DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Acknowledgment is made of applicant's claim for foreign priority based on an application filed in Korea on January 17, 2022.
Should applicant desire to obtain the benefit of foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d) prior to declaration of an interference, a certified English translation of the foreign application must be submitted in reply to this action. 37 CFR 41.154(b) and 41.202(e).
Failure to provide a certified translation may result in no benefit being accorded for the non-English application.
Status of Claims
This action is in reply to the communication filed on November 22, 2022.
Claims 1 – 20 are currently pending and have been examined.
Information Disclosure Statement
The references provided in the Information Disclosure Statements filed on November 22, 2022 and December 2, 2025 have been considered. Signed copies of the corresponding 1449 forms have been included with this office action.
Double Patenting
Claims 1 – 10 and 14 – 19 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 – 20 of U.S. Patent No. 12,302,744. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because compounds of Formula 1 in the instant application overlap in scope with compounds of Formula 1 in claim 1 of the ‘744 patent as evidenced by compound BD124 in claim 20 of the ‘744 patent.
Claims 1 – 10 and 14 – 19 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 – 20 of copending Application No. 18/107,609 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because compounds of Formula 1 in the instant application overlap in scope with compounds of Formula 1 in claim 1 of the ‘609 application as evidenced by compound 38 in claim 20 of the ‘609 application.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1 – 10 and 14 – 19 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 – 20 of copending Application No. 18/045,766 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because compounds of Formula 1 in the instant application overlap in scope with compounds of Formula 1 in claim 1 of the ‘766 application as evidenced by compound 74 in claim 20 of the ‘766 application.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claims 1 – 10 and 14 – 19 are provisionally rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1 – 20 of copending Application No. 18/328,151 (reference application). Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because compounds of Formula 1 in the instant application overlap in scope with compounds of Formula 1 in claim 1 of the ‘151 application as evidenced by compound 55 in claim 20 of the ‘151 application.
This is a provisional nonstatutory double patenting rejection because the patentably indistinct claims have not in fact been patented.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 14, 15, and 17 – 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Shin (US20200373504A1).
As per claims 14, 15, and 17 – 19, Shin teaches:
An organometallic compound represented by Formula 1
(Shin teaches compounds of Formula 1
([0014]). A particular compound within Formula 1 taught by Shin is compound 24
. This compound reads on the claimed Formula wherein M is Pt; ring C1 is a substituted heterocycle of 7 ring-forming carbon atoms; C2 is an unsubstituted hydrocarbon ring of 6 ring-forming carbon atoms; C3 is a substituted heterocycle of 7 ring-forming carbon atoms; L1 and L3 are direct bonds; L2 is *-O-*; R1 is an unsubstituted alkyl group having 1 carbon atoms; R2 is hydrogen; n1 to n3 are all 1; n4 is 2. This compound reads on Formula 2 in claim 15 and Formula 4 in claim 17 wherein X1 to X4 and A1 to A3 are independently CR3 and for A1 to A3, R3 is a hydrogen atom and for X1 to X4 are substituted alkenyl groups that combine with an adjacent group to form a ring. The compound is represented by Formula 5-1 in claim 18 and Formula 6-2 in claim 19 wherein Z3 and Z6 are each N and the remaining Z groups are C, wherein Z6 is NR6 wherein is an unsubstituted alkyl group having 1 carbon atoms; and Z4 and Z5 are NR6 wherein the R6 groups are unsubstituted alkenyl groups that are combined to form a ring.)
Claims 14 – 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ye (CN114644660A).
As per claims 14 – 19, Ye teaches:
An organometallic compound represented by Formula 1
(Ye teaches compounds of Formula (I)
([0011 – 0013]). A particular compound taught by Ye is compound 69
, which reads on the claimed Formula wherein M is Pt; C1 is an unsubstituted hydrocarbon ring of 6 carbon atoms; ring C2 is a unsubstituted heterocycle of 12 ring-forming carbon atoms; ring C3 is an unsubstituted heterocycle of 24 ring-forming carbon atoms; L1 is a direct linkage, L2 is *-S-*, L3 is *-N(R18)-*; R1 is a substituted aryl group of 6 ring-forming carbon atoms; R2 is hydrogen; R18 is a substituted aryl group of 6 ring-forming carbon atoms combined with an adjacent group to form a ring; n1 to n3 are each independently an integer of 1; n4 is an integer of 2. The compound reads on Formula 2 in claim 15, Formula 4 in claim 17, and Formula 5-1 in claim 18 wherein X1 to X4 are CR3 and A1 to A3 are CR3, the R3 for A3 is combined with an adjacent group to form a ring and the remaining R3 groups are hydrogen. The compound reads on Formula 3 in claim 16 wherein A4 to A7 are each independently CR4 wherein R4 is a hydrogen atom. The compound reads on Formula 6-1 in claim 19 wherein Z1 is N and R5 is an unsubstituted aryl group.)
