman discloses a plurality of embodiments featuring alternative airflow bearings (Figs. 12-23, See Col 7 Line 38-46 “Alternative satisfactory longitudinal cross-sectional configurations of vortex diffusers are illustrated in FIGS. 12-23. The vortex diffusers as illustrated in these figures are of a substantially circular transverse cross sectional configuration and vary in diameter and/or contour on moving outwardly from an inlet jet 52 toward the face surface 54 thereof, whereby a desired variation in the vortex discharged therefrom is attained.”),
Including an embodiment wherein the static flow bearing has a central duct (See Fig. 12 of Neuman, showing central port 60 into vortex diffuser 56, analogous to ports and jets 25/26 and vortex diffuser 12 of Fig. 1).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to modify the plurality of ducts of the static flow bearing of the base embodiment of Neumann to be a single central duct, as Neumann in Col 7 Line 38-46 disclose that the different embodiments of static flow bearing shown in Figs. 12-23 are Known equivalents for the purpose of providing a fluid to a vortex diffuser to support a workpiece without direct contact. See MPEP 2144.06 II.
Examiner notes that Neumann as modified discloses:
A system for protecting a prefinished rotor journal of a rotor during a manufacturing process, the system comprising:
a manufacturing fixture (See Fig. 27) including:
a plurality of supply lines (24) providing a plurality of pressurized flows (Col 3 Line 65- Col 4 Line 5 “A manifold section 20 is securely affixed to the underside of the air rail assembly 10 defining a supply chamber 22 from which a pressurized gaseous substance is supplied to each of the vortex diffusers 12. The interior of the supply chamber 22 may suitably be connected to a source of pressurized gas by means of a supply conduit 24 as illustrated in FIG. 2.”); and
a plurality of static flow bearings configured for suspending the prefinished rotor journal between the plurality of static flow bearings without the prefinished rotor journal contacting the plurality of static flow bearings (See Figure 27 showing the suspension of the work piece between the static flow bearing); and
wherein each of the static flow bearings (14) includes a central duct receiving one of the plurality of pressurized flows (60 of Fig. 12), wherein the central duct is configured for directing the one of the plurality of pressurized flows at the prefinished rotor journal (See Col 4 Line 15-25 “The orifices 25 are of a size in relation to the pressure and volume of air in the supply chamber 22 such that the flow of air into each vortex diffuser is substantially independent and unaffected by variations in flow rates of adjacent vortex diffusers. In the exemplary embodiment illustrated the discharge of the gas in the form of a vortex from each of the vortex diffusers forms an air cushion between the periphery of the object and the arcuate concave surface 16, which is defined by a clearance gap 28 as shown in FIG. 2.”) wherein the plurality of static flow bearings is arranged in a radial pattern about a center point between the static flow bearings, such that a longitudinal axis of the central duct for each of the static flow bearings is oriented to intersect with the center point (See Annotated Fig. A, Fig 27 and note that as modified the static flow bearings shown in Fig. 27 A have a single central duct (60) as seen in Fig. 27) and See Col 9 Line 1-12 “It is also contemplated within the scope of the present invention that two or more fluid rail assemblies can be employed for providing a clamping effect upon articles movably supported therebetween. FIG. 26 illustrates the use of two fluid rail assemblies 110 which are disposed in diametrically opposed relationship for supporting an article such as a cylindrical container 112 therebetween. Similarly, FIG. 27 illustrates the use of three fluid rail assemblies 114 which are disposed at substantially equal arcuate increments for movably supporting an article such as the substantially cylindrical container 116 therebetween.”.)
However, Petruccelli discloses a similar manufacturing feature including:
A fixed portion (Stationary Jaw 11) including a first holding device (elastically biased holding pin 41) and a second holding device (There are a plurality of holding pins 41, see Fig. 1), wherein the fixed portion forms a U-shaped portion (See Fig. 1 showing semicircular jaw)
A moving portion (Moveable Jaw 12) including a third holding device (41) of the plurality of holding devices
a static portion (stationary jaw 11) including a first portion of a plurality elastically biased holding pins (41 biased via spring 42, see Fig. 3); and
a moving portion (moveable jaw 12) including a third portion of the plurality of elastically biased holding pins (41 biased via springs 42, see Fig. 3); and
A moveable feature (hinge 36) configured to: move the moving portion away from the fixed portion to create an open loading state; and move the moving portion towards the fixed portion to create a closed operation state in which the moving portion abuts the fixed portion (See Col 3 Line 46-61 “Drive shaft 15 extends through housing 34 of the hydraulic drive unit and is splined to hinge assembly 36. As shown in FIG. 4, hinge assembly 36 is free to rotate in bearing 18 mounted in stationary jaw member 11. The hinge assembly is held in intimate contact with movable jaw member 12 by means of pin 19 so that movement of the shaft will cause the movable jaw member 12 to be rotated. Because unit 13 is held in a fixed relation with stationary member 11 by means of support members 16 and 17, shaft rotation will cause the movable jaw member 12 to be pivoted about movable member 11. Stationary member 11 is provided with recess 14 in which movable jaw member 1l2 rotates, the two members being separated 'by a bearing plate 21. Sleeve 20 has a threaded end adapted to receive spanner nut 22 acting against washer 23 to hold the hinge assembly in place.”),
wherein the manufacturing fixture is configured for suspending the prefinished rotor journal between the elastically biased holding pins (Col 4 Line 1-8 “With the jaw members being driven against the wedges in, what is herein referred to as, the sensing position, holding pins 41 are biased against the surface of a work element by means of springs 42 (FIG. 3). As shown in FIG. 1, a 5series of biased holding pins are located along the inner periphery of the cooperating jaw members; the pins being biased inwardly so as to describe the contour of a work element held therein.”).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the bearings of Neumann to be on a moveable jaw, as Neumann discloses that multiple fluid bearings can provide a clamping effect (See Col 8 Line 66-Col 9 Line 12 discussing supporting a work piece with multiple assemblies) and further doing so would allow for the easier insertion of a workpiece into the holding manifold (See open state in Fig. 1 of Petruccelli and Col 3 Line 62-64), such as allowing the insertion of a long workpiece without having to insert the work piece in a longitudinal direction (Into out of the page in Annotated Fig A).
Examiner notes that Neumann as modified, further modified by Petruccelli, discloses
a fixed portion (Stationary Jaw 11 of Petruccelli) including a first static flow bearing and a second static flow bearing of the plurality of static flow bearings (bottom 2 bearing portions of Annotated Figure A), wherein the first and second static flow bearings cooperate to form a U-shaped static flow bearing portion (See Annotated Fig. A);
a moving portion (Jaw 12 of Petruccelli) including a third static flow bearing of the plurality of static flow bearings (top portion of Annotated Fig. A)
Wherein the moving portion (Jaw 12 of Petruccelli) is configured to provide a clamping feature during the closed operation state such that the prefinished rotor journal is suspended (9 of Petruccelli or moving article between bearings 114 in Fig. 27 of Neumann) between the third static flow bearing (Top static flow bearing 114 of Neumann) and the U-shaped static flow bearing portion (bottom two static flow bearings 114 of Neumann) without the prefinished rotor journal contacting the plurality of static flow bearings (See Fig. 27 of Neumann showing the work piece floating between the three bearings).
