DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1-12 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Claim Objections
Claim 8 is objected to because of the following informalities: “0.5 to 35 percent by mass or less” is redundant. Please delete the words “or less”. Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kubota (US 5948512) in view of Ikoshi (US 2011/0057986).
Regarding claim 1, Kubota teaches the following limitations: an ink jet ink composition, which is a water-based ink, comprising: a colorant (column 5, lines 30-32); a plurality of inorganic oxide particles (alumina – column 4, lines 10-30); an amino acid (saccharide – column 6, lines 14-35); a water-soluble organic solvent (column 5, lines 43-60); and water (column 4, lines 10-15), wherein the content of the amino acid with respect to the total mass of the ink is 1.0 to 10 % by mass (column 6, lines 36-40); a content of a water-soluble organic solvent S1 having an SP value of 27.5 (J/cm3)1/2 or less with respect to a total mass of the water-soluble organic solvent is 35 percent by mass or less (triethylene glycol monomethyl ether, wetting agent 0.5-10% - column 4, lines 45-67); the water-soluble organic solvent contains at least one of triethylene glycol monobutyl either and triethylene glycol momethyl ether (column 4, lines 45-67), a total content of the at least one triethylene glycol monobutyl ether and triethylene glycol monomethyl ether is 3% by mass or less with respect to the total mass of the ink composition (wetting agent is as low as 0.5% - column 5, lines 45-67), and the inorganic oxide particles are selected from a group consisting of silica, alumina, zirconia, antimony oxide, tin oxide, tantalum oxide, zinc oxide, cerium oxide, lead oxide, and indium oxide (alumina oxide – column 4, lines 10-30).
Kubota does not disclose a water-soluble silicate, with a content of the water-soluble silicate with respect to a total mass of the ink is 0.6 percent by mass or less, or the amino acid including trimethyl glycine. Ikoshi discloses disclose a water-soluble silicate [0031], with a content of the water-soluble silicate with respect to a total mass of the ink is 0.5 percent by mass or less [0040], or the amino acid including trimethyl glycine [0135] – [0140].
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify Kubota with Ikoshi in order to reduce curling and improve print quality.
Regarding claim 2, Kubota teaches a content of the inorganic oxide particles with respect to the total mass of the ink is 1 .0 to 1 0 percent by mass (column 4, lines 58-64).
Regarding claim 3, Kubota teaches a content of a solid content including the colorant and the inorganic oxide particles with respect to the total mass of the ink is 5.0 percent by mass or more (column 5, lines 30-33).
Regarding claim 4, Kubota teaches a content of a solid content including the colorant and the inorganic oxide particles with respect to the total mass of the ink is 5.0 percent by mass or more (column 5, lines 30-33).
Regarding claim 5, Kubota teaches an ink composition; however, it does not teach a water-soluble silicate with respect to the total amount of the ink is 0.00001 to 0.5 percent by mass. Ikoshi teaches a water-soluble silicate with respect to the total amount of the ink is 0.00001 to 0.5 percent by mass [0040]. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify Kubota with Ikoshi in order to reduce curling and improve print quality.
Regarding claim 6, Kubota teaches an ink composition with a colorant (column 5, lines 30-32); however, it does not teach the colorant includes a self-dispersible pigment. Ikoshi teaches the colorant includes a self-dispersible pigment [0104]. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify Kubota with Ikoshi in order to reduce curling and improve print quality.
Regarding claim 7, Kubota teaches a content of the inorganic oxide particles as being 0.1 to 15% by mass. (column 4, lines 58-64); however, it does not teach water-soluble silicate, and therefore does not teach the ratio of a content of inorganic oxide particles to water-soluble silicate being from 3-50,000. Ikoshi discloses water-soluble silicate being in a range of 0.001 – 0.4% by mass [0041]. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time of filing to modify Kubota with Ikoshi in order to reduce curling and improve print quality. Further, modifying Kubota with Ikoshi would provide the ratio of a content of the inorganic oxide particles to the content of water-soluble silicate within the range from 3 to 50,000.
Regarding claim 8, Kubota teaches the content of the water-soluble organic solvent S1 having the SP value of 27 (J/cm3)1/2 or less with respect to the total mass of the water-soluble organic solvent is 0.5 to 35% by mass (column 5, lines 45-67).
Regarding claim 9, Kubota teaches a content of the water with respect to the total mass of the ink is 80% by mass or less (column 5, lines 61-67, claim 13).
Regarding claim 10, Kubota teaches the content of the amino acid with respect to the total mass of the ink jet ink composition is 1.0 to 7% by mass (column 6, lines 36-40).
Regarding claim 11, Kubota teaches the ink jet ink composition is used for recording on an absorbing recording medium (column 1q, lines 12-22, paper is absorbing).
Regarding claim 12, Kubota teaches ejecting the ink jet ink composition from an ink jet head to a recording medium so as to be adhered thereto (column 1, lines 12-22).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Taniguchi (US 2022/0204793)
Taniguchi (US 2022/0306881)
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/LAURA MARTIN/ SPE, Art Unit 2855