DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
The amendment filed 01/20/2026 has been entered. Claims 1-20 remain pending in the
application.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 01/20/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues that adding the verbiage “wherein the anchoring frame is coupled to the valve frame and disposed radially outwardly from and surrounding the valve frame in the delivery configuration” to claims 1 and 16 overcomes the Oba reference. However, the Examiner disagrees as the limitation “wherein the anchoring frame is coupled to the valve frame and disposed radially outwardly from and surrounding the valve frame in the delivery configuration” is treated as functional language, that is not given full patentable weight. The prior art is not required to disclose this function, but merely have the capability of performing the recited function. A delivery configuration is given its broadest reasonable interpretation to encompass configurations in which the device is compressed to at least some degree relative to a fully expanded position. Although not shown, the entire device has the capability of being compressed at least to some degree while the valve frame remains within the anchoring frame. Due to both the anchoring frame and the valve frame being compressible and due to the valve frame positioned within the anchoring frame in the expanded state (see Abstract), the entire device is capable of being compressed at least to some degree such that the anchoring frame is disposed radially outwardly from and surrounding the valve frame in a delivery configuration (see valve frame and anchoring frame in Figure 12 and 13 above, the valve frame being within the anchoring frame).
Lastly, Applicant argues that adding the verbiage “wherein the plurality of interconnected struts form one or more circumferentially extending rows of cells that define a cylindrical shape extending from an inflow end of the anchoring frame to an outflow end of the anchoring frame, and wherein cells of the anchoring frame are arranged to correspond geometrically and circumferentially align with respective cells of the valve frame” to claim 16 overcomes the Oba reference, however, the examiner disagrees. The struts in Figures 12 and 13 below form rows of cells that define the anchoring frame from end to end, the anchoring frame being a cylindrical shape. The cells of the anchoring frame align with the cells of the valve frame, as the valve frame is within the anchoring frame so they are about the same axis.
Regarding the amendment to claim 17, the Examiner concedes that this amendment overcomes the previous rejection. A new secondary reference has been added to teach the plurality of spikes in between two ends of the struts.
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are: “tissue-engaging elements” in claim 1.
Because this claim limitation is being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, it is being interpreted to cover the corresponding structure described in the specification as performing the claimed function, and equivalents thereof. The specification discloses that the “tissue-engaging elements” (claim 1) can include a plurality of tines (see paragraph [0189]), projections extending from the struts of the anchoring frame (see paragraphs [092] and [0184]), a plurality of grooves (see paragraph [0185]), which are all configured to engage (and in some instances penetrate) the native heart valve tissue (see paragraph [092]), and are configured to increase friction between the prosthetic heart valve assembly and the native tissue (see paragraph [072]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 7-8, 10, and 13-16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US 20160310268 A1 (hereafter --Oba--).
Regarding Claim 1, Oba discloses a prosthetic heart valve assembly comprising: a prosthetic heart valve comprising:
a valve frame comprising a plurality of struts (see annotated valve frame and plurality of struts in Figure 12 below), wherein the valve frame is expandable from a radially compressed delivery configuration to a radially expanded configuration (see paragraph [0105]);
and a valvular structure comprising a plurality of leaflets, wherein the valvular structure is disposed radially within and is coupled to the valve frame (see paragraphs [0020], [0106], and [0119]), and wherein the valvular structure is configured to allow blood flow through the prosthetic heart valve assembly in a first direction and to restrict blood flow through the prosthetic heart valve assembly in a second direction (see paragraph [0106] denoting that the valve structure 326 regulates one-way blood flow);
and an anchoring frame comprising a plurality of struts that form a cylinder extending from an inflow end of the anchoring frame to an outflow end of the anchoring frame (see annotated anchoring frame struts from end to end in Figure 13 below), wherein the anchoring frame is coupled to the valve frame and disposed radially outwardly from and surrounding the valve frame in the expanded configuration (see annotated anchoring frame and valve frame in Figures 12 and 13 below), and wherein the struts of the anchoring frame comprise one or more tissue-engaging elements configured for contacting native tissue to help secure the prosthetic heart valve assembly at an implantation location (see paragraph [0103] denoting that the frame 308 tissue engaging elements that have projections 318 that have tissue-engaging elements, or barbs/tines 320, to anchor the frame within the native mitral valve annulus, which meets the 112(f) interpretation of “tissue-engaging elements”, see also paragraph [0016]).
