DETAILED ACTION
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1, 2, 4-7, 10-13 and 19-21 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the “a fastening part between the first magnetic core component and the second magnetic core component” as recited in claim 4 must be shown or the feature(s) canceled from the claim(s). No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 4 and 5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Kaneko et al. (U.S. PG. Pub. No. 2015/0302981 A1, hereinafter “Kaneko”).
With respect to claim 1, Kaneko teaches a magnetic element (FIG. 10), the magnetic element comprising:
a magnetic core 24 comprising an accommodation space (space inside the magnetic core), a first end face 24c (annotated FIG. 10), a second end face 24d, and an exterior side surface 24e-24g connecting the first end face and the second end face;
a skeleton 27 at least partially encircling and fixedly connected to the exterior side surface of the magnetic core, and
a coil 10 and or 12 disposed in the accommodation space (at least a portion of the coil 10 and or 12 is disposed in the accommodation space), wherein a winding axis (imaginary vertical axis) of the coil is at least partially encircled by the skeleton, and wherein the winding axis of the coil intersects the first end face and the second end face,
wherein the exterior side surface of the magnetic core comprises a first region 24e adjacent to the first end face of the magnetic core, a second region 24f adjacent to the second end face of the magnetic core, and an intermediate region 24g located between the first region of the magnetic core and the second region of the magnetic core,
wherein the skeleton covers the intermediate region,
wherein the first end face of the magnetic core protrudes from a first end (upper end) of the skeleton such that the first region of the exterior side surface of the magnetic core is exposed, and
wherein the second end face of the magnetic core protrudes from a second end (lower end) of the skeleton such that the second region of the exterior side surface of the magnetic core is exposed (paras. [0050]-[0052]).
With respect to claim 2, Kaneko teaches the magnetic element according to claim 1, wherein:
the skeleton is a closed frame architecture completely encircling a periphery of the exterior side surface of the magnetic core (para. [0050]).
With respect to claim 4, Kaneko teaches the magnetic element according to claim 1, wherein the magnetic core comprises a first magnetic core component (upper or lower U-shaped magnetic core) and a second magnetic core component (the other of upper or lower U-shaped magnetic core) fastened to one other, wherein the first end face of the magnetic core is a surface of the first magnetic core component that is distal from the second magnetic core component, wherein the second end face of the magnetic core is a surface of the second magnetic core component that is distal from the first magnetic core component, and wherein the skeleton is fixed at a fastening part (part between first and second magnetic cores) between the first magnetic core component and the second magnetic core component (para. [0050]).
With respect to claim 5, Kaneko teaches the magnetic element according to claim 4, wherein the first magnetic core component comprises a first side surface region (region near first end face) connected to the first end face of the magnetic core, wherein the second magnetic core component comprises a second side surface region (region near second end face) connected to the second end face of the magnetic core, wherein the first side surface region and the second side surface region jointly form the exterior side surface of the magnetic core, and wherein the skeleton overlaps a part of the first side surface region and a part of the second side surface region (para. [0050]).
Claims 1, 4 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yen (U.S. PG. Pub. No. 2012/0161913 A1).
With respect to claim 1, Yen teaches a magnetic element 1 (FIG. 1), the magnetic element 1 (FIG. 1 PRIOR ART) comprising:
a magnetic core 11 comprising an accommodation space (space inside magnetic core 11), a first end face (upper end face), a second end face (lower end face), and an exterior side surface (periphery surface) connecting the first end face and the second end face;
a skeleton 12a (annotated FIG. 1 PRIOR ART) at least partially encircling and fixedly connected to the exterior side surface of the magnetic core, and
a coil (“primary coil” and or “secondary coil” para. [0003]) disposed in the accommodation space, wherein a winding axis (imaginary vertical line) of the coil is at least partially encircled by the skeleton, and wherein the winding axis of the coil intersects the first end face and the second end face,
wherein the exterior side surface of the magnetic core comprises a first region 11a adjacent to the first end face of the magnetic core, a second region 11b adjacent to the second end face of the magnetic core, and an intermediate region (middle region between regions 11 11a and 11b) located between the first region of the magnetic core and the second region of the magnetic core,
wherein the skeleton covers the intermediate region,
wherein the first end face of the magnetic core protrudes from a first end of the skeleton such that the first region of the exterior side surface of the magnetic core is exposed, and
wherein the second end face of the magnetic core protrudes from a second end of the skeleton such that the second region of the exterior side surface of the magnetic core is exposed (para. [0003]).