Applicant cannot rely upon the certified copy of the foreign priority application to overcome this rejection because a translation of said application has not been made of record in accordance with 37 CFR 1.55. See MPEP §§ 215 and 216.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Determining the scope and contents of the prior art.
Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue.
Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art.
Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness.
Claims 1 – 4, and 6 – 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shin (US20200373504A1) as applied to claims 14, 15, and 17 – 19 above.
As per claims 1, 4, and 6 – 8, the teachings of Shin with regards to Compound 24 are incorporated below. While Shin teaches compounds of Formula 1, Shin does not specifically teach the use of compound 24 in a device. Shin does teach:
A light emitting device, comprising a first electrode, a second electrode oppositely disposed to the first electrode; and an emission layer between the first electrode and the second electrode, wherein the emission layer comprises the organometallic compound (Abstract: “An organic electroluminescence device may include a first electrode, a second electrode opposite to the first electrode, and organic layers disposed between the first electrode and the second electrode.” & [0013]: “In an embodiment, the organic layers may include a hole transport region, a light emitting layer, and an electron transport region, and the organometallic complex is included in the light emitting layer.”)
Shin teaches an anode, a cathode, and an organic layer and the compound is in the organic layer as discussed above. It would have been obvious to use the compound in the organic layer with the device structure of Shin as Shin demonstrates this device structure was known prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention.
As per claim 2, Shin teaches:
Wherein the emission layer is configured to emit phosphorescence ([0095]: “The organometallic complex according to an embodiment of the inventive concept may be a phosphorescent dopant.”)
As per claim 3, Shin teaches:
Wherein the emission layer comprises a host and a dopant, the dopant comprises the organometallic compound ([0094]: “In the organic electroluminescence device 10 shown in FIGS. 1 to 3, the light emitting layer EML may include a host material and a dopant material. In an embodiment, the light emitting layer EML may include the organometallic complex represented by the chemical formula 1 as the dopant material of the light emitting layer EML.”)
Claims 1 – 11 and 14 – 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen (US20200411775A1).
As per claims 1, Chen teaches:
An organometallic compound represented by Formula 1
(Chen teaches compounds of Formula I
(Abstract). A particular compound taught by Chen is
, which does not contain the nitrogen atom in the bottom left ring as claimed. However, in Formula I, Chen defines X11 to X13 as being selected from C or N ([0055]) and Chen teaches an embodiment in which X11 is N and the remaining X11 to X13 are C. When X11 in the above compound is modified to be a nitrogen atom, the compound reads on the claimed Formula wherein M is Pt; C1 is an unsubstituted hydrocarbon ring of 6 carbon atoms; ring C2 is a unsubstituted heterocycle of 12 ring-forming carbon atoms; ring C3 is a substituted heterocycle of 5 ring-forming carbon atoms; L1 is a direct linkage, L2 is *-O-*, L3 is *-N(R18)-*; R1 is a substituted aryl group of 6 ring-forming carbon atoms; R2 is hydrogen; R18 is a substituted aryl group of 6 ring-forming carbon atoms combined with an adjacent group to form a ring; n1 to n3 are each independently an integer of 1; n4 is an integer of 2. The compound reads on Formula 2 in claims 4 and 15, Formula 4 in claims 6 and 17, and Formula 5-1 in claims 7 and 18 wherein X1 to X4 are CR3 and A1 to A3 are CR3, the R3 for A3 is combined with an adjacent group to form a ring and the remaining R3 groups are hydrogen. The compound reads on Formula 3 in claims 5 and 16 wherein A4 to A7 are each independently CR4 wherein R4 is a hydrogen atom. The compound reads on Formula 6-1 in claims 8 and 19 and Formula 7-1 in claim 9, wherein Z1 is N and R5 is an unsubstituted alkyl group having 4 carbon atoms. Since claim 10 defines Formula 6-2 but does not require that the compound is represented by Formula 6-2, Chen renders claim 10 obvious.)