Finally, Neumann as modified still does not disclose A first end including a first bearing fixture and a second bearing fixture configured to support a rotor bearing surface of the rotor, wherein the rotor bearing surface is disposed between the first and second bearing fixtures;
The second end opposite the first end.
Maier discloses a similar bearing mounted shaft (12) including a first end (at 16) including a first bearing (16) configured to support a rotor bearing surface of the rotor (See Col 3 Line 18-20 “When the magnetic bearing system 14 is unable to support the shaft 12, an auxiliary bearing system 16 is configured to support the shaft 12.”), wherein the rotor bearing surface is disposed in the first bearing (See Figs. 1 and 2)
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to modify Neumann as modified to include a first end including a first bearing fixture and a second bearing fixture configured to support a rotor bearing surface of the rotor, wherein the rotor bearing surface is disposed between the first and second bearing fixtures, with a second end opposite the first wherein the hydrostatic bearings are located as doing so would provide support to the rotor, as advantageously described in Col 3 Line 18-20 of Maier cited above. And would allow access to the intermediate portion of the rotor for processing.
Finally, Examiner notes that regarding the first and second ends, Neumann as modified discloses:
A first end (16 of Maier) including a first bearing fixture (114 of Fig. 27 of Neumann) and a second bearing fixture (114 of Neumann Fig. 27) configured to support a rotor bearing surface of the rotor, wherein the rotor bearing surface is disposed between the first and second bearing fixtures (See Fig 27 of Neumann);
A second end (14 of Maier) opposite the first end (See Fig. 1 of Maier), the second end including a plurality of supply lines providing a plurality of pressurized flows (Neumann Col 3 Line 65- Col 4 Line 5 “A manifold section 20 is securely affixed to the underside of the air rail assembly 10 defining a supply chamber 22 from which a pressurized gaseous substance is supplied to each of the vortex diffusers 12. The interior of the supply chamber 22 may suitably be connected to a source of pressurized gas by means of a supply conduit 24 as illustrated in FIG. 2.”);
Annotated Figure A (Figure 27 of Neumann)
Regarding Claim 3, Neumann as modified discloses all the limitations of claim 1 and in addition suggests but does not explicitly disclose wherein the rotor bearing surface includes a second prefinished rotor journal of the rotor, and wherein the first and second bearing fixtures include a second plurality of static flow bearings configured to support the second prefinished rotor journal (See Neumann Fig. 1, showing an embodiment consisting of only the fixed portion and lower hydrostatic bearings, the entirety of the work piece (18) is on the extended hydrostatic bearing 20 and Maier Fig. 1 showing a rotor suspended between two bearings 14 and 16, wherein the rotor is suspended in between both bearings 14 and 16, See Col 3 Line 31-35 “When the magnetic bearing system 14 is supporting the shaft 12, the shaft 12 is levitated relative to the auxiliary bearing system 16, as shown by the arrow 17 in FIG. 1, and a radial clearance 18 exists between the shaft 12 and the auxiliary bearing system 16.”).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to modify the apparatus of Neumann as modified to have the first and second bearing fixtures include a second plurality of static flow bearings capable of supporting a second prefinished rotor journal as doing so would allow for the rotor journal to be supported for processing without contacting the part, allowing for accurate processing without risking damaging the rotor journals from contact with the bearings.
Claim(s) 4 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Neumann (US 3904255 A) in view of Petruccelli (US 3436071) and Maier (US 8465207 B2) as modified in claim 1 and in further view of Zerbola (US 3635532 A)
Regarding Claim 4, Neumann as modified discloses all the limitations of claim 1 but does not explicitly disclose one or more lateral datums for locating the rotor within the manufacturing fixture in a direction along a longitudinal axis of the rotor.
However Zerbola discloses a similar device including a hydrostatic bearing (19) supporting a shaft (4), and discloses a planar “datum level” (See Col 3 Line 1-6 “In particular, thermal expansion has no influence at all upon the position of the plane coincident with the plane of section III--III in FIG. 2; this plane can, therefore, in a machine tool, be regarded as a datum level, with the great advantage of allowing accurate relative placing of the different parts of the tool to give constancy of qualitative performance.”).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to include a lateral datum for locating the rotor within the manufacturing fixture in a direction along a longitudinal axis of the rotor as doing so would allow for accurate and consistent placing of the rotor in the manufacturing fixture, increasing the consistency of the subsequent processing as discussed in Col 3 Line 1-6 of Zerbola cited above.
Claim(s) 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Neumann (US 3904255 A) in view of Petruccelli (US 3436071), Maier (US 8465207 B2) and Zerbola (US 3635532 A) as modified in claim 4 and in further view of Puttmer (US 5690323 A).
Regarding Claim 5, Neumann as modified discloses all the limitations of claim 4 but does not explicitly disclose wherein the manufacturing fixture further includes a control piston selectively moving the moving portion to selectively create the open loading state and the closed operational state.
However, Petruccelli does disclose a hydraulic drive unit (13, see Fig. 2) for moving the moving portion (12) to selective create the open loading state and the closed operational state (See Col 3 Line 27-30 “The forces required to both advance movable jaw 12 and to clamp a work element held therein are supplied by drive unit 13. Referring now to FIG. 2, drive unit 13 comprises a housing 34 in which a cavity 26 is formed.”).
However, Puttmer discloses a similar manufacturing fixture further including a control piston (34) selectively moving the moving portion (shape adjustable jaw 26, see Fig 3), to selectively create the open loading state and the closed operation state (See Col 4 Line 52-60 “Each of the two shape-adjustable jaws 26 possesses a gripping surface 32, defined by a plurality of plungers 33 (or clamping plungers) able to be moved independently of one another for a given stroke hydraulically. In FIG. 3 one of the plungers 33 is depicted in more detail, i.e. the respective region of the shape-adjustable jaw 26 is shown sectioned. The inner terminal part of each plunger 33 is provided with a plunger piston 34, which is arranged in a plunger cylinder 35 for sliding movement under hydraulic action.”).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to substitute the drive unit of Neumann to be a control piston as they are recognized equivalents in the art for the purposes of moving the moveable portion of work holder between an open and closed state. See MPEP 2144.06 II.
Claim(s) 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Neumann (US 3904255 A) in view of Petruccelli (US 3436071), Maier (US 8465207 B2) and Zerbola (US 3635532 A) as modified in claim 4 and in further view of Nishimura (US 20210308810 A1).