With respect to claim 4, Yen teaches the magnetic element according to claim 1, wherein the magnetic core comprises a first magnetic core component 211 (see FIG. 2 for illustration) and a second magnetic core component 212 fastened to one other, wherein the first end face of the magnetic core is a surface of the first magnetic core component that is distal from the second magnetic core component, wherein the second end face of the magnetic core is a surface of the second magnetic core component that is distal from the first magnetic core component, and wherein the skeleton is fixed at a fastening part (part between first and second magnetic cores) between the first magnetic core component and the second magnetic core component (paras. [0003] and [0017]).
With respect to claim 21, The magnetic element according to claim 4, wherein the first magnetic core component or the second magnetic core component comprises a cylindrical fiber post 2122 (see FIG. 2 for illustration) protruding into the accommodation space, wherein the coil encircles the cylindrical fiber post (paras. [0003] and [0017]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kaneko or Yen, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Kim et al. (U.S. PG. Pub. No. 2018/0012695 A1, hereinafter “Kim’695”).
With respect to claim 6, Kaneko or Yen teaches the magnetic element according to claim 4. Kaneko or Yen does not expressly teach the skeleton comprises an inner surface and a fixing part convexly disposed relative to the inner surface, wherein the inner surface faces the side surface of the magnetic core, wherein the fixing part is fitted with a concave part in the magnetic core configured to fix the skeleton to the magnetic core, and the concave part is located at the fastening part between the first magnetic core component and the second magnetic core component.
Kim’695 teaches a magnetic element (FIGs. 1-6) wherein the skeleton 50 comprises an inner surface (inner surface of the wall) and a fixing part 55 (FIG. 4) convexly disposed relative to the inner surface, wherein the inner surface faces the side surface (outer side surface) of the magnetic core 100, wherein the fixing part is fitted with a concave part (recessed on side surfaces of magnetic core 100, FIG. 2) in the magnetic core configured to fix the skeleton to the magnetic core, and the concave part is located at the fastening part between the first magnetic core component and the second magnetic core component (paras. [0054] and [0061]). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have the convex fixing part and the concaved part as taught by Kim’695 to the magnetic element of Kaneko or Yen to provide mating to improve mechanical stability.
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kaneko or Yen, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Kim et al. (U.S. PG. Pub. No. 2012/0038448 A1, hereinafter “Kim’448”).
With respect to claim 7, Kaneko or Yen teaches the magnetic element according to claim 1. Kaneko or Yen does not expressly teach wherein the first end of the skeleton is a top surface facing the first end face of the magnetic core, wherein the second end of the skeleton is a bottom surface facing the second end face of the magnetic core, wherein a boss is convexly disposed on the bottom surface, and wherein the boss does not protrude from the second end face of the magnetic core.
Kim’448 teaches a magnetic element (FIGs. 1-5), wherein the first end (tip of flange part 10a as seen in annotated FIG. 9 for illustration only) of the skeleton is a top surface (top flat surface) facing the first end face of the magnetic core, wherein the second end of the skeleton is a bottom surface (flat surface) facing the second end face of the magnetic core, wherein a boss 78 or 20a is convexly disposed on the bottom surface, and wherein the boss does not protrude from the second end face of the magnetic core (paras. [0076] and [0146]).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have the skeleton structure as taught by Kim’448 to the magnetic element of Kaneko or Yen to improve ease of handling the skeleton.
Claims 10-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kaneko or Yen, as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Morikawa et al. (WO 2005/004180 A1).
With respect to claim 10, Kaneko or Yen teaches the magnetic element according to claim 1. Kaneko or Yen does not expressly teach
a ground pin fixed to the skeleton; and
an electrical connector electrically connected between the ground pin and the magnetic core.
Morikawa et al., hereinafter referred to as “Morikawa,” teaches a magnetic element 100 (FIGs. 1-2) comprising:
a ground pin 57 fixed to the skeleton 13; and
an electrical connector 59 and L electrically connected between the ground pin and the magnetic core 11 (page 16, lines 6-17). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have the ground pin and electrical connector as taught by Morikawa to the magnetic element of Kaneko or Yen to improve safety and protect the magnetic element.
With respect to claim 11, Kaneko or Yen in view of Morikawa teaches the magnetic element according to claim 10, wherein the electrical connector comprises a sheet-like member (“metal sheet”) and a wire L, the sheet-like member being fixed between the skeleton and the side surface (outer surface) of the magnetic core and being electrically connected to the side surface of the magnetic core, wherein one end (upper end) of the wire is electrically connected to the sheet-like member, and wherein the other end of the wire is electrically connected to the ground pin (Morikawa, page 16, lines 6-17).
With respect to claim 12, Kaneko or Yen in view of Morikawa teaches the magnetic element according to claim 11, wherein the side surface of the magnetic core comprises a first surface region (right side surface region) and a second surface region (front3 surface region) that are disposed in a non-coplanar manner (orthogonal manner), wherein the sheet-like member is disposed opposite to the first surface region, and wherein the ground pin is disposed opposite to the second surface region (Morikawa, page 16, lines 6-17).