The limitation “wherein the anchoring frame is coupled to the valve frame and disposed radially outwardly from and surrounding the valve frame in the delivery configuration” is treated as functional language, that is not given full patentable weight. The prior art is not required to disclose this function, but merely have the capability of performing the recited function. Due to both the anchoring frame and the valve frame being able to be expanded and compresses and due to the two frames being coupled in a manner in which the valve frame is within the anchoring frame (see Abstract), the device is capable of being coupled to the valve frame and disposed radially outwardly from and surrounding the valve frame in the delivery configuration (see valve frame and anchoring frame in Figure 12 and 13 above, the valve frame being within the anchoring frame).
Regarding Claim 2, Oba discloses the prosthetic heart valve assembly of claim 1, wherein the tissue-engaging elements include one or more projections extending from the struts of the anchoring frame (see annotated projections in Figure 13 above, see also paragraph [103] describing projections 318).
Regarding Claim 3, Oba discloses the prosthetic heart valve assembly of claim 2, wherein the projections extend from the struts at an angle relative to a central longitudinal axis of the prosthetic heart valve assembly (see projections 318 in Figures 12 and 13 above).
Regarding Claim 7, Oba discloses the prosthetic heart valve assembly of claim 1, wherein the tissue-engaging elements include a plurality of tines extending from the struts of the anchoring frame, and wherein the tines are arranged in pairs of tines that are axially aligned with each other (see annotated tines/barbs in Figure 13 above, the barbs being parallel to each other as they extend from the projections at the same angle).
Regarding Claim 8, Oba discloses the prosthetic heart valve assembly of claim 7, wherein each pair of tines includes a first tine and a second tine, wherein the first tine is disposed toward an inflow end portion (see paragraph [0116] denoting that component 306, see annotated inflow end in Figure 19 below) of the prosthetic heart valve assembly relative to the second tine, wherein the first tine and the second tine are spaced apart by a first distance when the anchoring frame is in a radially compressed configuration, wherein the first tine and the second tine are spaced apart by a second distance when the anchoring frame is in a radially expanded configuration, and wherein the second distance is less than the first distance (see annotated second and first distance and pair of tines in Figures 18 and 19 below).
Regarding Claim 10, Oba discloses the prosthetic heart valve assembly of claim 1, wherein the tissue-engaging elements include a plurality of tines, wherein the tines are configured to be radially aligned with the struts of the anchoring frame when the anchoring frame is in a radially compressed configuration, and wherein the tines are configured to extend radially outwardly from the struts of the anchoring frame when the anchoring frame is in a radially expanded configuration (see the compressed and expanded configurations in Figures 18 and 19 above).
Regarding Claim 13, Oba discloses prosthetic heart valve assembly of claim 10, wherein the struts of the anchoring frame comprise one or more ramped surfaces configured to direct the tines radially outwardly relative to the struts as the anchoring frame moves from the radially compressed configuration to the radially expanded configuration (see annotated ramped surface in Figure 13 above).
Regarding Claim 14, Oba discloses the prosthetic heart valve assembly of claim 10, wherein the tines comprise ramped surfaces configured to direct the tines radially outwardly relative to the struts as the anchoring frame moves from the radially compressed configuration to the radially expanded configuration (see annotated ramped surface of the tines in Figure 12 above).
Regarding Claim 15, Oba discloses the prosthetic heart valve assembly of claim 10, wherein each of the tines comprises a fixed end portion and a free end portion (see annotated free and fixed end portions in Figure 12 above).