Regarding Claim 6, Neumann as modified discloses all the limitations of claim 4 but does not explicitly disclose, wherein the manufacturing fixture further includes a proximity sensor affixed to the fixed portion of the manufacturing fixture and;
A mating sensor affixed to the moving portion of the manufacturing fixture,
Wherein the proximity sensor and the mating sensor are configured to provide data related to the manufacturing fixture being in the closed operational state.
However, Nishimura discloses a similar manufacturing fixture including a proximity sensor (18b and 18c) affixed to the fixed portion (17b) of the manufacturing fixture (10) and;
A mating sensor (18a) affixed to the moving portion (Swivel ring 13) of the manufacturing fixture (10),
Wherein the proximity sensor and the mating sensor are configured to provide data related to the manufacturing fixture being in the closed operational state (See Para [0044] “In addition to the above configuration, the clamp unit 10 includes a sensor portion 18. The sensor portion 18 is intended to detect that the clamp claws 11 are at positions at which they can clamp the stem S. The sensor portion 18 includes a detection piece 18a, sensor 18b, and cradle 18c.”).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to modify the manufacturing fixture of Neumann as modified to include a proximity sensor to detect if the manufacturing fixture is in a closed or clamped position as doing so would allow for easier automatic control of the machining process, and to ensure that the work piece is not moved improperly during the manufacturing process.
Claim(s) 7, 9, 13, 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Neumann (US 3904255 A) in view of Maruyama (JP H11138311 A), Petruccelli (US 3436071), and Maier (US 8465207 B2).
Regarding Claim 7 Neumann discloses
A system for protecting a prefinished rotor journal of a rotor during a manufacturing process, the system comprising:
A cylindrical work piece (18); and
a manufacturing fixture including:
a supply line (24) providing of pressurized flow (Col 3 Line 65- Col 4 Line 5 “A manifold section 20 is securely affixed to the underside of the air rail assembly 10 defining a supply chamber 22 from which a pressurized gaseous substance is supplied to each of the vortex diffusers 12. The interior of the supply chamber 22 may suitably be connected to a source of pressurized gas by means of a supply conduit 24 as illustrated in FIG. 2.”; and
a static flow bearing (14) configured for suspending the cylindrical work piece over the static flow bearing without the cylindrical work piece contacting the static flow bearing (See Figure 2, showing work piece 18 suspended above the bearing 14); and
wherein the static flow bearing (14) includes a plurality of ducts (25) receiving the pressurized flow, wherein the central duct is configured for directing the pressurized flow at the cylindrical work piece (See Col 4 Line 15-25 “The orifices 25 are of a size in relation to the pressure and volume of air in the supply chamber 22 such that the flow of air into each vortex diffuser is substantially independent and unaffected by variations in flow rates of adjacent vortex diffusers. In the exemplary embodiment illustrated the discharge of the gas in the form of a vortex from each of the vortex diffusers forms an air cushion between the periphery of the object and the arcuate concave surface 16, which is defined by a clearance gap 28 as shown in FIG. 2.”).
But does not explicitly disclose:
A first end including a first bearing fixture and a second bearing fixture configured to support a rotor bearing surface of the rotor, wherein the rotor bearing surface is disposed between the first and second bearing fixtures;
A second end opposite the first end, the second end including the plurality of supply lines, the plurality of static flow bearings disposed at the second end
Wherein the cylindrical workpiece is a rotor including a prefinished rotor journal
Wherein the supply line is a plurality of supply lines, providing a plurality of pressurized flow;
Wherein the static flow bearing is a plurality of static flow bearings configured for suspending the prefinished rotor journal between the plurality of static flow bearings without the prefinished rotor journal contacting the plurality of static flow bearings
Wherein each of the static flow bearings includes a central duct.
wherein the plurality of static flow bearings is arranged in a radial pattern about a center point between the static flow bearings, such that a longitudinal axis of the central duct for each of the static flow bearings is oriented to intersect with the center point;
A fixed portion including a first static flow bearing and a second static flow bearing of the plurality of static flow bearings, wherein the first and second static flow bearings cooperate to form a U-shaped static flow bearing portion;
A moving portion including a third static flow bearing of the plurality of static flow bearings, and
A moveable feature configured to: move the moving portion away from the fixed portion to create an open loading state; and move the moving portion towards the fixed portion to create a closed operation state in which the moving portion abuts the fixed portion,
Wherein the moving portion is configured to provide a clamping feature during the closed operation state such that the prefinished rotor journal is suspended between the third static flow bearing and the U-shaped static flow bearing portion without the prefinished rotor journal contacting the plurality of static flow bearings.
However, Neumann discloses a second embodiment (Fig. 27) showing a multitude of static flow configured for suspending the cylindrical work piece between the plurality of static flow bearings without the cylindrical work piece contacting the plurality of static flow bearings (See Figure 27 showing a trio of bearings suspending a work piece without contacting the plurality of bearings).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to duplicate the static flow bearing to have a trio of bearing surrounding the work piece in order to stabilize the workpiece and prevent undesirable movement or decoupling of the work piece from the bearing assembly by applying a clamping effect See Col 9 Line 1-12 “It is also contemplated within the scope of the present invention that two or more fluid rail assemblies can be employed for providing a clamping effect upon articles movably supported therebetween. FIG. 26 illustrates the use of two fluid rail assemblies 110 which are disposed in diametrically opposed relationship for supporting an article such as a cylindrical container 112 therebetween. Similarly, FIG. 27 illustrates the use of three fluid rail assemblies 114 which are disposed at substantially equal arcuate increments for movably supporting an article such as the substantially cylindrical container 116 therebetween.”.
Additionally, Neuman discloses a plurality of embodiments featuring alternative airflow bearings (Figs. 12-23, See Col 7 Line 38-46 “Alternative satisfactory longitudinal cross-sectional configurations of vortex diffusers are illustrated in FIGS. 12-23. The vortex diffusers as illustrated in these figures are of a substantially circular transverse cross sectional configuration and vary in diameter and/or contour on moving outwardly from an inlet jet 52 toward the face surface 54 thereof, whereby a desired variation in the vortex discharged therefrom is attained.”),
Including an embodiment wherein the static flow bearing has a central duct (See Fig. 12 of Neuman, showing a single central port 60 into vortex diffuser 56, analogous to ports 25/26 and vortex diffuser 12 of Fig. 1).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to modify the plurality of ducts of the static flow bearing of the base embodiment of Neumann to be a single central duct, as Neumann in Col 7 Line 38-46 disclose that the different embodiments of static flow bearing shown in Figs. 12-23 are Known equivalents for the purpose of providing a fluid to a vortex diffuser to support a workpiece without direct contact. See MPEP 2144.06 II.