With respect to claim 13, Kaneko or Yen in view of Morikawa teaches the magnetic element according to claim 10, wherein the electrical connector comprises an electrically conductive adhesive, wherein the electrically conductive adhesive is fixed to and electrically connected to the side surface of the magnetic core, and wherein the electrically conductive adhesive extends to and is electrically connected to the ground pin (Morikawa, page 19, lines 22-26).
Claims 19 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kaneko in view of Yen.
With respect to claim 19, Kaneko teaches a power supply (“power supply” para. [0001]), comprising:
a magnetic element 24, comprising:
a magnetic core (“U-shaped ferrite cores” para. [0050]) comprising an accommodation space (space inside the magnetic core), a first end face 24c (annotated FIG. 10), a second end face 24d, and an exterior side surface 24e-24f connecting the first end face and the second end face,
a skeleton 27 at least partially encircling and fixedly connected to the exterior side surface of the magnetic core, and
a coil 10 and or 12 disposed in the accommodation space (at least a portion of the coil 10 and or 12 is disposed in the accommodation space), wherein a winding axis (imaginary vertical axis) of the coil is at least partially encircled by the skeleton, and wherein the winding axis of the coil intersects the first end face and the second end face,
wherein the exterior side surface of the magnetic core comprises a first region 24e adjacent to the first end face of the magnetic core, a second region 24f adjacent to the second end face of the magnetic core, and an intermediate region 24f located between the first region of the magnetic core and the second region of the magnetic core,
wherein the skeleton covers the intermediate region,
wherein the first end face of the magnetic core protrudes from a first end of the skeleton such that the first region of the exterior side surface of the magnetic core is exposed,
wherein the second end face of the magnetic core protrudes from a second end of the skeleton such that the second region of the exterior side surface of the magnetic core is exposed (paras. [0050]-[0052]).
Kaneko does not expressly teach
a circuit board; and
wherein the skeleton is connected to the circuit board for mounting the magnetic element to the circuit board.
Yen teaches a power supply (FIG. 3),
a circuit board 3 (see FIG. 5 for illustration)
wherein the skeleton 22 is connected to the circuit board for mounting the magnetic element 21 to the circuit board (the magnetic element 21 is mounted to a mounted board through pins 223) (paras. [0018] and [0020]). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have the skeleton connection to the circuit board as taught by Yen to the power supply of Kaneko to improve ease of connection of the magnetic element to the circuit board.
With respect to claim 20, Kaneko teaches an electronic device (device that includes “power supply circuit” para. [0002]), the electronic device comprising:
a power supply (“power supply” para. [0002]), comprising:
a magnetic element 24, comprising:
a magnetic core (“U-shaped ferrite cores” para. [0050]) comprising an accommodation space (space inside the magnetic core), a first end face 24c (annotated FIG. 10), a second end face 24d, and an exterior side surface 24e-24f connecting the first end face and the second end face,
a skeleton 27 at least partially encircling and fixedly connected to the exterior side surface of the magnetic core, and
a coil 10 and or 12 disposed in the accommodation space (at least a portion of the coil 10 and or 12 is disposed in the accommodation space), wherein a winding axis (imaginary vertical axis) of the coil is at least partially encircled by the skeleton, and wherein the winding axis of the coil intersects the first end face and the second end face,
wherein the exterior side surface of the magnetic core comprises a first region 24e adjacent to the first end face of the magnetic core, a second region 24f adjacent to the second end face of the magnetic core, and an intermediate region 24g located between the first region of the magnetic core and the second region of the magnetic core,
wherein the skeleton covers the intermediate region,
wherein the first end face of the magnetic core protrudes from a first end of the skeleton such that the first region of the exterior side surface of the magnetic core is exposed,
wherein the second end face of the magnetic core protrudes from a second end of the skeleton such that the second region of the exterior side surface of the magnetic core is exposed (paras. [0050]-[0052]).
Kaneko does not expressly teach
a circuit board, and
wherein the skeleton is connected to the circuit board for mounting the magnetic element to the circuit board.
Yen teaches an electronic device (FIG. 3) comprising:
a circuit board 3 (see FIG. 5 for illustration)
wherein the skeleton 22 is connected to the circuit board for mounting the magnetic element 21 to the circuit board (the magnetic element 21 is mounted to a mounted board through pins 223) (paras. [0018] and [0020]). It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to have the skeleton connection to the circuit board as taught by Yen to the electronic device of Kaneko to improve ease of connection of the magnetic element to the circuit board.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. A list of pertinent prior art is attached in form PTO-892.
/MANG TIN BIK LIAN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2837