Regarding Claim 16, Oba disclose an anchoring frame for a prosthetic heart valve assembly, the anchoring frame (308) comprising: a plurality of interconnected struts configured to be moved from a radially compressed configuration to a radially expanded configuration (see annotated anchoring frame 308 and struts of anchoring frame 316 in Figure 13 above, see also expanded and compressed configurations in Figures 18 and 19 above), wherein the plurality of interconnected struts are configured to be coupled to a valve frame of a prosthetic heart valve that is disposed radially inward from the anchoring frame, wherein the plurality of interconnected struts form one or more circumferentially extending rows of cells that define a cylindrical shape extending from an inflow end of the anchoring frame to an outflow end of the anchoring frame, and wherein cells of the anchoring frame are arranged to correspond geometrically and circumferentially align with respective cells of the valve frame (see annotated valve frame 322, and see paragraph [0020], [0106], and [0119] denoting that a leaflet is connected to valve frame 322, see also struts and cells of both the valve frame and the anchoring frame in Figures 12 and 13 above); and a plurality of projections extending from the struts of the plurality of interconnected struts (see annotated projections in Figures 12 and 13 above), wherein the plurality of projections are configured to engage native tissue at an implantation location (see paragraph [0103] denoting that the frame 308 tissue engaging elements that have projections 318 that have tissue-engaging elements, or barbs 320, to anchor the frame within the native mitral valve annulus).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 17 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20160310268 A1 (hereafter --Oba--), as applied to claim 1 above, in view of US 20070100432 A1 (hereafter --Case--).
Regarding Claim 17, Oba discloses the anchoring frame of claim 16.
Oba fails to disclose wherein the plurality of projections comprises spikes, and each strut of the plurality of interconnected struts comprises a plurality of spikes arranged between a first end of the strut and a second end of the strut.
Case discloses a stent for implantation into a body vessel (see Figure 1 below, see also Abstract), wherein the stent comprises of struts and a plurality of projections (see annotation struts and projections in Figure 1 below). Case teaches wherein the plurality of projections comprises spikes, and each strut of the plurality of interconnected struts comprises a plurality of spikes arranged between a first end of the strut and a second end of the strut (see annotated spikes, first end of strut, and second end of strut in Figure 1 below, see also paragraph [0033]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to modify Oba to have the plurality of projections comprise spikes, and each strut of the plurality of interconnected struts comprises a plurality of spikes arranged between a first end of the strut and a second end of the strut, as by doing so would engage the interior wall of a body vessel to secure the frame and prevent migration of the implant, as taught by Case (see paragraph [0033]).
Claims 4, 9, 11, and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20160310268 A1 (hereafter --Oba--), as applied to claim 1 above, in view of US 20180296341 A1 (hereafter --Noe--).
Regarding Claim 4, Oba discloses the prosthetic heart valve assembly of claim 2.
Oba fails disclose wherein the projections extend from the struts such that the projections are at least substantially parallel to a central longitudinal axis of the prosthetic heart valve assembly.
Noe disclose an anchoring frame comprising a plurality of interconnected struts, that is connected to the outside of a valve frame, the anchoring frame having projections (see annotated anchoring frame 801 and valve frame 805 in Figure 8B below). Noe teaches having wherein the projections extend from the struts such that the projections are at least substantially parallel to a central longitudinal axis of the prosthetic heart valve assembly (see annotated projections 888, see paragraph [0098]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have the anchoring frame of Oba have projections that extend from the struts such that the projections are at least substantially parallel to a central longitudinal axis of the prosthetic heart valve assembly, as taught by Noe, as by doing so would advantageously help hold the prosthesis in place, as the ventricular side of the mitral valve undergoes the highest pressure (see paragraph [0098]).
Regarding Claim 9, Oba discloses the prosthetic heart valve assembly of claim 8, wherein each pair of tines is disposed within a respective cell, and wherein a combined axial length of the first tine and the second tine of each pair of tines is less than the second axial length of the respective cell in which the pair of tines is disposed (see annotated tines and cells in Figure 13 above).
Oba fails to disclose wherein the anchoring frame comprises a plurality of cells, wherein the cells have a first axial length when the anchoring frame is in the radially compressed configuration and a second axial length when the anchoring frame is in the radially expanded configuration, the second axial length being less than the first axial length.