Examiner notes that modifying Neumann in such a way would discloses:
Wherein each of the static flow bearings (14) includes a central duct (60).
wherein the plurality of static flow bearings (14) is arranged in a radial pattern about a center point between the static flow bearings, such that a longitudinal axis of the central duct for each of the static flow bearings is oriented to intersect with the center point (See Annotated Fig A below the rejection of claim 1, the bearing in the image have been modified to be the bearings shown in Fig. 12 of Neumann, and the intersecting lines would pass through the central duct 60);
And Maruyama discloses a similar manufacturing fixture for holding the journal (J) of a rotor (Crankshaft W).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to modify Neumann as modified to be useable on the prefinished journal of a rotor as advantageously described by Maruyama doing so would improve the accuracy of the machining process. See Para [0044] “Furthermore, in the clamp mechanism of the first embodiment, the pair of opposing clamp arms 25 a, 25 b constituting the clamp arm means abut at their respective inverted V-shaped tip portions 25 c, 25 d that face the diameter of the journal J against the abutment portions that abut against the left and right receiving surfaces 24 a, 24 b of the journal holder 24, thereby applying a clamping force. Therefore, the journal J can be held against the left and right receiving surfaces 24 a, 24 b of the journal holder 24 with an equal clamping force, thereby improving machining accuracy.” and Para [0016] “In the crankshaft clamping mechanism of the machine tool of the second invention configured as described above, in a clamp device main body that is mounted on the end face of the spindle that is rotatably supported on a headstock so that its radial position can be adjusted by a pin stroke compensation mechanism, the crankshaft journals that are supported on the V-shaped receiving surfaces of the journal holder, the left and right receiving surfaces of which are V-shaped, are pressed with equal force against the V-shaped left and right receiving surfaces by the clamp arm means driven by the drive means. Therefore, in addition to the effects of the first invention described above, there is an effect that crankshafts with different journal diameters can be accommodated without having to replace the journal holder, and this effect of being able to accommodate crankshafts with different journal diameters, combined with the conventional ability to accommodate different pin strokes, contributes to a dramatic improvement in flexibility.”
However, Petruccelli discloses a similar manufacturing feature including:
A fixed portion (Stationary Jaw 11) including a first holding device (elastically biased holding pin 41) and a second holding device (There are a plurality of holding pins 41, see Fig. 1), wherein the fixed portion forms a U-shaped portion (See Fig. 1 showing semicircular jaw)
A moving portion (Moveable Jaw 12) including a third holding device (41) of the plurality of holding devices
A moveable feature (hinge 36) configured to: move the moving portion away from the fixed portion to create an open loading state; and move the moving portion towards the fixed portion to create a closed operation state in which the moving portion abuts the fixed portion (See Col 3 Line 46-61 “Drive shaft 15 extends through housing 34 of the hydraulic drive unit and is splined to hinge assembly 36. As shown in FIG. 4, hinge assembly 36 is free to rotate in bearing 18 mounted in stationary jaw member 11. The hinge assembly is held in intimate contact with movable jaw member 12 by means of pin 19 so that movement of the shaft will cause the movable jaw member 12 to be rotated. Because unit 13 is held in a fixed relation with stationary member 11 by means of support members 16 and 17, shaft rotation will cause the movable jaw member 12 to be pivoted about movable member 11. Stationary member 11 is provided with recess 14 in which movable jaw member 1l2 rotates, the two members being separated 'by a bearing plate 21. Sleeve 20 has a threaded end adapted to receive spanner nut 22 acting against washer 23 to hold the hinge assembly in place.”),
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the bearings of Neumann to be on a moveable jaw, as Neumann discloses that multiple fluid bearings can provide a clamping effect (See Col 8 Line 66-Col 9 Line 12 discussing supporting a work piece with multiple assemblies) and further doing so would allow for the easier insertion of a workpiece into the holding manifold (See open state in Fig. 1 of Petruccelli and Col 3 Line 62-64), such as allowing the insertion of a long workpiece without having to insert the work piece in a longitudinal direction (Into out of the page in Annotated Fig A).
Examiner notes that Neumann as modified, further modified by Petruccelli, discloses
a fixed portion (Stationary Jaw 11 of Petruccelli) including a first static flow bearing and a second static flow bearing of the plurality of static flow bearings (bottom 2 bearing portions of Annotated Figure A), wherein the first and second static flow bearings cooperate to form a U-shaped static flow bearing portion (See Annotated Fig. A);
a moving portion (Jaw 12 of Petruccelli) including a third static flow bearing of the plurality of static flow bearings (top portion of Annotated Fig. A)
Wherein the moving portion (Jaw 12 of Petruccelli) is configured to provide a clamping feature during the closed operation state such that the prefinished rotor journal is suspended (9 of Petruccelli or moving article between bearings 114 in Fig. 27 of Neumann) between the third static flow bearing (Top static flow bearing 114 of Neumann) and the U-shaped static flow bearing portion (bottom two static flow bearings 114 of Neumann) without the prefinished rotor journal contacting the plurality of static flow bearings (See Fig. 27 of Neumann showing the work piece floating between the three bearings).
Finally, Neumann as modified still does not disclose A first end including a first bearing fixture and a second bearing fixture configured to support a rotor bearing surface of the rotor, wherein the rotor bearing surface is disposed between the first and second bearing fixtures;
The second end opposite the first end.
Maier discloses a similar bearing mounted shaft (12) including a first end (at 16) including a first bearing (16) configured to support a rotor bearing surface of the rotor (See Col 3 Line 18-20 “When the magnetic bearing system 14 is unable to support the shaft 12, an auxiliary bearing system 16 is configured to support the shaft 12.”), wherein the rotor bearing surface is disposed in the first bearing (See Figs. 1 and 2)
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to modify Neumann as modified to include a first end including a first bearing fixture and a second bearing fixture configured to support a rotor bearing surface of the rotor, wherein the rotor bearing surface is disposed between the first and second bearing fixtures, with a second end opposite the first wherein the hydrostatic bearings are located as doing so would provide support to the rotor, as advantageously described in Col 3 Line 18-20 of Maier cited above. And would allow access to the intermediate portion of the rotor for processing.