A light emitting device, comprising a first electrode, a second electrode oppositely disposed to the first electrode; and an emission layer between the first electrode and the second electrode, wherein the emission layer comprises the organometallic compound ([0077]: “In some embodiments, the OLED comprises an anode, a cathode, and a first organic layer disposed between the anode and the cathode.” & [0078]: “In some embodiments, the organic layer may be an emissive layer and the compound as described herein may be an emissive dopant or a non-emissive dopant.”)
Chen includes each element claimed, with the only difference between the claimed invention and Chen being a lack of the aforementioned combination being explicitly stated. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the instant invention to select any known substituent from each of the finite lists of possible combinations to arrive at the compound of the instant claim since the combination of elements would have yielded the predictable results of highly efficient deep blue phosphorescent OLEDs ([0144]), absent a showing of unexpected results commensurate in scope with the claimed invention. See Section 2143 of the MPEP, rationales (A) and (E).
As per claim 2, Chen teaches:
Wherein the emission layer is configured to emit phosphorescence ([0107]: “In some embodiments, the compound can bean emissive dopant. In some embodiments, the compound can produce emissions via phosphorescence.”)
As per claim 3, Chen teaches:
Wherein the emission layer comprises a host and a dopant, and the dopant comprises the organometallic compound ([0086]: “In some embodiments of the emissive region, the compound can be an emissive dopant or a non-emissive dopant. In some embodiments, the emissive region further comprises a host.”)
As per claims 11 and 20, the only difference between the modified compound above and claimed compound 3
is the deuterium atoms. However, Chen teaches that the substituents off of the benzimidazole group can be selected from R5
, as in the compound shown above and can also be selected from the undeuterated R2
([0072]), which is the same as in claimed compound 3. Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to replace the deuterated substituent of modified compound above with the undeuterated substituent and arrive at claimed compound 3.
Chen includes each element claimed, with the only difference between the claimed invention and Chen being a lack of the aforementioned combination being explicitly stated. It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the instant invention to select any known substituent from each of the finite lists of possible combinations to arrive at the compound of the instant claim since the combination of elements would have yielded the predictable results of highly efficient deep blue phosphorescent OLEDs ([0144]), absent a showing of unexpected results commensurate in scope with the claimed invention. See Section 2143 of the MPEP, rationales (A) and (E).
Claims 12 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Chen (US20200411775A1) as applied to claims 1 – 11 and 14 – 20 above, and further in view of Yun (Yun et al. "Triplet Exciton Upconverting Blue Exciplex Host for Deep Blue Phosphors." Chemistry- A European Journal. 2021 (27): 12642 -12648).
As per claim 12, Chen does not limit the host material ([0113]). Chen does not teach:
The host comprises a first host and a second host, wherein the first host is represented by Formula HT-1
The second host is represented by Formula ET-1
Yun teaches a novel host materials that can be used with blue phosphorescent OLEDs ([Abstract]). This is similar to the structure and composition of Chen. Yun teaches that the host material is mSiTrzCzCN
(Scheme 1) and that the material forms an exciplex with mCBP hosts to form high efficiency and improved lifetime as compared with a single host system (Page 12642, Right Column, Paragraph 2). mCBP reads on compounds of Formula HT-1 wherein Lg is an arylene group of 12 ring forming carbon atoms, Ar1 is an unsubstituted heteroaryl group of 12 ring-forming carbon atoms; and R61 and R62 are hydrogen. mSiTrzCzCN reads on Formula ET-2 wherein Ln is a direct linkage; Ar2 is a substituted heteroaryl group of 3 ring-forming carbon atoms; R63 and R64 are both hydrogen. It is the same as compound E3
in claim 13.
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the host materials of Yun in the device of Chen because Chen does not limit the host materials used and Yun teaches that that combination of host materials extends the lifespan and improves efficiency of devices using the host materials with deep blue phosphorescent dopants (Page 12642, Right Column, Paragraph 2).
Conclusion
All claims are rejected.
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US20220173338A1 could be used in a rejection against the claims as currently presented. However, the ‘338 reference has a common assignee with the instant application. Based upon the earlier effectively filed date of the reference, it constitutes prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2). This rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) might be overcome by: (1) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(a) that the subject matter disclosed in the reference was obtained directly or indirectly from the inventor or a joint inventor of this application and is thus not prior art in accordance with 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(A); (2) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(b) of a prior public disclosure under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(B) if the same invention is not being claimed; or (3) a statement pursuant to 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) establishing that, not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention, the subject matter disclosed in the reference and the claimed invention were either owned by the same person or subject to an obligation of assignment to the same person or subject to a joint research agreement.
/JENNA N CHANDHOK/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1789