Noe disclose an anchoring frame comprising a plurality of interconnected struts, that is connected to the outside of a valve frame, the anchoring frame having projections (see annotated anchoring frame 801 and valve frame 805 in Figure 8B above). Noe teaches wherein the anchoring frame comprises a plurality of cells, wherein the cells have a first axial length when the anchoring frame is in the radially compressed configuration and a second axial length when the anchoring frame is in the radially expanded configuration, the second axial length being less than the first axial length (see paragraph [0105] denoting that the anchoring frame 801 foreshortens upon expansion, making the first length of the cells in the compressed configuration more than the length of the cells in the expanded configuration).
The Instant Application does not disclose the anchoring frame comprises a plurality of cells, wherein the cells have a first axial length when the anchoring frame is in the radially compressed configuration and a second axial length when the anchoring frame is in the radially expanded configuration, the second axial length being less than the first axial length solves any problem or is for any particular purpose, nor does it place criticality on the limitation (see paragraph [0191] of the Instant Application). It appears that Oba’s outer frame would perform equally and function as intended with the length of the cells being the same as in the expanded configuration as in the compressed configuration. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to the length of the cells foreshorten upon expansion, as taught by Noe, as an obvious matter of design choice within the skill of the art.
Regarding Claim 11, Oba discloses the prosthetic heart valve assembly of claim 10, wherein the tines have an axial length that is less than the first axial length of the cells and greater than the second axial length of the cells (see annotated tines and cells in Figure 13 above).
Oba fails to disclose wherein the anchoring frame comprises a plurality of cells, wherein the cells have a first axial length when the anchoring frame is in the radially compressed configuration and a second axial length when the anchoring frame is in the radially expanded configuration, the second axial length being less than the first axial length.
Noe disclose an anchoring frame comprising a plurality of interconnected struts, that is connected to the outside of a valve frame, the anchoring frame having projections (see annotated anchoring frame 801 and valve frame 805 in Figure 8B above). Noe teaches wherein the anchoring frame comprises a plurality of cells, wherein the cells have a first axial length when the anchoring frame is in the radially compressed configuration and a second axial length when the anchoring frame is in the radially expanded configuration, the second axial length being less than the first axial length (see paragraph [0105] denoting that the anchoring frame 801 foreshortens upon expansion, making the first length of the cells in the compressed configuration more than the length of the cells in the expanded configuration).
The Instant Application does not disclose the anchoring frame comprises a plurality of cells, wherein the cells have a first axial length when the anchoring frame is in the radially compressed configuration and a second axial length when the anchoring frame is in the radially expanded configuration, the second axial length being less than the first axial length solves any problem or is for any particular purpose, nor does it place criticality on the limitation (see paragraph [0193] of the Instant Application). It appears that Oba’s outer frame would perform equally and function as intended with the length of the cells being the same as in the expanded configuration as in the compressed configuration. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art to the length of the cells foreshorten upon expansion, as taught by Noe, as an obvious matter of design choice within the skill of the art.
Regarding Claim 12, Oba as modified discloses the prosthetic heart valve assembly of claim 11, wherein the tines axially overlap with the struts of the anchoring frame that define the cells when the anchoring frame is in the radially expanded configuration (see annotated tines and struts of the anchoring frame in Figure 13 above, them being connected directly and therefore “overlapping).
Claims 5-6 and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20160310268 A1 (hereafter --Oba--), as applied to claim 1 above, in view of US 20160302919 A1 (hereafter --Scorsin--).
Regarding Claim 5, Oba discloses the prosthetic heart valve assembly of claim 1.
Oba fails disclose wherein the tissue-engaging elements include a plurality of grooves formed in the struts of the anchoring frame.
Scorsin discloses an anchoring frame comprising of a plurality of interconnected struts (see annotated stent and struts in Figures 1b, 4a, and 4b below). Scorsin teaches wherein tissue-engaging elements include a plurality of grooves formed in the struts of the anchoring frame, wherein the grooves are spaced apart relative to each other so as to form ridges between the grooves (see annotated plurality of grooves in Figures 1b, 4a, and 4b below, see also Abstract, see also paragraph [0064] denoting the grooves promote tissue ingrowth).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have the struts of the anchoring frame of Oba have spaced apart grooves, with ridges in between them, formed within them, as by doing so would enhance the force of pressing the anchoring frame and the duct wall together, therefore enhancing also the friction force, as well as would allow tissue ingrowth, as taught by Scorsin (see paragraph [0064]).