Finally, Examiner notes that regarding the first and second ends, Neumann as modified discloses:
A first end (16 of Maier) including a first bearing fixture (114 of Fig. 27 of Neumann) and a second bearing fixture (114 of Neumann Fig. 27) configured to support a rotor bearing surface of the rotor, wherein the rotor bearing surface is disposed between the first and second bearing fixtures (See Fig 27 of Neumann);
A second end (14 of Maier) opposite the first end (See Fig. 1 of Maier), the second end including a plurality of supply lines providing a plurality of pressurized flows (Neumann Col 3 Line 65- Col 4 Line 5 “A manifold section 20 is securely affixed to the underside of the air rail assembly 10 defining a supply chamber 22 from which a pressurized gaseous substance is supplied to each of the vortex diffusers 12. The interior of the supply chamber 22 may suitably be connected to a source of pressurized gas by means of a supply conduit 24 as illustrated in FIG. 2.”);
Regarding Claim 9, Neumann as modified discloses all the limitations of claim 1 and in addition suggests but does not explicitly disclose wherein the first and second bearing fixtures include a second plurality of static flow bearings, and wherein the rotor bearing surface of the rotor includes a second prefinished rotor journal disposed between the second plurality of static flow bearings at the first end of the manufacturing fixture (See Neumann Fig. 1, showing an embodiment consisting of only the fixed portion and lower hydrostatic bearings, the entirety of the work piece (18) is on the extended hydrostatic bearing 20 and Maier Fig. 1 showing a rotor suspended between two bearings 14 and 16, wherein the rotor is suspended in between both bearings 14 and 16, See Col 3 Line 31-35 “When the magnetic bearing system 14 is supporting the shaft 12, the shaft 12 is levitated relative to the auxiliary bearing system 16, as shown by the arrow 17 in FIG. 1, and a radial clearance 18 exists between the shaft 12 and the auxiliary bearing system 16.”).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to modify the apparatus of Neumann as modified to have the first and second bearing fixtures include a second plurality of static flow bearings capable of supporting a second prefinished rotor journal as doing so would allow for the rotor journal to be supported for processing without contacting the part, allowing for accurate processing without risking damaging the rotor journals from contact with the bearings.
Regarding Claim 13, Neumann discloses:
A method to protect a cylindrical workpiece during a manufacturing process, the method comprising:
Supplying, within a manufacturing fixture (See Fig. 1), providing a pressurized flow through a supply line (Col 3 Line 65- Col 4 Line 5 “A manifold section 20 is securely affixed to the underside of the air rail assembly 10 defining a supply chamber 22 from which a pressurized gaseous substance is supplied to each of the vortex diffusers 12. The interior of the supply chamber 22 may suitably be connected to a source of pressurized gas by means of a supply conduit 24 as illustrated in FIG. 2.”);
directing the pressurized flow through a static flow bearing configured for suspending the cylindrical work piece above the static flow bearing without the cylindrical workpiece contacting the cylindrical work piece (See Col 4 Line 15-25 “The orifices 25 are of a size in relation to the pressure and volume of air in the supply chamber 22 such that the flow of air into each vortex diffuser is substantially independent and unaffected by variations in flow rates of adjacent vortex diffusers. In the exemplary embodiment illustrated the discharge of the gas in the form of a vortex from each of the vortex diffusers forms an air cushion between the periphery of the object and the arcuate concave surface 16, which is defined by a clearance gap 28 as shown in FIG. 2.”) Wherein each of the static flow bearings (14) includes a plurality of ducts (25) receiving one of the plurality of pressurized flows, wherein each duct is configured for directing the one of the plurality of pressurized flows at the prefinished rotor journal (See Col 4 Line 15-25 above discussing the ducts 25 directing air to form a cushion);
disposing the cylindrical workpiece of the rotor above the static flow bearing (See Fig. 2 and See Col 4 Line 15-25 “The orifices 25 are of a size in relation to the pressure and volume of air in the supply chamber 22 such that the flow of air into each vortex diffuser is substantially independent and unaffected by variations in flow rates of adjacent vortex diffusers. In the exemplary embodiment illustrated the discharge of the gas in the form of a vortex from each of the vortex diffusers forms an air cushion between the periphery of the object and the arcuate concave surface 16, which is defined by a clearance gap 28 as shown in FIG. 2.”); and
suspending the cylindrical workpiece above the static flow bearing (See Fig. 2 and See Col 4 Line 15-25 “The orifices 25 are of a size in relation to the pressure and volume of air in the supply chamber 22 such that the flow of air into each vortex diffuser is substantially independent and unaffected by variations in flow rates of adjacent vortex diffusers. In the exemplary embodiment illustrated the discharge of the gas in the form of a vortex from each of the vortex diffusers forms an air cushion between the periphery of the object and the arcuate concave surface 16, which is defined by a clearance gap 28 as shown in FIG. 2.”).
But does not disclose wherein the cylindrical workpiece is a prefinished rotor journal,
Wherein the supply line is a plurality of supply lines, providing a plurality of pressurized flow;
Wherein the plurality of supply lines are provided at a second end of the manufacturing fixture, wherein the manufacturing fixture comprises an opposite first end including a first bearing fixture and a second bearing fixture configured to support a rotor bearing surface of the rotor, wherein the rotor bearing surface is disposed between the first and second bearing fixtures
Selectively transitioning the manufacturing fixture into an open loading state in which a moving portion of the manufacturing fixture is moved away from a fixed portion of the manufacturing fixture to enable loading of the rotor into the manufacturing fixture, wherein the fixed portion includes a first static flow bearing and a second static flow bearing of the plurality of static flow bearings that cooperate to form a U-shaped static flow bearing
the plurality of pressurized flow through a plurality of static flow bearings configured for suspending the prefinished rotor journal between the plurality of static flow bearings without the prefinished rotor journal contacting the plurality of static flow bearings;
disposing the prefinished rotor journal of the rotor between the plurality of static flow bearings during the open loading state; and
Wherein each of the static flow bearings includes a central duct for receiving one of the plurality of pressurized flows, wherein each central duct is configured for directing the one of the plurality of pressurized flows at the prefinished rotor journal, wherein directing the plurality of pressurized flows through the plurality of static flow bearings includes arranging the plurality of static flow bearings in a radial pattern about a central point between the static flow bearings, such that a longitudinal axis of the central duct for each of the static flow bearings is oriented to intersect with the center point
selectively transitioning the manufacturing fixture into a closed operational state in which the moving portion abuts the fixed portion, wherein the moving portion includes a third static flow bearing of the plurality of static flow bearings.
suspending the prefinished rotor journal between the plurality of static flow bearings during the closed operation state such that the prefinished rotor journal ius suspended between the third static flow bearing and the U-shaped static flow bearing portion without the prefinished rotor journal contacting the plurality of static flow bearings.
However, Neumann discloses a second embodiment (Fig. 27) showing a multitude of static flow configured for suspending the cylindrical work piece between the plurality of static flow bearings without the cylindrical work piece contacting the plurality of static flow bearings (See Figure 27 showing a trio of bearings suspending a work piece without contacting the plurality of bearings).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to duplicate the static flow bearing to have a trio of bearing surrounding the work piece in order to stabilize the workpiece and prevent undesirable movement or decoupling of the work piece from the bearing assembly by applying a clamping effect See Col 9 Line 1-12 “It is also contemplated within the scope of the present invention that two or more fluid rail assemblies can be employed for providing a clamping effect upon articles movably supported therebetween. FIG. 26 illustrates the use of two fluid rail assemblies 110 which are disposed in diametrically opposed relationship for supporting an article such as a cylindrical container 112 therebetween. Similarly, FIG. 27 illustrates the use of three fluid rail assemblies 114 which are disposed at substantially equal arcuate increments for movably supporting an article such as the substantially cylindrical container 116 therebetween.”.