Regarding Claim 6, Oba as modified discloses the prosthetic heart valve assembly of claim 5, wherein the grooves are spaced apart relative to each other so as to form ridges between the grooves (see claim 5 rejection above).
Regarding Claim 19, Oba discloses an anchoring frame for a prosthetic heart valve assembly, the anchoring frame comprising a plurality of interconnected struts (see annotated anchoring frame and anchoring frame struts in Figure 13 above), wherein the struts are configured to be coupled to a prosthetic heart valve (see annotated valve frame 322, and see paragraph [0020], [0106], and [0119] denoting that a leaflet is connected to valve frame 322), wherein the anchoring frame forms a substantially cylindrical shape from its inflow end to its outflow end (see annotated anchoring frame in Figure 13 above) and can be expanded from a radially compressed configuration to a radially expanded configuration (see annotated anchoring frame 308 and struts of anchoring frame 316 in Figure 13 above, see also expanded and compressed configurations in Figures 18 and 19 above).
Oba fails to disclose a plurality of interconnected struts comprising a plurality of grooves formed in radially outwardly facing surfaces of the struts, each groove of the plurality of grooves extending circumferentially about the full perimeter of the anchoring frame, wherein the grooves are configured to receive native tissue therein when the anchoring frame is radially expanded at an implantation location.
Scorsin discloses an anchoring frame comprising of a plurality of interconnected struts (see annotated stent and struts in Figures 1b, 4a, and 4b below). Scorsin teaches the plurality of interconnected struts comprising of a plurality of grooves formed in radially outwardly facing surfaces of the struts, wherein the grooves are configured to receive native tissue therein when the anchoring frame is radially expanded at an implantation location, wherein the grooves are spaced apart relative to each other so as to form ridges between the grooves (see annotated plurality of grooves in Figures 1b, 4a, and 4b below, see also Abstract, see also paragraph [0064] denoting the grooves promote tissue ingrowth), wherein each groove of the plurality of grooves extending circumferentially about the full perimeter of the anchoring frame (see paragraph [0064] denoting that the grooves are on the whole outer surface of the support wall (outer surface of the stent)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to someone with ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to have the struts of the anchoring frame of Oba have spaced apart grooves, with ridges in between them, formed within them, thereby comprising a plurality of grooves formed in radially outwardly facing surfaces of the struts, each groove of the plurality of grooves extending circumferentially about the full perimeter of the anchoring frame, wherein the grooves are configured to receive native tissue therein when the anchoring frame is radially expanded at an implantation location, as shown in Scorsin, as by doing so would enhance the force of pressing the anchoring frame and the duct wall together, therefore enhancing also the friction force, as well as would allow tissue ingrowth, as taught by Scorsin (see paragraph [0064]).
Regarding Claim 20, Oba as modified discloses the anchoring frame of claim 19, wherein the grooves are axially spaced apart from each other such that the struts comprise ridges arranged circumferentially about the full perimeter of the anchoring frame between the grooves (see claim 19 rejection above).
Claim 18 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over US 20160310268 A1 (hereafter --Oba--), as applied to claim 16 above, in view of US 20190000613 A1 (hereafter --Delgado--).
Regarding Claim 18, Oba discloses the prosthetic heart valve assembly of claim 16.
Oba fails disclose wherein one or more of the projections comprises a ball-shaped bulge.
Delgado discloses an implantable heart prosthetic device with interconnected struts and projection (see annotated struts and projections in Figure 21 below, see also paragraph [0212]). Delgado teaches wherein one or more of the projections comprises a ball-shaped bulge (see paragraph [0212] describing 208 comprising various shapes included rounded, which would provide a ball-shaped bulge).
Therefore, the change in the shape of a projection from one known shape of a projection on a heart implant (a pointed barb, as disclosed by Oba and Delgado) to another (a ball-shaped bulge as disclosed by Delgado) would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention since the change in the shape of the projections of Oba would have yielded predictable results, namely, a final product of a projection that is able to exert a retaining force against native leaflets as taught by Delgado (see paragraph [0212]).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/PARIS MARIE BLASS/Examiner, Art Unit 3774
/SARAH W ALEMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3774