Additionally, Neuman discloses a plurality of embodiments featuring alternative airflow bearings (Figs. 12-23, See Col 7 Line 38-46 “Alternative satisfactory longitudinal cross-sectional configurations of vortex diffusers are illustrated in FIGS. 12-23. The vortex diffusers as illustrated in these figures are of a substantially circular transverse cross sectional configuration and vary in diameter and/or contour on moving outwardly from an inlet jet 52 toward the face surface 54 thereof, whereby a desired variation in the vortex discharged therefrom is attained.”),
Including an embodiment wherein the static flow bearing has a central duct (See Fig. 12 of Neuman, showing central duct 60 into aperture 56, analogous to ducts 25 and aperture 12 of Fig. 1).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to modify the plurality of ducts of the static flow bearing of the base embodiment of Neumann to be a single central duct, as Neumann in Col 7 Line 38-46 disclose that the different embodiments of static flow bearing shown in Figs. 12-23 are Known equivalents for the purpose of providing a fluid to a vortex diffuser to support a workpiece without direct contact. See MPEP 2144.06 II.
Examiner notes that modifying Neumann in such a way would discloses:
Wherein each of the static flow bearings (14) includes a central duct (60) wherein each central duct is configured for directing the one of the plurality of pressurized flows at the prefinished rotor journal (See Col 4 Line 15-25 cited above),
wherein the plurality of static flow bearings (14) is arranged in a radial pattern about a center point between the static flow bearings, such that a longitudinal axis of the central duct for each of the static flow bearings is oriented to intersect with the center point (See Annotated Fig A below the rejection of claim 1, the bearing in the image have been modified to be the bearings shown in Fig. 12 of Neumann, and the intersecting lines would pass through the central duct 60);
And Maruyama discloses a similar manufacturing fixture for holding the journal (J) of a rotor (Crankshaft W).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to modify Neumann as modified to be useable on the prefinished journal of a rotor as advantageously described by Maruyama doing so would improve the accuracy of the machining process. See Para [0044] “Furthermore, in the clamp mechanism of the first embodiment, the pair of opposing clamp arms 25 a, 25 b constituting the clamp arm means abut at their respective inverted V-shaped tip portions 25 c, 25 d that face the diameter of the journal J against the abutment portions that abut against the left and right receiving surfaces 24 a, 24 b of the journal holder 24, thereby applying a clamping force. Therefore, the journal J can be held against the left and right receiving surfaces 24 a, 24 b of the journal holder 24 with an equal clamping force, thereby improving machining accuracy.” and Para [0016] “In the crankshaft clamping mechanism of the machine tool of the second invention configured as described above, in a clamp device main body that is mounted on the end face of the spindle that is rotatably supported on a headstock so that its radial position can be adjusted by a pin stroke compensation mechanism, the crankshaft journals that are supported on the V-shaped receiving surfaces of the journal holder, the left and right receiving surfaces of which are V-shaped, are pressed with equal force against the V-shaped left and right receiving surfaces by the clamp arm means driven by the drive means. Therefore, in addition to the effects of the first invention described above, there is an effect that crankshafts with different journal diameters can be accommodated without having to replace the journal holder, and this effect of being able to accommodate crankshafts with different journal diameters, combined with the conventional ability to accommodate different pin strokes, contributes to a dramatic improvement in flexibility.”
However, Petruccelli discloses a similar manufacturing fixture that selectively transitions to an open loading state, wherein a portion of the holding devices (41 and 32) are moved away from a static portion of the manufacturing fixture to enable the workpiece to be loaded into the manufacturing fixture (See Col 3 Line 62-71 “Referring once again to FIG. 1, the holding fixture, which is shown in the open position, is now ready to receive a cylindrical work element. Positive seating of the work element is assured by a three-point locating arrangement consisting of two sets of stationary locating pins 32 and longitudinal stop 50. A work piece is first seated on stationary pins 32 and then moved in a lateral direction until longitudinal stop 50 is encountered. Work pieces of different lengths can be accomrtiodated by merely replacing spacer 51 with one of required length”) Wherein the fixed portion (11) constitutes a plurality of elastically biased holding devices (41) that form a U-shaped holding portion (See 11 in Fig. 1).
And selectively transitioning the manufacturing fixture into a closed operational state (See Col 4 Line 50-55 “A short time delay of approximately one second between wedge contact and pin locking is required to allow the fixture to reach an equilibrium condition after which time wedges 39 and 40 are removed to permit the movable jaws to further advance to a clamping position.” ) wherein the work piece is held by the holding devices (41 and 32, see Col 6 Line 58-61 “As the wedges are moved back the movable jaws of the holding device advance from the sensing position to a clamping position. Substantially equal pressure is applied around the outer periphery of the work element held therein.”).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the bearings of Neumann to be on a moveable jaw, as Neumann discloses that multiple fluid bearings can provide a clamping effect (See Col 8 Line 66-Col 9 Line 12 discussing supporting a work piece with multiple assemblies) and further doing so would allow for the easier insertion of a workpiece into the holding manifold (See open state in Fig. 1 of Petruccelli and Col 3 Line 62-64), such as allowing the insertion of a long workpiece without having to insert the work piece in a longitudinal direction (Into out of the page in Annotated Fig A).
Finally, Neumann as modified still does not disclose at a second end of the manufacturing fixture, wherein the manufacturing fixture comprises an opposite first end including a first bearing fixture and a second bearing fixture configured to support a rotor bearing surface of the rotor, wherein the rotor bearing surface is disposed between the first and second bearing fixtures;
Maier discloses a similar bearing mounted shaft (12) including a first end (at 16) including a first bearing (16) configured to support a rotor bearing surface of the rotor (See Col 3 Line 18-20 “When the magnetic bearing system 14 is unable to support the shaft 12, an auxiliary bearing system 16 is configured to support the shaft 12.”), wherein the rotor bearing surface is disposed in the first bearing (See Figs. 1 and 2)
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to modify Neumann as modified to include a first end including a first bearing fixture and a second bearing fixture configured to support a rotor bearing surface of the rotor, wherein the rotor bearing surface is disposed between the first and second bearing fixtures, with a second end opposite the first wherein the hydrostatic bearings are located as doing so would provide support to the rotor, as advantageously described in Col 3 Line 18-20 of Maier cited above. And would allow access to the intermediate portion of the rotor for processing.
Finally, Examiner notes that regarding the first and second ends, Neumann as modified discloses:
A plurality of supply lines at a second end of the manufacturing fixture, wherein the manufacturing fixture comprises an opposite first end (16 of Maier, opposite second end 14) including a first bearing fixture (114 of Fig. 27 of Neumann) and a second bearing fixture (114 of Neumann Fig. 27) configured to support a rotor bearing surface of the rotor, wherein the rotor bearing surface is disposed between the first and second bearing fixtures (See Fig 27 of Neumann);
Regarding Claim 15, Neumann as modified discloses all the limitations of claim 13 and in addition discloses wherein the plurality of static flow bearings enable the rotor to spin during the manufacturing process without the prefinished rotor journal contacting the plurality of static flow bearings (See Neumann Fig. 2 and Col 4 Line 44-49 “In a similar manner, rotation of the workpiece container 18 can be achieved by a second auxiliary jet 32, as shown in FIG. 2, which is oriented laterally of the path of travel of the container 18 and is adapted to continuously or intermittently discharge a gaseous stream for imparting rotation to the container in a generally clockwise direction, as viewed in FIG. 2.”).
Claim(s) 10 and 16 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Neumann (US 3904255 A) in view of Maruyama (JP H11138311 A), Petruccelli (US 3436071), Maier (US 8465207 B2) as modified in claim 7 and 13 in further view of Zerbola (US 3635532 A).
Regarding Claim 10, Neumann as modified discloses all the limitations of claim 7 but does not explicitly disclose further includes:
one or more lateral datums for locating the rotor within the manufacturing fixture in a direction along a longitudinal axis of the rotor.
However Zerbola discloses a similar device including a hydrostatic bearing (19) supporting a shaft (4), and discloses a planar “datum level” (See Col 3 Line 1-6 “In particular, thermal expansion has no influence at all upon the position of the plane coincident with the plane of section III--III in FIG. 2; this plane can, therefore, in a machine tool, be regarded as a datum level, with the great advantage of allowing accurate relative placing of the different parts of the tool to give constancy of qualitative performance.”).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to include a lateral datum for locating the rotor within the manufacturing fixture in a direction along a longitudinal axis of the rotor as doing so would allow for accurate and consistent placing of the rotor in the manufacturing fixture, increasing the consistency of the subsequent processing as discussed in Col 3 Line 1-6 of Zerbola cited above.
Regarding Claim 16, Neumann as modified discloses all the limitations of claim 13 but does not explicitly disclose further comprising:
Locating, using one or more lateral datums of the manufacturing fixture, the rotor within the manufacturing fixture in a direction along a longitudinal axis of the rotor.
However Zerbola discloses a similar device including a hydrostatic bearing (19) supporting a shaft (4), and discloses a planar “datum level” (See Col 3 Line 1-6 “In particular, thermal expansion has no influence at all upon the position of the plane coincident with the plane of section III--III in FIG. 2; this plane can, therefore, in a machine tool, be regarded as a datum level, with the great advantage of allowing accurate relative placing of the different parts of the tool to give constancy of qualitative performance.”).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date to use a lateral datum for locating the rotor within the manufacturing fixture in a direction along a longitudinal axis of the rotor as doing so would allow for accurate and consistent placing of the rotor in the manufacturing fixture, increasing the consistency of the subsequent processing as discussed in Col 3 Line 1-6 of Zerbola cited above.
Claim(s) 11 and 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Neumann (US 3904255 A) in view of Maruyama (JP H11138311 A), Petruccelli (US 3436071), and Maier (US 8465207 B2) as modified in claim 7 and 13 in further view of Zerbola (US 3635532 A) as modified in claim 10 and 16 and in view of Puttmer (US 5690323 A).
Regarding Claim 11, Neumann as modified discloses all the limitations of claim 10 but does not explicitly disclose wherein the manufacturing fixture further includes a control piston attached to the moving portion and configured to move the moving portion to selectively create the open loading state and the closed operational state.
However, Neumann does disclose a hydraulic drive unit (13, see Fig. 2) for moving the moving portion (12) to selective create the open loading state and the closed operational state (See Col 3 Line 27-30 “The forces required to both advance movable jaw 12 and to clamp a work element held therein are supplied by drive unit 13. Referring now to FIG. 2, drive unit 13 comprises a housing 34 in which a cavity 26 is formed.”).
However, Puttmer discloses a similar manufacturing fixture further including a control piston (25) attached to the moving portion and configured to move the moving portion (shape adjustable jaw 26, see Fig 3), to selectively create the open loading state and the closed operation state (See Col 4 Line 27-32 “Two slides 21 and 22 are arranged opposite to one another at the clamping opening 13 and run in a sliding fashion in guide tracks 23 and 24 for motion in relation to one another. Such sliding movement is produced using hydraulic cylinders 25 in the slides 21 and 22, of which only one is depicted diagrammatically.”).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to substitute the drive unit of Neumann to be a control piston as they are recognized equivalents in the art for the purposes of moving the moveable portion of work holder between an open and closed state. See MPEP 2144.06 II.
Regarding Claim 17, Neumann as modified discloses all the limitations of claim 16 but does not explicitly disclose, further comprising activating a control piston to move the moving portion to selectively create the open loading state and the closed operational state.
However, Petruccelli does disclose activating a hydraulic drive unit (13, see Fig. 2) for moving the moving portion (12) to selective create the open loading state and the closed operational state (See Col 3 Line 27-30 “The forces required to both advance movable jaw 12 and to clamp a work element held therein are supplied by drive unit 13. Referring now to FIG. 2, drive unit 13 comprises a housing 34 in which a cavity 26 is formed.”).
However, Puttmer discloses a similar manufacturing fixture further including a control piston (34) selectively moving the moving portion (shape adjustable jaw 26, see Fig 3), to selectively create the open loading state and the closed operation state (See Col 4 Line 52-60 “Each of the two shape-adjustable jaws 26 possesses a gripping surface 32, defined by a plurality of plungers 33 (or clamping plungers) able to be moved independently of one another for a given stroke hydraulically. In FIG. 3 one of the plungers 33 is depicted in more detail, i.e. the respective region of the shape-adjustable jaw 26 is shown sectioned. The inner terminal part of each plunger 33 is provided with a plunger piston 34, which is arranged in a plunger cylinder 35 for sliding movement under hydraulic action.”).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to substitute the drive unit of Neumann to be a control piston as they are recognized equivalents in the art for the purposes of moving the moveable portion of work holder between an open and closed state. See MPEP 2144.06 II.
Claim(s) 12 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Neumann (US 3904255 A) in view of Maruyama (JP H11138311 A), Petruccelli (US 3436071), and Maier (US 8465207 B2) as modified in claim 7 and 13 in further view of Zerbola (US 3635532 A) as modified in claim 10 and 16 and in view of Nishimura (US 20210308810 A1).
Regarding Claim 12, Neumann as modified discloses all the limitations of claim 10 but does not explicitly disclose, wherein the manufacturing fixture further includes a mating sensor attached to the moving portion and configured to provide data related to the manufacturing fixture being in the closed operational state.
However, Nishimura discloses a similar manufacturing fixture including a mating sensor (18a) attached to the moving portion (swivel ring 13) configured to provide data related to the manufacturing fixture being in the closed operational state (See Para [0044] “In addition to the above configuration, the clamp unit 10 includes a sensor portion 18. The sensor portion 18 is intended to detect that the clamp claws 11 are at positions at which they can clamp the stem S. The sensor portion 18 includes a detection piece 18a, sensor 18b, and cradle 18c.”).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to modify the manufacturing fixture of Neumann as modified to include a proximity sensor to detect if the manufacturing fixture is in a closed or clamped position as doing so would allow for easier automatic control of the machining process, and to ensure that the work piece is not moved improperly during the manufacturing process.
Regarding Claim 18, Neumann as modified discloses all the limitations of claim 16 and but does not explicitly disclose further comprising utilizing a proximity sensor to determine that the manufacturing fixture is in the closed operational state and
Performing, after determining the manufacturing fixture is in the closed operational state, at least one manufacturing operation upon the rotor while the prefinished rotor journal is suspended between the third static flow bearing and the U-shaped static flow bearing.
However, Nishimura discloses a similar manufacturing fixture including a proximity sensor configured to provide data related to the manufacturing fixture being in the closed operational state to determine that the manufacturing fixture is in the closed operational state (See Para [0044] “In addition to the above configuration, the clamp unit 10 includes a sensor portion 18. The sensor portion 18 is intended to detect that the clamp claws 11 are at positions at which they can clamp the stem S. The sensor portion 18 includes a detection piece 18a, sensor 18b, and cradle 18c.”) and Performing, after determining the manufacturing fixture is in the closed operation state, at least one manufacturing operation upon the work piece (First see Fig. 5 of Nishimura, disclosing a manufacturing process utilizing the apparatus, Then see in Para [0044] Nishimura discusses that the actuator 14 is not allowed to operate unless the proximity sensor detects the fixture is in the closed state “Typically, when the protrusion 14p of the actuator 14 fits into the fitting hole 13rf of the ring and the ring body 13r moves within the given range, the sensor 18b remains in a state of being detecting the detection piece 18a; when the protrusion 14p of the actuator 14 is out of the fitting hole 13rf, the sensor 18b is in a state of not being detecting the detection piece 18a. That is, when the sensor 18b does not detect the detection piece 18a, the operation of the actuator 14 does not cause the ring body 13r to rotate and therefore, it may be set that the actuator 14 is not allowed to operate.” Finally, See Para [0051] discussing the operation during the manufacturing process “Then the controller (not shown) causes the actuator 14 to go into action. As a result, the ring body 13r moves clockwise along the surface 15f of the base 15.”).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to modify the manufacturing fixture of Neumann as modified to include a proximity sensor to detect if the manufacturing fixture is in a closed or clamped position before performing a manufacturing step on the workpiece as doing so would allow for easier automatic control of the machining process, and to ensure that the work piece is not moved improperly during the manufacturing process.
Claim(s) 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Neumann (US 3904255 A) in view of Maruyama (JP H11138311 A), Petruccelli (US 3436071), and Maier (US 8465207 B2) as modified in claim 7 and 13 in further view of Zerbola (US 3635532 A) as modified in claim 10 and in view of Nishimura (US 20210308810 A1) as modified in claim 18 and in view of Nakahata (US 20130248636 A1).
Regarding Claim 19, Neumann as modified discloses all the limitations of claim 18 and in addition discloses wherein a plurality of pressurized air flows to enable the rotor to spin without the prefinished rotor journal contacting the static flow bearings (See Fig. 2 of Neumann and Col 4 Line 43-49 “In a similar manner, rotation of the workpiece container 18 can be achieved by a second auxiliary jet 32, as shown in FIG. 2, which is oriented laterally of the path of travel of the container 18 and is adapted to continuously or intermittently discharge a gaseous stream for imparting rotation to the container in a generally clockwise direction, as viewed in FIG. 2.”).
But does not disclose wherein performing the at least one manufacturing operation includes creating one or more wire windings upon the rotor.
Nakahata a method of winding wire about a roughly cylindrical shaped core by rotating the core (See Para [0017] “In general, according to one embodiment, a winding device includes a winding core, configured to rotate so that a windable material is wound therearound…”
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to modify the process of Neumann in view of Nakahata to allow for the wire winding on the rotor as wire winding is a known use for rotating a cylindrical work piece as described in Nakahata.
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the invention to modify the process of Neumann in view of Dinnebier to allow for the wire winding on the rotor without contacting the static flow bearings, as allowing for wire to wound around a rotor is a known use of an air bearing support as disclosed by Dinnebier.
Claim(s) 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Neumann (US 3904255 A) in view of Petruccelli (US 3436071), Maier (US 8465207 B2) as modified in claim 1 and in further view of Aoki (US 5954880 A).
Regarding Claim 20, Neumann as modified discloses all the limitations of claim 1 and in addition discloses wherein the first and second bearing fixtures include a low friction bearing interface configured to support the rotor bearing surface of the rotor (See Maier Col 4 Line 8-12 “Two slides 21 and 22 are arranged opposite to one another at the clamping opening 13 and run in a sliding fashion in guide tracks 23 and 24 for motion in relation to one another. Such sliding movement is produced using hydraulic cylinders 25 in the slides 21 and 22, of which only one is depicted diagrammatically.”),
But does not explicitly disclose and wherein the low friction bearing interface includes one of a ball-bearing interface, a roller-bearing interface, or a bushing interface.
However, Aoki discusses supporting a cylindrical element (8) via a bearing device (10) utilizing roller bearings (11, See Col 1 Line 49-53 “The respective ends of the sink roller 7 and support rollers 8, 8, for example, as shown in FIG. 5, are rotatably supported on the end portions of a pair of-support arms 10, 10 through rolling bearings 11, 11.”).
It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to use roller bearings in the low friction bearing interface of Neumann as modified as roller bearings are known in the art to allow cylindrical elements such as a rotor to freely rotate (See Aoki Col 1 Line 54-60 “And, the above-mentioned rolling bearings 11, 11 are respectively interposed between the inner peripheral surfaces of the circular holes 12, 12 and the outer peripheral surfaces of shafts 13, 13 respectively projected out from the two end faces of the support roller 8, so that the support roller 8 is free to rotate.”).
Conclusion
/T.J.M./Examiner, Art Unit 3723
/DAVID S POSIGIAN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3723